Canon EF 35mm f/2 IS USM Review

4.5
January 17, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

11 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 jure

... and where is (as main rival) Pentax 35mm/f2

http://www.wexphotographic.com/buy-pentax-35mm-f2-0-smc-al-lens/p1519935

4:15 pm - Thursday, January 17, 2013

#2 dj

Nice lens but way to expensive: the Sigma 35mm F1.4 costs the same and is so much better.

8:42 pm - Thursday, January 17, 2013

#3 DjKlax

This looks like such a cool lens. I definitely see it in my future!!!

10:42 pm - Thursday, January 17, 2013

#4 Richard

I think everyone is missing the point of Canon bringing out these Prime lenses with IS.  They are mainly directed at shooting for video where at present there is no affordable way to stabilize the image while shooting and still keep the look that a prime lens gives you.  $850 is much better then $3000+ for a stabilization Kit. So I am a little disappointed that the reviewer did no testing with video.

11:57 pm - Thursday, January 17, 2013

#5 Dan

Quite autofocus. Mmmmm quite quiet

12:28 am - Friday, January 18, 2013

#6 NYC

@jure: how do you mount that Pentax lens on a Canon body and retain AF? If your answer is ‘um, I don’t know’ then that lens is hardly a rival to a native Canon lens, is it?

7:10 pm - Friday, January 18, 2013

#7 jure

@ NYC .. as I uderstood the test is about quality of lenses not about boddies. But you are right - it is possible to understand this from your point of wiev. Everybody has right to see world from his point of view.

BTW: I suppose that you never heard of ADAPTERS for lenses. By Samyang is something like that a quite normal thing: if you buy a 500mm tele of Samyang & later change Canon- or Nikon-body for much better Pentax, you need only to spend a handful of dollars to buy a new adapter.

Souch solution is for CanNikon comunity something unthinkable because lenses MUST be very expensive - if not .. we are speaking of rubbish. I know many CanNikon owners & I know what I am writing about.

8:03 pm - Friday, January 18, 2013

#8 RMC

Bought this lens in December. Lens build quality is good and very light. New lens cap design. Sharpness, quiet and fast auto focusing is very impressive. Pricy but has IS. Good low light capability and ideal for video.

4:03 am - Friday, February 1, 2013

#10 Andrew

@Jure,

Which “better” Pentax body are you referring to?  Pentax hasn’t made a full-frame 35mm camera since when?  I think the K1000 was the last one, and of course I’m referring to FILM.

So, since Pentax doesn’t make a full-frame digital SLR, how can you say that Pentax bodies are “better” than Canon?

Right now, today, there are three readily available brands of full-frame SLR, Canon, Nikon and Sony.  Each are good, each has advantages and disadvantages compared to the others, and if you want full-frame, your only other option that I’m aware of is Leica.

As far as the Canon EF 35/2 IS USM, it has three competitors and three competitors only.  The older non-IS 35/2, the L series 35/1.4 and the new Sigma 35/1.4.  Again, each has its advantages and disadvantages, but Pentax (no full frame body) and Samyang (no autofocus) doesn’t make the list.

As for the reviewed lens, it is outstanding.  I shoot both Leica (M Monochrom) and Canon (6D), and have no complaints about the image quality of the EF 35/2 IS, which compares quite favorably to my Leica 35/2.5 Summarit-M at less than 1/3 the price.  Good job Canon.

11:58 pm - Saturday, December 14, 2013

#11 Foto Nunta Brasov

Unbelievable sharpness, saw reviews that gave it great scores, it’s so worth the purchase for sure. Works great on my 70D for shooting video. With the ‘IS’ and F/2 aperture, I’ve had great results with the quality and with the stabilization of the vide

3:33 pm - Saturday, July 19, 2014

Entry Tags

wide-angle, lens, travel, canon, prime, wide angle, 35mm, image stabilisation, f2, photojournalist, architecture, journalism, journalists, ef, usm, IS, 4-stop, 35 mm, Canon EF 35mm f2 IS USM Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry