Polarizing Filter

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 robedwcar

robedwcar

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,187 posts
  • Interests:Currently I am a student at Louisiana State University and married to a lovely woman named Terri. Photography has become a hobby between studying. I keep a daily journal of my pictures at the website listed.

Posted 01 May 2008 - 01:53 AM

I am new to photography. I am considering investing in a polarizing filter. The specific question I have is regarding the picture quality. My images are softer than the images I find in the photo gallery. Would a polarizing filter help to limit harsh light and sharpen my images?
-Regards
Robert

#2 markgoldstein

markgoldstein

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,108 posts

Posted 02 May 2008 - 09:52 AM

In short, no - a polarizing filter makes blue skies bluer and cuts through reflections in things like water and glass.

You'll find that most of our members use a program like Photoshop to sharpen their images before uploading to the Gallery. Sharpening should be the last action that you apply to your images.
Mark Goldstein
Editor, PhotographyBLOG

#3 robedwcar

robedwcar

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,187 posts
  • Interests:Currently I am a student at Louisiana State University and married to a lovely woman named Terri. Photography has become a hobby between studying. I keep a daily journal of my pictures at the website listed.

Posted 02 May 2008 - 12:02 PM

QUOTE (markgoldstein @ May 2 2008, 04:52 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
In short, no - a polarizing filter makes blue skies bluer and cuts through reflections in things like water and glass.

You'll find that most of our members use a program like Photoshop to sharpen their images before uploading to the Gallery. Sharpening should be the last action that you apply to your images.