Canon PowerShot SX50 HS Photos

October 8, 2012 | Mark Goldstein | 21 Comments |
Canon PowerShot SX50 HS Photos Image

Ahead of our full review, here are 70 sample JPEG photos and a 1080p movie taken with the new Canon PowerShot SX50 HS super-zoom camera, including the full ISO range of 80-6400.

The Canon SX50 HS has an incredible 50x zoom lens (24-1200mm equivalent), making it the world's biggest super-zoom camera in terms of focal range.

A gallery of 70 JPEG photos and a movie taken with the Canon PowerShot SX50 HS camera.


Canon PowerShot SX50 HS JPEG Images

Sample Image

1/4 sec
f/4 | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/5 sec
f/4 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/10 sec
f/4 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/20 sec
f/4 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/40 sec
f/4 | ISO 800

Sample Image

1/80 sec
f/4 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/4 | ISO 3200

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/4 | ISO 6400

Sample Image

1/30 sec
f/3.4 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/5 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/5 | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/25 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 800

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/5 | ISO 1000

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 1000

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 1000

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/3.4 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/80 sec
f/4 | ISO 800

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/6.5 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 1000

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 800

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 1250

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 500

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/3.4 | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 500

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/3.4 | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/40 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/3.4 | ISO 160

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/3.4 | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/3.4 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/3.4 | ISO 250

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/5 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 640

Sample Image

1/80 sec
f/5 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/3.4 | ISO 800

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/3.4 | ISO 6400

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/3.4 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/4.5 | ISO 800

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/4.5 | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/6.5 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 250

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/5 | ISO 800

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/3.4 | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/6.5 | ISO 1250

Sample Image

1/80 sec
f/6.5 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 800

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/40 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/5 | ISO 640

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 640

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 1250

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 1000

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 500

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 320

Sample Image

1/80 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/6.5 | ISO 1600

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS Movie

This is a sample movie at the highest quality setting of 1920x1080 pixels at 24 frames per second. Please note that this 15 second movie is 65.8Mb in size.

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, compact, 1080p, 12 megapixel, hdmi, super-zoom, 10fps, tilting, super zoom, Canon, 2.8 inch LCD, PowerShot, 50x zoom, 24-1200mm, sx50, sx50HS, SX50 HS, 10 fps, Canon PowerShot SX50 HS, 2.8 inch, Canon PowerShot SX50 HS Review

Your Comments

21 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 bashar

nice ! , thanks for the review photographyblog =D

6:41 pm - Monday, October 8, 2012

#2 Margaret

just as Lucille implied I’m surprised that any one able to make $7829 in one month on the internet. have you seen this web link (Click on menu Home more information)  http://goo.gl/Whfpf   

2:08 am - Tuesday, October 9, 2012

#3 fernado galumbert

Hello, I need help, I’m between buying a SX40 or SX50 now, I want to birds due

3:46 am - Tuesday, October 9, 2012

#4 Joe Prete

A nice preview! Good variation in ISO, aperture and shutter speed. The pictures are sharp. CANON set the bar a little higher, up to 1200MM equiv., beats the 1000MM set by the NIKON P510. I wonder how high they can go, and still produce clean images. Who would have guessed this just a few years ago?  Fernando, do you really have to ask which camera? These are JPEGS! If you can afford it, this is the one to get!  Nice job Mark.

7:26 am - Tuesday, October 9, 2012

#5 OldReigatian

Are all these photos taken at the long end of the telephoto? I am just wondering what the image quality is like at 1200mm at 1600 and 3200 ISO.

Cheers

3:27 pm - Tuesday, October 9, 2012

#6 Andy Clad

Hi all.
Well done Mark for taking some pics with high ISO. Its good to really push the camera to the limit.
Canon have really done a good job here with noise control. The people on the bridge and the sw9 bar shots really highlight this. Good to see that theirs still life in a small sensor. The camera shows good colour and black level. Will be good to see as to what the lens can do on a sunny day. Should really be better. Looking forward to the full review. Well done PB.

4:04 pm - Tuesday, October 9, 2012

#7 OldReigatian

Hi Were these photos taken at the telephoto end of the zoom range. Just interested to see how the quality holds up at the long end with a high ISO.

Thanks

4:07 pm - Tuesday, October 9, 2012

#8 Joe Prete

TO OLD REIGATIAN,
If you had to ask that question, save your money and get some books out of the library first. Did you really think that 1200MM would be this cameras strong point? At high ISO, no less!
As you learn, you will be able to tell the approximate focal length of most pictures. Without asking. Really, learn first, so that you’ll know what you need and when you need it. Then you won’t have to ask these questions.
You may hate me now, but you’ll thank me later. ... Joe Prete

P.S.: Mark, again, very nice preview. It’s good when you throw us a bone once in a while. ... Joe

5:32 pm - Tuesday, October 9, 2012

#9 Warren Lyons

Bone, my a**.  I want the whole darn skeleton.  When are we getting the comprehensive review?

8:56 pm - Tuesday, October 9, 2012

#10 Joe Prete

All IP Addresses are verified with the posting, though some may no longer be on the distribution list.

9:56 pm - Tuesday, October 9, 2012

#11 Joe Prete

To Old Reigatian,
I did some searching and found a site that clearly explains focal length and many other helpful tips that you can use.

http://www.Tutorial9.net/

You can scroll around and learn, or just put into the search bar “lenses and focal length” and that specific topic will come up.

If you are interested in learning, I can send you a list of links that help you learn for free. It’s easy enough to find me, but if you can’t, just leave a message here and I’ll get back to you.

