Head to Head Review: Olympus OM-D E-M5 v Nikon D7000

August 16, 2012 | Zoltan Arva-Toth | Compact System Camera, Digital SLR Cameras | 70 Comments |
Head to Head Review: Olympus OM-D E-M5 v Nikon D7000 Image

Dynamic Range

The dynamic range of a camera's sensor typically comes into play when photographing scenes in harsh, contrasty light. Depending on your definition of the term, you can measure it in a number of ways - and there are websites that do a great job of this. It would have been rather pointless to try and come up with our own set of figures - instead, we're showing you how each camera fared when tasked with capturing a typical, real-world high-contrast scene with radiant white buildings bathing in the summer sun and dark tree trunks hiding in deep shade.

Head to Head Review: Olympus OM-D E-M5 v Nikon D7000

Note that at full resolution, the two cameras take pictures with different aspect ratios. In order to make this comparison easier, we cropped both shots to show approximately the same field of view.

Much to our surprise, both cameras handled this difficult scene well, with absolutely no clipped highlights or blocked shadows.

The crops below show how well each camera retained detail and tonality in the highlights - an excellent performance given that the glaring white building was almost blinding to the naked eye.

Olympus OM-D EM-5 Nikon D7000
Head to Head Review: Olympus OM-D E-M5 v Nikon D7000 Head to Head Review: Olympus OM-D E-M5 v Nikon D7000

The deepest shadows are extremely dark in both pictures but...

Olympus OM-D EM-5 Nikon D7000
Head to Head Review: Olympus OM-D E-M5 v Nikon D7000 Head to Head Review: Olympus OM-D E-M5 v Nikon D7000

...even these dark patches contain loads of tonal and colour information, as seen in the brightened crops below.

Olympus OM-D EM-5 Nikon D7000
Head to Head Review: Olympus OM-D E-M5 v Nikon D7000 Head to Head Review: Olympus OM-D E-M5 v Nikon D7000

Here you can see a marked difference between the two cameras, with the D7000 crop being noticeably cleaner and smoother even after such a heavy dose of image manipulation - this is where the benefits of having larger sensor photosites and 14-bit raw files become evident.

In short both cameras deliver an excellent dynamic range at base ISO but if, for whatever reason, you need to dig really deep into the shadows you'll find that the Nikon D7000 will give you better results.

Highlight Headroom - Raw vs. JPEG

We were also curious if shooting raw offered any advantage over JPEGs in terms of highlight retention. To find out, we shot the same backlit scene with both cameras set to JPEG+raw capture.

This is what the out-of-camera JPEG from the D7000 looked like (again we cropped the images below to show approximately the same field of view for easier comparison).

Head to Head Review: Olympus OM-D E-M5 v Nikon D7000

As you can see the subject is well exposed but large parts of the sky are blown. The JPEG from the Olympus OM-D E-M5 was similar, with a properly exposed building and minimal detail retention in the sky.

Next, we took the D7000 raw file and applied a bit more than -1EV of exposure compensation along with some Curves adjustment to prevent the midtones from coming out overly dark. The result is shown below.

Head to Head Review: Olympus OM-D E-M5 v Nikon D7000

As you can see all the seemingly lost sky detail was recovered, with the image showing rich tonal gradations everywhere.

Head to Head Review: Olympus OM-D E-M5 v Nikon D7000

Applying a similar degree of EC and Curves adjustment to the Olympus OM-D E-M5 raw file - taken just a few minutes before the Nikon shot - has yielded similar results: all the highlight blow-out seen in the out-of-camera JPEG is gone, with the sky showing  great tonality throughout.

This means that in addition to offering a respectable dynamic range (even in the JPEGs), both cameras have more than a full stop of extra highlight headroom in the raw files, at least at base ISO - which is good to know as it means shooting raw can often save an image that may look partly overexposed when played back in-camera.

