Fujifilm FinePix HS30EXR Photos

April 13, 2012 | Mark Goldstein | 52 Comments |
Fujifilm FinePix HS30EXR Photos Image

Ahead of our full review, here are 46 sample JPEG photos and a 1080p movie taken with a full production version of the new Fujifilm FinePix HS30EXR ultra-zoom compact camera.

The HS30 EXR is a 16 megapixel superzoom/bridge camera with a 30x optical zoom lens, Full 1080p HD movie recording, RAW image capture, electronic viewfinder, a tilting LCD screen and a flash hot-shoe.

A gallery of 46 JPEG photos and a movie taken with the Fujifilm FinePix HS30EXR ultra-zoom compact camera.


Fujifilm FinePix HS30EXR JPEG Images

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/7.1 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/7.1 | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/45 sec
f/4 | ISO 500

Sample Image

1/340 sec
f/5 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/90 sec
f/5 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/150 sec
f/5 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/4 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/120 sec
f/3.6 | ISO 2000

Sample Image

1/34 sec
f/3.6 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/1500 sec
f/4 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/4 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 800

Sample Image

1/105 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/28 sec
f/3.6 | ISO 640

Sample Image

1/85 sec
f/8 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/210 sec
f/4.5 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 1000

Sample Image

1/34 sec
f/2.8 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/2.8 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/1900 sec
f/4 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 320

Sample Image

1/420 sec
f/5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/180 sec
f/4 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/90 sec
f/4 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/170 sec
f/4 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1000 sec
f/4 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/4 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/180 sec
f/4 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5 | ISO 1250

Sample Image

1/350 sec
f/3.2 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/120 sec
f/5 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/2.8 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/170 sec
f/4.5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/170 sec
f/8 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/85 sec
f/8 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/80 sec
f/4 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/180 sec
f/4 | ISO 800

Sample Image

1/75 sec
f/4.5 | ISO 640

Sample Image

1/3 sec
f/4 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/6 sec
f/4 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/10 sec
f/4 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/20 sec
f/4 | ISO 800

Sample Image

1/45 sec
f/4 | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/4 | ISO 3200

Fujifilm FinePix HS30EXR Movie

This is a sample movie at the highest quality setting of 1920x1080 at 30 frames per second. Please note that this 20 second movie is 34.6Mb in size.

Entry Tags

hd, compact, 1080p, photos, samples, images, 16 megapixel, preview, full hd, fujifilm, compact camera, cmos, raw, finepix, bridge, ultra-zoom, evf, ultra zoom, 30x, hs30, HS30 EXR, HS30EXR, Fujifilm FinePix HS30EXR

Tracker Pixel for Entry

Your Comments

52 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Oeo

Being an outdoor photography enthusiast, this camera is so 20th century for me. Where is the GPS? Won’t buy one without one.

7:46 pm - Friday, April 13, 2012

#2 JS

What do you need the GPS for? Buy a map or ask someone for directions…The IQ is so, so, that’s important to me!

9:02 pm - Friday, April 13, 2012

#3 Kym Crowley

Then you’re missing out…

9:31 pm - Friday, April 13, 2012

#4 DM

Would like to view some 8MP, DR200%, DR400%, photos, in any of the PASM modes to better judge quality.  Samples don’t look any better than the previous HS20, seems like not big upgrade.
Check out chromatic aberration in picture 12 at he roof of the building !

1:36 am - Saturday, April 14, 2012

#5 arta zorg

The pictures are quite well given the price of the camera. things are going so quickly nowadays in photography ...
Do you have any feedback about the functionnalities ? Any photo of the camera and the tilting lcd screen ?

7:51 am - Saturday, April 14, 2012

#6 Charles-Edouard des Vastes-Vignes

This site is really interesting, thank you very very much !

You wrote that this camera can use raw mode. Can you add some raw images ?

In a general manner, jpeg images are of low quality even if taken in ‘fine mode’, compared to raw ones. From my experience, a say 6000x4000 jpeg image is equivalent in quality to a 1500x1000 raw image. So, I suggest to all the reviewers to qualify *at best* as medium quality the cameras which do not offers a raw mode.

Kindest regards, Ched’

11:00 am - Saturday, April 14, 2012

#7 Bazza P

From your text above


“A gallery of 46 JPEG photos and a movie taken with the Fujifilm FinePix HS30EXR DSLR camera. “


A DSLR??


C’mon lads, get your act together

1:40 pm - Saturday, April 14, 2012

#8 JOE PRETE

Squirrels are Rodents like Rats! 

The photos are very good for a $500.00 sensor.
I have an HS20 EXR that I bought just to do a review.
Instead of fixing the HS20, they come out with the next versions -
HS25 & HS30 That’s what bothers me about Fuji. I give them the report, they fix it, by selling more cameras. This started with the HS10, but the next three where sold in just over a year. They really treat their customers nice!

6:41 pm - Saturday, April 14, 2012

#9 JOE PRETE

Bazza P,
DSLR is a typo. It is a Bridge camera. And a very nice one, I’m just not happy about the way they “fix” things. But I think everyone knows it’s a Bridge camera. “GOOGLE PLAY” is really nice though!

7:08 pm - Saturday, April 14, 2012

#10 DM

Agree with Joe Prete comment !
Fuji guys just want us to pay the price of a real DSLR or Micro4/3 for their new X-S1 super-zoom that has a better sensor, if they drop it’s price tag would be a good deal, real viewfinder, better low-light pictures over ISO800.

12:39 am - Sunday, April 15, 2012

#11 JOE PRETE

Can you believe that $799.00 for a bridge camera, Fuji is going overboard. Gas is $5.00 a gallon, look at what their cameras cost. I wish people wouldn’t bite at all this stuff, they would have to bring the prices down!

1:18 am - Sunday, April 15, 2012

#12 Mad Hungarian

Worst camera I have ever owned. 2 days later i returned it to Amazon. Flimsy & Made in China.

4:21 am - Sunday, April 15, 2012

#13 theye

It’s bad. Low resolution, low dynamic range.

6:24 pm - Sunday, April 15, 2012

#14 JOE PRETE

12 & 13 Are you describing the Fuji X S1 or the HS10/20/25/30?

10:56 pm - Sunday, April 15, 2012

#15 Mad Hungarian

Mine was the hs25exr which is same as the 30 with minor diffs

2:50 am - Monday, April 16, 2012

#16 JOE PRETE

Thanks Mad H.
I started looking over the S X1. It’s the same sensor as the little viewfinder X10 But it’s a noisy beast. The ISO range that it looks okay at will not make any one happy. And, they hold it at $799 and like some one already said, it is UGLY! Maybe comfortable, but it’s for web photos, or no more than 8X10 for sure! I’ll post the findings, but I hope people will read them. It seams to be aimed at the younger set, people that will love that big lens. Thanks Mad H. I’ll look out for you on the web. ... Joe PRETE

6:59 am - Monday, April 16, 2012

#17 Mike B

Pictures don’t look good to me. Zoom on the Squirrel and it looks more like an oil painting than a photograph!

Even the other shots at lower ISOs have a lot of noise.

Maybe fine for those who just have 3x5 prints.

5:57 pm - Monday, April 16, 2012

#18 JOE PRETE

Mike, that’s pretty much what we said. And for the money, we were trying to get people to look at an entry level (real) camera. Without zooming way out, and with low ISO, The average person might think it looks okay as an 8X10 or as a web photo. Did you read the comments as it went along?

9:21 pm - Monday, April 16, 2012

#19 JOE PRETE

Mike B Did you read #16? the X-S1 has the same sensor as their prized X10 The little brother to the X100 We’re a little bit annoyed at Fuji for charging so much for this cr_p

9:25 pm - Monday, April 16, 2012

#20 DM

Fuji is still going on the mega-pixels race instead of chasing better image quality.
From the samples I’ve seen of their X-S1 I’m really disappointed, still too noisy for the price they charge. I would only upgrade from my HS20, good quality pictures at 8MP, if it was the same price.
I’m starting to look at Sony’s NEX-5N, much better build and image quality and even less expensive with good kit lenses. NEX-7 ticks all the marks but is too expensive.

1:58 am - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#21 DM

Just adding that today you can buy the HS20EXR, brand new, for just U$290, a fair price for it. Pretty much the same image quality of the 16MP samples I’ve seen from the HS25 and 30.  Besides the old HS20 uses 4 rechargeable Ni-MH AA batteries (or even any AA) better deal to me, dough some people didn’t like this.

2:12 am - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#22 JOE PRETE

DM, It Sounds like you’re on the right track with the Sony, I’m glad to hear that. The HS20 dropped to $290., I didn’t know that. At least people won’t get hurt at that price. The EXR Mode is very good once you get the hang of it. But the S X1 FOR $799. I really wish people would just ignore them with that one and the X10 Let them sit on them for a while Good Luck with the Sony, I know you’ll be much better off.

2:36 am - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#23 JOE PRETE

Hey DM, see the Sony NEX-5N vs. 7N at dp review, side by side. You’re right, there is a big difference. Unless you need the smaller size, the 7N looks like the one to get for sure. If you don’t, you will only keep thinking of what could have been. I’m sorry, but try to get the extra money together. The 7N will always retain that extra value though, so it’s not lost. Today, it’s better than money in the bank!

6:34 am - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#24 DM

Hi Joe, yeap got it, thanks for the tip.  I’ll just wait for nex-7 prices to drop a bit.

11:28 pm - Wednesday, April 18, 2012

#25 DM

I’ve been checking samples from the HS30, no improvement over the previous HS20 in image quality.  I think now is the time to buy the HS20EXR for a good price at U$290, use the what you saved on filters and accessories.
Here is my review on HS20 for those interested :
http://www.dpreview.com/members/8399142031/userreviews

2:38 am - Friday, April 20, 2012

#26 Doug Sinnott

Why compare it with a DSLR?
Considering the smaller EXR which is in the HS30,it does a great job,even at ISO 1600,the squirrel pic is still perfectly OK for an A4/A5 print.
Every bridge camera gets rubbished by the DSLR crowd,who I think don’t really print anything,just look at images,blown up to unrealistic proportions on their computer screens.
If you could fit in a bigger DSLR APS sensor in the camera,it would be much bigger,and it wouldn’t have such a great zoom lens either.
The HS30 has a smaller sensor to accomodate that 30X zoom lens,and is a much more portable and flexible option,than a heavy DSLR body,and a couple of lenses,and the HS30 can tackle things the average DSLR owner could not attempt without several expensive accessory lenses,and turn out perfectly acceptable,sharp and colourful,edited and cropped,A4 or A3 prints,which I’m certainly happy with.
Comparing the prints side by side with those I made from my Pentax DSLR,it’s hard to tell which camera they come from,and your friends and family certainly wouldn’t.
It’s also well put together,and having owned all the HS series of Fuji cameras,(and few others,starting with the S602)I would say that the HS30 has a number of worthwhile improvements over the HS10 and HS20,and it is definitely worth upgrading to.
These improvements would NOT have been possible with a simple firmware upgrade,as there were certain physical changes to the camera body involved(new battery chamber,slightly bigger eyepiece,and a couple of other “tweaks”),making the handling better.

6:00 pm - Friday, April 20, 2012

#27 Doug Sinnott

Joe Prete sounds a typical “pixel peeper”,sneering at anyone who doesn’t rush out to buy the latest offering from Canon or Nikon.
For the cost of the all-in-one HS30,you could just about buy a basic DSLR body.
For a keen amateur,who likes his holidays,and country walks,(and good prints)my Fuji does all I ask of it.

6:07 pm - Friday, April 20, 2012

#28 Doug Sinnott

What a saddo “Oeo” sounds!
If he can’t remember where he took his photographs without a GPS,he needs to lay off the holiday sauce a bit!
What a useless feature to have on a camera!
Never mind a good lens,or a good sensor,just remind me where I’ve been!

6:26 pm - Friday, April 20, 2012

#29 JOE PRETE

Who can’t remember where they took the picture. I’m in this game over 40 years now. The students I teach probably know way more than the average complainer on this site.
I don’t know why you’re calling me a pixel peeper, you don’t even know me and I’ve never asked for GPS

I own the HS20 EXR. My beef with Fuji was, they started with the HS10, never fixed those issues, a year later came the HS20EXR without proper instructions. I told everyone to take the disk to a printer and for about $12.00 they get a full size double sided, bound guide. They never understood the EXR mode, they thought the camera was locking up, with a black screen.

Once understood, the EXR was very effective by combining 3 prints into one it had a High Dynamic Range. However, there were other issues with the camera that Fuji never fixed, but were absent on the next two versions. So, the HS20, HS25 & HS30 all came out in just over a year. That wasn’t fair to the first buyers.

As most cameras in this range wind up in the closet after the honeymoon wears off, a lot was forgotten. Now the prices dropped from $500.00 (at the time of my review and report to Fuji that was paid for) the price dropped to $299.00 Not a bad deal if you waited it out, but many people were burned.

The XS-1 that arrived this year with the same sensor as the X10 sells for $799.00 Now that’s quite a bit for a so-so Bridge camera. They haven’t dropped the price yet. Although I’ve done reports for FUJI, I had to side with the consumer. By the way, the name you called me, I’ve never used it or even heard of it until a few months ago on one of these same Blogs.

Fast forward to yesterday 4-19-12, and take a look at the NIKON D3200. A beginners camera with 24MP, Several Programmed Modes and Extreme High Quality HD. This is an HD-DSLR that has a Pro grade sensor, an unbelievable array of features including a $59.00 Wireless transmitter All packed into a comfortable, ergonomic body for only $795.00 (with Lens) 

The other phrase still going around, “PIXEL WARS” is also way outdated. There’s so many features that go into a camera, it would be impossible to try to rate it on just the sensor size or just the Pixel Count. I’ve been helping hobbyist, semi-Pro and even Professional Photographers for a long time, and although I shoot with NIKON & MAMIYA on a professional level, I own dozens of cameras made by more manufacturers than most people even knew existed. Do a search on my name and your choice of camera and you’ll see I was there. Although, for some entries you’ll have to use the Web’s “WAYBACK MACHINE” Search.

When EXAKTA was the camera to own, I not only bought 10 bodies and 18 lenses, I also bought stock in the company. BTW, that’s not counting the less expensive smaller EXA Camera. They were all built in DRESDEN, GERMANY before the war by IHAGEE KAMERAWERK INC. (Their factory was destroyed in the war). Of course the EXAKTA’s that came after the war came from JAPAN and all the quality was lost. Oddly enough, they named it THE EXAKTA REAL. But they all still work as good as new (with Film)

If you’re ever in NEW YORK, you can visit the building that housed the U.S. Distributer, it’s at 705 Bronx River Road in BRONXVILLE. You can still see the lettering on the bricks of the building. Now that was an SLR. Okay,  Doug Sinnott. Now next time, try to break it into paragraphs, so people can read it. And
Just remember that I’m a Fiddle Player Too!! ... Joe Prete

8:57 pm - Friday, April 20, 2012

#30 JOE PRETE

#26, 27 & 28, Doug Sinnott. I guess you didn’t read number 9 saying to number 7 that DSLR was a typo. I don’t know what you were responding to! I guess you just don’t pay attention!

9:16 pm - Friday, April 20, 2012

#31 quimantú

We all know that this camera takes pictures that can not compare with an SLR. But if you can compare with Panasonic FZ150, Canon SX40, Sony HX100V and even HS10 and HS20 the Fuji (all compared to the SLR save weight, money, etc, etc, etc).
Which is to improve the image quality of the HS30 with respect to the competition? (google traductor)

1:37 am - Saturday, April 21, 2012

#32 quimantu

We all know that this camera takes pictures that can not compare with an SLR. But if you can compare with Panasonic FZ150, Canon SX40, Sony HX100V and even HS10 and HS20 the Fuji (all compared to the SLR save weight, money, etc, etc, etc).
Which is the real improvement in the quality of the image of the HS30 with respect to the competition?
The Fuji HS20 is still a great camera with great estates, but the HS30, their pictures look better.

2:20 am - Saturday, April 21, 2012

#33 DM

Some people are wondering -
should I upgrade from the HS20 to the HS25/30 ?

I really like the HS20, so the HS25/HS30 should also be as good.  Just keep mind that HS20 for $290 you get the same quality of HS30 and can use what you saved on filters, tele-conveter, tripod, etc., those you keep for your next cam.

The HS20EXR PASM-C 8MP modes give good quality pics even at ISO800. Using the ‘Low-light-low-noise’ advanced-auto mode you can even get good results at ISO3200, sometimes.

They are all good cams for learning.  Great solution for hiking. Super-tele and super-macro in one thing, no dust issues, no changing lenses, hey I’m not trading mine !

But, if you want to truly upgrade then I think is not a good deal to waste money on something so similar to what you already own. Keep your HS20 and when you can buy something different, that brings more to he game.

Regarding the X-S1, I think Joe is right, spending $700 for a bridge cam, for someone that already owns a good Bridge is absurd.

