Nikon Coolpix P510 Photos

March 21, 2012 | Mark Goldstein | 21 Comments |
Nikon Coolpix P510 Photos Image

Ahead of our full review, here are 54 sample JPEG photos and a movie taken with the new Nikon Coolpix P510 compact camera.

The Nikon Coolpix P510 is a bridge style compact camera with an astonishing 42x, 24-1000mm f/3-5.6 zoom lens.

A gallery of 54 JPEG photos and a movie taken with the Nikon P510 camera.


Nikon Coolpix P510 JPEG Images

Sample Image

1/1600 sec
f/3.7 | 24mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1000 sec
f/4.5 | 170mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1000 sec
f/3.7 | 24mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1000 sec
f/4.1 | 90mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/4.9 | 30mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/4.8 | 135mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/400 sec
f/5.1 | 200mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/30 sec
f/4.7 | 24mm | ISO 110

Sample Image

1/2000 sec
f/3.2 | 33mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/3 | 24mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/4 | 85mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/40 sec
f/4.2 | 24mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/5.9 | 24mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5.3 | 120mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/30 sec
f/5.3 | 24mm | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/5.3 | 24mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1000 sec
f/5.9 | 1000mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/400 sec
f/5 | 85mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/2000 sec
f/3 | 24mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/5.9 | 1000mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/4.2 | 24mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/4.9 | 435mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/4.4 | 75mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/400 sec
f/5.9 | 1000mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/80 sec
f/4.2 | 24mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/4.1 | 90mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/400 sec
f/4.1 | 100mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1000 sec
f/4.3 | 70mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/4.1 | 100mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/4.8 | 325mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/4.9 | 550mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1000 sec
f/4.4 | 47mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/7.6 | 28mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/4.3 | 135mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/5.9 | 1000mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/4.9 | 550mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/400 sec
f/5.9 | 1000mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/4.9 | 435mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/30 sec
f/3 | 24mm | ISO 250

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/3 | 24mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/400 sec
f/4.4 | 155mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/3.7 | 55mm

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/3.7 | 55mm | ISO 3200

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/3.7 | 55mm | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/30 sec
f/3.7 | 55mm | ISO 800

Sample Image

1/30 sec
f/4.2 | 120mm | ISO 220

Sample Image

1/400 sec
f/4.9 | 500mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/5.5 | 900mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1000 sec
f/3.1 | 28mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/80 sec
f/3.6 | 50mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/400 sec
f/4.2 | 105mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1600 sec
f/3.4 | 43mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/3 | 24mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1600 sec
f/3 | 24mm | ISO 100

Nikon Coolpix P510 Movie

This is a sample movie at the highest quality setting of 1920x1080 at 30 frames per second. Please note that this 22 second movie is 51.9Mb in size.

Entry Tags

hd video, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, photos, samples, images, 16 megapixel, preview, video, movie, coolpix, compact camera, 1920x1080, GPS, bridge, ultra-zoom, ultra zoom, 42x zoom, 1000mm, p510, Nikon Coolpix P510

Tracker Pixel for Entry

Your Comments

21 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Mad Hungarian

I like the Nikon better.

12:55 am - Thursday, March 22, 2012

#2 cyleow

WOW!!! I cannot believe how good the 1,000mm is!! I was skeptical at first, but was blown away when the 1,000mm sample opened!! Bravo Nikon!!

10:17 am - Thursday, March 22, 2012

#3 Croco

Most photos are taken at ISO 100. That review can be done in this case?????????????????????????????????? (Google translate)

10:35 am - Thursday, March 22, 2012

#4 Kristin

They’re good shots - I particularly like the guy with his bum hanging out. One day he’ll look back at that and say ‘what was i thinking!!’

10:50 am - Thursday, March 22, 2012

#5 Jim

These samples impressed me enough to order one.
Apart from a bit of softness at the edges, my eyes think this camera may be a gem.

11:01 am - Thursday, March 22, 2012

#6 Kristin

@ Mad hungarian….I really like the Nikon too….but this is still pretty good

11:01 am - Thursday, March 22, 2012

#7 zebarnabe

Given the focal length provided and those 16MP, I’m actually surprised that it didn’t end up giving paint like photos, ISO 100 has a bit of that over cooked look, but nothing too serious, ISO 800 looks usable and optic issues are well controlled. Perhaps the major issue is the limited dynamic range :/

Those 1000mm ... that’s more than my telescope >_>

Video looks smooth and sharp, focus hunts a bit and dynamic range issues are easily noticeable (though it looks like it was quite sunny).

