Need New Camera Advice

4 replies to this topic

#1 megan4847

megan4847

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 September 2012 - 07:55 PM

I am pretty new to photography, all I have experience with is point-and-shoot cameras. I am enrolling in a basic class in the local community college and they require a SLR camera. I am looking for suggestions for what would be a good affordable starter SLR camera to purchase for this class to just get my feet wet and see if this is something I want to continue to pursue. All advice is welcome! Thanks!

#2 Bee Jay

Bee Jay

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 783 posts
  • Interests:Sport, Photograph, obviously, buses, trains, and music.

Posted 11 September 2012 - 09:12 AM

Hi Megan.

For around 300 you can get a Canon EOS 1000D; it was Canon's entry level DSLR, which was replaced by the 1100D. The 1100D is a better camera than the 1000D, but it cost around 30/50 more.

You might concided buying a good second hand camera if you're not sure of continuing with the hobby after the class. You'll be able to get a 1000D, with 18-55 lens, for roughly 210/250.

If you're looking to add a decent telephoto lens to your kit without it costing the earth, look around for twin lens deals when buying your camera; or go for an indepenant lens maker, such as Tamron. The prices will be much lower, but the build quality is still ample.

Good luck and enjoy the experience.

#3 giclee printing co

giclee printing co

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts

Posted 11 September 2012 - 03:41 PM

Id advise anything by canon really. Get yourself a second hand unit off ebay or something. The cheaper canons are actually quite useful because they have the auto settings that the higher end models dont.
When playing about Id advise getting stuck right in with the iso, shutter speed and exposure setting. Its all good fun and I can assure you'll take some horrendous pics lol.