At low ISO all photos look quite the same, but modern DSLRs or micro 4/3 give you a big plus for low light photos, I mean up to ISO6400 with the quality you get at ISO200 on the HS20/25/30.

Not only superior image quality but a DSLR focuses way faster and the manual focus is just incomparable to the HS20/25/30. 

Bottom line there is no perfect cam, no yet, so if you have one type for each situation you have all covered, just don’t get rid of your old cams
so quickly ;-)

I have hopes that pretty soon large MPix sensors in bridge cams will start to use what’s called ‘pixel over-sampling’, so with a 40MP sensor you can oversample to get lower MP pics with low noise, comparable to current DSLR.

Wish list : imagine a future HS40 or HS50 with a sensor like the one in Nokia 808 pureview, and you can choose the level of oversampling, to get low noise 10MP JPEG by combining 4 pixels
into one, imagine what they will achieve with the 100MP + oversampling sensors !

But for now “upgrading” from the HS20 to the 25 or 30 is just not worth it, really, nothing truly new there.

And hey, “upgrading” to the X-S1 seems like a real waste of money to me. Get a Nikon 3200, Canon T3i instead for the same $$.
Or a PENTAX K-5 with waterproof kit lens, if you can afford to go to $1200.

3:27 am - Sunday, April 22, 2012

#34 Doug Colquhoun

Very informative to say the least. Just crossing over, using the HS20 as a bridge from film to digital. Thnks.Doug.

6:47 pm - Tuesday, June 19, 2012

#35 lame duck

can someone please tell me where the raw setting is in the camera hs30exr? all i see is the Image Quality setting. fine or normal. no raw mode in there

12:04 am - Thursday, December 13, 2012

#36 Joe Prete

Lame Duck,
Have you not heard me say this about 1000 times? PRINT AND
READ YOUR MANUAL! PAGE 104 The SET UP MENU,
Choose RAW+JPEG or RAW.  If RAW+JPEG is selected, JPEG copies will also be recorded. Choose OFF to record Pictures in JPEG FORMAT only . To convert RAW files for display, use the supplied RAW FILE CONVERTER SOFTWARE.  RAW+JPEG MEANS BOTH!!!

You should also use the TECH support number that came with the Camera. See if they will read page 104 to you. I have said PRINT & READ THE MANUAL so many times, that I am sick of hearing me say it! Really, this has got to be a GAG, trying to catch the FUJIMASTER SLEEPING?  I DON’T THINK SO…
... Joe Prete

1:28 am - Thursday, December 13, 2012

#37 Joe Prete

Doug Sinnott, Looking back at your post #28
While I was here to answer a dumb question, I see you were saying what a useless feature GPS is to have in a camera. Well there are already THOUSANDS of cameras that were lost and then located by the GPS system. That is not counting how many people, (Hikers, mountain climbers, campers) that were lost and then found through the GPS system. I guess it’s not so useless than is it?
... Joe Prete

1:52 am - Thursday, December 13, 2012

#38 Rodhy

I’m happy with my HS30EXR. It can manually focus and has lots of features. I put marumi filter lens which can’t do it on SX40. With long zoom ability and everything it has for about US$300, worth instead of buying pocket cam. I don’t see any urgency for GPS since you only need it for sharing on social media. Well, my samsung note 2 can accomodate it well with GPS and tagging features. Hi quality pictures only best for printing. And for that case you should buy DSLR cam for US$ 500 or more.  So my opinion, if you concern about hi quality image think bout DSLR. If like to share photo on socmed then buy a pocket cam with GPS installed. I bought HS30EXR To get the experience using semi manual cam with manual focus and enough zoom plus hd movie capabilty without digging my pocket for a DSLR price and buying additional zoom lens :). Thanks Joe for the share.

3:22 am - Tuesday, January 22, 2013

#39 Douglas Sinnott

Joe Prete,
Thanks for your comments,but why I sold my DSLRs,although I still have a Panasonic G2 micro 4/3 kit,is because I just couldn’t be bothered with the bulk of a DSLR body,plus 2 or 3 lenses.

  After nearly 50 years as a keen amateur,starting with a Practika SLR,I have found that lugging around a heavy bag,fiddling around with lenses,just took the fun out of my hobby,especially on holiday!

