Canon EF 24-70mm f/4L IS USM Review

4.5
January 18, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

12 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Stephen

Shouldn’t you be comparing it to the EF 24-70 f2.8L and the EF 24-105 f4L?  The 24-105 f4L has a wider range, same aperture and IS, and is half the price.  The 24-70 f2.8L is much brighter.  How do they compare in sharpness?  Is it really worth paying so much money for an f4 lens with limited range?

2:26 pm - Friday, January 18, 2013

#2 Mark Goldstein

Stephen, we’ll hopefully be testing both of those lenses soon.

3:45 pm - Friday, January 18, 2013

#3 nick192

I still prefer 24-105 L F4

7:49 pm - Friday, January 18, 2013

#4 Nick Gregan

I’ve been using the 24-105 F4 for about a year now and am extremely happy with it. I can’t find any reason to want to but a shorter lens offering less versatility. However I can see it is a nice lens but would always stay with the 24-105mm.

2:30 pm - Saturday, January 19, 2013

#5 Idiarto

how much the price in Indonesia?

4:21 am - Monday, January 21, 2013

#6 Gareth

It’s not fair to compare this lens against the 24-105L based on their current prices. The 24-105L is a very old lens and has been discounted for a very long time. Many copies are from bundled 5DII/24-105 combo packs and are sold in white boxes.
The 24-70/f4 L is a new to market lens and as such, it’ll carry a cost premium for a year or so. Remember to 70-200 f2.8 L IS II? In the UK they were selling for £2599 on launch, I paid £1599 for mine one year later. It pays to wait a bit.

1:20 pm - Monday, January 21, 2013

#7 Quazi Ahmed Hussain

Canon has been asking insane prices for its products released after the Fukushima Tsunami.  Perhaps they didn’t notice that version I of 24-70mm f/2.8L that’s still around costs less than this f/4 lens!

The reality is; sales has fallen sharply. The new lenses attract lot of attention albeit; fewer actual buyers.

Wake up Canon.

8:12 am - Wednesday, January 30, 2013

#8 David

I did paid around $1850 for 24-70 F/2.8 II which is insane amount but I wanted a F/2.8. 

This lens, when I can buy a slightly used 24-105L IS for under $700 these days, SHOULD BE a failure at the price they are offering it.

6:45 pm - Thursday, January 31, 2013

#9 andry

I buy it..and use it as my everyday lens..it is sharp, 77 mm filter, having 4 stop image stabilizer…from landscape to macro shooting..it never fail…shooting in 1/5s is possible…i have another 17 40L and 100L to compare. to landscape, image from 24 70 is usm is far superior to 17 40 L in center, in edge, in colour, but if i compare it with 100L in macro mode..the colour is ok but sharpness is softer than 100L.  highly recomanded

2:46 pm - Monday, March 4, 2013

#10 Mo

I have just bought one of these having owned a 24-105 f/4L for many years.
I am absolutely delighted it and have to say I really won’t miss my old lens.
Compared, the 24-70 wins in the following areas:
IQ, considerably sharper, it trounces the 24-105 at f/4 at all FR’s. CA is extremely well controlled, unlike the previous lens where CA was pretty evident.
The new IS system is fantastic, it’s silent too unlike the old ‘clunking’ system of earlier lenses.
Bokeh is also a lot smoother on the 24-70 than the 24-105 which is great considering its f/4.
The macro wasn’t a consideration for me buying this lens, IQ was my reason, but it is a handy extra though how often I’ll use that feature will remain to see.
I can’t recommend this lens enough.

8:34 am - Saturday, September 21, 2013

#11 Albert de Wilde

My copy of this Canon Canon 24-70mm f/4 L IS lens is not very useable on my full frame Canon 5Dm3. There’s a lot of vignetting from f4 till f8, wide as well as tele. The lens also suffers from a severe RSA problem. A wedding photographer should not use a tripod and manual focus to make portrets without fucussing again after stopping down or up. The focus shifts backwards when using a smaller aperture. This review tells us nothing about the RSA problem. Such a severe optical fault should have been seen and the recommendation seems to me a mistake.

2:13 pm - Tuesday, October 22, 2013

#12 Foto Nunta Brasov

I replaced the 24-105 F4 IS L lens with this one and I am so glad that I did. If you have the 70-200 lens, this is the perfect compliment to it. Anything over 70mm I would rather use the 70-200 F2.8 II, so this fills the standard zoom range perfectly. Images are SHARP, much sharper than the 24-105. The color is amazing on my Canon 5D Mark III. This camera and lens combination feel just right. The images are great. The lens is light enough to carry around for the day. Love this lens!

3:30 pm - Saturday, July 19, 2014

Entry Tags

wide-angle, lens, travel, canon, wide angle, telephoto, portrait, f4, image stabilisation, macro, photojournalist, ef, journalism, journalists, wedding, 24-70mm, usm, IS, reportage, 24-70, 4-stop, 24-70 mm, Canon EF 24-70mm f4L IS USM Review, 0.7x

Tracker Pixel for Entry