Career Advice

5 replies to this topic

#1 Dawn397

Dawn397

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 02 November 2005 - 11:14 AM

i'm currently studying a Fine Art Degree at Portsmouth university but already feel university isn't right for me, i want to start working! i was just wondering what qualifications (if any) do i need to start a career in photography? i have no problem starting right at the bottom but i would just like some information on how to get started! if anyone could help me i would be very grateful!!
thank you for your time.

#2 photosales

photosales

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Interests:I am a news reporter who is also an amateur photographer and I am trying to contact any freelance or amatuer photographers who want their pictures or video of newsworthy events sold to the media.

Posted 09 November 2005 - 11:10 AM

If you want to get into newspaper photography, the best thing is to look for work experience on your local paper and try and get onto a news-related photography course. If I were you, and you have a relatively decent digital camera and a car, I'd get in touch with the picture desk at the Porstmouth Evening News and ask if you can come in for some work experience. I'd also use some of your free time to go around the city centre, keeping your eye open for potential news-related pictures. If sports photography is something you are more likely to want to try your hand at, have a word with your local football club and ask if you can come in a take pictures for a portfolio you are trying to put together.

Something I'm planing to launch next year might be of interest to you though - which is an agency that sells newsworthy pictures taken by members of the public and amateur photographers to the media. At the moment, I am trying to build up a database of UK-based amateur photographers who want someone to sell their pictures to the media.