If you were just looking to pull in distant subjects, the SX50 will do the job as good as, or better than many others, but it’s strong point would be movies. The 1200MM is quite a bonus, but you will find the same “weak” points in most super zoom lenses.

If that doesn’t work for you, I would say an SLR and a Mirror lens would be the cheapest way to get there. Let me know if you need any more help okay? It is worth taking the time to learn. ... Joe Prete

3:02 am - Wednesday, October 10, 2012

#12 williamdaviddice

I have taken thousands of photos with Canon SX30IS & Canon SX40HS but have not tried the new SX50HS. It takes awhile to figure out how to use these cameras properly & set the controls for best results. I always use a tripod or mono-pod & try to keep the shutter speed up there. I use AV mode the most. Birds is what I use the camera for mostly but it is also excellent for sunsets on the super vivid mode ( second to none ).

1:05 am - Tuesday, January 29, 2013

#13 JOE PRETE

William,
Their image stabilization is so good, you really don’t have to worry about shutter speed or even aperture, you won’t really need the tripod either. This camera is that good! it will surprise you.
Learn to trust the technology, soon you won’t want to put the camera down. This is coming from a Nikon Shooter!
... Joe Prete

5:25 am - Tuesday, January 29, 2013

#14 Gene

Bought SX50 to take concert snaps where they allow fixed lens cameras in. Question: I was told to have the photos turn out you need to use the Manual setting. I hate to admit that I use the AUTO setting almost always - is the manual setting a must for concerts?

4:37 pm - Thursday, June 27, 2013

#15 Joe Prete

Gene,
What is the point of having one of the best cameras that technology has to offer,  then to use it in the most primitive fashion. The camera has facial detection that can tell twin brothers apart, modes that let it fire only when the person smiles, or holds she shot until all the eyelids are open, before it takes the picture.

Would you buy a Rolls Royce to use as a taxicab on the streets of New York? No, you would buy a Ford That is built for such use.

I’m a Photographer, and this is one of the cameras that I carry when I can’t carry my DSLR Cameras. Do you think I’m going to use manual focus and manual exposure? I have used those modes only to test the camera when it was new, but you need to let the automation work for you. This camera came out at close to $500.00, but due to the low price on Canon’s entry level DSLR Kit, the price was too close. I paid $383.00, but just last week it was available at Staples Office ctr. for about $350.00 In fact, I posted that in the normal comment section, the one that follows the camera review, not the picture review where you are.
... Joe Prete

6:11 pm - Thursday, June 27, 2013

#16 Gene

Joe, Thank you very much for such a quick answer. I appreciate and understand what you are saying. Here’s my scenario. I’m going to a soundcheck of a concert, and I’ve been told (not in much detail) that spectators are about 40 rows back for the soundcheck, so I will definitely want an extended zoom. They also said that for the “photos to turn out, you’ll want to use the “M” setting”.

I use a G12, which has been great for me, but it does not have an extended range. After some research, a couple of weeks ago I bought the SX50. I expect to explore and enjoy this camera, but in the meantime, I was concerned about being told that only the M setting will work for my specific purpose at the concert.

I’ve been experimenting with the SX50 and so far, it is remarkable, and it seems to me that it would do a fine job with the soundcheck photos. However, the warning about using M raised my concern as my main goal at this time is to not ruin my photos of the concert. 

Guess I was just looking for some advice from those who have had similar photographic challengeds, and hopefully, have experienced the SX50.

Any advice you can give is much appreciated.
Thank you, Gene

P.S. I apologize if I’m posting in the wrong place)

8:27 pm - Thursday, June 27, 2013

#17 Joe Prete

Hi Gene,
I received your message internally, and I think you may benefit from at least an email discussion. We can go further if necessary, but you can reach me at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) and I’ll try to help you through your current situation. It is a little difficult going into detail though the blog. I’ll be looking for your email.
... Joe Prete

9:31 pm - Thursday, June 27, 2013

#18 alireza from iran

good camera with bad movie recording quality because of low frame rate

1:16 pm - Friday, November 22, 2013

#19 Nick

I think the samples shown are terrible, even the books. All look like taken through a dirty filter.  There is no color separation and they are all slightly out of focus (noise). You should check out any of the FZ Lumix sample photos,
like the FZ150(if you want a 600mm camera)to see crisp, look like you are there photos, and see near perfect color. Its 600mm is superb and the shot grab is right on the money even on fast moving inmages-birds, butterflies and such, even on Automatic. I wish your testing guys would concentrate more on nature photos, people,plants, & real close-ups rather than drab city stuff. Based on the samples, I would not buy the camera. However, I have seen superb tripod 1200mm shots taken at 40 yards that are outstanding.Hand held shots at that distances show shake and must be fixed in a Photo Program.  Nick

1:46 am - Monday, June 9, 2014

#20 Nick

I just posted the above.  If you want to see superb shots with this camera, go to
http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/Canon_PowerShot_SX50_HS/sample_images.shtml but don’t expect to see any tele shots.  I don’t understand sales pitches. Here is a 1200mm lens camera and no one dares ro show any pix at that or lower mm pix down to 600mm.  Why?

Happy Hunting.

Nick

2:19 am - Monday, June 9, 2014

#21 Joe Prete

Here’s a link to some colorful images taken from a distance with the SX50 HS If you need the exact distance, post your questions there.
http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3355590
There is a link to a larger Gallery of SX50 HS images, just below the images on page one. The Photographer is Kenn Threed.
… Joe

2:34 am - Monday, June 9, 2014