Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM Review

4.0
June 28, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

10 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 ben

From reading your conclusion can you tell me how you gave it 5 stars?

Sponsored by Canon methinks!

6:30 pm - Friday, June 28, 2013

#2 ben

Whoops!
Sorry my apologies I thought you gave it 5 stars! (Still not a very good lens)

6:36 pm - Friday, June 28, 2013

#3 Family First

Good review!

3:49 pm - Saturday, June 29, 2013

#4 marnix claus

Great review.
I love the new step pictures to really see the difference.
Thank you :p

6:39 am - Monday, July 1, 2013

#5 Jason

It’s Canon, of course it’s through away! JUNK

6:46 pm - Monday, July 1, 2013

#6 Mark

ben, how do you know if it’s a good lens or not when you have never used it, lol

10:52 am - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#7 Ripped off by EU

In rip off EU it is $396.

4:16 pm - Sunday, July 28, 2013

#8 Errors

“Weighing a mere 205g and measuring 75cm in length…”
75cm is something like 2.5 feet, so I think it’s more like millimeters (mm).

“Vignetting at 17mm”
Wow, 18-55 can go wider than 18mm?

Nice review though. :)

3:42 pm - Thursday, August 29, 2013

#9 TT

can somebody please recommend which lens is better for the SL1 (100D) the 18-55mm II or the III, or the STM which is considerably more expensive?
Is there any noticeable difference between the II and III? Is it worth spending an extra £100 or so to get the STM lens?
thanks in advance

12:23 am - Thursday, July 3, 2014

#10 Yves Jacques

To TT:
I have recently bought a Canon SL1 (EOS 100D here in France) with its native kit lens i.e. the 18-55 STM IS. Since I am an oldtimer Pentax user and occasionnaly a Nikon one, I do not possess any other lens from Canon but let me tell you that after more than 2000 shots in various conditions, this zoom delivered surprisingly good - if not amazing - image quality throughout its whole range including macrophotography (even sharpness, microcontrast). I am quite surprised and sceptical upon the modest 3.5 given by PB: in my opinion and from visual experience this zoom has been underrated in the image quality department and I would give it 4 to 4.5 stars. Kit zoom lens are often misconsidered without any valuable reason from the image quality POV.
Its major flaws are the significant and quite disturbing barrel distorsion under 20mm together with the limited aperture in the upper half range but these are common drawbacks of almost all affordable kit zoom lens and the former can be fixed in postprocessing. You should also consider that manual focusing is possible only if you simultaneously half-press the shutter button; a specicfic oddity to the STM lens range, I think.
Other appreciable pros: decent build quality (higher than Nikon equivalent but lower than Pentax 18-55 WR which has a lower image quality…), silent focus (a new world when coming from Pentax…), very light weight.
In summary, you should consider the STM version despite the significant price difference in UK (only 50 euros in France) as you could use it a lot with a lot of satisfaction. Switching to anything else is all but an urgency!
Hope this helps you.
Kind regards
Yves

9:59 am - Monday, July 21, 2014

Entry Tags

wide-angle, lens, canon, zoom, standard, telephoto, image stabilisation, f3.5, f5.6, normal, 18-55mm, OIS, image stabilised, stepper, ef-s, stm, stepping, 29-88mm, Canon EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 IS STM Review, 18-55 mm, Canon EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 IS STM

Tracker Pixel for Entry