Canon 400d Which Lens

7 replies to this topic

#1 Loula

Loula

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 07 March 2007 - 02:11 PM

sad.gif Hi, I am very new to the world of photography and am very much impressed by this site. My husband me a bought a Canon EOS 400 D with the 18-55 mm lens. I now want to buy a lens, primarily to take photos, indoors and out doors, of my little ones who are very fast (some posed and other of them just playing and doing whatever comes natural)
Many thanks to any one help.
Regards
Louise smile.gif

#2 markgoldstein

markgoldstein

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,108 posts

Posted 17 March 2007 - 07:59 PM

Hi Louise,

I would have thought your current lens would be OK - just increase the ISO to 800 and you should be able to get a fast enough shutter speed.
Mark Goldstein
Editor, PhotographyBLOG

#3 Jonathan Harrowven

Jonathan Harrowven

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Interests:Photography, Walking, Cycling

Posted 18 March 2007 - 08:53 PM

Hi Louise

I would tend to agree with Mark.

I used the 18-55mm lens for about two years, it is well capable of some great photos!
If you really want a bit more range and quality then I can recommend the EF-S 17-85mm. It is equivilent to the L-series lens and is great for portrait work.

Hope you get on well! Great camera!

Jon smile.gif

www.harrowvenphotography.co.uk

#4 Loula

Loula

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 22 March 2007 - 11:57 AM

biggrin.gif Thank you guys great help biggrin.gif smile.gif

#5 pacificphoto

pacificphoto

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 8,411 posts

Posted 22 March 2007 - 01:48 PM

As an addition to any Canon line, I recommend the 50mm 1.8 II. This is pin sharp and very inexpensive. Read the rave reviews about it on fredmiranda.com. I also recommend the 28-135mm IS, which can help you get shots at slower shutter speeds than you might not normally use. That's my workhorse lense. Hardly ever leaves the camera. --Chris

#6 shutterbug

shutterbug

• Members
  • PipPip