Panasonic Lumix DMC-FT2 Review

4.0
February 5, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

106 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Fernando

Great Post,
Love this blog

Please visit our sites


http://www.AlexanderJamesStockPhotography.com
http://www.DistilEnnui.com

2:37 pm - Friday, February 5, 2010

#2 dsi r4

This is pretty great post.I must say now families can enjoy using a digital camera, both for outdoor activities, vacations, while allowing children to also take photos without worrying about risks for the camera…

4:57 am - Saturday, February 6, 2010

#3 paul

The video sample link doesn’t work

1:59 am - Sunday, February 7, 2010

#4 Tiff

http://tiffanymokphotography.blogspot.com/

awesome site! i love taking pictures! check it out.

9:39 am - Sunday, February 7, 2010

#5 find coupon

I cant wait for this camera to come out. i have the FT1 and couldnt be any happier. great at macros in water and good at correct exposures in tricky places.

6:33 am - Monday, February 8, 2010

#6 Ivo

Great review. Does this Panasonic automatically rotate the pictures in the correct way? I’m referring to the meta information that is saved in each photo, so that rotation is not needed while editing (similar to the Canon Ixus).

11:10 am - Monday, February 8, 2010

#7 Howie

What will be best alround (water and ski) sportscamera. The Olympus Tough 8000 or the Panasonic DMC-FT2 ?????

9:10 pm - Thursday, February 11, 2010

#8 Ro

According to the comparison that DPReview made of the compacts in this class in ultimo ‘09, the canon came out with the best image quality closely followed by the panny FT1 while the Olympus Tough was the worst.

Now that the FT2 is as tough as its competitors, if only it keeps up the good image quality (for this class of camera) from its younger sibling it should be a safe bet.

Damn why am I stuck with an Olympus 1030, anyone interested? ;)

-Ro

1:13 am - Friday, February 12, 2010

#9 Sam

Great review - good to see some real detail for a camera that’s not out yet! (UK at least).

1:56 pm - Monday, March 8, 2010

#10 Joe Clayton

I Want`s it…..My Preciousssss!

10:43 am - Thursday, March 25, 2010

#11 Bucky2k

Nice loocking Camera, had the FT-1. It has implemented most of the shortcomings of its predecessor, but still it won’t be first choice for outdoor sports. Why does’t it have the simple to implement but essential funktions like manual focus (with the lens system everthing farther than 5m is sharp anyway) for instantaneous sport shots and an intervall mode for pictures every few seconds (camera assembled to a kite, etc.)? Why doesn’t the video restart itself after 15 minutes, making it possible to place the camera somewhere at your sports equipment? Why is panasonic not looking at the very successful Pentax W-Series, which has some of theses features? I don’t get it…

1:38 pm - Thursday, March 25, 2010

#12 Tor Rønnow

I currently use an Olympus Tough 8000, I use the camera for shooting during marathon running. This is my sole purpose of having a ‘rugged’ camera.

However, the 8000 does not deliver quality pictures. I would like the best possible image quality from a compact camera that can sustain the ‘bumps’ and moist from running… that why Im in the rugged game.

After lots of reading, the FT2 (TS2) here seems to offer the best image quality… however, please suggest if that is not so or if you could point at better alternastives (Im NOT diving and NOT going to the South Pole).

Any comments on the ‘new’ main competitors - Tough 8010, Pentax W90, Casio rugged ?

Kind regards, Dr. Tor Rønnow, Denmark

10:29 am - Sunday, March 28, 2010

#13 blau

can anyone tell me how this matches up to the new Sony Cyber-shot DSC-TX5 ?

10:27 pm - Sunday, April 4, 2010

#14 H

Does anyone know of a store where I can go in and actually get my hands on one of these tough sports cameras (Pentax W80, Lumix DMC-FT2, Olympus Tough 8010)...? I do not like the idea of paying out hundreds of pounds without trying it first but I’m losing hope scowering the net for stockists.

Please let me know if you know of anywhere…

2:56 pm - Friday, April 9, 2010

#15 Jon

I currently have the FT1 and it is by far the best, most enjoyable camera I’ve owned. Looking forward to having a play with this one once it arrives in stores.

8:11 am - Monday, April 12, 2010

#16 Tor Rønnow

I have been reading up on the TX5 and it looks extremely cool.. with better image quality and better video than the TS2… which makes it a hard coice between to seemingly great cameras.

8:17 am - Monday, April 12, 2010

#17 Victor H

some video shot with this camera, with an Octopus as the cameraman:
http://www.vimeo.com/10966874

super rugged and excellent quality HD video in such a small form package.  am super happy that it survived the crushing grips of this New Zealand Octopus!

3:17 am - Friday, April 16, 2010

#18 bbb

does anyone khows which camera is better, olympus 8010 or ft2? and why?

3:39 pm - Saturday, April 17, 2010

#19 megan

i have this camera - it is absolutely brilliant, sensational pics and hd movie. easy to use, instructions are clear and umcomplicated

9:57 am - Wednesday, April 21, 2010

#20 SZhuo

I just bought mine FT2 last month and test it out on my trip to Bali, using it on hill, in the rain, under hot sun and yeah, underwater shooting, both in swimming pool and open sea diving, so far so good, the camera operate well in those extreme condition, the only thing was that the underwater, especially sea water image a bit blur, but once go thru the PS auto level, the vivid color show up again, just like magic! cool… luv mine FT2!

4:20 am - Monday, April 26, 2010

#21 jlfunder

Bought this and immediately took it on a very dusty, muddy and wet 4 day hike.  it survived. but I found the screen impossible to see in the bright sun, the color and sharpness nowhere close to my canon 850is and about 30% of the pictures badly blurred from shake. reviewing the exif on the pics suggests the camera was not making very good decisions about shutter speed. i suppose i should have played around with the ‘sports’ setting but a $400 camera should not need a psychologist.  i think i will buy a dry bag for the canon and send this back.  it’s a real nice color.

1:48 am - Tuesday, April 27, 2010

#22 jj

just got mine - seems to do the job.

Whats the deal with non OEM batteries, will the ft2 take them? I know panasonic have started encoding batteries so that only OEM ones can be used (like my G1)

12:07 pm - Friday, May 7, 2010

#23 none

@ jj

Yes, this camera will only use certified batteries (either OEM or from certified manufacturers, according to Panny’s website).

I just need to know whether this camera is worth $50 more than the new Optio w90.

7:27 pm - Tuesday, May 18, 2010

#24 martti_s

My mju: 8000 tough just ceased to function with no obvious reason 13 months after the date of purchase. I bought it before the Canon or the Lumix were available. Sorry. The image quality is nothing to write home about, either, especially the video.
A NO vote from here for the Olympus.

9:48 am - Sunday, May 23, 2010

#25 Richard

what is best - the lumix dmc ft2 or the pentax w90? - never mind the price.

7:36 pm - Tuesday, May 25, 2010

#26 The 8 capper!

This site really helped me to decide on the FT2 or TS2 as it’s known here in the US. I looked at all the Olympus, Pentax and Casio but none comes out great as an OVERALL package with the better IQ.

PROS: Small, compact, FAST startup and BOMB proof! Great for the snow, or water or anything rugged without having to worry about damaging the camera. Great battery life as well, much better than the Sony DSC-N1 that it replaced. Awesome video as well.

CONS: Cannot turn off the LED for the sneaky shots in the dark against my nuisance neighbor. And the time and date stamp only works for 3MP and not the full resolution. Don’t understand WHY but oh well, it’s not a deal breaker.


Used it in the pool, at the golf course (LOVE the 10 fps mode!). IQ is OK but hey, it’s a compact.

Past cameras: Sony DSC-N1, Nikon Coolpix 5000.

7:44 am - Thursday, May 27, 2010

#27 Richard

thanks to the 8 capper for the advice. I picked up the feeling else where that the FT2 (TS2) does great video - so I think that is it decided ...  I was concerned about fiddly controls and if the screen was ok in sunlight - presume you have found these things ok? Anyone have any comment about this (especially if compared to the pentax W90….

12:50 pm - Thursday, May 27, 2010

#28 The 8 capper!

Yes, I use the TS2 in the snow all the time and on bright bluebird days to wind blown overcast days. No problems with seeing the screen for me. Like anything else, it’s not 100% perfect for everyone but compared to the Sony DSC-N1 and other compacts, the TS2 has the ability to adjust the screen brightness to the ambient light. You can turn this on or off, so that’s a plus.

If it’s an issue, I would have said something.

As for fiddly controls, I don’t see it as a problem at all. The knobs are firm and the buttons are positive so you know when you press it. In some areas, the TS2 excels - I just love the ability to quickly change my MPs and aspect ratios with the Q Menu button, going from 16:9 to full QUICK! Or have the gridlines on display at a push of the button - you’ll be surprised by how useful this is.

My wish list for the TS3 is that Panasonic should streamline the control knobs and buttons, especially the picture mode knob. Make it flush so it sits better and doesn’t grab when I pull it out of my pocket. This is probably in contrary with the people who use this camera for diving and wearing glove but hey..it’s my wish list.

Good luck with it, there’s a lot of great cameras out there but the FT2 or TS2 is perfect for my needs.

6:32 pm - Thursday, May 27, 2010

#29 marek

this panasonic is far superior that the 80 olympus, which is super slow, from pressing the shutter to the picture being taken.

have just played with FT2 and regret wasting my money on the olympus, marek

2:06 pm - Friday, May 28, 2010

#30 marek

sorry i meant the olympus super touch, do not buy it but this panasonic, its in a different league

2:10 pm - Friday, May 28, 2010

#31 marek

sorry to much partying!!!!!!!!!!!

sorry I meant the olympus super touch! do not buy it

its super slow compared to this panasonic, which is a great toy in comparison, another class

2:14 pm - Friday, May 28, 2010

#32 Jesper

Hi guys!
Can anyone tell me whats best; the Olympus tough 8010 or the FT2. I’m leaning towards the olympus.

I am a freediver and I want to use the camera as an underwatercamera.

Thanks! :)

5:29 pm - Friday, May 28, 2010

#33 Tor Rønnow

The TS2 is better by far according to reviews.

However, do consider the Sony TX-5, I choose this myself, actually, after many readings of reviews etc. Great camera ! But Im sure that the TS2 is close at par, being my first choice before the TX5 came out… just days before I purchased the TS2.

5:36 pm - Friday, May 28, 2010

#34 Jesper

Thanks Tor.

Anyone who have an other opinion?

Olympus tough 8010 or TS2 ??

7:52 pm - Friday, May 28, 2010

#35 Tom

I did some comparison for the Olympus tough 8010 and the TS2. So far i came up with these:

Tough 8010:
Has a 2 cm macro zoom while the FT2 needs 5 cm.
Has tap controll what the FT2 lacks
Can make 5 fps while the FT2 does 1,8 fps. (although in lower res the FT2 is extremely fast)
Has a lens cover
Can withstand a 100kg crush (but then i wasn’t planning to dance ON my camera)

While the FT2/TS2:
Has a faster focus, users complain about the olypmus’s zooming speed.
Has Movie-stabilisation.
Has a 1,1 sec startup instead of 6 sec!!
Has better image quality is low light situations.
Has an overal better image quality.
Can divide video’s on the camera.
Can leave its led on while filming (very convenient).
Can make 380 pictures on a single charge according to CIPA, while the olympus has just 200

So i went for the FT2 and i didn’t regret it.
It make’s very nice pictures. Use a flash in low light situations (without the pics a still a bit noisy)or with a still image use the Night scenery mode (beautiful) or the starry sky mode with a shutter time up to 60 sec.

Make’s excellent movie’s and has IMO very good sound. The avchd movie can be converted to mpeg to half size with no quality loss.

10:33 am - Monday, May 31, 2010

#36 keysmith

it is better than the competition (At least on paper) for many reasons..
The main is that it has OPTICAL ZOOM working in video (movie) mode.. This on it own makes it a true video-camera.
All other watter resistant cameras have no optical zoom function while videoing..

I hope they now made it true water resistant (it claims 10m) as the FT1 (TS1) had some issues as i read..

3:12 pm - Monday, May 31, 2010

#37 Davide - Seattle, USA / Bologna, Italy

I am a fan of the TS2 but still wondering what makes it superior to Pentax W90 beside having 2 more MP of resolution….? Anyone has seen any serious head to head review between our TS2 and W90???

I read everybody talking about the possibility of the sceen of the TS2 to ger scratched that is not possible. They use a special glass that avoid scratches so do not worry about it anymore.

10:51 pm - Monday, May 31, 2010

#38 Jesper

Thanks Tom!
The FT2 is better! I have ordered it now.
:)

3:32 pm - Tuesday, June 1, 2010

#39 Tom

Your welcome Jesper,

Don’t forget to order a class 6 SD-card for the avchd recording. I also recommend the gorillapod for long shutter times.

3:47 pm - Tuesday, June 1, 2010

#40 Jesper

Okay, Thanks!

3:50 pm - Tuesday, June 1, 2010

#41 Jenny

I can’t decide whether to order an FT1 or an FT2? obviously there is a fairly big price difference and I’m just wondering what you’re actually paying extra for with the FT2?
Shutter lag drives me mad so out of both cameras I’m looking for the quickest, any thoughts?

1:10 pm - Thursday, June 3, 2010

#42 Blake

just to add, a bit late, the best series of reviews I’ve seen is here: http://www.lenstip.com/125.4-article-Underwater_cameras_test_2010__Panasonic_Lumix_DMC-FT2.html
I picked up the newer lumix after these reviews, after thinking “when in doubt, get the sony”. Although my old Sony P150 is a lot sharper and ergonomic, I needed something my children can use. So far so good. Scroll down to the end of the lenstip review, you’ll see what a great job they did over there. /blake

10:04 pm - Monday, June 14, 2010

#43 Richard

ok - further to the helpful advice of several peole I bought my FT2 ..... but I cannot get it to accept my SDHC card. It is brand new but the camera just says “insert the sd card again” - but however many times I do - it makes no difference.
Am I unlucky with a duff card or has anyone else this problem? I dont have any other cards to try in it - and they are expensive £15-20 so I dont want to buy another in case it makes no difference….

11:29 pm - Thursday, June 17, 2010

#44 blake

Richard, it could be lots of things. Brand new camera, but still sometimes there is dust and stuff in there from packaging. Shine a flashlight in the tiny slot SD and see if all the contacts seem clean and shine back at you. You probably bought it on-line, but I’m sure your local camera shop would slap one of their spare SD cards in there and see if the camera takes it. If it does, see if your SD card goes in one of their cameras without error. Other thing: take the battery out, put in the card, then put the battery in and turn it on. Sometimes a strange circuit war gets going and this order of doing things (putting the SD in a battery-less camera) straightens it out. Hope it works!

