Photo

Promaster 28-300 Spectrum 7 Xr Edo

7 replies to this topic

#1 robedwcar

robedwcar

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,187 posts
  • Interests:Currently I am a student at Louisiana State University and married to a lovely woman named Terri. Photography has become a hobby between studying. I keep a daily journal of my pictures at the website listed.

Posted 14 May 2008 - 03:01 AM

Ok, I have tried lots of things such as using a tripod and the timer feature to make my shots. I have used Auto Focus and Manual Focus. I have adjusted shutter speed using rules of thumb such as "The lower number in the shutter speed should not be lower than the focal length". I have tried different types of light. While I can not decisively rule out that I am not still the cause of the blur I should think that I would get lucky every now and then given the measures I have taken. When viewing the "actual pixels" size setting in PSE2 I notice a haze around edges that should be sharp. This causes my images to be softer at actual sizes and makes it difficult to get the sharpness I am looking for in my shots.

Has anyone else used this lens and in your opinion is this a lens issue or a user issue? If it is a lens issue can anyone suggest ways to work around or correct the fuzziness without the obvious suggestion of buying a new lens (I can not afford one right now). Thanks! smile.gif
-Regards
Robert

#2 donmac

donmac

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,200 posts

Posted 14 May 2008 - 09:49 PM

Hi Rob
Are you sure it is the lens.
Raw digital images cannot define edges very well and so need sharpening. If you are shooting Raw then you will have to use some method to sharpen your images. If you are producing jpgs then your camera will be applying sharpening to the image. It may be that you need to change the amount of sharpening applied. Some cameras allow you to do this in the menu somewhere. If you dont have that option then try using the unsharp mask in PS.
Hope this helps
Rgds
Don