Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ100 Photos

July 21, 2010 | Mark Goldstein | 21 Comments |
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ100 Photos Image

We spent a couple of days using the brand new Panasonic Lumix FZ100 camera at the European press launch in Stockholm, Sweden earlier this month. There are 48 full-sized JPEG photos in our Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ100 gallery.

Please note that these are pre-production samples which may not be indicative of the final quality images when the Panasonic FZ100 hits the shops.


Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ100 JPEG Images

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/8 | 25mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/8 | 430mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/7.1 | 360mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/4 | 252mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/5.6 | 52mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1000 sec
f/5.6 | 191mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1300 sec
f/5.2 | 600mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1300 sec
f/4 | 128mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/4 | 173mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/8 | 188mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/400 sec
f/8 | 200mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/3.8 | 200mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/5.6 | 277mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/5.6 | 47mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/4 | 277mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1300 sec
f/5 | 218mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/5 | 93mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/5.2 | 600mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/8 | 229mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1300 sec
f/4.5 | 84mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/3.8 | 177mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/3.8 | 177mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/3.5 | 113mm | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/4.4 | 444mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/15 sec
f/3.6 | 143mm | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/3.6 | 89mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/3.6 | 50mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1300 sec
f/5.2 | 600mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/400 sec
f/4.1 | 360mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/4.5 | 481mm | ISO 160

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/3.8 | 180mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/400 sec
f/8 | 600mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/5.2 | 600mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1000 sec
f/4.4 | 466mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/4.5 | 240mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1000 sec
f/3.6 | 52mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/3.6 | 78mm | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/3.6 | 67mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/4 | 264mm | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/3.6 | 63mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/5.6 | 61mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/50 sec
f/5.6 | 188mm | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/40 sec
f/5.6 | 252mm | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/5.6 | 167mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/30 sec
f/5.6 | 66mm | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/5.6 | 38mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/4 | 25mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/4 | 44mm | ISO 100

Entry Tags

photos, samples, images, jpeg, jpegs, photo, panasonic, pictures, fz100, Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ100 Photos, panasonic fz100, dmc-fz100

Tracker Pixel for Entry

Your Comments

21 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 gatcho

is it just me? or are these pictures filled with yellow and purple blotches? noise is also too obvious even when resized at ISO 400.

i think the new MOS sensor killed FZ’s picture quality

5:54 pm - Wednesday, July 21, 2010

#2 Mark

FZ100 @ 25mm:
http://a.img-dpreview.com/news/1007/Panasonic/FZ100/P1000020.jpg

FZ100 @ 600mm:
http://a.img-dpreview.com/news/1007/Panasonic/FZ100/P1000021.jpg

The image quality is appaling.

6:00 pm - Wednesday, July 21, 2010

#3 Richie

Yup, the prominent yellow blotches are there fore sure…I’d hoped that Panasonic would sort this problem out as it was the one thing which I didn’t like about the FZ38 :/

7:38 pm - Wednesday, July 21, 2010

#4 Dex

I was looking so much forward to the FZ35 successor. But gosh quality seems to be awful! My only hope is that we are talking about a preproduction model. But I’am afraid too its the new MOS sensor.
Totally ruins my day. Actually my whole year : (

10:56 pm - Wednesday, July 21, 2010

#5 Mark

Dex, if your year relies on a camera release…
GET A LIFE!

Better yet, get a budget DSLR.
They are pretty much the same size as these toy cameras. Well, OK, not with a 400mm lens.
But you get my point.
Small sensor = crap image quality.

1:02 am - Thursday, July 22, 2010

#6 JezDEWD

Left chick UGLY.
Right chick HOT.

1:04 am - Thursday, July 22, 2010

#7 DEX

@Mark
I don’t expect DSLR Quality. Small sensor size doesn’t need to be crappy! Look at the predecessor! The FZ35/38 would be fine for me. It seems the new MOS sensor gives a much more fuzzy image. Not only with the Panasonic but all brands. Bad trend.

10:48 am - Thursday, July 22, 2010

#8 Peter

When will Panasonic get rid of those yellow blotches, been there in all my earlier Panas (FZ18,FZ28,FZ38) and still there with the new FZ40 & FZ100. Got me a Nikon D90 but would like to have a super zoom again for it’s convenience.

12:18 pm - Friday, July 23, 2010

#9 Gordo

My old 6 megapixel pana fx01 pics are better than these. I suppose the extra lens glass doesn’t help. Still waiting for a decent smallish superzoom.

10:47 am - Monday, July 26, 2010

#10 eran

i own fz28 and edit like hell on ps so i zoom all the way with all photos
i never had no yellow blotches from any of the thousands shots i made…
i just posted the yellow thingy in flickr forums and was now shocked that others saw that as me…
if this yellow blotchy stains are here to stay than no more panasonic for me!!!!

9:52 pm - Monday, August 2, 2010

#11 CK

Yellow blotches ?...check your monitor maybe.
Less noise than my from my FZ38.

3:49 pm - Thursday, August 5, 2010

#12 Liuk

mmmhhhh ... in how many time dpreview will test this camera? ... I hope in september, what do you think?

See you ...

6:01 pm - Thursday, August 5, 2010

#13 Enmanuel

The worst image quality I’ve ever since from a camera of this type

10:01 am - Monday, August 9, 2010

#14 michael

These photos look like painted watercolours.
Why manufacturers continue to put in tiny sensors is beyond me.  My old Minolta A1 had a sensor way bigger 8.8cm X 6.6cm (0.58cm2) vs this puny 6.1 X 4.6 (0.28cm2). 

If they would only stop zooming so much and using tiny sensors we would all be better off.  BTW, I do have a canon 40d dslr.

11:09 pm - Thursday, September 9, 2010

#15 PassionNature78

My blog on the FZ100 => “Preview of my FZ100” => http://previewofmyfz100.canalblog.com/

10:35 am - Saturday, October 2, 2010

#16 jon

i have the fz38(fz35) and love it - most of the time! but i really wanted to upgrade now to try and improve on a few things such as: noise at anything over iso 200, improved dynamic range and better detail capture. i’m not interested in being forced into a dslr or micro four thirds system with the huge and ongoing cost of lenses, dust problems and sheer bulk of carting all that gumph around with me. a quality all in one superzoom suits my purpose ideally. so after trying the fz100 and rejecting it, my question to panasonic is: your superzooms tick every box EXCEPT the fact that you persist with a tiny & frankly rubbish sensor that drages the rest of the camera down. if fuji can fit a better sensor in the hs20, why can’t/didn’t you fit one in the fz100?

my superzoom wish list - if you’re this reading panasonic:

* 1/1.7 sensor
* 10mp or 12 mp max
* tilt screen (NOT a touchscreen)
* 18x zoom is ample
* f1.9 would be brilliant
* panasonics superb af, metering, speed & battery life
* quicker camera processing of raw images
* remote shutter release option
* bulb mode for up to 4 minutes shutter release
* auto lens cap (ala ricoh gx200)

i DON’T need or want
* dozens of ludicrous scene modes!
* the ability to recognise 100 different faces or pets!!
* in-camera over processing of jpegs!

get your act together panasonic. you’ve easily got the best superzoom on the market - except for that horrendously overworked tiny sensor that stops me buying the fz100.

10:19 am - Tuesday, April 5, 2011

#17 Ian

@Jon spot on.

12:14 am - Wednesday, April 6, 2011

#18 Val

Why do I have yellow splotches on indoor pictures taken on “iA” or “P” modes?

3:18 am - Wednesday, June 8, 2011

#19 jon

having thought a lot further about it, the penny has finally dropped as to why the fz100 is such a mediocre if not poor upgrade offering from panasonic. now that panny have their four thirds bag going strong they don’t want enthusiasts being tempted into their superzoom range. that won’t give them want they want which is us buying all the lenses and add ons that go with interchangeable lens compact systems (& dslrs). fuji don’t have a dslr or csc range and that is why they are starting to lead the field elsewhere (hs20, fz100). canon/nikon/sony/panasonic/pentax all have vested interests in getting us to buy the camera and then keep investing in lenses - and then upgrading our camera again to fit all the lenses we’ve invested in. that’s why technology and improvements march on everywhere it seems apart from the superzoom range (fuji excepted).

having given up on the superzoom market with it’s closed shop, limited advancements and generally poor image quality, i’ve looked at top-end compacts to fill the void and a while back bought a ricoh grd lll to fill the fixed length prime lens street camera position and a ricoh cx5 as a temprary stop-gap to offer zoom capability to my camera bag. sadly in compact guise the cx5 offers almost no manual control but offers better image quality than nearly every superzoom currently on the market (the cx5 is available with manual control in it’s guise as the p10 unit for the gxr camera system, but at a ludicrously eye watering price).

i looked seriously at the nikon p7000 for the main zoom role (7x) but despite being very tempting, its abilities to shoot in raw are dreadful. the canon g12 is a rip off price wise for its paltry zoom and offers less in picture quality than the nikon. other canon offerings either just aren’t good enough, don’t offer raw at all or have that really annoying flash that pops up everytime you turn the camera on - whoever designed that should be shot from a canon over the sewage farm!

amazingly the 7-12 x zoom market is still wide open it seems for something really decent that has a 1/1.7 sensor or better, 3 fps minimum (full range), bulb mode, remote/cable auto release facility, raw shooting at reasonable speeds (unlike nikon), built in flash, hotshoe, fast focus and bright lens (breaking the f2.0 barrier would be perfect) and at no more than 12mp. i look forward to someone breaking the mould of protectionism to their own range of interchangeable lens cameras, and bringing out the definitive zoom compact. the superzoom is now definitely dead quality wise but with the strenghtening of the four thirds market, is the quality compact zoom for the prosumer going the same way?

1:27 pm - Monday, June 13, 2011

#20 jon

edit to above “(hs20, fz100)” - should read (hs20, x100)

1:49 pm - Wednesday, June 15, 2011

#21 khoo chin huat

hi, why cemera me, when I take pictures indoor, the picture is not
beautiful, looks are broken. I use auto.
my camera model Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ100.
can help me give me know ?
Because most of my child’s picture.
I have two panasonic cemera, which is the DMC-FX9.
TQ.

2:01 pm - Monday, October 24, 2011