Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 12-50mm f/3.5-6.3 EZ Photos

March 7, 2012 | Zoltan Arva-Toth | 9 Comments |
Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 12-50mm f/3.5-6.3 EZ Photos Image

Ahead of our full review, here are 27 JPEG photos taken with the new Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 12-50mm f/3.5-6.3 EZ lens.

All of these samples were taken with the 12-50mm lens mounted to an Olympus E-P3 body, with the Noise Filter setting turned off to prevent any blurring of detail that might result from noise reduction.

A gallery of 27 JPEG photos taken with the new Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 12-50mm f/3.5-6.3 EZ lens.


Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 12-50mm f/3.5-6.3 EZ JPEG Images

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/6.3 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/1250 sec
f/6.3 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/1 sec
f/11 | ISO 200

Sample Image

32/10 sec
f/16 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/180 sec
f/6.3 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/1250 sec
f/6.3 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/2000 sec
f/6.3 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/400 sec
f/8 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/6.3 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/8 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/8 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/6.3 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/1250 sec
f/5.9 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/8 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/80 sec
f/6.3 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/8 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/8 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/8 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/8 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/11 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/11 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/1250 sec
f/6.3 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/30 sec
f/22 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/10 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/8 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/180 sec
f/6.3 | ISO 400

Entry Tags

photos, samples, images, lens, compact system camera, preview, jpeg, mirrorless, olympus, jpg, lenses, 12-50mm, Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 12-50mm f3.5-6.3 EZ

Tracker Pixel for Entry

Your Comments

9 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Justin

Thank you for sharing the gallery, those are some wonderful photos!

1:20 am - Thursday, March 8, 2012

#2 pete peterson

Here at photographyblog.com the reviewers still have no clue what aperture is and how to apply it usefully. What about f/3.5?

Stupid, stupid, stupid ...

11:50 am - Thursday, March 8, 2012

#3 M.

Pete’s comment is hard to read into, as aperture is mentioned below each photo. What isn’t mentioned, however - and would be useful to know -, is what focal length has been used.

12:24 pm - Thursday, March 8, 2012

#4 Zoltan Arva-Toth

Pete,

Don’t worry, the sharpness of the lens at f/3.5 will be covered in the full review.

As to why we didn’t use it in the real-world sample photos above, the answer is simple: it’s only available at the 12mm end, where it just isn’t a very useful f-stop to use in actual practice. It’s not fast enough for hand-held low-light work or subject separation (but also not quite narrow enough to provide enough depth of field to render both the foreground and background sharply). If you take a look at our review of the 12mm f/2 lens, also from Olympus, you’ll see that we used the f/2 setting quite a lot, both for low light stuff and to some extent also for subject-background separation. f/2 is a pretty useful setting for that, even on a 12mm lens - but f/3.5, which is almost 2 stops slower, is not.

We did use the 12-50mm lens wide open at the other end though - 50mm f/6.3. A number of shots were captured at this setting, e.g. that of the cyclist, taken to see if the lens focused fast enough to render a fast-approaching subject sharply, while throwing the background as much out of focus as this setting allows.

1:11 pm - Thursday, March 8, 2012

#5 Mad Hungarian

Loved seeing Budapest!

2:44 pm - Thursday, March 8, 2012

#6 Zoltan Arva-Toth

M.,

The full-resolution image files all contain the full range of EXIF data, so if you download a photo you can see everything including the actual focal length used.

10:16 am - Friday, March 9, 2012

#7 Matt

Hi,

I would like to see this lens tested using the E-M5 instead of the E-P3.  The E-M5 should be significantly better with its new sensor and can better show how good, or how bad, this lens is.  Besides, a lot of people will be considering buying it with the E-M5, as this lens comes with it as a kit.

Can you please include photos taken with the E-M5?

Thanks.

11:01 am - Sunday, March 11, 2012

#8 Jon

Thank you for the samples. About the aperture: 4/3 has twice the Depth Of Field of Full Frame cameras (two stop difference), and gets diffraction softening two stops earlier. F8 on 4/3 = f16 on full frame.  F11 and F22 (= F22 and F44 on Full frame) are so limited by diffraction that they can’t be used to judge a lens. Please include samples shot between the lens wide open and f8. This is why the maximum aperture of f6.3 is so limiting on this lens.  Thank you.

7:56 pm - Monday, March 12, 2012

#9 Zoltan Arva-Toth

Jon,

21 out of these 27 samples were shot at f/8 or wider.

BTW, we have just published our full review, which is available at http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/olympus_m_zuiko_digital_ed_12_50mm_35_63_ez_review/

Matt,

When field testing this lens, we did not have a production E-M5 on hand - that’s why we used the E-P3. But I hear you loud and clear - if the lens’ performance turns out to be markedly different on the new body, we might add a few new samples and maybe even re-do the sharpness tests in the review using the E-M5.

11:16 pm - Tuesday, March 13, 2012