That aside it seems like a nice camera for family vacations. However, if one is looking into photography more seriously, there are better cameras.

11:04 am - Thursday, March 22, 2012

#8 Warren Lyons

My son’s 23 birthday happens to be coming up in a few short weeks.  He had previously indicated that he wanted in new Invicta watch as a present.  This morning he called and said he wanted the Nikon P510 instead.  Is he taking up my hobby or is it the 40something bikini wearing MILF that moved in next door.  Please PB readers, let’s take a vote

4:06 pm - Thursday, March 22, 2012

#9 Francis

I already have the camera . . . and it’s true, the 1000 mm is really good.

greetz from Belgium

8:31 pm - Friday, March 23, 2012

#10 Jackie

Can it zoom into the moon? I want a camera that I can take pictures of the moon… ;)If so can someone post a picture up… I would definately appreciate it..Thanks :D

5:30 am - Wednesday, March 28, 2012

#11 zebarnabe

Jackie,

If you want to take pictures of the moon, buy a telescope (that’s probably the hardest part) and use a cheap camera (Canon A800 for example) on it… I did it with my 80€ telescope… got some quite nice pictures with it :]

9:46 am - Wednesday, March 28, 2012

#12 Jack

Hi Jackie, I have a Meade Starnavigator 114 telescope and I have been trying to take photos of the moon, but when I recently got my Nikon P510 camera I was able to take some great photos of the moon just using the camera. Im very pleased with them.

3:52 pm - Saturday, June 2, 2012

#13 Rob

@jack what settings did you have it on when you took the pics of the moon?

2:57 am - Friday, June 22, 2012

#14 C

If anyone wants to attach a lens filter and a lens hood use a lens adapter used for nikon p500 .Thats what i have seen online .If there is any other way one knows let me know . I can see neither of the top cameras can have a lens hood ,etc attached to the directly .Only the Canon Canon PowerShot SX40 has the facility .Also shocking is that non of the top 3 bridge camera brands ,that have big zooms ,can shoot in raw .Only thee Panasonic Lumix FZ150 can shoot in raw but it has only 600mm range .It can be noted that Panasonic Lumix FZ150 is the best rated camera for being very fast focusing and getting good photos . The best photo quality goes to Sony Cybershot but it doesent have raw . With canon one can get good photos at even 1600ISO but it doesent have raw also . If someone does not mind slow starts then go for the very cheap Kodak Easyshare Max Z990 .That also has raw in it and it shoots good photos . If you want the distance then go for this Nikon 510 . This one also takes good photos at any distance .But Its very unfortunate that this either does not have raw .


            Good Luck

6:59 pm - Monday, June 25, 2012

#15 Alfredo B Alves

This Nikon P510 makes movies in MOV, incompatible with the Windows Movie Maker, and so, you can not edit the film to pass them on Youtube. You will only see at home. Converters on the market MOV to WMV, have problems and ruin the movie. The Nikon support does not solution. Good to know ...

12:14 pm - Tuesday, July 31, 2012

#16 Wein

i havent been into photography but really appreciate details of photos online.

it seems i have the urge to go into photo shooting, would you help me find a good starting camera?
howabout p510 or the 1100D canon..

thanks!

11:24 am - Tuesday, September 11, 2012

#17 Oleg

if you want to use filter with P510, you have to buy 58mm Adapter Ring / Adaptor Ring for Nikon P510 or KIWI lens adapter for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Digital Camera 67mm. The fist one mounted as a lense cap 51 mm to 58 mm. The KIWI mounted to unmoving body of obiective and consist of 2 parts 51 mm to 67 mm and 67 mm extender for macrolens/ I got it both from ebay.

9:42 pm - Thursday, October 25, 2012

#18 maverick

thanks for the review.
1.the sample pics r 2 big,no real reason 4 that
2.the 100 iso shot r really ok with all camera,waste of time,the high iso is the problematic area .

4:14 pm - Thursday, November 22, 2012

#19 xMustafa

the most like is that the movie that taken from this Nikon its high quality and its awesome resolution . i have to order one ...  and the price is very good ;) .

4:06 pm - Tuesday, March 26, 2013

#20 sankar kumar ghosh

nikon p510 is very risky as there are no protection from dust and any damages of lens during shot and also can not use any hood also.

10:01 am - Monday, July 1, 2013

#21 Deb

I love this camera.  I recently got some great photos of hummingbirds in flight, the moon and a fireworks show (the camera has a cool open shutter fireworks mode).  If you’d like to take a look, here is the You Tube video link.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SOIR9HfBx0E

3:02 am - Monday, July 22, 2013