Epson R800 Or Hp Photosmart 8450?

6 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_liquify_*

Guest_liquify_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 August 2005 - 04:12 AM

Hi all!

I'm a designer and i do lot of photo / drawing prints. I've read both reviews and i just cant decide.

Can you please help me?

thanks

#2 eltel22

eltel22

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 13 October 2005 - 12:11 PM

This might be a bit late, but I have found HP's build quality to be atrocious. I only had one of their printers, and I binned it in the end. It was held together with flimsy plastic clips. And at the first sign of a paper jam - they snapped like a bit of biscuit.

I now have an Epson R800, and it is a spanking printer. I have also just got the R1800 also, which is A3+. They take the same ink cartridges, which is useful. You do use more cyan than any other ink, but that's OK, because you can buy them separately.

One issue though, is the paper. Ilford silk finish is fine for the R800, as are most gloss ink jet papers. But for the R1800 I got Epson paper, and it is unbelievably thin! But, it dries out almost instantaneously. By contrast, papers like the Ilford, remain tacky for a few hours.

#3 madhale

madhale

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 132 posts

Posted 21 October 2005 - 02:41 AM

one word: epson

#4 Guest_fgapl_*

Guest_fgapl_*
  • Guests

Posted 23 November 2005 - 05:14 PM

QUOTE (eltel22 @ Oct 13 2005, 12:11 PM)
This might be a bit late, but I have found HP's build quality to be atrocious.  I only had one of their printers, and I binned it in the end.  It was held together with flimsy plastic clips.  And at the first sign of a paper jam - they snapped like a bit of biscuit.

I now have an Epson R800, and it is a spanking printer.  I have also just got the R1800 also, which is A3+.  They take the same ink cartridges, which is useful.  You do use more cyan than any other ink, but that's OK, because you can buy them separately.