1 reply to this topic

#1 Waihekedawn

Waihekedawn

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 August 2012 - 04:22 PM

Hi

I'm looking to buy a dslr and like many people I am struggling to decide what to get. I have no current lenses and no particular favourite brand. I don't even have a firm budget set in stone at the moment but was aiming around the 5-600 mark. I want to use it for a range of uses but mainly sports and travel, and not indoor studio type stuff. I am no expert photographer but have a grasp of the basics and use a Nikon d300s and d700 at work (non photography industry) so know my way around the Nikon set up.

My research has suggested that the d7000 is a very good camera in that sort of price range (body only). I guess my question is whether I go for that and take my time building a lens collection or if I'm better off with a used older model d70s/80/90 to leave me more money for better glass.

My focus on Nikon is based on my previous experience and the positioning of the d7000 in the range which seems to be the level I'm aiming at. There seems to be a gap in the canon range between the 7d which is currently over my budget and the 60d which from what I've read is not a true replacement for the 40/50d but instead a more entry level offering. I wouldn't rule out the 40/50d in the same way Ive considered the older Nikon models so would be interested to see how they compare. I have had limited use of a friends 40d and got on with that ok. I like the LCD screen on top along with the dial and easy access to all controls and so have to date been put off the d5100 and 650d type models.