Best Compact Digital For Automatic Mode

2 replies to this topic

#1 photog mama

photog mama

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 07 June 2010 - 01:14 PM

I am an amateur photographer, and I really love experimenting within the manual modes of a camera. But this camera is not for me, it's for my husband. He loves to take creative shots and is known to crawl into weird spaces just to get a neat angle. But he doesn't know much about photography, and will generally be known to just use the "Auto" setting on any camera. Our current digital is rather bulky, and he'd like something more compact. He generally takes shots of our 2 kids (ages 2 and 4), with I'd say and equal part of our shooting indoors and out. I'm having trouble picking a camera since most of the camera reviews are not based on just using "Auto". Video capabilities are not a factor for us.

I've narrowed it down to the Panasonic TZ8 and the Ricoh CX3. I was also looking into Fuji's EXR series, but most users complained that while you can get excellent photos out of it, you have to know what you're doing, and the Auto features, even the EXR setting, just boosts ISO way too readily. In general, if it's a setting that my hubby will have to change every time he turns on the camera, he won't do it.

I'm open to other suggestions, too. While I love my SLR, this will likely be our go-to camera just due to size.

#2 Eren S.

Eren S.

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 29 July 2010 - 12:01 PM

QUOTE (photog mama @ Jun 7 2010, 01:14 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>