Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100 Photos

July 20, 2012 | Mark Goldstein | 22 Comments |
Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100 Photos Image

Ahead of our full review, here are 56 sample JPEG photos and a 1080p movie taken with the new Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100 compact camera, including the full ISO range.

The Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100 is a 20-megapixel compact with a fast 3.6x zoom lens, large “1.0-type” image sensor, 10fps burst shooting and full 1080p movie recording.

A gallery of 56 JPEG photos and a movie taken with the Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100 compact camera.


Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100 JPEG Images

Sample Image

1/6 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/8 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/10 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/15 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/30 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 800

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 1600

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 3200

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 6400

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/5.6 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/5.6 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/5.6 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/4.9 | 100mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/4.9 | 100mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/4.9 | 100mm | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/30 sec
f/5 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/30 sec
f/5 | 28mm | ISO 640

Sample Image

1/30 sec
f/4 | 28mm | ISO 160

Sample Image

1/80 sec
f/3.5 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/4.9 | 100mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/4.5 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/4.5 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/4.5 | 89mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/8 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/5.6 | 100mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5.6 | 100mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/5.6 | 100mm | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/8 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/1.8 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/1.8 | 28mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/1000 sec
f/4 | 67mm | ISO 80

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/1.8 | 28mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/4.9 | 100mm | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/125 sec
f/5.6 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/4.9 | 100mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/5 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/2000 sec
f/1.8 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/11 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/80 sec
f/8 | 62mm | ISO 250

Sample Image

1/2000 sec
f/2.8 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/8 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/8 | 43mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/160 sec
f/8 | 43mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/8 | 100mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/1000 sec
f/1.8 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/400 sec
f/6.3 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/6.3 | 37mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/6.3 | 37mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/1600 sec
f/1.8 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/3.5 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/2.8 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/5.6 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/5.6 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/1.8 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/30 sec
f/1.8 | 28mm | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5.6 | 100mm | ISO 125

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100 Movie

This is a sample movie at the highest quality setting of 1920x1080 pixels at 25 frames per second. Please note that this 21 second movie is 58Mb in size.

Entry Tags

hd, compact, 1080p, photos, samples, images, preview, camera, full hd, compact camera, cmos, 20 megapixel, sony cyber-shot, rx100, sony rx100, cyber-shot rx100, cybershot rx100, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100

Tracker Pixel for Entry

Your Comments

22 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Tobias W.

@Sony: Seriously?

Look at the book shot at ISO 800 at 100% zoom. The noise is really really bad considering the big sensor size. I didn’t expect such a bad performance from such a big sensor. Compared to the Nikon 1 cameras which have about the same sensor size, these images look like shit.

@Sony: why did you have to cram 24MP onto this tiny sensor?! This camera would have been a killer with just 10MP and an awesome signal-to-noise ratio. Like this, it’s just a big disappointment that will only fool people who confuse image quality with background blur.

@Panasonic: you can take a deep breath guys. Your LX7’s tiny sensor will still provide better images thanks to a lower pixel count and likely a superior lens!

5:39 pm - Friday, July 20, 2012

#2 Márcio Oliveira

lol why all complain about 20mp. jesus that is the most dumb discussion. this camera has proven that 20Mp is not a problem Period

have you seen lx7’s samples? do you really think they are better Tobias? ... you need to check dpreview table about pixel/IQ ratio. its proved that 20Mp is better.

Anyway this is the killer Compact. compact and I repeat a real compact camera. not the same thing about lx7

7:40 pm - Friday, July 20, 2012

#3 Alfonso

You post all those photographs are they are all about the same!  Please post some exteriors, bit also interiors, preferably at various lighting conditions, like tungsten and flourecent.  Some close ups and some wide.  Most people travel and love to take shots under those conditions, not only vapid exteriors.  Great interior halls and delicious details within.  Also some portraits at the lens’s longest extension (flattering to the face).  You could also choose better lighting angles.  We love your very intelligent and carefully written reviews, but the samples as shown lack a bit of class and charm.

9:43 pm - Friday, July 20, 2012

#4 JS

It’s not bad at all! The size matters and that’s why it is a winner.

9:56 pm - Friday, July 20, 2012

#5 Resonance

Tobias W, it seems that you have fallen for the more megapixels = bad myth that has been increasingly common these days. Most noise comparisons are done at the pixel level, which is essentially comparing the outputs of two cameras at different viewing points. Consider this analogy - you print an image at two different sizes, 8 by 10 inches and 16 by 20 inches. Noise would be more visible on the 16x20” print compared to the 8x10” print, but that does not mean that the actual image itself has more noise. Similarly, when taking 100% crops of images for the purpose of comparing noise levels, the crop of the higher megapixel image will show a smaller area of the image, and is not representative of actual viewing.

The best predictors of noise performance are sensor size and advances in sensor tech.

7:07 am - Saturday, July 21, 2012

#6 Garmin

The size and no lens-cap are two strong features.

7:11 am - Saturday, July 21, 2012

#7 Steve

Impressive for a compact; not so for a US$650 camera.

1:16 pm - Saturday, July 21, 2012

#8 diaa

In current time, every person wants to store their moment in any way. Some makes video and few take pictures and store it. That person, who loves to photography he know very well that to make more attractive look to your images, we can use various kind of tricks.

1:32 pm - Saturday, July 21, 2012

#9 Tobias W.

Hi Márcio,

this camera is certainly NOT the killer compact. It could have been, but Sony ###### up.

The image quality is bad considering the sensor size and price of the camera. Face the visual facts and look at the image samples at 100% and notice how the details get smudged.

Don’t believe me?

Read http://m.dpreview.com/reviews/sony-cybershot-dsc-HX20v/9

From DPreview:

Conclusion - Cons:

Lots of detail smudging, even at ISO 100
Only two apertures to choose from at any one time; no shutter or aperture priority modes, or RAW support

Just based on this it fails from being a killer compact.

Why I think the LX7 will wipe the floor with the Sony? Because the LX5 already does. Just compare images on DPreview.

2:16 pm - Saturday, July 21, 2012

#10 Márcio Oliveira

Tobias W. dude you are giving me a review about hx20v that is completely different with rx100 LOLOLOL
rx100 has fully manual control even in video.
does not have that smudged details. 
get your facts straight. ;)

2:56 pm - Saturday, July 21, 2012

#11 Márcio Oliveira

anyway here’s some real samples

flickr.com/groups/dsc-rx/pool/

2:58 pm - Saturday, July 21, 2012

#12 Tobias W.

I noticed I looked at the wrong camera review on DPreview.

That’s my mistake.

That doesn’t make the image sample of the RX100 any prettier though.

Just look at the image samples in this blog post. Take the book shots, open them at 100%.

I looked at the ISO200 shot in the top left corner (the red book). The details are noticeable smudged. At ISO200 with an one inch sensor?!

Again, compare them with a real world image of another one inch sensor camera (Nikon J1, at ISO140:

http://masters.galleries.dpreview.com.s3.amazonaws.com/1416141.jpg?AWSAccessKeyId=14Y3MT0G2J4Y72K3ZXR2&Expires=1342880257&Signature=oCeEOBNspT7cz0DLr4llrCUt4nA=

The Nikon image does not show any detail smudging which dominates most sample shots we see in this blog post.

Even the ISO 125 shot from the Sony doesn’t look clean at 100%:

http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/sony_cybershot_dsc_rx100/photos/sony_cybershot_dsc_rx100_03.jpg

And of course there is a causal relation between the image quality and the pixel density on the sensor. It’s mostly because of this relation that the RX100 images look bad and the Nikon images loot so much better at 10MP.

And in addition: the tiny lens of the RX100 probably doesn’t even physically resolve details to 24MP.

First, I was a bit disappointed that Panasonic didn’t put a one inch sensor in the LX7 as I thought that they might get overrun on the market by the RX100. Seeing these images and comparing them to available cameras, I have no doubt both the LX7 and the upcoming XZ-2 from Olympus will feature better image quality.

3:09 pm - Saturday, July 21, 2012

#13 HansM

I’m not sure everyone is on the same page. We see 1/2.3” and 1/1.7” 1small sensor cameras with 16mega pixels what is so wrong with 20megapixels on 1inch Sensor. I was so impressed with the handling and picture quality I bought one and am now even more impressed with its low light performance. I have used the impressive Canon S100 which is a great compact camera and I feel the RX100 surpasses it in both picture quality and performance. Please note we are talking about point and shoot camera and not Interchangable lens cameras or SLRs. I own a LX5 which is indeed a fine camera but the images are a nowhere near as good as the RX100.

3:54 pm - Saturday, July 21, 2012

#14 bambam

600 bucks for these pics?? good grief..the purple looks like an overexposed magenta..horrible.

5:49 pm - Saturday, July 21, 2012

#15 Jewell

like Louis explained I’m amazed that a student able to profit $9348 in four weeks on the internet. did you look at this webpage (Click on menu Home more information)  http://goo.gl/nm1Ky 

7:04 pm - Saturday, July 21, 2012

#16 Tricia

like Terry explained I cant believe that a mother able to make $7154 in one month on the internet. have you read this site (Click on menu Home more information) http://goo.gl/LlLV3

9:44 pm - Saturday, July 21, 2012

#17 andyclad

Hi all.
This camera looks really good. The book snaps show a really usable ISO3200 with a pleasing grain effect. Remember chaps, these are JPEG images and down to the noise reduction handling from the camera. The RAWs should be even better.
Now for some constructive criticism.
Again this reviewer has taken the easy route. If this camera can produce really good high ISO images (which it can), then please take some. Push the camera to see what it can really do. Not at F1.8 on a slow shutter speed. You’re supposed be reviewing it. Lets see some F5.6 at ISO 1600+  You have all these toys to play with that the likes off me and millions of others would love to take some test shots on. An example, moving traffic at dusk, freeze the action and show us the result. Come on do something with it!!!
I’m a fan of this blog, but really, its all getting a bit boring, which is turning people away.

8:11 am - Sunday, July 22, 2012

#18 Sony DSC RX100

refering to the dpreview comments. I’m not experiencing any smudge of othe unsharpness on my pixtures taken with the Sony DSC RX100
I’m very happy with my purchase adn have not regret I spend $600

Webmaster of Sony DSC RX100 review

7:46 am - Tuesday, July 24, 2012

#19 Sony RX100 review

Its a very small body for what it tries to do. The sensor is amazing, the lens is less amazing but seems mostly up to the test of the sensor. The handling and portability is all some people want.

6:13 pm - Thursday, August 2, 2012

#20 vidush

i agree with the review here, tried it in a sony shop yesterday. I really like the fact that huge sensor is hosted in small body. so you can just carry it where ever and click good pictures. Considering to buy it for now. In india it is priced at Rs 35k http://www.sony.co.in/product/dsc-rx100?cid=radian

11:32 am - Wednesday, October 17, 2012

#21 Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100

Sony Cyber Shot DSC-RX100 is a well-designed and sleek camera. It is attractive and compact and the aluminium body is well built. price is $649 and the camera is a bit expensive, LCD screen of this camera is a bit washed out when you see in direct sunlight but it is still visible.

10:51 am - Thursday, January 10, 2013

#22 Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100 is a really fast camera having bright, fast lens. They provide videos were looking saturated, bright, and good with reasonable sharpness, Shooting JPEG+raw along with fast SD memory card.

8:10 am - Friday, January 11, 2013