9:59 pm - Saturday, June 19, 2010

#45 Marcus

Can anyone advise me on which would be best
I am selling all my pro SLR equipment and just want an easy pocket for hols, video and good low light (indoors and concerts etc)
I have in mind either the
DMC FT2 /
DMC TZ10 /
DMC TZ8 (which from what i can see is the same as the TZ10 but without GPS)
or the Canon Powershot SX210IS (which shoots at f2.0 although the zoom seems very limited on that going only to 60mm.
Thanks

4:44 pm - Monday, July 5, 2010

#46 jure1873

I just bought this camera today and I tried taking several pictures. They all have so much noise.
I bought this to upgrade from my Canon A710 and this camera is at least 10 levels bellow my old canon.
I don’t know what to do to fix this, tries resetting everything, setting ISO to 80, etc, to no avail.
Will probably return it.

6:07 pm - Monday, July 12, 2010

#47 Jay

I have own both the Olympus 770SW & the Tough 8000 - BOTH have failed in the silliest of conditions.

I attempted to go through the customer care channels and although very positive on both occasions, they couldn’t guarantee that either wouldn’t leak again!!

We are talking literally 3ft below the surface in a swimming pool!

5:34 pm - Friday, July 23, 2010

#48 Jeppe

I bought this camera a while ago, then I dropped it from maby 0,5 meter and the screen got a big crack! It says shockproof from 2 meters!
Apart frm that its a pretty good camera.

11:08 pm - Saturday, July 24, 2010

#49 Mike

Bought it and I think it is fabulous. This is my 15th digital camera and I suspect my last for a long time to come.

It’s performance is as good or better to anything I have oned before but it is so compact and robust that carrying it in ytour pocket is not an issue.

The best thing is I never have to worry about getting it wet and as I am one hell of a clumsy guy I won’t have to worry about dropping it either.

In summary it’s worth the money.

6:32 pm - Monday, July 26, 2010

#50 Richard

can anyone tell me how to get the video off the SD card? The jpegs download simply using the supplied cable, but I cant even find the AV files when plugged into my computer (HP Paviion dv6000)

12:37 pm - Monday, August 2, 2010

#51 richard

also thanks to balke for the solution to the sd card - reinserting b4 the battery got it accpeted for storing jpeg stills - but basically the card is duff as it wont store video. But at least it is not worthless now!

12:40 pm - Monday, August 2, 2010

#52 MP

#26 The 8 capper! said: And the time and date stamp only works for 3MP and not the full resolution. Don’t understand WHY but oh well, it’s not a deal breaker.


This is the deal breaker for me if this is the case. I must have time/date stamp on all photos at a resolution of 5MP or more, usually a contract condition.

5:28 pm - Tuesday, August 3, 2010

#53 lana

when i shake my panasonic DMC FT2..sound like some part loose inside..i used it once for snokerling…

2:56 pm - Monday, August 9, 2010

#54 Dani

I love my DMC-TS2! I have the yellow one. It’s been great, although I am a little paranoid about dust impairing proper sealing. I think I’m going to get a cheapo waterproof case for it just for dusty areas.

I am having a problem similar to Richard’s first issue (the “insert card again” problem). I’ve tried to put the card in before the battery and I’m still getting this error. My camera accepts my other cards just fine. This is really frustrating since the other cards are just back-ups and it’s the 32GB card that it won’t accept.

Does anybody have any idea why it would do this?

10:26 pm - Wednesday, August 11, 2010

#55 flajs

ive just got my panasonic dmc-ft2 delivered (so i havent used it at all!) and i have the same problem as lana, when you shake the camera it sounds like something is loose inside. is there anyone else who has that problem?

10:40 am - Saturday, August 14, 2010

#56 Marksfx

mine rattles too, don’t think its a problem though!

1:00 pm - Sunday, August 15, 2010

#57 lana

what a relief!!...
thanks friends on your respond..

2:59 pm - Friday, August 20, 2010

#58 flajs

yeah, i went to a photo guy, he told me the shaking sound is a sensor that register in which direction you hold the camera when you snap a shoot. so problem solved, its supposed to rattle.

12:16 pm - Saturday, August 21, 2010

#59 Ray

Regarding Luminex TS2: Thinking of buying one-
I’f off on a rafting trip-I read that image stabilization does not work while panning or on a moving boat-therefore get much hand shake in any video
Anyone know if this is true, and if so any workaround
Tx in advance

10:20 pm - Sunday, August 29, 2010

#60 blake

Ray, I use the aerial photo setting on it and this sets the focus on 5m to infinity and also seems to provide the best stabilization. So the focus doesn’t hunt all the time in fast moving situations. Very satisfactory at 400 ASA. Got some great bodysurfing shots. It’s gonna shake on a raft though. I’d get a small monopod or even build a fixed pole to screw it to that still provides some swivel. Most shake comes not from the raft bouncing up and down, but from your hands trying to compensate the movement. Test it what I’m saying in a car. Film through the wind shield hand held, then film with the camera resting on the dash. Do a few heavy curves. You’ll feel far less sick watching the footage of when the camera is firmly on the wind shield than in your hands.

11:10 am - Thursday, September 2, 2010

#61 Ray

Blake
Just got the camera. Tx for the tip-will try the aerial phot setting with and without some form of stabilizatiion before I leave for the Grand Canyon. I’ll see if i can find a mini-monopod.
Again-tx much

5:37 am - Friday, September 3, 2010

#62 richard

can anyone tell me how to get the video off the SD card? I can pull off if I use memory hungry jpeg format - but cannot pull of or view the AVCHD format - but do not know why that is.

9:05 pm - Sunday, September 5, 2010

#63 blake

Richard, just do a search on the SD card for the file format MTS. The VLC media player will play it if your graphic card can handle HD. If not, you can download the propriatory software from panasonic and it’ll both find the content, download it, and you can select a framerate for playback. Wanna laugh? On my old computer, I need to select 2 frames per second to watch the movie. Fortunately the O!Player is hooked up.

9:52 pm - Thursday, September 9, 2010

#64 John

How does a camera that sells for under USD$100 in the USA sell for $325 -> $500 here in Australia? I am going to buy one from a USA online seller and source a charger compatible with the Australian power supply.

12:54 am - Monday, September 13, 2010

#65 blake

John, the “pricegrabber” advertising links above are for dryland cameras. Same look/feel/spec, except don’t go swimming with them!

10:05 am - Friday, September 17, 2010

#66 Greg Villalobos

Couldn’t ask for a better camera. I’ve been cycling accross south america and apart from my bike, this is the best bit of kit that has accompanied me.

I used to have a Ricoh GR digital and loved the manual features, but it didn’t stand up to wear and tear.

The Panasonic may not have all the manual controls, but it has enough (the exposure + / - is good) and so far has withstood all the knocks, sand and water thrown at it.

It’s only an expensive option if you don’t abuse it, otherwise it’s great value for money.

All the pics and HD vids on my blog have been shot with it:

http://blogs.boldcreative.co.uk/alegria/

Love it!

G

7:09 pm - Sunday, September 19, 2010

#67 karl

hi im wonderingif anyone can help?
after uploading my movie files to my computer using the panasonic software i deleted the mts files from the streamline folder. after replacing the memory card back into my ft2, the movies are still showing only the camera tells me it can’t replay the image and there is no picture and it will not allow me to delete the file using the camera delete funtion. now the software will not even recognise the new movie files that i have recorded. what am i doing wrong have i deleted the wrong files?
hope someone can help i do not want to lose all my footage but im afraid i may have to bite the bullet and wipe my card!

2:30 pm - Wednesday, September 29, 2010

#68 blake

Karl, I’ve found that software quite unstable too. Maybe it erased some data file that references the movies/pictures it takes or it made a change and also corrupted the reference data file. Who knows. I know that if you erase shots from the memory while inside a file explorer you may get some data corruption on the card. Now you say this soft can also cause corruption. Wonderful. I guess we should only trust the camera to delete/format. So if the camera says there is nothing, you could try soft that recovers data and supports memory cards if you have a card reader. You’ll get big lumps of unidentified data you’ve got to try to identify. I don’t know if gspot or a program like that can identify MTS streams. Good luck!

9:36 am - Thursday, September 30, 2010

#69 Ron Walker

After very dissappointing winter / alpine photo and HD video results with my Pentax W90 I decided to invest in the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FT2/TS2.
I’m pleased to say that so far I’m delighted with the results for climbing and alpine use.
The DMC-FT2 Scottish winter climbing video test can be see at at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NawMD_eKn3A together with the poorer HD video from my Pentax W90 at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W1Q01IU95VU

12:03 pm - Saturday, October 30, 2010

#70 rein

I’ve red the (sort) manuel and lost the CDrom, is there an list with all the icons of the menu online? (what’s the URL)

Or is there an more complete manuel on the web i can download?

2:48 pm - Saturday, November 6, 2010

#71 blake

well, rein, that was a surprisingly long search. I gave up on the US site.

http://tda.panasonic-europe-service.com/docs/2z4cd68b41z3z2e282z656ez706466z20z8a7a84eadf57c93ec1471be6be4764e6de06c16f/tsn2/data/ALL/DMCFT2/OI/835082/vqt2q90.pdf

This model is the non-US version, identical in every way I believe.

The above link was from here:

http://www.panasonic.co.uk/html/en_GB/Products/LUMIX+Digital+Cameras/Stylish+Compact/DMC-FT2/Manuals/3379439/index.html?trackInfo=true

blake

12:23 pm - Sunday, November 7, 2010

#72 FREO 12

Can I use the burst function underwater - ie. when chasinga fish.  Does the burst function operate witht he underwater setting as it does with the scene mode?

10:09 am - Sunday, November 28, 2010

#73 Gina

Very disappointed, after only having the camera for four days water has seeped into the battery compartment when used in the pool. Spoke to Panasonic and have to now send it away to be ‘looked at’. NOT HAPPY!!!!!!

By the way my sister has the earlier model of this camera and water also leaked into the battery compartment and it had to be sent away to be repaired. She was told it was not a common problem with the camera…...mmmmm one has to wonder!!!!

8:49 am - Thursday, December 23, 2010

#74 Sandy

I’ve buyed this panasonic ft-2 camera and after few days of snorkeling it was broken….water in it and good bye!
Panasonic don’t accept warrancy because of the water so keep your eyes open and buy another camera or you have to safe this camera with a box because it is not safe and not water resistent as you need….
if you wanna try your fortune buy it, and good luck!

3:16 pm - Thursday, January 13, 2011

#75 Ale

Camera broken after few snorkeling…. panasonic says that this problem is out of guarrancy so it’s my problem.
DON’T BUY THIS CAMERA, IT’S NOT WATERPROOF AND THEY DON’T CHANGE OR REFUND IF YOU HAVE ANY PROBLEM WITH THIS CAMERA IN THE WATER…..
SO WHY THEY TELL THAT IS WATERPROOF TILL -10ATM?
I?M WITHOUT WORDS: WATCH OUT!!!! :mad:

10:08 pm - Tuesday, January 18, 2011

#76 stonecoldcnc

I bought the FT2 especially for my trip trough Western Australia. Picture and Video quality are great, better then my older Canon D400.

Unfortunately the battery broke after a week and needed to be replaced.

One other negative thing is the software. I can not work out how to copy only the new images to the PC. Doesn’t matter what I try it copies always all the images even if they’re are already on the computer.

Does anyone know how to copy only the new images and videos to the PC????

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

5:06 pm - Friday, January 21, 2011

#77 carms

Did anyone have any trouble after downloading the software for photofun studio Edition HD 5. Downloaded alright but keeps coming up with error message and stopped working but it never really started. . Uninstalled and installed several times but still the same problem. We have Window’s 7 home premium on our computor..Have contacted panasonic so just waiting to hear.Wondering if anone else has had this problem. grateful for any help.

9:28 am - Sunday, January 30, 2011

#78 carms

Sorry forgot to mention the camera a Lumix FT2 with software problem regarding photofun studio 5 hd edition

9:31 am - Sunday, January 30, 2011

#79 Toño

An important difference for me between olympus 8010 and ft2:

the screen in ft2 (actually i used ft1, but ft2 shouldnt be different) is better than in 8010, photos looks much more beautiful.

That means that with ft2 you can enjoy watching your photos on the camera and dont have to wait to see them on your computer to appreciate the real quality.

Also it offers a more accurate reference when you have to decide wether you have the right shot or you have to take another one.

5:15 am - Thursday, February 3, 2011

#80 Treb

The silicone case covers the tripod mounting hole. I plan to use the camera while sailing, using a Gorillapod to fix it to the boat. Would like to have the case fitted at the same time.

Anyone successfully cut a hole on the case to fix the tripod? I’m worried the case will rip and become useless.

12:22 pm - Thursday, February 3, 2011

#81 jure1873

I just got back from a trip in Thailand (14 days) and I’m very disappointed by the quality of the photos. I should have set it to a fixed iso 100 because most of the photos are grainy, some are so distorted that are unusable but with a lot of postprocessing I hope I’ll get 100 photos out of 2000 I took.

8:34 am - Saturday, February 26, 2011

#82 stonecoldcnc

jure1873

what settings did you use? This camera is taking great photos but it certainly helps to rtfm.

Check out my images in the link below, 75% were taking with the FT2 and the others with an older Canon SLR D400. You tell me which ones were taking with which camera.

https://cid-96d7206b5eda13ee.skydrive.live.com/redir.aspx?page=play&resid=96D7206B5EDA13EE!138&authkey=FWvxjba4V*M$

1:39 pm - Monday, February 28, 2011

#83 Poochy

This little camera is a real star. Once you get around the massive amount of variations possible in shoot modes and digital assisted zoom you realise that someone at Panansonic spotted the need for a very competent robust POCKET camera. This is definitley it. If there are compacts that give better image quality, they will be bulkier, less durable,not as well made and certainly not waterproof. I love the fact that the lens is upright inside the camera, meaning no moving parts on the outside to get bashed.The images so far I have are stunning, and in most cases on a par with my Canon SX1is which is a brick by comparison. Focus is quick, accurate, colour balance excellent, speed exemplarary. All in all I think it is very good value for money if you take account of its overall specification and capability. Well done Panasonic. I love the colour too, mine is orange, you can find it in dark holes!

2:54 pm - Thursday, March 3, 2011

#84 Erin Tugwell

Do not buy tis camera product warrenty is rubbish and Panasonic do nothing but blame the owner.

Camera still operates fine but is corroding in mulitple places, around buttons, on aliminuim plating, and the spring on under battery hatch is covered in salt.

Was used once in salt water and rinsed after 2hrs.