Conclusion

Both the Nikon D7000 and the Olympus OM-D E-M5 are highly capable cameras that can handle most photographic situations with ease. The smaller, lighter and quieter E-M5 is better suited to travel and street photography and any other genres/tasks where a discreet and lightweight camera is preferred. However, if you have average to large hands or simply long fingers, and do not mind hauling around a larger and heavier kit, you are likely to find the more ergonomically designed D7000 easier and more pleasurable to use in the long run. Otherwise both cameras are rugged, highly configurable and well designed tools that can produce high-quality results in a variety of circumstances.

Although I'm a big fan of traditional SLRs and their through-the-lens optical viewfinders, I did prefer the E-M5's EVF for its ability to “gain up” in low light, show a magnified view of the subject for accurate manual focusing and display various shooting info including a live histogram. Perhaps the biggest surprise was the auto focus performance - the Olympus OM-D E-M5 has a stunningly mature and lightning-fast AF system that works very well even when using an off-centre focus point in low light, something the Nikon D7000 occasionally has problems with. The D7000 would still be my preferred choice for shooting large-field sports, given Nikon's excellent line-up of fast (super)telephoto lenses and the camera's more sophisticated AF Area options for tracking both regularly and irregularly moving subjects in C-AF mode - but that aside, the E-M5's AF system is at least as capable as the D7000's, not to mention that it delivers the same level of performance regardless of whether you're using the eye-level viewfinder or the rear monitor. The same cannot be said of the D7000 whose AF performance takes a hit as soon as you enter Live View.

In terms of movie recording, neither camera would be the professional's first (or even second) choice as both models lack a few key features like user selectable frame rates at Full HD resolution, fine control over audio levels or the ability to monitor the audio using headphones while filming. For casual videography (vacation, family, pets etc.) the Olympus OM-D E-M5 appears to be your better bet given its tilting screen, smoother AF during movie capture, and superior hand-holdability thanks to its excellent in-body image stabilisation system.

As far as still image quality is concerned, the Nikon D7000 has a slight edge but the difference between the two cameras isn't nearly as dramatic as you may have expected. At medium to high ISO settings the Nikon holds on to fine detail slightly better while producing somewhat tighter-grained noise but these small differences will only matter (if at all) when making really large prints on high-quality paper. Dynamic range at base ISO is very good with both cameras but if you need to dig really deep into the shadows the D7000 will give you better results (from raw) thanks to its larger bit depth. Speaking of raw, both cameras appear to have over a full stop of highlight headroom in the raw files, when compared to their JPEG output, which is already very good.

In summary, there's no clear winner - and that alone says volumes about how far compact system cameras have come in the last few years. That the Olympus OM-D E-M5 can hold its own against one of the most highly regarded prosumer/semi-professional DSLR cameras of recent years is a huge surprise. It also means that for those who are actually in the process of deciding which of these cameras to buy, the choice will boil down to personal preference and what they would like to use their new camera for. It's certainly a close-run thing, and if you have no vested interest in either system you'd be well-advised to try them both at the same time to see which control layout, user interface and feature set you prefer.

Entry Tags

review, compact system camera, nikon, csc, olympus, dslr, digital slr, em5, e-m5, omd, Olympus OM-D E-M5, d7000, versus, Head to Head Review, Nikon D7000, em-5, head to head

Tracker Pixel for Entry

Your Comments

70 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 vauve

Thanks a lot for this comparison! Now I know that I don’t have any reason to buy the Olympus, my Nikon D7000 is of very high quality !

12:51 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#2 Ellen Paige

I prefer Oly OM-D E-M5. smaller, lighter and great IQ.

1:16 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#3 CRB

Its just me or the second page doesnt upload? thanks

3:19 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#4 stephen rudolph

i’m looking for a second walkaround and this one looks great.
i could even use it instead of my d7000 when i’m traveling the world i could live without the occasional need for focus-tracking. and since i only use my 18-200mm 3.5-5.6, i’m sure any high end olympus prime would be close to or as good as my nikon. (which is soft at both ends, and not tack sharp anywhere as a matter of fact).