    Since I got my first “bridge” camera,a Fuji S602,with a 3/6 mp “Super CCD” sensor,I have tried various other types,including the Panasonic FZ series superzooms,a couple of Canons,and have owned the S9600,S7000,and all the HS series latterly.
In between,I also owned DSLRs,but found I always tended to prefer the sheer convenience of whatever “bridge” camera I had to hand,on holiday,or country rambles.
  Of course some of them had limitations,small viewfinders,a lack of detail at higher ISOs,and some were a bit too small,but even the Fuji S602,with a basic resolution of 3mp,produced some great A4s,at reasonable ISOs,and even now are comparable to some taken much later on my DSLRs.
  When comparing DSLRs with bridge cameras,it’s not just the perceived image quality,which is should be compared,it is the “package”.
  You’re not just buying a picture taking machine, with a top end bridge camera,you’re also buying a multi element zoom lens,typically from 24mm wide angle to over 600mm telephoto,(in 35mm terms),better Live View than many DSLRs,better macro facilities,and generally very good video capture.
  Unless you photograph a lot in low light conditions,there’s very little these cameras can’t tackle,with the minimim of fuss,and I have printed out some great prints from these cameras.
To do a fair comparison with a DSLR,you would need to include the cost,(and weight!)of all the accessory lenses you would need,in order to tackle all the subjects my bridge camera can,from macro,to extreme telephoto.
  In closing,I have to say,that I have recently had the good fortune to buy a Fuji XS-1,and must say that,although I thought the HS30 was,(and is),a truly a great all rounder,the XS-1 is definitely the pinnacle of all the current offerings.
  It’s superbly made,has a bigger sensor,a much bigger EVF,slightly faster autofocus,a metal bodied zoom lens,and some great new features,while keeping a lot of the functions of the HS30.
  The initial price,like all new cameras,seemed a little high,but you’re paying for quality,and the superb lens,which alone is worth the money,in my view.Not so long ago I paid over $600 for a Nikon 18-200 lens,wheras my Fuji covers over three times the telephoto range of the Nikon!
  So no more of “you could buy a Nikon/Canon DSLR   for the price”,because,unless you include the additional lenses needed,for a fair comparison,it’s not “like for like” is it?
  Bridge cameras remain,in my view,great value,and great photographic companions,and,if you can afford it,the XS-1 is lovely piece of kit.

4:30 pm - Tuesday, January 22, 2013

#40 Mike Robin

Hi, I just purchased the HS 30 EXR and i’m having a problem never experienced with the HS 10. I do railroad photography and i’m steadily picking up headlight reflections in the lense at any zoom. I’ve never seen this before. Is there a way to correct that? I’ve had the camera for two weeks, I purchased polarization and UV filters and i’m still getting that reflection. Meanwhile my HS 10 doesn’t. Man, I thought these things got better as time goes on…lol

4:23 pm - Sunday, January 27, 2013

#41 JOE PRETE

Mike Robin,
Mike, Is the camera working correctly for other types of Photography? How close are you to these trains? Are they moving when you are taking your pictures? Are you shooting them Straight Head on? Polarizers work at 90 degrees to the sun, otherwise you’ll be getting all kinds of useless reflections. This is a circular polarizer filter isn’t it Mike? Have you tried it without the filter? This may sound dumb, but you are not using both filters at the same time, are you?  a UV filter usually only benefits the guy who is selling it. The more glass you add to the lens the worse your pictures will be. Take off all the filters and try it again. Please answer as many of these questions as you can, so I can try to help you. I’ll be here for a while so write back
... Joe Prete

6:13 pm - Sunday, January 27, 2013

#42 Mike Robin

HI Joe,
The other settings on the camera seem to work ok. Yes, the trains are usually photographed head on. Yes, it is a circular polarizer. Nope, not using both at the same time :) Yes, tried it without the filters and am still getting the same results. I really appreciate the help with this Joe. :)

