6 replies to this topic

#1 FiZZ

FiZZ

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts

Posted 30 September 2007 - 09:57 AM

So who here still uses the darkroom?

I graduated from college so I don't have access to it as frequently as I want to.

I do remember achieving Solarization, after spending 15 hours trying to figure out how to do it. I would just get gray prints, but now I know!!!

Anyone still does techniques in the darkroom? Sepia toning? Cyanotype printing? Anyone?

#2 princemkhan

princemkhan

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted 24 January 2012 - 07:40 AM

A darkroom is a specialized light free environment designed for artists who work in the medium of photography. In order to develop film and prints, artists need to work in darkness to avoid exposing the light sensitive emulsions which cover photographic paper and film before they are developed. A darkroom can vary widely in size and design, depending on the type of materials being worked with in the darkroom and the number of artists sharing it. Often, artists work together in the same darkroom to share the costs of photography.
A very basic darkroom usually has an enlarger for making prints, along with an assortment of developing chemicals in separate tubs. To develop prints, the artist exposes photo-sensitive enlarging paper to light through an enlarger, and then dunks the photograph in a series of developing chemicals to bring out the latent image.

#3 watson229

watson229

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts

Posted 08 February 2012 - 05:09 AM