3:25 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#5 Frank Stanton

Your link for the “Next Page” of this article goes nowhere. So how did you manage to get two comments to this article if no one can read this? Something is fishy here.

3:33 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#6 Stewart Stiles

Nothing is fishy. It is just like everything else on the internet, people commenting on articles they haven’t bothered to read. :)
I really do want to read this as I am in the market to replace my 5 year old Oly.

3:56 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#7 Joshua Amahit

The second page doesn’t load photographyblog.com. thanks for fixing it in advance.

3:59 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#8 Mark Goldstein

Hi everyone.

Strange, we can’t see any problems with that page loading.

Is it still a problem?

4:04 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#9 JS

YEAH, WHAT HAPPENED TO NEXT PAGE?

4:05 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#10 Antonio

I am not really convinced that the micro 4/3 is a professional level format. But I would like to heard the opinion of unbiased pros.

4:07 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#11 Mam

I can see the page1(this) and page3, but not for page2…
http://www.photographyblog.com/articles/head_to_head_review_olympus_om-d_e-m5_v_nikon_d7000/3

4:11 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#12 M.

Count me in too. Can’t get access to page two!

4:26 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#13 Vladimir

I cannot open page also…

4:28 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#14 Fredric

I have been trying several times to upload the
next page ( don’t know how many pages the article
has ) for almost 10 minutes and I gave up.
Please check it out,will you ?

4:28 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#15 M.

Page 2 doesn’t open, not even pressing the ‘previous’ button on page 3!

4:42 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#16 Vladimir

I’ve read page 3 and can tell the result of the match: draw.

5:07 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#17 Ed Dombrowski

I cant get second page either but do in fact own both of these cameras. In response to comment#10 I do a few portrait sessions a month to help pay for my photography habit. I have had both Micro 4/3rds and my Nikon gear since the Panasonic GF1 came out. I got the EM-5 in April when it first came out and have to say that since getting it I have only used my Nikon gear for a few events. I am 1.5 features away from ditching my DSLR gear altogether.

.5 - Focus tracking - I dont use it a lot but neither Olympus nor Panasonic has done a good job of implementing this feature. Nikon has found a way with their mirrorless offer so i think it is just a matter of time. When i do need it though i pick up my Nikon.

1.0 Radio capable TTL/High Speed sync - I am ok using manual flash for portrait sessions but do quite often use High Speed sync outside on location. The EM5 can do remote TTL and HSS but it is line of sight and is hit or miss outside in bright light. That being said I did take it outside last week with a FL600R and was able to trigger it from about 25 feet in bright sunlight. This is fine for a portrait session but probably not great if you want to do outside HSS for action sports with remote triggers. The big issue is that currently i dont see either Panasonic or Olympus implementing this like Canon recently did and I dont think there is the user base to entice pocketwizard or another trigger manufacturer to do it.

Those two things aside, the lenses are amazing, it is a complete system and if those two items are not a deal breaker for you I would say M 4/3 can easily replace an APSC DSLR. I would compare the image quality of the EM5 with the D7000 any day.

Now only if i could read page 2…..

5:10 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#18 Elemmaciltur

Count me in with the loading problem: I haven’t been able to load the 2nd page all afternoon. :-(

5:13 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#19 Billy

Ditto on page 2 not loading. I’ve been waiting for 11 minutes now and it’s still trying to load even as I write.

***This comparison seems to be too important and is regrettable in that it deprives your bloggers from reading. Please help us out by fixing the problem. Thank you.

5:22 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#20 REALM3

No ‘next page’ for me either?

5:30 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#21 Low Budget Dave

I also can’t get to the second page, (but I am reading the article on a smartphone during my lunch break.)

5:31 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#22 phil-dore

No ‘next’ page for me either/

5:32 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#23 Mark Goldstein

Thanks for your patience everyone - it should work now.

If not, try adding a trailing slash to the end of the URL:
http://www.photographyblog.com/articles/head_to_head_review_olympus_om-d_e-m5_v_nikon_d7000/2/

6:01 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#24 Joshua Amahit

It works now. I just finished the reading the entirety of the head to head review. Excellent work guys at Photographyblog.

6:16 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#25 phil-dore

Forward…Thanks. pd

6:17 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#26 Stephen Cysewski

I made my decision, sold my D7000 and lenses and am using the OM-D E-M5 for all my photography. The Panasonic 12-35mm lens is equivalent to the Nikkor 24-70mm and about half the size and weight.

7:57 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#27 Adriana

just as Mark implied I am taken by surprise that a student able to profit $7748 in 1 month on the internet. did you read this link (Click on menu Home more information)  http://goo.gl/SjRSh   

8:02 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#28 Adriana

just as Ruby explained I am blown away that a single mom can earn $5046 in four weeks on the internet. have you seen this link (Click on menu Home more information)  http://goo.gl/TcYyE 

8:04 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#29 Adriana

as Ruby responded I’m stunned that you can get paid $6688 in four weeks on the internet. did you see this web page (Click on menu Home more information)    http://goo.gl/TtKoz 

8:12 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#30 Adriana

just as Gary said I am alarmed that someone can profit $9610 in one month on the internet. did you read this page (Click on menu Home more information)    http://goo.gl/xSszo 

8:44 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#31 Jae

The OM-D clearly wins the ISO contest. In ISO 12,800 the letters are far more visible than in the D7000.

10:48 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#32 Don

“In short both cameras deliver an excellent dynamic range at base ISO, ... .....”

Mark, Is it possible to compare the dynamic range at high ISO like 800 and 1600, as at those settings both cameras still yield very find results in terms of noise? 

One of the often debated issue is how the E-M5’s dynamic range really is, due to extraordinary results from some testers.  Thanks.

4:13 am - Friday, August 17, 2012

#33 Photographs

super camars :) , camara specifications will reflect on photographs

7:05 am - Friday, August 17, 2012

#34 Adrian

Great review, thanks. what it underlines for me is that the 4/3 system is very capable of taking the shots I want, BUT. The camera bodies are too small. The real advantage of the system is in the lens - small and compact. Give me a 4/3 camera that can handle action on the field and general travel work that can be used by normal hands (i.e Big in respect to these cameras) and I’ll buy it.

8:11 am - Friday, August 17, 2012

#35 Run76

Great comparison. I actually made the switch from the D7000 with a couple of lenses and a p7000 for portability to get the whole package all in one with the E-M5. The D7000 is agreat camera so it wasn’t an easy decision. I also think there are more great lenses for the Nikon system. In the end I don’t regret it one bit. I have a small kid and carrying the DSLR equipment became too much of a hastle most of the times. So I ended up using the P7000 most times and was not satisfied with the outcomes (dof, Lowlight, etc.). The e-m5 is actually very close to the D7000 and better than older DSLRs like the D90 that I used before. Highly recommended

8:11 pm - Friday, August 17, 2012

#36 zen billings

thank you zoltan arva-toth, for this comparison review, i have been reading you camera reviews for years and your are my most trusted reviewer. always digging a little deeper and more insightful than any other reviewer i have thus far encountered. and, once again you have covered uncharted territory! congratulations on a job well done on this review.

1:28 am - Saturday, August 18, 2012

#37 StuT

I can see both pages, I use an iMac. keep up the good work!

11:57 am - Sunday, August 19, 2012

#38 StuT

Sorry! I can see all three pages.

12:00 pm - Sunday, August 19, 2012

#39 Rob

I notice in the indoor light tests, you didn’t really test the BIG advantage of Olympus, that with a fast prime on Nikon, and a fast prime on Olympus, Nikon will have 0 image stabilization, and Olympus will therefore be a few stops ahead (thereby eliminating the advantage of the Nikon sensor). I point this out, because I have had an Olympus, and Panasonic 4/3 and the panasonic has given me many blurred pictures, because it doesn’t stabilize its primes either.

7:39 pm - Monday, August 20, 2012

#40 Willy

If you like fast primes, the micro-4/3 system has a much better selection.  Nikon will never make a 16mm DX f2.0, or a 23mm DX f/0.95, or a 35mm DX f/0.95, or a 60mm DX f/1.8, or a 100mm DX f/1.8.  They think such lenses won’t sell to the market segment that buys DX..  Their fast primes are all full frame, so they are large and heavy.

2:43 am - Tuesday, August 21, 2012

#41 Willy

If you want fast, high quality primes micro-4/3 is better.  Nikon will never make these:

16mm DX f/2.0
23mm DX f/0.95
35mm DX f/0.95
60mm DX f/1.8
100mm DX f/1.8

Nikon’s did come out with a 35mm DX f/1.8, but all their other fast primes are for FX and therefore large and heavy.

4:35 am - Tuesday, August 21, 2012

#42 Jamal Gowrang

We’ve sold thousands of Digital Cameras , Smartphone/Androids phones and kept our customers happily all over the world, so buy with us confidently. Exclusive Offer for all International buyer’s at affordable prices!!! Offer valid while stock last safety Drop Shipping Service & delivery Safety @ your Doorstep!!!

IPhone 4s (Black, White)
16GB,,,£310
32GB,,,£360
64GB,,,£400

Samsung (Black, Mable White , Pebble Blue)
Galaxy S3 gt-i9300 (16gb),,£300
Galaxy S3 gt-i9300 (32gb),,£350
Galaxy S3 gt-i9300 (64gb),,£390

Nikon D5100 DX-format Digital SLR Camera price £370
Nikon D7000 DX-Format Digital SLR Camera price £520
Nikon D700 12MP DSLR Camera price £870
Nikon D800 price £770
Nikon D4 price £1900

Canon EOS 5D Mark II 21MP DSLR Camera price £1250
Canon EOS 5D Mark III price £1550
Canon EOS 40D 10.1MP Digital SLR Camera price £750
Canon EOS 7D Digital SLR Camera with lens price £440

For inquiry Order Contact:
TOKE ELECTRONS SERVICES
email: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

10:38 am - Tuesday, August 21, 2012

#43 kurt

Your site’s in sort of bad shape. The ‘second page won’t load problem’ is a UI problem. The link to the second page is decorated to look like a button. A real button can be clicked anywhere to be activated, but this fake button is just a text link with fancy CSS. You have to click directly on the text to get to the second page.

Furthermore, if there’s an error filling out the comment form, you lose your whole comment.

The site could use some work if you want more eyeballs viewing all of the pages in your review and coming back for more. As it is, it’s mildly annoying.

Thanks for the review, btw.

2:39 pm - Tuesday, August 21, 2012

#44 stephen rudolph

well, my d7000 may be tucked in a drawer if i get the olympus.. looks like a great travel camera..
however,
i may be getting my hands on an old ‘barbie digital’ camera !!!.. Its light !  its small ! and it comes in a beautiful shade of pink !!!

2:58 pm - Tuesday, August 21, 2012

#45 Brian

Might be more interesting to see the Olympus OMD go head to head with the new Canon EOS M?

4:50 pm - Friday, August 24, 2012

#46 TBoB

I need to have the ability to take the clearest videos on the market and the best pics…still not sure which camera to buy for the money! Your article was excellent but which camera offers the all around best Video?

7:48 pm - Saturday, September 1, 2012

#47 Billy

For the money, you need to get the Canon DSLR cameras and lenses made specifically for movie-making…and you’ll be spending somewhere between $10K to $20K. But you can get a spectacular DSLR that makes outstanding movies for a little bit less: the Nikon D800, for about $3K….a real bargain compared to the other, don’t you think?! And I’m dead serious about this Nikon recommendation.