6:56 pm - Sunday, January 27, 2013

#43 JOE PRETE

Mike,
IF you’re not 90 degrees from the sun, the Polarizer filters aren’t going to do anything for you. I think you should take off all the filters and take your shots in a variety of positions, including the angles that worked for you before. Try a few different lighting positions and distances. DO NOT ever aim the camera directly into the sun, you will damage your eyes severely and damage the sensor as well. The only difference to the lens may be the coating, depending on the age of your HS10. Being that is an improvement, you SHOULD be able to duplicate the shots that you got before. The camera works the way the original was intended to. In EXR mode, the camera may appear to black out as it takes a few shots that it combines to get the most dynamic range. In most situations, this is for your benefit. What you are looking for in these pictures may have been a flaw in the HS10 pictures. You will have to try the different shots to see. CIR. Polarizers will cut the glare when used at 90 degrees to the sun. It’s other uses are to shoot through a sheet of glass, or into the water or enhancing the clouds in the sky. While cutting out the glare, you may be eliminating the effect that you are looking for. If you have pictures of what you had, and can’t get now, it would be easier to see what’s going on there. Like you said, the camera functions okay in other pictures than it’s probably okay. You might also note the time of year, and time of day in comparing your pictures. If you have these shots to upload, a picture can be worth a thousand words! Have you also considered a lens shade?
...Joe Prete

7:44 pm - Sunday, January 27, 2013

#44 JOE PRETE

Mike,
Do you want to send up some pictures that show what you’re looking for, and what you’re getting now? Do you have good examples now?
... Joe Prete

7:58 pm - Sunday, January 27, 2013

#45 Doug Sinnott

Joe Prete,
Re GPS,I still can’t see the purpose of it.
In nearly 50 years,I’ve never lost a camera,and even if I did,it would be very unlikely to remain there for very long,particularly if it’s an expensive one!
You also sound a bit of a know-all,having seemingly set yourself up as an expert on bridge cameras,and calling then calling the Fuji XS-1 a load of crap!
What a puerile comment.
It has had some excellent reviews,by various well known publications,which don’t bestow favourable reviews to every camera that comes on the market!
As regards Mike Robin’s problems with flare when using filters,I experienced that with my previous HS30,when I had a UV filter on,even with the lens hood in position,but it disappeared when I unscrewed the filter,and replaced the lens hood.
It’s definitely not a fault with the camera,and only happens when the sun is in a certain position.
In overcast conditions it’s not a problem.
I only use a cheap UV/haze filter to protect the lens anyway,as I don’t really think they’re really necessary with modern digital sensors,so perhaps Mike would be better just leaving any filter off,and just using his software to tweak his pictures,and keep his lens cap on to protect his lens!

9:28 pm - Sunday, January 27, 2013

#46 Mike Robin

Joe,

Yes, I have samples that I took this morning. You can see that everything else appears ok, but that reflection is right there. Here’s the link… http://www.onrgallery.com/badpic.htm

10:00 pm - Sunday, January 27, 2013

#47 JOE PRETE

Mike,
If you want that effect, use a STAR FILTER and you will get the effect with consistency. If you would like to discuss it further, or discuss the composition in confidence you can write me at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
... Joe Prete

10:56 pm - Sunday, January 27, 2013

#48 Mike Robin

Sent you an email Joe :)

11:54 pm - Sunday, January 27, 2013

#49 JOE PRETE

Mike Robin,
The filters go under different names from each manufacturer,
They are all under “special effects” and for an example, Hoya 58MM Cross type, 4 star is $17.50 at B&H in New York
Enter Cross type Star 4 For a search. They come in at least 4, 6, & 8 Point. When I get home I’ll get the catalog. From what I remember, the points were the variation, that’s why I remember a “kit”  Of course Hoya is the largest, they supply over 50% of the Glass in the field, but the smaller mfgrs. may not still make them, they are not big sellers. Please let me know how many “Points” you’ll want, in case you have to buy them separate.
... Joe Prete

7:12 am - Monday, January 28, 2013

#50 JOE PRETE

@Doug Snnot,
First, I’ve been in touch with Mike via email so you need not be concerned there. Where is it that you say I called the XS-1 a load of crap? In doing work for Fujifilm that wouldn’t look too good on my part. The XS-1 is a pretty large and heavy camera considering that it’s outdated sensor is so small in relation to that large body, and their own newer model already employ the version II sensor. Most are switching to the newer Phase Detection Version II sensors. Who would spend that money on yesterdays technology now??  I also think the high price is a big reason that they are on the shelves of the warehouses instead of in our camera bags.  It’s quite a bit to carry around, and for the small older sensor it’s outdated before any of the expected sales figures came in. It’s been displaced by the HS50EXR CMOS II They would have to sell them at a very low price at this point. How many people do you know that own and are using this camera besides you? Not many, are there?. While becoming outdated while still on the shelves is not the best news about a camera, it’s not calling it a load of crap either. So please, point that out to me, I thought we spoke about your comprehension problems already. Sorry, but I don’t have the time to do that again. Maybe you can get a more “up to date” camera soon. So don’t worry Doug, just look for a CMOS Version II next time.
Have a nice day!
... Joe Prete

1:25 pm - Monday, January 28, 2013

#51 JOE PRETE

Doug Sinnot,
I’ve been in touch with Mike via email so you need not worry. Where is it that you say I called the XS-1 a load of crap? It is large & heavy & it’s outdated sensor is so small in relation, and their own newer model already employ the version II sensor.  It’s outdated while still on warehouse shelves. It’s been displaced by the HS50EXR CMOS II While becoming outdated while still on the shelves is not the best news about a camera, it’s not calling it a load of crap either. So please, point that out to me,  Maybe you can get a more “up to date” camera soon. So don’t worry, just look for a CMOS II next time.
Have a nice day!
... Joe Prete

1:40 pm - Monday, January 28, 2013

#52 Old Vet

There appear to be three threads going here – technical specifications, marketing practices, and performance of the HS30EXR and its predecessors and competitors.  To me the only important one is the last one.

I’ve been an active amateur photographer for about 65 years with a few excursions into paid photojournalism.  Like Joe Prete, apparently, I’ve been an equipment freak and have owned more makes and models of cameras than most readers will have heard of.  In early, less affluent days though, you learned to use whatever camera you had to the limit of its capabilities before you could justify getting a new one.  Having used the HS30EXR for the past month I can say I am delighted with its performance for my needs.

I live in a subtropical, rural location where opportunities for nature photos present themselves every time you step outdoors.  Often the targets are ephemeral and offer only an instantaneous chance for a shot.  My walk-around gear for the past few years has been a DSLR of some model with an 18-200 zoom attached.  Not only did that feel heavier with advancing age, it was too limited for the local opportunities.  Either you carried another heavy bag of lenses or you left them too far away for any practical use.  Even if you had them with you, changing lenses often took longer than the target would wait around.

Finally I gave in and tried the HS30EXR despite my misgivings about plastic bodies, small sensors, zoom quality, EVF, etc. etc.  At $299 I felt it worth the gamble.  In its first month of use I have captured several photos that are priceless to me, that I wouldn’t have captured without it.  There are features I’m not yet comfortable with and some that I wish worked differently but I expect that familiarity will show the relative importance of early likes and dislikes.  Right now the likes far outnumber the reservations.

Unless you frequently shoot for high-quality press or exhibition enlargements, the HS30 is capable of photos as good as your talent or experience deserve…sometimes even better, for it can automatically take care of details that even veteran photographers mess up occasionally.  If you’re seriously shooting for high-end publication you should be using other equipment anyway.  CA and lens distortion are well within accepable limits and depending on subject matter, noise is also bearable through ISO 1600.  Remember when Tri-X was introduced in 1954 at 200 ASA (of course few of you will) and we pushed it far beyond that sensitivity?  Talk about grain!  But it caught low-light images and we lived with them and loved them.  The HS30 does a fine job of capturing images in low-level light compared to equipment available to us only a few years ago.  Since most of my “available darkness” pictures are of people, I convert them to black and white in post-processing and don’t mind the electronic “grain.”

The camera has good macro capabilities, but an unsung quality I love is the close-focusing of the non-macro range.  Some of our local subjects are venomous and some are impossible to approach close enough for a macro shot.  Several times the ability to get a good-quality photo with a 720mm lens at less than eight feet has made the difference between a memorable close-up and no photo at all.  That and the manual twist-zoom are the two features that I value most in the HS30 so far.

This lens won’t give you artistic bokeh, but who considered bokeh a crucial lens quality twenty years ago?  Recall that the Japanese source word “boke” also means “mental fogginess.”  Ignore the pixel-babble and define your own photographic needs, then get a camera that promises to meet them.  As Joe Prete forcefully advises, study the manual.  Practice, practice. practice with the features and if at first you don’t get the result you seek, try to find another way to do it.  Until you’ve done that you’re not qualified to call it a piece of junk.

The old saw, “the best camera is the one you have with you” is true and the corollary in your personal micro-universe is, “the best photo is the one you can make with it.”  There are thousands of photographers using other makes and models of ultra-zooms with various degrees of satisfaction.  I probably could have been happy with several alternatives to this one.  If you’ve chosen the HS30EXR, give it a fair run for your money before you render final judgment.

6:59 am - Saturday, February 2, 2013