Panasonic told me i was to late and it has to be done within a hr. They then said that the plating is just a cover and can corrode but dont worry camera will still operate. Oh and the spring uunder battery hatch has to be cleaned with brushed provided. So remember that when you are leaving the beach to spit clean and use your brush WITHIN a hr otherwise its your fault

Take my word look at the Pentax


Erin

8:36 am - Monday, March 28, 2011

#85 Hilary

I thought I maybe just got unlucky but everyone on this thread seems to have the same problems.  I believe this camera is just badly designed.  The seals are really flimsy.  I’ve taken it snorkelling several times, every time no matter how careful I am to keep the seals clean the water gets inside.  Now its corroded inside and playing up.  Sent it back under warranty and they claim it passes their tests.  Definitely the worst camera purchase I’ve ever made.

3:00 pm - Thursday, May 5, 2011

#86 Hilary

I thought I maybe just got unlucky but everyone on this thread seems to have the same problems.  I believe this camera is just badly designed.  The seals are really flimsy.  I’ve taken it snorkelling several times, every time no matter how careful I am to keep the seals clean the water gets inside.  Sent it back under warranty and they claim it passes their tests.  Definitely the worst camera purchase I’ve ever made.

3:02 pm - Thursday, May 5, 2011

#87 blake

I’m sad you guys have had some trouble. For what it’s worth, for me, this camera has done exactly what the doctor ordered. It says in the manual to rinse it right away in fresh water when you get out and let it air dry. It says in the manual to limit immersion to no longer than 30 minutes. I’ve always had a bucket of fresh water ready to rinse it in as soon as I get out of the chuck. I just set it on a towel in the shade. Maybe I’m boring but if the manual says to do it a certain way, well it’s up to me to conform and use the thing to spec. It’s a pocket camera, operating without an enclosure. I thought the seals were really tiny and I doubted it would be able to handle it. But “I took the plunge”, followed the rules, and no probs yet (fingers are obviously in the crossed position). I bought it because I’m just mssing around in shallow water for laughs with my kids. Sure it’s costly for a pocket camera, but the alternatives in pocket are similarly priced and frankly, if you want the real deal you should reqlly spring for an enclosure set up. You won’t regret it, some modern enclosure set-ups are absolutely fantastic and the restrictions the Lumix has just aren’t there.

6:19 pm - Sunday, May 8, 2011

#88 stonecoldcnc

Blake I’m with you here, I think it is a brilliant camera which takes great photos. I have been using it on all my snorkel trips for the last 5 month which was almost every weekend. I took it quite often into the ocean for even more than an hour on regular basis and washed it only when I got home 2-3 hours later. The camera still looks new and no signs of any salt damage or corrosion. So far the seal keeps the water out but I’m always taking great care that there is nothing between the lid when I close it.

I can only recommend this camera for everyone who likes to go for snorkel trips or spends time around water.

People should just read the manual and stick to it to avoid the problems they have instead blaming Panasonic.

There is only one thing I don’t like about this camera and that is when you point it directly into the sun during sunset or a another bright light source it shows a blue vertical line which I’m not sure where exactly it comes from.

I think there is a new version out the Lumix FT3

2:47 am - Monday, May 9, 2011

#89 lana

whatever you comments is..my Panasonic FT2 leaking after 4 times snokerling…really dissapointed. Eventhough it’s an underwater camera..but i tot it still need a casing… :(

6:50 am - Saturday, June 25, 2011

#90 carmen McCarthy

Have been really happy with my little ft2 camera & highly recommend it. Purchased it in Jan this year & so far I have used it in the pool with the grandkids then spent 9 day’s in fiji in May snorkeling everyday & it was brilliant. I followed the instruction’s & always rinsed it in fresh water straight away, wiped it down & let it dry naturally. Never opened the casing until late each evening when totally dried to charge my battery alway’s checked seal. I love it. Have so much fun with it & really happy with the pictures & video function.

10:25 am - Saturday, June 25, 2011

#91 wbx

My dmc-ft2 developed a blur after being in relatively cold water for only 10-15 min. Water had also entered the battery space and it went completely dead. Panasonic supplied me with a new one. I do not take it underwater anymore. It just is a camera that stands relatively rugged conditions but it is not an underwater camera, which it claims. Its design just isn’t good enough. How could one praise an underwater camera when it is not waterproof? In that respect it is just a bad camera. If you take it skying it is fine. You can take it out of your pocket anytime, drop it in a little snow, etc. But when it claims to be waterproof up to 10m, it should be waterproof up to 10m. And it is definitely not for all of us.

1:18 am - Sunday, August 21, 2011

#92 Chloe

Hi I have a panasonic Lumix DMC-FT2 and have encountered a few issues. Within the last week or so my camera when turned on will instantaneously take a photograph, then after that fail to respond to any commands, changes in setting etc. I am able to turn the camera on and off but that is all. I took the battery and chip out and have tried to air out when camera as I thought some moisture might have gotten into the camera…but it hasn’t done anything. Do you have any suggestions?