3:53 am - Sunday, September 2, 2012

#48 Low Budget Dave

TBoB, if very high quality video is more important than shallow depth of field, you will likely prefer the MFT cameras.  Keep an eye out for the Panasonic GH series, which are optimized for video.  The still-images are pretty close to the Oly OMD, and the video is 99% as good as a dedicated video cam.

8:05 am - Sunday, September 2, 2012

#49 Steve

Thanks much for doing this review. It’s exactly the kind of comparison I was looking for.

Maybe I’m just missing it, but did you do the dynamic range comparison using JPGs or RAW files? If JPGs, I’m curious if shooting RAW would have produced better results in either or both cameras, and if so, whether the performance was/would be closer or farther apart.

Would be great to find out!

Again, thanks!

6:06 am - Saturday, September 8, 2012

#50 tobrizz

Needed a good review on Olympus E-M5. Get a clear picture of it, for making a decision easy.

2:57 pm - Sunday, September 9, 2012

#51 Zoltan Arva-Toth

Steve,

We used raw files for the dynamic range comparison.

11:07 pm - Monday, September 10, 2012

#52 Steve

Thanks, Zoltan. That’s what I needed to know.

9:34 pm - Tuesday, September 11, 2012

#53 Dougbm

Doesn’t the D700 look old fashioned next to the clean modern lines of the OMD (mistakenly called a retro design as it is available in a classic silver and faux leather combo)? I think there is no modern SLR that looks properly modern. Maybe Apple should have a shot at a new design. I have looked at the OMD but am not yet convinced. More interested in the Fuji E-X1.

9:08 pm - Saturday, September 15, 2012

#54 Daphne_Bonaire

any suggestions towards which camera to use for underwater photography (scuba diving) ?

10:24 pm - Wednesday, September 19, 2012

#55 BoopstersView

Funnily enough I have both of these camera’s.  I love me Nikon D7000 and also love my Olympus OM-D.  Love my Nikon for Studio work.  The battery life is just second to none, I have never to date run down the battery, it just goes on forever… and everything else is amazing on it.  The OM-D size is just a different kettle of fish.  The Art effect mode, well you’ve just gotta have it.  Its fantastic for travelling, hardly any weight at all and with a good variable len you can shoot anything making it very versatile.  I took it out this weekend and took a whopping 4000 shots!  I could believe it!  If you have the Art mode on full, one shot becomes 12 amazing differenet effects.  You could do these in photoshop but you need the right skill to do this, and I haven’t.  So this camera does it for you.  The only down side is the battery!  It did last a while but not long enough and if you buy a 3rd party one then they are even worse.  I havent got a battery grip at the moment but definatley feel that I need one.  I definatley havent got small lady like hands!  Always been told that I have Navi’s hands! Just ordered a battery grip and wil feel better with one.  I just dont feel secure holding it and twisting it around for portrait when out and about.  I need the battery grip not only for the extended battery life but also to feel more balanced and secure holding it.  So my view is get them both!  Both serves different purposes.

6:21 pm - Monday, September 24, 2012

#56 jovic

i got them both, nikon D7k & OMD, what i really like most in OMD is the fastest(as of now) AF, in a very crucial lighting condition, OMD truly saved me..

2:59 pm - Sunday, September 30, 2012

#57 Ben

I switched from D7000 to EM-5 after few years of being a Nikon customer. So far I am happy with the change, specially because of the weight and bulk difference. Something I miss from my D7000 is the perspective correction feature, the flash options such as strobe, and the interval timer shooting. Also, I have figured out the EM-5 from the most part but I have done it on my own. The EM-5 manual is TERRIBLE and there are no third party user guides yet. I was used to the thorough explanation, step by step, provided in Nikon manuals.

11:18 pm - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#58 AA

Thanks for this comparison. I’m one of the happy switchers from APS-C DSLR to E-M5. Size does matter especially for travelling, hiking and all that.

