Photo

Clarification On Lens Calculations

2 replies to this topic

#1 Punky

Punky

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 234 posts
  • Interests:Scuba Instructor, computer programmer, and my G400. ;-)

Posted 07 April 2005 - 02:23 PM

Man. I'm really torn.
I'm new to the world of photography and I'm looking to add equipment to the camera bag.
I've got the Canon Rebel XT (8mp).
The 75-300 f/4.0-5.6 IS Canon lens
The lens that came with the camera.
And the 580EX Speedlite.

I was looking at 16-35 f/2.8L USM but couldn't bring myself to part with the cash, especially since it would just be "replacing" one of my lenses and no adding to my camer's abilities. So I started looking at Macro lenses (and maybe a macro flash).

My problem is this - I don't entirely know what specifications makes one lens better/different from another.
I know the f/4.0-5.6 references the maximum aperture settings (based on the zoom seetting on the lens)....
And of course I know that the aperture affects the light and depth of field.
So can I assume that the lower the f/ number the larger that lens aperture capablities are... and that this is a "better lens" than those with a higher F/ number (smaller aperture) because more light can get in (although it reduces depth of field)?
Am I over simplifying this?

One more thing...
I thought that you could use the focal length to determine say the zoom on a lens.
I thought the calculation for a 35mm film camera with a 300mm lends would have a calculation something like
300mm / 35mm = 8.6 x zoom. (focal length / sensor size)... sounds reasonable... I think.

Now - when it comes to digital - the sensor is smaller so the calculation changes. I heard the 1.6x factor all the time. This kinda of makes sense. Looking at the Rebel XT sensor of 22.2 x 14.8 you can make the calculation of 35mm / 22.2mm = 1.6. I just love it when numbers make sense don't you? Things like the Fibonacci Sequence and FHI (1.618) just make my heart a flutter ;-) .... But I digress...