10:42 am - Saturday, August 27, 2011

#93 blake

Just for info, we’re back from two nice hols, 10 and then 12 days this summer in the ocean with my kids. Before going, I did a first inspection: tons of fluff and other dusty-looking stuff, small hairs, had gathered from all the times I had opened the hatches to view content, recharge and so-on. I spent a solid while in concentration, cleaning both seals with some lint-free cloth and plain water, then let it dry open for ten, reinspected and off we went to the sea. Like stonecold I had no probs, this the third season with this camera. Great shots, the HD is freakin great. People with different experiences, well, hey, what can I say? I’m sorry for you and it is disappointing when stuff doesn’t work as it should. This little series of forum comment is just a speck in the universe of use this camera gets everyday. You can’t judge this camera on what is written here alone, neither the positive nor the negative feedback. And I’m sure not going to criticize people who have had problems with the camera -the cleaning is a bit dainty, the seals seem a bit too small in my view, and the latches seem to close without imparting as much compression onto the seals as I would like. That said, before the model goes off-production, I may buy a seal set, I noticed they sell them for replacing after a while. My conclusion? A solid little pocket camera which resists water down to at least about 6 or more meters (I’ve personally not gone deeper with it.) but you’ve got to look after it with proper care, keep it free of dust in the seal area. My experience? It sure resists getting smucked by Atlantic coast waves! And it sure didn’t mind the cold waters (9C) of the Salish Sea! Would rebuy the newer model, nuff said.

12:23 pm - Monday, September 5, 2011

#94 Jimmy

Not a waterproof camera.
After much reading of reviews and blogs we purchased a panasonic FT2 for a trip to Cairns. It leaked on the first outing of 1 metre depth and has had a fogged lens ever since. This was despite our fastidious soaking it in water after salt or sand exposure and using the tiny brush and accessories for drying between outings. Panasonic had it checked under warranty but found no fault and sent it back unchanged. Guess what? It still fogs up.
Splash resistant maybe but not waterproof. Do not buy this camera if you want to use it under water.

10:21 am - Monday, October 24, 2011

#95 dan

Mine FT2 started fogging after snorkeling trip and after that i checked the battery, memory card and the other interfaces seal and it was dry inside. Then the camera stopped working. Authorized panasonic service said that the camera leaked through the seals (wtf?? were dry!!!) and its my fault. Now i have broken overprized camera which i cannot use. Thank you Panasonic for your great services and for your “waterproof” camera! :-(

5:34 pm - Wednesday, October 26, 2011

#96 Fermi

Bought this camera last year, used it for a week for snorkelling, photos only acceptable, better in video mode. Always had the full recomended treatment after immersing. This year on my third of ten vacation days… oops! Non responding camera… completely dead… kaput!!! Some moisture on battery compartment, let it dry… but nothing…kicked the bucket!!!
DON´T BUY IT FOR UNDERWATER EVEN FOR ONE FOOT DEEP… IT´S NOT WATERPROOF. Maybe ok for out of water fun, but definitely not for underwater. And looks like I’m not the only one with this opinion…

5:45 pm - Saturday, December 3, 2011

#97 Pat Speirs

How do I get “copy” mode on Lumix DMC-FT2 to transfer from internal memory to card?

10:57 am - Monday, December 26, 2011

#98 Mr. T

I have had my TS2 for two years now. In year one the problem is condensation on the inside of the lens when scuba diving, caused by going from +27 degrees above water to +20 degrees C at 15-20 feet below water. On surfacing and leaving in the sun for 10 mins cleared it.Panasonics answer is that when I took out the battery to recharge it the night before “hot, humid air got in the camera” which caused condensation. A year later and just finished another scuba trip to Caribbean and had lens condensation again plus when back on surface, I found a few drops ofwater leakage into battery case. Dried out OK and still works but not sure it will survive a third trip! Other issue is that LCD screen is not bright enough underwater to see clearly through dive mask. Will keep it for its ruggedness and ‘splashproofness’ but am buying a GoPro as a real ‘waterproof’ camera

9:26 pm - Tuesday, February 14, 2012

#99 IK

Deeply disappointed with this camera. I just took it on holiday with the kids and used it under water twice. On each occasion I fastidiously followed the underwater instructions (brushed seals, used extra cover etc.). The reward for all my efforts: firstly a camera that fogged-up completely and secondly, a camera that will not turn-on. I am unfortunately beyond the warranty period. This was the first and last ‘underwater’ camera for me. Like the previous, you a better saving up for a little longer and getting a GoPro.

1:26 pm - Sunday, May 13, 2012

#100 marcie

Oh man i have to join the “gang” of disapointed panasonic Lumix ft2 owners.  Have had mine for 1.5 years (this is a $600 camera) and it has corroded so much that it has bored down under the screen and filled up with water = toasted camera! Panasonic say it is my fault and i am probably the most anal person when it comes to cleaning this little beast! very very disapointed as this was a great camera but just not fit for purpose!

9:42 pm - Thursday, August 23, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 720p, 2.7 inch LCD, 14 megapixel, lumix, panasonic, waterproof, dustproof, shockproof, freezeproof, 4.6x zoom, dmc-ft2, Panasonic Lumix DMC-FT2 Review, dmc ft2, ft2

Tracker Pixel for Entry