Replacement For Fujifilm Finepix E550

3 replies to this topic

#1 NoFlash

NoFlash

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 23 February 2011 - 04:12 PM

Hi, I'm new to this forum and just want to start out by saying thanks for all the great information posted here. I do need some advice on purchasing a new camera. I'm a serious amature and in the good old days spent a lot of time developing my own film and making prints. The digital camera I have been using for the past several years is a Fujifilm Finepix E550. It's malfunctioning and I need a replacement.

I would really like a SLR but the price is prohibitive. The E550 was good enough for my needs and I'm looking for something comparable. Here's the features I'm looking for:

1. Photo quality is most important. The E550 has a great lens and turned out some stunning shots, much better even at 6 megapix vs some of the 12 megapix shots I've seen by other cameras.

2. Fast shutter speed. This is the next most important requirement. Most of the non-SLR have too long a delay between pressing the button and actually taking the shot. The E550 is still slower than an SLR but is good enough and faster than a few other makes I've tried.

3. Manual option or at least some manual control over things like aperture, film speed, manual focus, etc, in case I want to play with things like lighting situations, depth of field, or other effects.

4. Not too expensive. Given the fact that the technology changes so quickly the most I want to spend is around $400 dollars. Of course the cheaper the better, provided the quality is good. Anything decent under $200 ?

5. Size and weight does not matter. It does not have to be tiny or compact. I do not need a lot of advanced features.

Thanks so much in advance.

#2 LaGrange Jim

LaGrange Jim

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 08 March 2011 - 05:34 PM

QUOTE (NoFlash @ Feb 23 2011, 05:12 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>