Ben. I agree that the user manual and the menu system are awful. This site provides some useful tips:
http://www.dpreview.com/articles/9115179666/user-guide-getting-the-most-out-of-the-olympus-e-m5

1:57 am - Saturday, October 13, 2012

#59 Dougbm

I had a few try outs in a store with one but remain unconvinced. Horrible menu system. I don’t want to have to research how to set up the thing. Also the tiny buttons are unnecessarily small. The on screen info in the efv is messy and again too small. What a relief to get back to my X100. Really like the idea but will wait and see if Olympus can refine it. Probably prefer the Fuji X-E1.

2:37 am - Saturday, October 13, 2012

#60 Ben

AA. Thanks for the tip. It is helpful. I just think that I need to find the time to write a user guide. That might help me to pay the bills. ;0

4:38 am - Saturday, October 13, 2012

#61 Jim

Thank you for the review comparing both cameras Nikon 7000 and the E-M5. I am stil learning my E-M5, but continue to appreciate leaving the weight behind. I have carted around Blads, Rollies, Canons, and Olympus for many years. I am very satisfid with M-E5 for the most part. However, strong sunlight over one’s shoulder is a severe challenge to the EVF and Live View. After this criticism, I am very happy with the 12-50 lens. I have compared it to the legendary 12-60 zuiko and find only slight differences in color accuracy and resolution. However, leaning tower aberations are much more pronounced with the 12-50 lens. The 75-300 M zuiko is quite good as well. Exposures are usualy right on and can be compensated by a quick turn of a dial. I highly recommend this camera (OMD-M-E5)

7:16 pm - Friday, October 19, 2012

#62 Pat

On the third page, is the first picture have the camera names reversed?  Should the D7000 be on the right side like the rest of the comparisons?

11:31 pm - Tuesday, October 23, 2012

#63 Ray

I’ve had many cameras over the years and I have to say my relatively new D7000 is a disappointment. One problem is that the images aren’t sharp. You can adjust settings to compensate for the picture softness but only if you shoot in manual mode.  Plus the camera is heavy and lugging it around is less than ideal especially if you need a stout tripod to support it. Another problem mentioned in the article is color rendition. The D7000 over saturates your shots. And photos with high contrast I’ve found washes out a lot of detail. I took a picture of a street in NYC Chinatown with satellite dishes on the roofs of buildings. You can’t even see the satellite dishes in the picture. Sure, you can correct these flaws somewhat in photoshop but you shouldn’t need to. Taking a nice shot with the D7000 is too much trouble. If shopping for a camera I’d look for something other than a D7000.

9:29 pm - Thursday, November 15, 2012

#64 stephen rudolph

to Ray :
i think your problem MAY be the understanding of your camera. first of all which lens are you using ?. that makes a big difference.. my 18-200mm is just so-so , but my 50mm 1.8 is TACK sharp.
what do you mean by setting softness only in manual mode ?  i’ve never heard of that. speaking of settings, you may want to re-visit that part of the manual. saturation is EASILY compensated in the user settings. and contrast (which maybe is what you are talking about softness), is easily set in custom settings as well. it is widely suggested to set your contrast to -1. i dont know about you, but i’ve taken thousands of street shots (and a few dozen roof tops) and have never missed any details.. after finding your own preferences, you set them in 1 custom setting.. and you never have to touch anything again.
now if you know all of this, and i have insulted your intelligence, then maybe your camera needs a repair.
And i may also mention that i have over a hundred shots taken with my d7000 which have passed the inspectors of one of the most anal stock agencies in North America.
the only thing i agree with you is the weight… that’s why i’m thinking of getting a micro 4/3rds to wet my appetite.. hopefully, i will be able to dump my 2 lb brick…
now go back and rtfm.
good luck

11:44 pm - Thursday, November 15, 2012

#65 NikonSam

the address for the second page is http://www.photographyblog.com/articles/head_to_head_review_olympus_om-d_e-m5_v_nikon_d7000/2

