Panasonic Lumix DMC-LF1 Photos

June 7, 2013 | Mark Goldstein | 12 Comments |
Panasonic Lumix DMC-LF1 Photos Image

Ahead of our full review, here are 59 sample JPEG photos and a Full HD movie taken with the brand new Panasonic Lumix DMC-LF1 compact camera.

The Panasonic Lumix LF1 is a premium 12 megapixel compact camera with a built-in viewfinder, 28-200mm f/2.0-5.9 lens, multi-functional Control Ring, Wi-Fi and NFC connectivity, 10fps burst shooting, RAW format support and ISO range of 80-12,800.

A gallery of 59 full-size photos and a full HD movie taken with the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LF1.


Panasonic Lumix DMC-LF1 JPEG Images

Sample Image

1/13 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/15 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/30 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 800

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 3200

Sample Image

1/1000 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 6400

Sample Image

1/2000 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 12800

Sample Image

1/80 sec
f/2 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/30 sec
f/5.9 | 200mm | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/2 | 28mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/5.6 | 28mm | ISO 250

Sample Image

1/1300 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/80 sec
f/2 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/2 | 28mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/2.8 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/1300 sec
f/3.7 | 59mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/2.5 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/2.2 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/5.9 | 200mm | ISO 250

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/2 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/2 | 28mm | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/2 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/2 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/4.4 | 75mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/1600 sec
f/2 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/3.3 | 50mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/5.9 | 200mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/1300 sec
f/2 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/8 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/8 | 200mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/8 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/8 | 200mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/80 sec
f/5.9 | 200mm | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/5.9 | 200mm | ISO 160

Sample Image

1/1600 sec
f/2.8 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/5.9 | 200mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/1600 sec
f/3.2 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/2000 sec
f/3.2 | 37mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/2.8 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/1600 sec
f/2.8 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/4.4 | 75mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/2000 sec
f/2 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/4.8 | 95mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/5.9 | 200mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/4 | 56mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/2 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/4000 sec
f/6.3 | 28mm | ISO 12800

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 6400

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 3200

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/4.7 | 90mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/4 | 44mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/5.9 | 200mm | ISO 250

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Movie

This is a sample movie at the highest quality setting of 1920x1080 at 25 frames per second. Please note that this 20 second movie is 41.6Mb in size.

Entry Tags

hd video, compact, photos, samples, images, 12 megapixel, preview, video, movie, wi-fi, wireless, wifi, compact camera, 1920x1080, 10fps, 1080i, evf, viewfinder, premium, f2, 7x zoom, f2.0, 50i, 7x, NFC, 3, lf1, dmc-lf1, Panasonic Lumix DMC-LF1, panasonic lf1, nch LCD

Your Comments

12 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Claude B.

Hmmm! Look exiting ___ so far.  :)
On its way to be one of the best in that format??

1:20 pm - Friday, June 7, 2013

#2 JW

I’m no expert, but for a $500 dollar camera that image quality looks pretty shoddy.

1:35 pm - Friday, June 7, 2013

#3 Drew Reese

I think the biggest problem is, that the people taking these pictures don’t really have any ‘artistic’ abilities, so you never get a real sense of what these cameras can do. I seem to remember similar photos by the LX-7 when it first came out. If you give it to someone like Charlie Waite, then you can see results, because he has an eye. I have to say though, the sky looks a little blown out there…

5:12 pm - Friday, June 7, 2013

#4 Jeremy

Mark, thank you for these very helpful early images.

JW, since you don’t reckon to be an expert, why comment at all?

Drew, Charlie Waite is a great landscape photographer but he takes hours to create some of his best images and probably discards most of them anyway. Besides, he doesn’t make them on a camera that will slip into a small pocket. Be realistic: we all want to see what this tiny new machine can do for corner sharpness, dynamic range, barrel/pincushion distortion and the like. We can do the artistic bit for ourselves once we’ve decided whether or not to buy it.

6:01 pm - Friday, June 7, 2013

#5 JW

Sorry Jeremy. I forgot that since I’m not a camera expert I don’t have a right to comment and give me opinion. Forgive me.

6:34 pm - Friday, June 7, 2013

#6 Nathan

I hope Panasonic will drop the price to less than $400. I would buy this camera for its compact size and reasonably good functionalities, but in term of image quality at $500, we got Sony Nex 3N APS-C sensor.

10:17 pm - Friday, June 7, 2013

#7 Dana

I presently use the Pana TZ5, which I am very pleased with. Nothing I’ve seen in this size outclasses it. The Leica lens is fabulous; sharp across the picture (although it distorts near the edges…still sharp everywhere though). And very pleasing colors. Some noise, but so what!The RX100 seems a tad better IQ, but is too expensive and has no grip.

Now here comes the pana LF1 with a viewfinder, which I think is a terrific addition because I can’t see a thing on my TZ5 screen in sunlight and then adds a 1/1.7 sensor. I have been looking for a replacement for my TZ5 for years, but this may be it. The Leica lenses are wonderful, it will probably have a grip (all the pana’s do). And the samples shown here are on par with my TZ5. I look forward to reading the photographyblog review.

11:33 pm - Friday, June 7, 2013

#8 Claude B.

@Nathan, Sony is to big for me and you have to buy a separate viewfinder. My need is a small (I can put in my pocket), discreet camera, powerful fix lens (LF1 : 25-200mm at /F2.0, fast lens in this middle-zoom compact camera by combining the company’s unique technologies – a technology for the mass production of a slim lens with a flange of just 0.3mm and a black-box technology for assembling spherical lenses and aspherical lenses.

Low ISO LF1 start at 80 vs 200 for Sony NEX 3N.

I also have DSLR Nikon with telephoto 18-170mm

=================================
@Dana, You understand my need for a viewfinder, very important and rare in that format. While waiting for deep reports, a good site with forum: http://www.dpreview.com/news/2013/04/24/Panasonic-announces-lumix-dmc-lf1-enthusiast-compact-with-evf-as-sister-model-to-lx7

12:51 am - Saturday, June 8, 2013

#9 Drew Reese

Jeremy: That’s where you’re wrong. Charlie has a video of him shooting with the LX-7 and beautiful pictures they are. In essence, we shouldn’t ‘diss’ these photos of the LF-1 so prematurely, give it to Charlie and see what he comes up with. When I get it, I’ll post some shots too.

4:47 am - Saturday, June 8, 2013

#10 Steve Biro

Thanks for the early photos, Mark.  Can you tell us what the maximum aperture is throughout the lens’s zoom range on the LF1?  This camera may very well be even more useful than the RX100 as a shirt- and even suit-pocketable, take-everywhere camera.  But much of that will depend on just how fast the lens is between 28 and 200mm.  I can deal with f/5.9 at 200mm if I can still get, say, f/2.8 at 80 or 90mm.

9:35 am - Monday, June 10, 2013

#11 Terker

Hm, is there any reason why lots of the indoor pics are made with low iso? Isn+t it usable? In Previews of other cams they are often make with >=ISO800, here only one pic with ISO400?? I would like to see how it porforms with ISO400-1600…

9:59 am - Monday, June 10, 2013

#12 jpmccormac

Thanks for the preview. I’d like to see some RAW images posted. Hopefully, they’ll be included in the final review.

5:15 pm - Tuesday, June 11, 2013