Canon Digital IXUS 200 IS Review

3.5
October 9, 2009 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

14 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 pc3200

IXUS 200 IS With a touchscreen slapped on the back and plenty of clever tech under the hood, the Canon Digital IXUS 200 IS is a super sharp new snapper.

10:14 am - Saturday, October 10, 2009

#2 Rob Rosetti

Too much noise, even at iso 200. The megapixel madness made another victim..

2:45 pm - Saturday, October 10, 2009

#3 Elie Boujaoude

This camera won our hearts but it could not convince us that higher resolution cameras produce better pictures. I would suggest that Canon develops a new sensor for this camera with no more than 8MP.

Canon move with the G11 is great & we expect them to adopt this policy for their full range of cameras.

8:23 pm - Saturday, October 10, 2009

#4 Rob Rosetti

Anyway, the handling of exposure by this camera is excellent. Shadows, highlights and color balance are really good. With a ten megapixels sensor, as in my A2000is, it would be a bestseller.. I suppose.

7:50 am - Sunday, October 11, 2009

#5 me

are u doing copy/paste of your other reviews? text is the same as for other cameras !!!

9:59 am - Tuesday, October 13, 2009

#6 Bob Rawson

I’ve seen comments before about the problems with too many pixels. But can’t you just take pictures at a lower resolution?

12:32 am - Wednesday, October 14, 2009

#7 charles

wad do u mean by noise? and the pics seems unclear

2:01 pm - Sunday, October 18, 2009

#8 Victor

I would say this is just an average camera which has nice touch screen, other than that it is average or little better in outside sunlight pictures, it isn’t good in lowlight condition, nor in a room, it just perform average quality pictures. Zooming isn’t good neither. Video isn’t bad at all, nor good also, but it take a lot of space, 1 mins recording could use up about 180MB.

9:12 am - Thursday, November 12, 2009

#9 NickHD

Great little camera - BUT. And we’ll come to that ‘But’, in a bit.. Bought this after getting a G11, which is wonderful and has a proper viewfinder. The ickle Ixus is also ok, BUT, why oh why do Canon in Hong Kong insist on only providing Instruction manuals in Cantonese? Is it some edict from Japan? Is it some ploy to save paper? If so, why print one in Cantonese? Why does the Canon website make it so difficult to download a user manual for this camera? Is nayone in Canon’s head office listening?
Conclusion - DON’T buy Canon until they get their Instruction Manuals sorted out.

2:56 am - Tuesday, December 29, 2009

#10 Rakesh

Pros: Nice camera! Good pictures! Image colours are also bright.

Cons: For moving objects very bad. Image stabilization dosent work at all!!!
Dont even have a sports mode, which i was having in my previous Nikon camera for moving object.

3:32 am - Tuesday, October 26, 2010

#11 Pink

I’m really disappointed with this camera. The reason I bought this (I used to have a Sony cybershot)was because of my mom’s Canon IXY 4MP (without zoom).The photos of my mom’s Canon are really impressive, sharp and noise-free with vivid colors in blue and red.Comparing with my so-called “advance” Canon digicam unit, it’s really frustrating that u could actually notice the poor image quality.That’s why i want to get a new p&s camera.Hopefully I can find the best, if not, anything that would satisfy the kind of image quality that I’m looking for.

5:00 pm - Saturday, January 29, 2011

#12 alex florendo

i bought canon ixus 200is last year and its pretty cool but after one year the video sound recording doesn’t functioning already… i dont know what to do cause its not included in their troubleshooting guide…

12:48 pm - Saturday, February 11, 2012

#13 Fred Lanham

We have a SD 980 IS that was a gift a couple of years ago.  It stopped working almost on the anniversary of the purchase date.  Cannon said they would repair the camera even though it was out of warranty.  After repair the camera worked fine for another year and than would not function at all.  When the camera did work we were very please with all aspects.

6:47 pm - Thursday, February 7, 2013

#14 Auroradawn Price

Just bought one for 79.99 € in Spain so am thinking all in all a good deal. My two broken ixus 70 and 75 were excellent am hoping this matches up for my needs.

3:11 pm - Saturday, September 14, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, 12 megapixel, 5x zoom, touch-screen, elph, PowerShot SD980 IS Digital ELPH Review, Canon Digital IXUS 200 IS Review, canon powershot sd980. ixus, canon ixus 200

Tracker Pixel for Entry