7:43 pm - Monday, November 26, 2012

#66 Ray

To Steve,
I’m using the standard issue Nikkor 18-105 lens. You’re right to say my understanding of the camera isn’t where it needs to be. The manual for the D7000 is actually 325 pages plus I haven’t shot with it nearly enough to gauge its overall effectiveness. For the sake of simplicity a basic Powershot point and shoot camera works well and is much handier than the D7000. I’m just not used to lugging around a heavy DSLR with so many functions. Back in the day I’d always carry around a heavy camera bag with flash, plenty of film, various lenses, tripod and not mind too much. Maybe I’m just getting lazy! I’m sure I’ll be happy with my purchase once I understand the D7000’s full capability. Thanks for your help.

8:48 pm - Tuesday, December 4, 2012

#67 HHVVSS

Pictures from http://www.3foto.ro are made with D7000.

12:32 am - Wednesday, February 20, 2013

#68 iphone

iphone 3 ,  iphone 4, iphone 4s iphone 5, iphone 5s TOGETHER WITH MANY CELLULAR DEVICES ON THE IDEAL CHARGES PROBABLE, We now have wonderful good results with mending iPhone’s which were mineral water harmed.
Belfast`s steady iPhone Repair,centre, while using the most recent diagnositc and restoration products with Belfast pertaining to mending idevices and logic board, were wanting to take calls. Most of us keep your side as a result of regular restoration invention and the application of the most effective train and good quality specifications. We now have designed your own technics automobile your iphone which can be unequaled, were most likely the simply business with Belfast which often can will give you effective logic board restoration, we have a 90 % good results rate with mending mum boards, it’s this that tends to make you and so effective within this discipline with Belfast. Most of us will fit just about any value pertaining to logic board repairs, this is why assured were the cheapest just for this program with Belfast
iphone 3 ,  iphone 4, iphone 4s iphone 5, iphone 5s TOGETHER WITH MANY CELLULAR DEVICES ON THE IDEAL CHARGES PROBABLE, We now have wonderful good results with mending iPhone’s which were mineral water harmed.
Belfast`s steady iPhone Repair,centre, while using the most recent diagnositc and restoration products with Belfast pertaining to mending idevices and logic board, were wanting to take calls. Most of us keep your side as a result of regular restoration invention and the application of the most effective train and good quality specifications. We now have designed your own technics automobile your iphone which can be unequaled, were most likely the simply business with Belfast which often can will give you effective logic board restoration, we have a 90 % good results rate with mending mum boards, it’s this that tends to make you and so effective within this discipline with Belfast. Most of us will fit just about any value pertaining to logic board repairs, this is why assured were the cheapest just for this program with Belfast

7:27 am - Thursday, May 9, 2013

#69 Mike

Very nice comparison, but looking for Nikon 1 V1 vs Olympus E-P5 , one comparison available here -  http://thenewcamera.com/olympus-e-p5-vs-nikon-1-v2/

2:55 pm - Monday, May 20, 2013

#70 JT

I have both the D7000 and the EM5.
For practical purposes there is virtually no difference between them in IQ = certainly nothing meaningful.

I find the EM5 AF faster and more accurate usually.
The D7000 does get ahead in moving targets in AFC.
I prefer the OVF and controls of the D7000, but not enough to make me pick it up every day and tote it around.

I bought the D7000 before I bought the Em5 and it had been my intention to take it everywhere with me (I always carry a day pack anyway).

It took about 3 months for that to be a pain and about 6 to stop carrying it everywhere.

Then the EM5 came out and I got it and loved it.
I carry it every where with a 17mm ƒ1.8 and the 45mm ƒ/1.8.

It’s really not that noticable.
As a result I shoot more.

But the telling thing is I kept the D7000.
I just like to shoot it.

So for me, they are equally good, and the downsides and upsides rest of very specific use cases.

10:44 am - Saturday, December 21, 2013