Canon Digital IXUS 210 Review

3.5
March 18, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

22 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Mark

More fuzzy artefact ridden images from a tiny over packed sensor. If the camera company’s persist with this madness it might be even time to move back to traditional film.

7:44 pm - Thursday, March 18, 2010

#2 Miha

I’m deciding between SONY WX1 and CANON IXUS 210.

There is one thing that I don’t understand very well from your reviews about this two cameras.

I’m quoting from Sony wx1 review:
“Despite having such a small image sensor, the WX1 produces impressive results up to ISO 800, with noise not really becoming apparent until the relatively slow speed of 1600.”

And in this review you are saying that for ISO settings above 200 there is obvious noise. But if I compare the photos taken under the Noise section in both your review, there is much more noise in the photos taken by Sony (at the same ISO level of course).

I had a Canon IXUS 870 IS and it was the same. Till ISO 200 it was ok, but with any higher ISO the noise was distracting.

So why such a low mark for Image quality of Ixus 210?

12:00 am - Friday, March 19, 2010

#3 Yianni

Mark, I totally agree. I think the time has come to stop this madness with pushing up megapixels with out increasing the sensor size.

Every single compact that has the same size sensor and has gone from 8 to 10 to 12 and now 14 megapixels is producing inferior quality with each megapixel increase.

I think the problem is that most people buying these cameras are only viewing their images on their computer screens and printing them at 6 x 4 which wont show any real problems at that size.

For people that actually know what’s going on and care about image quality every new range of compacts is a disaster.

I think we’ll be forced to look at micro 4/3’s as our compact cameras with all these crappy compacts manufacturers are releasing these days.

The TZ10 is another one that comes to mind producing inferior images in comparison to the older TZ7.

2:49 am - Friday, March 19, 2010

#4 Kevin

It’s strange - there are a lot of comments around the web complaining about noise, but I find the photos I take with this camera look better than any of the previous (though older) P&S’s I’ve owned.

The reviews just don’t match up with my experience with this camera.

7:36 am - Saturday, March 20, 2010

#5 Jonathan

I have the US version of this and very much like it. I am not sure way some people seem to be down on camera, after all it is just a point and shoot. All I know is that I like to use this more then any other camera I have had. And yes, I am old enough to have used film. It is as fast to turn on as I need, and the auto mode works very well for me.

2:21 pm - Tuesday, March 23, 2010

#6 james

Thanks for the review Mark!

I’m about one step before before i buy the older model Canon Ixus 110 or the new one Ixus 210. What’s your opinion? Is there any difference in picture quality?

One more think, I’m planning to buy a Silicon Power SDHC card 32GB class 10. Will these cameras work smoothly with these memory cards?

Thank you in advance!!

1:33 am - Thursday, March 25, 2010

#7 Les

I have to say I’m very disappointed with the IXUS 210. I have an IXUS 80 and the images it produces are better than most of the ones from the IXUS 210. The IXUS 210 images are very noisy even at ISO 80 and they lack detail. The lens also produces a lot of chromatic aberration at wide angle. Also, on several occasions it has got the focal point completely wrong (i.e it didn’t focus on the green square). The main reason I got it was to take 720p video with something that fits it my pocket. The video performace is better but still noisy.

6:54 pm - Monday, March 29, 2010

#8 kanaka

i want to buy the new Canon 210 but im not so sure right now after reading all the reviews…can anyone tell me which Canon Ixus is excellent in pictures,no noise & good video taking also

11:03 am - Friday, April 2, 2010

#9 Paul

Very disappointed with the image quality on this camera. The image quality even at IS0 80 is at best average with an unacceptable amount of noise at anything more.

It doesn’t really matter about touch screens and all the other bells and whistles, it’s what you see on your computer screen and printer that counts and on this basis this camera is not fit for purpose given its price.

We wanted a compact camera to complement our Canon EOS DSLRs and feel very let down.

9:34 pm - Wednesday, April 7, 2010

#10 Ace

Yeah,I owned the camera and the image quality is kinda bad.But still I’m not planning to hold a DSLR for now thus I still bought this camera as it is the most advance camera for now.And I like the function built.You can do more with touchscreen spec.
Anyway,I saw the ‘image quality’ part on the image stabilization,how you turn off the image stabilizer?As far as I know,it is fixed.

8:30 am - Tuesday, April 20, 2010

#11 Thunder

I was very disappointed with the IXUS 210 and returned the camera to the mall, the supplier was totally agree whit my commend and took it back. I have an IXUS 950 and the images it produces are a lot better than most of the ones from the IXUS 210. The IXUS 210 images are very noisy even at ISO 80 and they lack detail.The cheaper brother IXUS 110 produces better pictures than the IXUS 210. Never expected that Canon would deliver this quality.
Canon please get your focus again on building good camera’s. Yes you can had many good ones in the past

9:20 pm - Tuesday, May 11, 2010

#12 Haaris Sheikh

I am wondering if there is anyone who has (generally) compared the Ixus 210 with the 300 hs.

I have been using the 200 which I am replacing and was a pretty good P&S for travel. I am trying to see which one would be a better option. I did like the touch screen. Any suggestion would help.

Thanks

1:55 pm - Sunday, May 30, 2010

#13 Ace

Well,the image quality is not that good compared to the ixus 200. And the image taken on a bright place is bad.
But if you do like the advance technology,the ixus-210 is pretty good at it.

3:39 pm - Sunday, May 30, 2010

#14 Ruchita

I’m starting on my photography, I do not have much knowledge and I need a new camera. Before I had a Sony cyber-shot and now I need something a little more professional. Please suggest.
M very confused between the cannon series. Everywhere there’s very good as well as very bad responses for it.

10:11 pm - Wednesday, October 6, 2010

#15 Miski

Purchase my Ixus in Mar 2010, camera is easy to use via the 3.5inch touch screen/menus produces good quality images
Beware the touch screen is not covered against ‘impact damage’  by Canons warranty; Canoon charge for replacing is a staggering £102 Verdict stay cler of this camera or keep it in bubble wrap at all times

12:15 pm - Saturday, October 16, 2010

#16 Chris Rusbridge

I haven’t had this long enough to judge the image quality yet, particularly as the days have been so murky since I got it. I chose it, however, as a left-handed camera! Almost all cameras are determinedly right-handed, with dials and buttons all right-sided. The complete lack of buttons on the back right of this camera is a complete revelation! It means I can hold the camera right-handed, use the touch screen to adjust things (works well left-handed), and still reach across the top with my left index finger to the shutter. The only real problem is that my hand tends to drop across the flash unit; it would be better if it was on the right side!

(I guess I’ve more reason to look for a LH camera than most left-handed folk, as my right hand was damaged in an accident and I can’t curl the index finger onto the shutter button adequately. So for other LH folk, this may not be a real problem. Just sayin’!)

1:46 pm - Monday, January 3, 2011

#17 rahul

i have purchased this camera& using it for three days.i am architect & interior designer & using this one for recording the stages of my work at site.the wide angle of 24nn is helpful for me.i am yet to take prints from images but the images on lcd & on computer show differance & images on computer are bit dull than they appear on lcd screen. but for my purpose of referance it works just fine.

2:52 pm - Monday, April 11, 2011

#18 Fahad Ghouri

Well i have this cam and i think its a good one in this price. features are good so as the design.

3:49 am - Saturday, April 30, 2011

#19 Wawie

I purchased this IXUS 210 camera last year sometime in August coz I am going to Singapore and I want a very good pictures to take along after my trip. Picture quality are good. However, after several months, in December, the camera got a lens error and so I brought it to the Service Center. In short, my camera stayed in the repair shop during the Holidays. When I got it after several weeks, the lens error didn’t fix at all. To my disappointment, it got worse. I couldn’t turned on my camera and so it went to the Service Center again. I am so disappointed that I purchased a DEFECTIVE unit. What’s worse is after 2 months, it’s not returned yet from the repair.  And the warranty will lapse soon. Before, CANON is the best in cameras for me. But now, I don’t know…I am so disappointed with the service and quality of that IXUS 210. I will never buy any CANON camera again.

12:29 am - Wednesday, June 8, 2011

#20 francis

Having a problem with my 210, shuts down after 20 seconds showing error E32. Anybody any ideas what’s the problem?

12:15 am - Saturday, August 20, 2011

#21 vicky

I bought this camera this year and i frankly consider buying a new one. The interface etc etc is great but the images are terrible. Absolutely terrible. I ve been working with a sony dsc-f828 before, and i also happened to use my brothers super cheap compact sony (of a more or less 100 euro cost) and i have to say it was so good, i sometimes could not decipher which one was with the 828 and which one with the cheap one. Ok you could not make a clear night shot but in all other cases it was great.  Thus i considered that canon ixus 210 should be at least as decent as the supercheap sony. The result is pictures that are as if they were taken by my 2MB mobile phone’s camera! I am not joking, simply because my phone (cheap phone-not an iphone or sth like that) takes much better pictures, more clear, with less noise etc. I ve lowered the iso to 80 of course, i hardly ever use the auto mode, but still this camera makes me not willing to take pictures. And i totally agree on whats the point of having 12 MP when the image quality is equivalent to VGA.

5:20 pm - Monday, December 5, 2011

#22 Syaz

It’s a pricey camera but one of the best camera I have ever had. It may not be as good as the DSLRs but definitely a great digital camera! Spent my high school years taking pictures with this camera and always great results since I only use it for outdoor activities. Recently, I used this camera to record my classmates (for a Graduation video) and it looked really nice when presented on a large projector screen. I do want to buy a DSLR but I think this is already enough satisfying.

As for the cons, the camera does have it bad moments. Some pictures just will shake if the person moves. I get annoyed when that happens because other pictures doesn’t have that. That is probably the only bad thing about it.

I brought it to concerts too and it’s a satisfying result for me. I can see my favourite artist quite well (not as good as DSLR!) although I’m quite far away /sad

I love taking objects and plants and the scenery (I love the clouds) and it’s REALLY great. I love the “Foliage” settings! Sadly, we don’t have snow over here in Malaysia. Therefore, the “Snow” settings is quite useless.


The macro settings is good too. Arghh, I really don’t understand the flaws being too paid attention. haha. For my conclusion, this camera is to die for. Especially if you want great pictures but not as high memory as DSLR’s.

2:40 pm - Saturday, October 26, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 720p, wide-angle, 14 megapixel, 5x zoom, touch-screen, canon, touch screen, 3.5 inch LCD, SD3500, PowerShot SD3500 IS, ixus 210, Canon Digital IXUS 210 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry