16 replies to this topic

#1 rmc0302

rmc0302

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 19 March 2009 - 02:23 AM

Hello all,
I am new here. My husband bought me a Nikon D40 for out Anniversary because I have always loved to take pictures. I am not good at it so I thought I would join a place that I can get tips and help, so if you have any tips for me please let me know.

Becky

#2 Guest_artfulpics_*

Guest_artfulpics_*
  • Guests

Posted 19 March 2009 - 06:41 AM

Hi, Becky, welcome to the Blog. Take pictures of what interests you. Read photo magazines and try to emulate what you see. Post a pic or two (best rate of posting is about 1-3 per day) and see if any good advice comes from that.

Your camera can do all auto or all manual. If trying it manual isn't fun, then stop and go to auto. If you're not having fun, you're missing out on something.

Chris

#3 tivey

tivey

• Advanced Members 300
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 17,537 posts

Posted 21 March 2009 - 02:39 PM

Hi Becky

Welcome to the blog! Chris has said it all perfectly. Just go out and play with the new toy and see what happens. I have learnt a lot just from seeing others images on this site, so keep looking at others images and try to see where there image strengths are and see from the exif how they have done it.

Viv

#4 JasminenHoney

JasminenHoney

• Advanced Members 300
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 5,410 posts

Posted 21 March 2009 - 05:40 PM

Hi Becky smile.gif and "Welcome to the blog!"

Just want you to know, that alot of us were newbies & alot we've learnt by veiwing, posting & not being afraid to ask when in doubt.
You will find alot of the members are more then willing to give idea's... best way to learn is paticipating!

Have fun... looking forward in veiwing your images.
~Kelly

#5 rmc0302

rmc0302

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 29 March 2009 - 05:03 AM

Thank you for the welcomes and advise.

#6 Angel-L

Angel-L

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts