Canon EOS 1100D Review

4.5
March 24, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

115 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Craig

Seems like a good replacement for the 1000D (very popular with beginners), but it doesn’t quite have enough to tempt me away from buying the Nikon D3100.

5:51 pm - Thursday, March 24, 2011

#2 Lynx

Looks like a great camera!
Wish the price would go down a bit.
440€ body only is the cheapest price I have found for now. 530€ with the 18-55mmm Is lens.

What do you think.

6:21 pm - Thursday, March 24, 2011

#3 Harry

Cant wait to get one after all my years with Compacts! since i am just diving into the SLR game.

the thing is the Brand. I trust this brand.
Nikon most likely it lens sharpness, when it comes to Image processing Canon still has the upper hand.

7:03 pm - Thursday, March 24, 2011

#4 Frank Stanton

Uh, you meant to write that the sensor is 18 megapixel, right? How can it be the same sensor as last year’s camera if there is a 6 megapixel difference?

7:58 pm - Thursday, March 24, 2011

#5 Frank Stanton

Forget my earlier comment; different camera, different specs.

8:08 pm - Thursday, March 24, 2011

#6 kelsci

The pics on PHotoblog looked quite good from this camera.  I examined some videos posted on youtube made with this unit. Most of the people who posted videos dubbed their own soundtrack which tells me nothing of the cameras capability of the way it records sound.  It appears to me that this unit only records mono sound nor did I see any indication of a mic input jack in the specs to take a stereo mic.  Only one video I saw had camera sound in mono. Nothing special in its sound quality. The video quality seemed overall excellent with good color,sharpness and realism. Before buying any camera from any manufacturer, I suggest a look at the videos it shoots on youtube and downloading them thru a youtube downloader program(I use AURA) and then burn to a dvd-r(dvd flick works fine for this)and play the disc over your favorite tv set(preferably HD widescreen) to see and hear the results.  Winner so far for overall quality with stereo sound is Canons SX 130.

6:03 am - Friday, March 25, 2011

#7 Stephen

Really hope that Canon addressed the low light photography issues from the 1000D while creating this new one. The AF system just goes crazy when your shooting in low light and coupled with only max 1600 ISO, shooting at night is truly a nightmare with my Canon 1000D. Hope you fixed this canon!!!

1:55 pm - Sunday, April 3, 2011

#8 Stephen

Really hope that Canon fixed the low light photography issues that plagued the 1000D. I have really struggled with the 1000D at night due to its poor AF system and the max ISO being only 1600. Shooting at night is truly a nightmare with the XS.

2:08 pm - Sunday, April 3, 2011

#9 Natalie

I am thinking of purchasing the Canon 1000D or possibly the Sony A390.  Not sure which one to go for - any recommendations welcome. The camera is for entry into DSLR - family and holiday shots etc.

I have a Sigma 28 - 200mm lense belonging to an old Canon film camera.  can I use this on the Canon 1000D camera?

1:32 pm - Thursday, April 14, 2011

#10 Stephen

Natalie, I would definitely recommend the Canon over the Sony. You may find the Sony more feature packed, but in terms of quality functions Canon is definitely the more professional of the two. That being said might be certainly worth it to wait for the Canon 1100D rather than going for the older 1000D.
As for your query on the lens, you can certainly use it with the 1000D as it supports both EF and EF-S lenses.
Hope this helps.

12:03 pm - Monday, April 18, 2011

#11 Natalie Eastaugh

Thank you Stephen, this is very helpful.

1:58 pm - Monday, April 18, 2011

#12 Bassam

Which one is better for entry level dSLR ?

Nikon D3100 or Canon 1100D ??
plz any one help me to decide.. I am confused..
thankx

8:24 am - Tuesday, April 26, 2011

#13 jinubhai

canon is best in entry level dslr camera..canons image quality is superb….but nikons correct image quality starts only from medium level dslr like d5000 d90 etc…..so i prefer canon 1100d…go ahead

1:59 pm - Tuesday, April 26, 2011

#14 Stephen

I agree..definitely go with the Canon 1100D..I’m pretty sure you won’t regret the decision..

4:25 am - Friday, April 29, 2011

#15 Rane

Hi

Thanks for this review - extremely informative!

Been trying to decide between the 1000D and this 1100D - which would you recommend? How much of a negative is not having an integrated cleaning system?

Thanks very much!

9:17 pm - Saturday, May 7, 2011

#16 kate

I Previously had a canon 500D ( about 3 years old)but it got destroyed and my insurance company have replaced it with a canon 1100D, saying this is a similar camera.  Am I getting a raw deal??

11:09 am - Wednesday, June 8, 2011

#17 nicholas robinson

Look. It’s come down to not what tool you use to create things rather than how you use the tool you’ve got. I can apply this metaphor to a million things. Will a Braun hand mixer make me a better cook than a Kitchenaid? Uhh . . . no. Will a Fender Stratocaster from 1965 make me sound a whole, heck of a lot better than this $100 Fender copy from Korea? Uhh . . . no. Will a sable brush from Staedtler make me paint better pictures than this dollar store brush? Uhh . . . no, sorry.

Will buying a Hasselblad 780XB just like the one that Ansel Adams used to use make you able to take Ansel-Adams-quality photos? Yes, of course! If you’re Ansel Adams.

Stop fussing about the difference between Nikon and Canon, 1100D and 1000D. YOU are the photographer. Do you think in a war someone has time to set up a shutter speed and an f-stop to shoot the planting of a flag on a mountain? Obviously, no.

If your ambition is to become a professional photographer taking pictures of rich people’s homes for Architectural Digest, then you obviously wouldn’t be fussing about tiny features on this camera. I have bought it, sight unseen, and I’m sure it will provide everything that its price range suggests.

The only thing it won’t provide is talent.

3:57 am - Saturday, June 18, 2011

#18 Stephen

Good point Nicholas. What I’ve observed is that very often, the only thing that separates a great photographer from a mediocre one is his talent not his camera. In fact most people who buy a dslr these days end up using only 50% of its features and functionality and in essence use it as a point and shoot in the fully Auto mode.

2:12 pm - Monday, June 20, 2011

#19 Annie

I was wondering if the 1100D images would be able to be used on stock photography sites, I know they have certain size criteria, or would I need to buy something more than an entry level camera? Another thing is there a place to plug in to use sync box for studio lighting or would I need to buy an additional piece to use on the hot shoe?

10:28 am - Monday, July 4, 2011

#20 Tony Alexander

I am having a Canon 20d replaced by a 1100d by my insurance company I think I am getting a raw deal as the 20 when purchased was much more and a large more solid camera I do not like plastic cameras

8:17 pm - Tuesday, July 5, 2011

#21 fara

well…i’m new in photography…is it ok i buy 1100d as beginner ??
or i should buy 500d ??
please help me i’m confused =.=

3:23 pm - Thursday, July 14, 2011

#22 antony

Yes the 1100 is a very good first venture into digital SLR

8:56 pm - Thursday, July 14, 2011

#23 vivek gaurav

I am a beginner , should i buy 1100d ?
      PLZ HELP!!!!
              thanks very much.

8:13 am - Friday, July 22, 2011

#24 Stephen

Vivek,

It depends on your level of interest. If your only planning to engage in photography as a low priority hobby, then the 1100D is definitely a great camera to start with. Its got all the basic features you would need and its pretty economical.

However if you are really passionate about photography and if you see yourself spending a considerable amount of time engaged in this, then do not compromise on the camera body now. Go for a better camera body like the 550D, 600D or the 60D. The reasoning being lenses can be added on later, but if you are not satisfied with the camera body, you have no options and hence spending a few extra bucks might make sense.

5:19 am - Sunday, July 24, 2011

#25 Stephen

Vivek,

It depends on your level of interest. If your only planning to engage in photography as a low priority hobby, then the 1100D is definitely a great camera to start with.

However if you are really passionate about photography and if you see yourself spending a considerable amount of time engaged in this, then do not compromise on the camera body now. Go for a better camera body like the 550D, 600D or the 60D.

5:41 am - Sunday, July 24, 2011

#26 abhijth

hello i am planing to buy canon 1100d so i have read information about the camera and can any one guide me on lenses i am buying DSLR for the first time so guide me

6:46 am - Monday, July 25, 2011

#27 Stephen

Abhijith,

For a first time dslr user, there are two types of lenses that i would recommend.
1. The standard kit lens that comes with most DSLR.(Should be a 18-55mm)
2. An inexpensive portrait prime lens like the 50mm f1.8

Either of these should be good to get you started. Refrain from going for a telephoto or fish-eye or macro lens when buying your first lens. These should only be bought after you are comfortable with the use of your camera and even then only if you are into those specific types of photography.

12:04 pm - Tuesday, July 26, 2011

#28 gaurav bose

pls help me to find out which is better…canon 1100d or nikon 3100?

8:00 pm - Tuesday, July 26, 2011

#29 sheikh nasir

hi i am a beginner and i am really confused about buying a entry level DSLR camera… i have shortlisted Nikon 3100D and Canon 1100d which should i go for? and is there any other better choice?

5:43 pm - Thursday, July 28, 2011

#30 Snapper

This may come as a surprise, but there are more camera manufacturers than Canon and Nikon!The Pentax K-r was launched at the end of 2010 to compete with the likes of the Nikon D5000/5001 and the Canon 550/600D (a step up from the Nikon 3001/Canon110)but the price has dropped dramatically since it’s launch and can be picked up for under £400 for the 18-5mm kit or £480 with the addition of the 50-200mm lense which is what I am going to buy soon (when money permits). If you pick one up you will immediately be impressed to the superior build quality to any of the other cameras and its simple unfussy layout. This camera can do anything you ask of it, and some things you never thought of! Don’t take my word for it, read the review on this site and look at ephozine.com’s top 11 SLR’s where it is featured at 3, above the Nikon D5100 and the Canon 600D.

9:42 pm - Sunday, July 31, 2011

#31 Snapper

Your computer is wrong, I am not spam, just a Pentax/Sony enthusiast fed up with the dominance of Canon and Nikon in the market place and their disproportiional support by the media.

9:45 pm - Sunday, July 31, 2011

#32 Najia

PLEASE ANSWER!
Should I get a 1100D or a Sony Alpha Nex-5 ?
I am a beginner and I want to upgrade from a digital camera.

11:32 am - Wednesday, August 10, 2011

#33 christa

PLEASE HELP!  WHich camera is the best one to buy?
Canon EOS 500D or 1100D?

And what are the biggest difference between the
two?

4:15 pm - Sunday, August 21, 2011

#34 Smithy

This has come down in price - http://amzn.to/qynfTx

10:23 am - Tuesday, August 23, 2011

#35 bekim

I work as a Cameraman at weddings I want to buy a camera for weddings which of these to buy canon or nikon d3100 eos1100 please help

10:42 pm - Monday, August 29, 2011

#36 Taylor

I’m a hobbyist and this one is perfect for me as it is not too complex but packs a lot of features.

3:35 pm - Monday, September 26, 2011

#37 Greg

I have just bought the 1100D (with the twin lens kit) and I think it is an AMAZING camera. I am not a photography guru at all, and I like the way the easy-to-use functions have been made very accessible. I took it to an airshow and took 600+ pictures. The autofocus struggled a little when the subject was moving quickly, but I still got some great action shots using the 300mm lens.

A friend of mine has the Canon 550D, and I think that the 1100D compares VERY well. The obvious difference is the image resolution on the 1100D is lower (12MP cf 18MP), but 12MP is more than enough for my needs. The 1100D also does not have auto sensor cleaning ... but I guess that is to keep the price down - and if you take your camera to an agent I’m sure they can clean the sensor for your once in a while.

Good job, Canon!

9:19 am - Thursday, October 6, 2011

#38 Lynx

I just ordered mine. I got the limited edition metallic brown colored body with the 18-55 IS II lens.

It will be here next week, monday or tuesday.

The best was the price, 375€, being the brown one, the black model was still around 450€.

I’ll let you know how it goes when it arrives.

9:29 pm - Friday, October 21, 2011

#39 robin

if u want to view image in this camera can i do it without the lens coming out. as i had a kodak camera with 3x optical zoom and everytime i want to view an image the lens would come out.

7:47 am - Wednesday, October 26, 2011

#40 Stephen

The lens zoom is manually controlled in any DSLR. So you wont face that issue. That’s solely a point and shoot camera problem.
In a DSLR, the lens moves only when you manually either turn it or push it out in the case of a push barrel zoom.

4:48 pm - Wednesday, October 26, 2011

#41 Ehsan

I think for beginners camera body is not that much imp as the lenses are!
Now every year canon,nikon,sony etc luanch newer product with new processors and other amazing features but the new lenses come afterthe years.

It wld b better to go for 1100d + 18 55mm is ii lens + 50mm 1.8 + 55 250mm is ii lens

Than going for canone 60d with only kit lens


If u have lenses u can change ur camera body everytime
whenevercanon releases its another upgraded model.

8:50 pm - Sunday, October 30, 2011

#42 Ehsan

i think one should not spend much money on buying expensive camera bodies, becz every year canon, nikon, sony, pentex etc launch their newer products with much more advance features like newer processors etc.

for the beginners it wld b more good to buy canon 1100d with atleast three lenses that r canon kit lens 18 55mm is ii, canon prime lens 50mm 1.8 and canon zoom lens 55 250mm is ii than buying 60d with only kit lens…


buy canon 1100d , grow with it by using different lenses with diff settings, covering all types of shots like night shots, sports, portraits etc.

once u becme xperinced, mature and if u feel that
apsc crop sensor and 1/4000 shutter speed is not enough for ur purpose then go for the full frame dslr like canon 5d.

but i must say to reach that level of need it will take years….

9:54 pm - Sunday, October 30, 2011

#43 Steve

Is this a good entry level camera for beginners?

10:54 pm - Tuesday, November 1, 2011

#44 Michael

Please help! Can you change the aperture, shutter speed and iso manually on the same setting with this camera?

2:39 pm - Wednesday, November 2, 2011

#45 dipankar sengupta

Thanks everybody for sharing the whole thing.. I learned a lot from all of you guys. Thanks for your advice.. I love photography but I’m a totally newcomer in photography world.I purchased a Nikon P500, couple of months ago and it’s a horrible experience for me, to shooting at night. Most of the snaps get ‘blurry’.  I tried it in different way, but could not manage it. The daylight photos are quite OK. I’m a beginner in photography.
Now because of there is no alternative way, now I wish to throw the dam camera & switch over to Canon 1100D.
Friends please advice.

11:40 am - Thursday, November 10, 2011

#46 Bas Wardenier

I just bought the 1100 d Kit with the 55-250 mm lens. Available in stores as currys for only e589,- This is with the normal 18-55 lens and the zoom lens 55-250. For a beginner (like me) I think this is a perfect start as it has great futures and lots of different setting/possibility’s.
It might be handy that if you do buy this camera with zoom lens to get a tripod to stabilize it, as this is very difficult with the 250 zoom lens.
I hope you have just as much fun with it as I do.
Bas

1:33 pm - Friday, November 11, 2011

#47 Ehsan

its a perfect entry level dslr, but unfortunately it misses one of the very essential elements that is self cleaning sensor system which can be the problem for those photographers who oftenly change lenses. otherwise its great…
many photographers donot consider it very imp because this system is not useful for the dust that get stucked with moisture on sensor surface, so any how you will have to clean it manually which is the matter of only few minutes after every 2 or 3 months depending upon your work….

4:39 pm - Friday, November 11, 2011

#48 Ehsan

one should not forget to buy very cheap and great lens to add it in your photography kit that is canon 50mm 1.8,
best for low light photography,portraits and indoor shots…    highly recommended…..

4:44 pm - Friday, November 11, 2011

#49 diego

nikon d3000 or canon 1100d ?

3:27 pm - Tuesday, November 29, 2011

#50 iBerggman

Some photos ive taken with this camera and the stock 18-55 lens

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YKtV19k_YUo

4:23 pm - Wednesday, November 30, 2011

#51 shaun

would this be a good camera, i’m a total beginner so a bit confused with all the jargon.thankshttp://direct.tesco.com/q/R.211-1856.aspx

11:13 am - Sunday, December 4, 2011

#52 Ehsan

if u r thinking that buying dslr with kit only, will make u photographer than its a big mistake to go for dslr cameras.
but if u have dslr, 3 to 4 lenses, tough camera stand, light umberellas and a good flash gun… than it means you can shoot almost every type of scene, and this freedom will make u feel complete..

so here are some suggestions:
canon 1100d
kit lens 18 55mm
telephoto lens 55 250mm
prime lens 50mm 1.8
any appropriate wireless flash gun.
1 or 2 light bulb umbrellas
a good quality camera stand
and if u r fond of making bokeh in photos than buy some cristmas wire lights also..

these r some things that in case u succeed to get them u will produce awsum photos…. i guarantee it…

4:09 pm - Saturday, January 7, 2012

#53 Rahim

hi, can i know the difference on the photos with 18-55 mm III and 18-55 mm II IS ?

11:11 pm - Wednesday, January 11, 2012

#54 Darshan

I am buying a canon 1100D and i wanted to know if i could take pics from this camera which can be later be made into posters of size 5mX5m or 3X4(m)??
People were posting about dpi or ppi i saw the canon website but couldnt find any specification of that sort please help

9:36 am - Monday, January 16, 2012

#55 AaronC

When capturing a photo on the ‘anon eos 1100d digital slr camera’ how do i get to see what i am capturing on the screen?

6:31 pm - Friday, January 20, 2012

#56 Ammar

teach me how to take a blurry pic

6:42 pm - Saturday, February 11, 2012

#57 Suresh

Hello all,
I have deal to buy 1100D + 18-55mm IS II + 75-300mm USM lens for 500€. is it a good deal? can i buy it?
pl suggest me.

1:19 pm - Monday, February 20, 2012

#58 Raphael

Hi all!

I got a good offer but instead of 18-55mm IS II, I get 18-55mm III lens.

Is the image stabilizer a big loss?

1:48 pm - Tuesday, March 13, 2012

#59 sk

I found the T3 w/ the 18-55is lens for $395.00 on special at TigerDirect.  Considering you can sell the lens for about $150 this put the price of the lens around $250.  Compared to the quality of photo’s you can buy in the point & shoot market for this price, this camera blows them away.  After shooting about 1200-1500 photos, I can recommend this for any DSLR beginner or someone who needs a 2nd camera to use when they don’t feel like lugging all their equipment around (that’s my reason).  If you find a good deal, give it a try.  You can always resell the camera on ebay/amazon if you decide you need an upgraded model.

6:14 pm - Wednesday, April 11, 2012

#60 Paul

Being new to photography I had good advice from a shop assistant. Then did my home work and bought the 1100d.
I am over the moon with the camera joined a club and there is no looking back for me.
Well done Canon.

6:25 pm - Wednesday, April 11, 2012

#61 Fatima

I just bought the 1100d, and I have to say I am very impressed. At the beginning, I thought it would be heavy, and difficult to use, but after I merely glanced at the manual, I find myself very at ease with the camera. To start off, it is very sleek and beautiful, with a nice glossy finish. It has a nice, firm grip, and is not heavy AT ALL. The image quality is quite good, and overall, I am extremely happy with the purchase. For beginners who have just begun using DSLR’s, I definitely recommend the Canon 1100d :)

9:49 pm - Wednesday, April 11, 2012

#62 suresh

1.How is the image output when taking snaps of fast moving objects

2. Will i be able to change the lens so that i can have a better zoom on later stages

6:20 pm - Thursday, May 3, 2012

#63 Jan Lipski

I recently purchased this model as a package deal including a 75-300mm f/4-5.6 111 lense.I was really impressed with the shots produced thus far.I’m still learning really after being a point n click kinda guy but I’m enjoying the journey as I progress further into the realm of the professional photographer.Hopefully there will be a marked improvement in the quality of my work.I’m very pleased with this camera.

7:01 am - Tuesday, May 15, 2012

#64 D Keranen

I recently made the jump from compact digital camera to DSLR, and bought this Canon, and for a beginner in the DSLR field it is wonderful the user just needs to take the time and go through the user handbook first, the photos are great the life from a fully charged battery is acceptable, easy to use camera. I also got luck and for the price of 450 euro I bought the Camera body with the 18-55 lens, the next better lens a 55-200, & 16gb sdcard. From the reults I have seen from this camera I will be using this for a long time

6:18 am - Sunday, May 27, 2012

#65 steve

Is the 1100d any good for taking photos of football games down at the local pitch

3:43 pm - Saturday, June 9, 2012

#66 Nur

Can somebody tell me how to fix the back light with 1100D.  Thanks.

5:22 pm - Monday, July 16, 2012

#67 naresh

plzz help me!!!!!!
Looking to get me a first DSLR camera.Do i buy a Canon 1100D with 2 lenses including offer( 18-55 & 75 -300mm) or should i get a nikon( sugest me which model), however i am beginner to DSLR..

6:57 pm - Saturday, July 21, 2012

#68 Shishir

It seems that most of you are beginner and no one suggests or teaches you anything. Are your type of questions wrong?

12:13 pm - Friday, August 17, 2012

#69 Brian

naresh,i suggest you the Canon 1100D and it’s easy to use,even with manual setting and take really good pictures.I can get better pictures with manual settings than all other options

4:23 pm - Friday, August 17, 2012

#70 Dhiraj

I am satisfied with this Camera is too good and very easy to use for entry level DSLR users.
Image quality is too good and video clarity is not bad.
Only have missing some of features, rest all it’s value for money. Indian cost is around 29K rupees.
Finally, this is best camera for Entry level users, not for masters and mid rangers of DSLR buyers

12:31 pm - Tuesday, August 28, 2012

#71 Emma

Can someone help????found the canon 1100d with the 18-55mm lens for £250 brand new, I’m not happy about the zoom as it doesn’t seam to!!!  Is it still worth it??? Or should I just go for another Camara???

6:57 pm - Monday, November 26, 2012

#72 Tyler

Hi guys i am just starting in the photoghraphy industry and i want to know if i should get a cannon 1100D or the nikon D3100 please can you help me i dont want to get stuck with a camera that is way to hi-tch for a bigginner can any one suggest what i do??

8:54 am - Wednesday, November 28, 2012

#73 Jess

Hi Tyler, if you scroll through the comments, it looks like the 1100D is the way to go, I am going through the same dilemma as to what camera to go for, and am won over with this one!! definitely not too hi tech!!

hope that helped

9:28 pm - Wednesday, November 28, 2012

#74 Leslie

Heeeelp!  Can somebody tell me please wether I should buy the Panasonic lumix fz150 (point&shoot; camera) or the canon T3?  What i’m looking for is good quality image, vieoing, and low light photos…. Please please I’ve been doing research about this two cameras and I yet don’t know which one to buy!!!

7:41 pm - Saturday, December 8, 2012

#75 Paco

which one would you recommend..EOS 30D or EOS 1100D?
plz help..

7:52 pm - Thursday, December 13, 2012

#76 vvvv

how iz the zooming in d3100 and eos1100d? can we zoom like p500?

8:41 pm - Sunday, December 30, 2012

#77 Emanuel

Hi to all.

I bought Canon 1100D, and i am very happy. I have some fotos in my blog at http://fotodigitalamador.blogspot.com

12:02 am - Saturday, January 19, 2013

#78 natalie

I have the SONY HX200v at the moment. I was really impressed by the reviews I had read before buying it. But now, this camera hasn’t impressed me much. The night shoot photography is horrible and it does not blur backgrounds like DSLRs do. So now I’ve seen the reviews of canon 1100D and I regret buying the Sony camera because both of its cost prices are pretty same and moreover this canon is an SLR. So I’m planning to switch to it from Sony.
Can anybody tell if I should or not? Which one do you think is better?

2:41 pm - Thursday, February 14, 2013

#79 Emanuel

Well, Natalie, in my opinion you should switch. Any DSLR will impress you more than a regular cam. I am a begginer and i am very impressed with the simplicity and quality of the Canon EOS 1100D. I recomend the Canon EOS 1100D or the Nikon 3100D. They are similar. You can see real fotos from those cams (taken by amatours) at: http://FotoDigitalAmador.Blogspot.com and at http://Facebook.com/FDAbiseu

5:24 pm - Friday, March 22, 2013

#80 Lindsay

Hi, Im looking to buy my first DSLR camera, Ive only ever used a compact before and I am looking to improve the quality of my pics (esp on hols.  I am not sure which would be best for me (as a beginner) between the Canon EOS 1100d or the Canon EOS 600d.  Any suggestions are gratefully received.

7:11 pm - Saturday, March 23, 2013

#81 miranda

Have just purchased this online, am upgrading from a bridge camera so thought this would be good ..wanted the 600D but i’m a bit light in the pocket dept.can’t wait till it arrives . your page has proved very useful :)))

5:39 pm - Wednesday, April 24, 2013

#82 dr. manish kumar gupta

value for money…..

10:09 am - Sunday, May 5, 2013

#83 oli57

What is wrong with 1100d?
Recently I have visited three big shops,H.Norman,JB hi-fi,Good Guys(in Australia).All of them have good deals (with 2 lenses)and guess what they told me??
DON’T EVEN THINK OF BUYING THAT MODEL!!!!...Why???
So,I am confused and disappointed.Any help from anyone?
Thank you all.

2:09 pm - Friday, May 24, 2013

#84 paco

the 1100D is a great deal not to be missed at JB and Harvey. N. great image quality, light camera,user friendly. go ahead with the 1100D dear oli57.

3:57 pm - Friday, May 24, 2013

#85 Hans

Many questions above, nearly any answer. Why?

9:57 pm - Wednesday, May 29, 2013

#86 kieran

is their anyway I can connect my Rhode microphone on it if I bought this Is the connection their

8:38 pm - Thursday, July 18, 2013

#87 rajveer

Hey its my first camrera and m confused to start with a mid range or basic and if basic suggest me one which is gud in low light photography as well as gud color quality and gud video quality with sound .
Canon or nikon

3:30 am - Monday, July 22, 2013

#88 Armland Platjënad

The kitlens is shit. For quality you need to buy an extra lens.

12:49 pm - Tuesday, July 23, 2013

#89 Edwin Cheng

Never regret using this camera. Superb image and easy to use. Can train you switching from auto to manual progressively as it boast partial manual modes. If you are still weak in an area, say ISO, and need to snap a quick picture, let the camera decide the ISO for you and you manual control the rest. The live view mode also allow my wife, who know nut about manual camera, to use it like an auto camera without hassle. 4 different color camera to break the usual dull black and also easily identify your own camera. I got the red one as it never fails to attract the attention of the person I’m “shooting”. Canon also boast a full array of accessories and lens that can work with the camera.

Highly recommended as value for money and backed by a full range of additional accessories and lens.

4:38 am - Wednesday, August 7, 2013

#90 Vikas Golchha

Hi. I am looking at buying my first DSLR and was planning to go for 100D. However just saw the offer for a 1100D with a fixed lens and 250mm combo that is too good price wise. Should I go for it considering the age of 1100D.
Will the lens coming be compatible with 100D in case i try and dispose off the body of 1100D to someone else.

12:07 pm - Tuesday, August 20, 2013

#91 Sayal

should i go for canon eos 1100D in which am geting 18-55 mm + 55-250mm lens for 31000 or sony SLT a58 which got better quality ,more mp panaroma camera,screen display and almost every feature better than this for 32500 ??
Please doo response i am really confused.

2:34 pm - Monday, September 16, 2013

#92 Kirby

Vikas, I am having the same dilemma. I don’t know to go for an eos 100D or 1100D.
I’ve never used an SLR before but want a decent camera for some holidays I’ve got planned.
I would like a camera I can use for a good few years and one that I can learn with. I hopefully want to start going out and about snapping in cities.
Can someone please advise????

1:12 pm - Thursday, September 26, 2013

#93 simon

Vikas- I’d go with the 100D- even if it’s just for the better kit lens with which it comes.(never mind the higher specs…!)
The 1100D is a nice entry level camera, but the lens it comes bundles with seriously restricts the cameras potential output.

8:47 pm - Thursday, October 3, 2013

#94 Vikas

Thanks Simon for the insight. I was under the impression that the lens are the same in both cameras (100D & 1100D). Only the sensor and megapixels were different. Guess I’ll start looking for a deal on 100D

3:18 am - Friday, October 4, 2013

#95 Lynx

Hijas & Simón. I’ve has the 1100d for two years now and I don’t regret buying bit even a bit. It is a very simple dale, bit it has amazing image quality. I wouldn’t go for the 100d just because of the different lense. Mine came with the 18-55 is II. The new stm versión isn’t much better, and the only difference you will ever see is that it doesn’t extend like the IS II, and that the af is near silent. I would go for a 600d or a 650d if I could find one in your case. In my case I consider the 100d too small for my hands. Image quality is basicly the same as the 600d in the 650d,700d and 100d. The 1100d on the other hand will take smaller images.

7:17 am - Friday, October 4, 2013

#96 Lynx

Sorry if I misspelled. Im writing from my phone and the corrector is un spanish.

7:24 am - Friday, October 4, 2013

#97 Simon

Lynx/Vikas…
I recently owned a 600D- and sold it on- simply due to the poor kit lens (shared by the 1100D)- and worse still,the 600D (and I suspect the 1100D) doesn’t correct for chromatic aberrations in-camera -as does my Nikon D3100.
Lynx- I’m glad you’re happy with your 1100D- and indeed,it it a fine camera.
Much of what I’ve said I guess comes down to how critical you view your images- and for me,personally,the kit lens on the 1100D wouldn’t suffice- and as such,budgeting for another lens kinda negates the effect of purchasing an “entry level” camera.
Curiously,however,I didn’t have any problems with the older versions of the Canon kit lens which came with the 350/400/450D…!

3:37 pm - Friday, October 4, 2013

#98 Lynx

Hi Simon!

I don’t have any problems with cromatic aberrations from my 18-55 IsII. It does have some at the wide angle, but they are no problem for me. I always shoot in raw, and DPP handles them very well. I consider myself a pixel peeper, and I’m very critical with my photos. I now its a budget DSLR, but the kit lens is a pretty good lens(for the price). The new version is a tad wee bit better, but not as much to change the camera. Thats my honest opinion.

I’ve had it for two years now, and I’m looking for a lens to replace my kit lense. Maybe a 17-50 f2.8, because I need something better in low light. I also have the 50mm f1.8, and the 55-250 IS. All great lenses, for their price point.

I think that for the price its one of the best options, and I’m guessing that soon there will be a replacement for this camera so the price should go down.

Maybe in the future I’ll look for a better body like the 60D, 70D, K5, D7100 or even the OMD EM5 or EM1, but my wife would probably kill me ;) .

Like I was saying, if you shoot in RAW, ca’s are no problem.

5:06 pm - Friday, October 4, 2013

#99 Simon

Howdy Lynx…
Shooting RAW can certainly help if the CA isn’t too bad… and perhaps I had a particularly bad example of the said lens.
The 50mm f/1.8 and the 55-250is lenses are very good for their price point.
As for the prices of the 1100D- they’re very reasonable at present- barely more than a high zoom compact camera..!

11:37 pm - Friday, October 4, 2013

#100 Joshua

I’m completely new to photography and want something that’s easy to use but gets me great shots.

I want to venture into shooting live gigs mainly but also want to be able to shoot picturesque landscapes/building shots.

can anyone suggest if this is a good camera to get and if I should be getting/using any particular lenses?

thanks

4:34 pm - Saturday, October 5, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 720p, 12 megapixel, beginner, 2.7 inch LCD, dslr, DSLR, canon, digital SLR, digital slr, 1100d, eos 1100d, Canon EOS 1100D Review, t3, digital rebel t3

Tracker Pixel for Entry