Sony HX100v Photos

March 6, 2011 | Mark Goldstein | 13 Comments |
Sony HX100v Photos Image

The Sony HX100v is a new flagship superzoom compact camera, offering a 30x zoom lens and 16.2 megapixel sensor. We spent the day with Sony and their brand new HX100v at the picturesque Kenilworth Castle in Warwickshire, England, ahead of its debut at the Focus on Imaging show.

Here are 41 full-size sample photos from the Sony HX100v. Please note that they were taken with a pre-production camera and may not be 100% representative of the final shipping product.

A gallery of Sony HX100v sample images.


Sony HX100v JPEG Images

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/3.5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/80 sec
f/4 | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/1600 sec
f/2.8 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/4 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/4 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/2.8 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1000 sec
f/3.2 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/4 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/400 sec
f/4.5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/400 sec
f/5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/400 sec
f/4.5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/2000 sec
f/2.8 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/2000 sec
f/3.2 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 250

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5 | ISO 160

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/4.5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/5 | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/2.8 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/2.8 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/2.8 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/30 sec
f/2.8 | ISO 640

Sample Image

1/1600 sec
f/2.8 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1000 sec
f/3.2 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1000 sec
f/2.8 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5 | ISO 160

Sample Image

1/1250 sec
f/2.8 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1600 sec
f/2.8 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/4.5 | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5 | ISO 500

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5 | ISO 125

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 100

Entry Tags

compact, photos, samples, images, sony, super-zoom, photo, super zoom, cybershot, sample, image, superzoom, 30x, 16.2 megapixel, Sony HX100v, HX100v

Tracker Pixel for Entry

Your Comments

13 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Will

Come on! We all wanna see the high ISO shots!

3:30 am - Monday, March 7, 2011

#2 mihalis

i see great loss of detail in the few higher iso photos you have uploaded (even at iso 500)....There is too much noise reduction and the effects of it in the quality of the picture are obvious. At base iso there is still noise and trully i was expecting a more detailed outcome, especially at this price tag

9:43 am - Monday, March 7, 2011

#3 Robin

@Will: Looking at these samples, I definitely won’t!

11:25 am - Monday, March 7, 2011

#4 Steve McDonald

These HX100V photos were mostly not well taken. Many of them have their main subjects underexposed or the light was in the wrong direction. Not a very colorful selection of subjects, either. The capabilities of this camera shouldn’t be judged too much by these examples.

Can anyone explain why so many of them have such large file-sizes? Some had as much as 24 MB. There were standard, 4:3-aspect photos that were not panoramas, that used as much as 18 MB. These file-sizes were about what you’d expect from 16 MP RAW photos. Other photos I’ve seen from the HX7V and the HX9V, had sizes ranging from 3.3 MB to 4.2 MB. I’d like a higher bit-rate than that, but most of the photos here had sizes that were way too big.

Steve McDonald

1:01 pm - Monday, March 7, 2011

#5 Arthur

It seems this is as good as it gets when you want an ‘all in one’ megazoom. Slightly better than FZ100. I will wait for the Fuji HS20 and Olymp. SZ30 MR and then decide.

3:03 pm - Monday, March 7, 2011

#6 Claus

Thanks for the pictures.
Underexpose or overexpose,Thad what the camera do at auto setting.
the reviewer thid an excellent job.
I agree with most people here.
The Images are to mush noise reduced,and therefore the detail is gone,can,t blame the reviewer for Thad
however down sampled the images are fine,except for the soft left side of the pictures.
at the wide end.
The pictures look smooth but lack any detail.
we will see in the final version.
Again thanks to the reviewer to put this pictures up so fast.
Thank you :)

5:31 pm - Tuesday, March 8, 2011

#7 mikle

lies. I think it’s not SONY DSC-HX100V

12:38 pm - Saturday, April 2, 2011

#8 AmadeusZart

Hi ! (Sorry for my French English !)
It will be very more interessant if you submit samples of truths HX100V sport photographies. INdoor and Outdoor. Lets play your imagination, and please do it for us !
Thanks !

8:19 am - Saturday, April 9, 2011

#9 Robrwy

Compared with the Fuji HS20 it suffers from the lack of external flash capability. Even when Sony provide a hot shoe its non ISO.They really need to wake up in this area

11:05 am - Saturday, April 9, 2011

#10 deja utilise

Hello,
I bought last year the Finepix HS10, and I sold it yesterday, it isn’t at the height of his features on the paper, I have got a old sony dsc H1 and I am happy, but today there’s better whith sony dsc H100V exhibited above! When I see IQ I find again feeling that I have whith the old model, and I confirm it’s the sony dsc hx100v ( viewed on exif informations ). Thanks

2:29 pm - Tuesday, May 3, 2011

#11 Abhishek Sharma

Check dpi of the picture. Its 72dpi only. With 16.2 mp CMOS sensor.

9:31 pm - Friday, May 27, 2011

#12 nobodeuno

All one has to do is go to Flickr and hit the groups of photos taken with the Sony HX100V to see its capabilities.  It is capable in the right hands of stunning images. At $350 USD I don’t think there is much available that compares, especially with the feature set in this camera.  The video is very nice as well!

11:21 pm - Friday, October 28, 2011

#13 satyam

hello, tired of reading all these.I have lready SONY which is best in its segment ,,,hve no complaint abt it…but i’m thinking of hx100v but u ppl making me scratch my head…well..i am no pro-clicker//i’m a just family man and want to click fab pics of my angel and my princess and my surroundings,party…but not to sell…san any one suggest me or convince me among canon 550D or sony HX100V

3:38 pm - Monday, November 7, 2011