Sony HX9v Photos

March 6, 2011 | Mark Goldstein | 33 Comments |
Sony HX9v Photos Image

The Sony HX9v is a new flagship travelzoom compact camera, offering a 16x zoom lens and 16.2 megapixel sensor. We spent the day with Sony and their brand new HX9v at the picturesque Kenilworth Castle in Warwickshire, England, ahead of its debut at the Focus on Imaging show.

Here are 39 full-size sample photos from the Sony HX9v. Please note that they were taken with a pre-production camera and may not be 100% representative of the final shipping product.

A gallery of photos from the Sony HX9v.


Sony HX9v JPEG Images

Sample Image

1/1600 sec
f/3.3 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5.9 | ISO 500

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/4.5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1000 sec
f/4.5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1250 sec
f/3.3 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/5.9 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/3.3 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/3.3 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/400 sec
f/4 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/3.3 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5.9 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/60 sec
f/3.5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/3.3 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1000 sec
f/3.3 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/4 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/30 sec
f/3.3 | ISO 320

Sample Image

1/1000 sec
f/3.3 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/3.3 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/5.9 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/400 sec
f/5.9 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5.9 | ISO 160

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/3.3 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/40 sec
f/3.3 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/800 sec
f/4 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 200

Sample Image

1/500 sec
f/3.3 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/100 sec
f/3.3 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/4 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/640 sec
f/5.9 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1250 sec
f/3.5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/1000 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/320 sec
f/5 | ISO 100

Sample Image

1/200 sec
f/5 | ISO 400

Sample Image

1/250 sec
f/5.6 | ISO 160

Entry Tags

compact, photos, samples, images, sony, photo, travel-zoom, travel zoom, cybershot, sample, image, 16.2 megapixel, 16x, travelrzoom, HX9v, Sony HX9v

Tracker Pixel for Entry

Your Comments

33 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Jostian

photos are VERY soft and full of artifacts, especially evident when one zooms a bit into facial features, even at low ISO’s very poor detail, not impressed at all

12:17 pm - Monday, March 7, 2011

#2 Arn

I also don’t like the colours. Kinda blah. I know it’s English weather and old bricks, but still. May be it’s the softness too, the whole lot looks rather flat and boring to me. I prefer a bit more crispness.

5:05 am - Tuesday, March 8, 2011

#3 James

photos are horribly soft and detail is very poor, the HX5V IQ was in another league to this one, the megapixel race takes another victim…pity!

9:30 am - Tuesday, March 8, 2011

#4 Zary

I think that IQ is better than HX5V! You must know that pictures have to be post-processed! You just have to resize and add some contrast and images become VERY good! If you add sharpness the final result is excellent!

10:04 am - Tuesday, March 8, 2011

#5 James

the HX5V IQ ratings on this site and many others put its IQ at the top of the compact zoom class (photographyblog, DPReview, DigitalCameraReview, what digital camera etc) and the pics above are nowhere near as good as those from the HX5V (I went to the review of the HX5V and checked some sample pics) and sorry HX5V is way better!!!

10:11 am - Tuesday, March 8, 2011

#6 Jostian

I agree with James whole heartedly, the HX5V IQ is just way better!! Fact…

10:12 am - Tuesday, March 8, 2011

#7 Jonathan

IQ does not look great but then again it’s not uncommon for pre-production ones not to be tuned correctly so I’m sure Sony will fix this up before it’s released…

1:46 pm - Tuesday, March 8, 2011

#8 Richard

Things just get worse as the batch of new releases for the spring approaches.  I’m looking to replace a broken PANA TZ10 and have looked at the reviews/previews for the PANA TZ20, NIKON S9100, SONY HX9V and CANON HX230.  All about the same price, zoom, pixel spec, but all are criticised for poor picture quality.  I was leaning towards the HX9V as it has a better ISO range than the TZ20 but now I’m back to square one.  Its a sad day if the best buy this year is last years TZ10.

4:15 pm - Tuesday, March 8, 2011

#9 Zary

I’m sorry but I disagree… If you resize 16 MP images taken with HX9V to 2 MP and than resize 10MP images from HX5V to 2 MP again, you will find that pictures of HX9V are sharper and more detailed! HX5V has barrel distorsion which is corrected in HX9V! I definitely will sell my old HX5v and buy new HX9V!

10:58 pm - Tuesday, March 8, 2011

#10 Jostian

Dear Zary, huh, way too technical, who is ever going to go through that laborious process, for me its much simpler I look at real world photos taken by both (on this site), side by side and zoom to 100% and the HX5V is simply better (detail, noise and artefacts) as others have mentioned, if you wanna re size etc go ahead but most people will compare the real life photos and on that score the HX9 is no match for the HX5V, maybe Sony fix the poor IQ prior to launch we’ll see, hope so.

9:46 am - Wednesday, March 9, 2011

#11 Zary

Dear friend Jostian,to be fair we should compare the two cameras in equal conditions: 10 MP, 10x zoom! I didn’t see such comparison until now!
I have owned two Sony P&S cameras and they both had better IQ than HX5V so I was very disappointed. Then I read this blog http://hx5v.blogspot.com/ and I learned easiest way how to post-process my pictuers. Now I am quite satisfied how my pictures look. Intially it was pain but now it is fun!
Of course I will be happy if Sonny improve IQ before they launch HX9V but I think that IQ is better than HX5V already!

4:23 pm - Wednesday, March 9, 2011

#12 Michel

Why are all the vertical shoots showing in landscape mode!? Not handy!

10:50 pm - Wednesday, March 9, 2011

#13 Jostian

HI Zary, again I’m cool with your technical take on comparing the photos in the way you say, but for me I dont really care whether the cam is a 10 megapixel or 16 megapixel cam, I care about real life IQ, and based on that, comparing pics from the HX5V and the HX9V (from this website), its quite easy to see the detail & noise handling is better on the HX5V, as many others have mentioned here, but to each his/her own, enjoy the cam!

10:35 am - Thursday, March 10, 2011

#14 JohnWho

Quote:

“Please note that they were taken with a pre-production camera and may not be 100% representative of the final shipping product.”

Until we see the same images (or similar) taken with the final shipping product, comparisons of any type seem silly to me. 

We are comparing a ripened apple to a, uh, unripened apple.

C’mon folks, we need to wait a bit before claiming anything other than that the pre-production images aren’t as good as we expect.

4:43 pm - Saturday, March 12, 2011

#15 kurth

with respect Zary…if I wanted 2mp images I´d get on ebay and buy an old coolpix ! Resizing the images to 2mps doesn´t tell you anything - any cameras images resized to 2mp will look good ! In contrast , the video samples from this camera on youtube look exellent so I´m hoping these samples are a fluke.

8:07 pm - Monday, March 14, 2011

#16 Zary

Let’s say it another way… Who needs 10 MP or 16 MP images? Even 5 MP looks big for me -they don’t fit on my screen! I had an old Sony and I used to make all my images on 1 MP and I ensure you that they look great on 19” PC screen AND on paper! I just do not understand why the latest models of Sony don’t have 1 or 2 MP resolution???? Just mention that if you use 1 or 2 MP you could record many times more images on your memory card! That’s why I resize and post-process my pictures! Now they look on the way I like them most and I have fun to do that!

5:07 pm - Tuesday, March 15, 2011

#17 BlueScreenJunky

Hi Kurth, just something you should think about when you compare pictures before buying a camera : How are you going to look at the pictures ? will you :
1- Look at them on your computer screen or TV, with the picture filling the whole screen ?
2- print them on paper ?
3- Watch them at 100% on your computer screen and scroll in every direction in order to see the whole picture ?
If your answer is 1 or 2, then it’s useless to compare the shots at 100%, and you should resize them to the correct (and equal) size before comparing, whether they come from a 2Mpx or a 30Mpx camera.

Zary : 1Mpx is IMHO not enough even for watching on a screen (a 1080p screen is 2Mpx) and clearly not enough for printing, but I agree that such high resolutions are useless and actually hurt performances (less light for each pixel, takes more space on the card…), maybe 8Mpx would be a good compromise ?

4:49 pm - Wednesday, March 16, 2011

#18 Philip

Anyone compared to pana tz20?  Just bought a tz20 and found low light performance to be very poor.  Is the hx9v likely to be better given the exmorr cmos sensor?

7:26 pm - Wednesday, March 16, 2011

#19 james

Hi All!

Does anyone have an idea of when final production models will start to be reviewed (by anyone)? I know its mostly a guess, but maybe educated based on past experiences. The reason I ask is because I believe the shipping date is 05/01/11. I am going on a trip on 05/10/11, so I’d have to buy the camera pretty quick once its available to have it in time. I’ve been looking at the HX5V, and I can get it for about $300 with 16GB card, car charger, case and 3-year ADH warranty. That’s a pretty good deal, so I’m just wondering if waiting for the HX9V will even be worth it. But, since I will have this camera a long time, so maybe its worth it to get the latest.

CORRECTION:  I just checked my Newegg cart, and the HX5V is, as of today, sold out. Ugh… now i have to pay even more to get the HX5V and accessories (they were a combo deal).

7:22 pm - Tuesday, March 29, 2011

#20 Abid

I bought the Sony HX9V a month ago and was pleased with the photo quality. I am yet to try all its features. I like to share and post sample photos to this Blog but not sure how to go about it. Could anyone help please?

6:11 am - Sunday, May 29, 2011

#21 Alfred

I purchased it last week and I don’t believe that I did not look into the IQ properly before buying this camera. When looked at 100% or even little zoom, it just look RUBBISH. With complete watercolour effect. Now we can’t argue that we should ignore that because we don’t see images at 100%, well, thats absurd to me. A better image at 100% is better at small size as well. Sad part is that even with manual settings as well I cannot improve it at all. I’ll have to live with it because I can’t replace this, I fell for features but the IQ should always be the top priority. For all those who are looking to buy a camera: Please compare the images properly before selecting a model.

2:07 am - Saturday, June 4, 2011

#22 rcosta

For when a full review os this camera?

3:14 pm - Monday, June 6, 2011

#23 Alfred

I think I was too harsh with my previous comment lol. This camera is fun to use and the video quality is really a step ahead as compared to other cameras. I wish they could improve the image quality and could we get more realism from its images then this camera would be revolutionary. I donno may be they will upload a patch or something in their website to fix the issue with image quality, well I hope. But I must say this camera offers alot. The optical zoom is great, auto-focus is awsome and responds very fast. If you are able to focus it well at 16x optical zoom then at 64x digital zoom it takes decent pictures. Recording of sound in the video is good. I love the option of MP4 format for recording. AVCHD recording at 1080p @50fps is superb. You can connect it to your PC and it changes the battery, awesome!!
If you wanna get good images out of it, use the appropriate scene mode for the conditions. Low light images also looks good. Macro mode works great. Back ground defocus is also better than what I saw in some other cameras. Over this camera apeals so much to gadget hounds.

6:18 pm - Monday, June 6, 2011

#24 Luís Paciência

hi there , i want to buy a new camera and i just want to know how good is the hx9v at night, recording movies and shoot pictures.
Can it make some nightsky pictures? how good it will take it? anyone tryed?

12:37 pm - Monday, June 13, 2011

#25 Alfred

@Luís Paciência: In the twilight mode with tripod it takes some nice night sky shots, I have not compared it with the same shots on other cameras though

1:33 pm - Tuesday, June 21, 2011

#26 Markus

I just purchased this cam (hx9v) i think im gonna get it tomorrow.. I HOPE”! what should i look forward to?? =)

is the picture quality that bad?? i have looked at pictures of it and they may seem a little blurry.. but it is replacing my old (ccd) IXUS-40 so i would thing in therms of IQ, this new cam would do heeeell better? or am i wrong?

i am glad to see that you where satisfied alfred! i know! i first got the Panasonic HDC-SD90 videocamera.. it had a flash lamp too… but watching YouTube.. this.. VQ? xD on the Hx9v blew me away!

9:44 pm - Tuesday, June 21, 2011

#27 Markus

one thing i was thinking of.. isnt this 16 megapixel talk and the talk about the IQ.. BS?? .. we are talking about 16mp.. who is going to buy this camera and watch the photos in full resolution??? hang it on your wall?? in wall size? Get a SLR cam then! this is a advanced ” vacation” cam (what i think) and mostly need.

the pictures i have downloaded around the web from the cam in full quality look amazingly crispy clear on my sony 55” led tv, SONY KDL-55EX725 (3D/LED) and the full hd video! omg! i dont think i would ever need another videocamera! i am not planing to sit in my couch, zooming into every picture 100%.... i am going to take good pictures, that i can watch on my tv-screen…

i am no expert! no doubt about it! but these pictures and the video from the hx9v looks great! on my screen! maybe it is you guys that aren’t up to date with your viewing gear?

10:25 pm - Tuesday, June 21, 2011

#28 Alfred

@Markus: You took the right decision, you have 3D TV and no other camera will give you the 3D pictures experience in this range. I’m also planning to buy a 3D TV soon. As far as IQ is concerned, sony have a different approach. They want their pics to look good when seen normally (fit to screen not 100%), hence, the camera software process the images in such way. I took some moon shots with 64X zoom (16x optical 4X digital) and it looks brilliant. I sot a video with the same zoom on moon and that looks brilliant too. I’ll recommend u to buy a tripod with that, I got sony’s VCT-R100, good enough for sony cybershot.

1:24 pm - Wednesday, June 22, 2011

#29 Markus

already got the Joby-gorillaPod, and what a tripod!!!  God Damn!  it is so solid! and flexible yet very solid! i found it to work great as a tripod, maybe even better as an handle for filming!!!  got the camera 5 hours ago, and had to buy assassins creed brotherhood to pass the time while charging it fully the first time xD (great game!!..) =)

one thing i wonder about the camera and this needs a response! when i use the zoom, in any mode, i can really feel the zooming mechanism inside the camera on the body of the camera.. is this normal? and when i zoom and get past 8x zoom.. the picture shakes a little, like an 1mm speed bump.. ,, sounds like bone crunching inside the camera, if you put your ear against the body. :/ hmm X/ this aint a big problem of course, firs notice was before pressing the record button, but it also has it with the image stab, while recording.. do you got the same problem or is this a DOA (dead on arrival) if you dont have this noise…?!

9:33 pm - Wednesday, June 22, 2011

#30 Edison

I bought one and I am not happy at all. I think it will go back… The pictures are all dull and not as crisp as a 4 year old 10 megapixel sony NX model I had. What a disapointment…

2:57 pm - Friday, June 24, 2011

#31 Almost Like Guest

Hi

My dad bought this Sony “wonder” couple days ago. Movie performance is great, but photos are very poor. They look like water-colour paintings. Sorry Sony, but this camera is piece of crap. My old Sony DSC-H5 is far better in terms of details on low ISO (80-100). My Fuji S6500fd is like DSLR when I compare it to HX9V. Sony, why? Why 16mpix and tiny sensor? Dear Sony (and other) - stop Mpix war and give us superb product we’re looking for. 6 Mpix is enough for 95% photographers.

9:16 am - Monday, July 11, 2011

#32 Guest

Guys Check the review and sample pics on this link

http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/sony_cybershot_dsc_hx9v_review/sample_images/

@Almost Like Guest: Look at the sample pics on this link, doesn’t look bad to me. You must not be taking it properly, try to explore more :-)

1:57 pm - Monday, July 11, 2011

#33 berglaufman

Like anything else, there are good features and not so good features.
I am just back from a holiday in Colorado which is why I bought this camera, I didn’t want to travel and climb mountains with my Digital SLR.
I agree with folks who say it is very good in low light and that it takes great macro shots.
BUT - the landscape photos that I have taken are very poor - I wanted good colours so I set camera to vivid, and also to automatically sharpen so that I didn’t have to post process much.
The results are that instead of sharpening the image - it appear to have done the opposite and they appear diffuse and almost out of focus, although colours are good it is much as ‘Almost Like Guest’ says and they look like water colour images.
I also agree with others and why oh why do we have compacts with 16 mpix - it really isn’t needed - more we should be demanding much better quality sensors - I took mine at 10 mpix which is still probably overkill unless you are going to blow them up to poster size - as it is i wouldn’t blow these up much more than 7 x 5 as the image is so poor on landscapes.
Very disapointed to have spent £300 on a camera and ended up with poor results from somewhere I am unlikely to go to again in the near future.

4:00 pm - Thursday, August 18, 2011