Canon EOS 500D Review

4.5
May 13, 2009 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

77 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Randy

This is a great little camera for point and shoot photography.  We try to keep easy to use cameras around for family, etc. so we don;t have to lug our big pro DSLRs everywhere.  With a kit lens, it’s hard to beat.

5:14 pm - Wednesday, May 13, 2009

#2 johan

I was disapointed that the sample pictures were all in the 100-400 ISO range, with one exception.

6:17 pm - Wednesday, May 13, 2009

#3 Bob

Randy, that has to be the most ignorant or arrogant comment. Haven’t decided yet.

7:01 pm - Wednesday, May 13, 2009

#4 ky

in the home use DSLRs this is a only DSLR of CANON which better than nikon’s.

2:03 am - Thursday, May 14, 2009

#5 luc

The iso and jpg/raw comparison shots look horribly awful, even at iso 100 !!!
They are showing some random pattern in the red parts. Could you make sure, this is not a mistake?

4:38 pm - Friday, May 15, 2009

#6 Randy

Actually, I stand by my comments.  In professional life, we use Nikon DSLRs..D3 and D2x bodies with high end lenses.  But as nice as they are, it is difficult to always carry a big body and lens around…so we shopped a lot of small cameras that would suffice for every day photography…and since we bought the 500D, we’ve been very happy with it.  Is it a pro camera?  Absolutely not…but for every day point and shoot photography, we have been very happy with the results, so please don’t throw insults.  You don’t know me any more than I know you.

4:37 pm - Monday, May 18, 2009

#7 Dan

i have a question:

i am just about to purchase a 450d, but am now wondering, should i pay a more for the 500d?...

im not particuarly interested in the hd movie facility (because its only 20fps, & if i was id go for a nikon, say d90/d5000), so is the extra money worth the improved processor, higher pixel count, more af points, modes, etc?...

im fairly new to photography but want a camera that i can, at first, point & shoot, then as i learn/experiment more with the parameters, use in more advanced modes.

please let me know what you think…any advice would be helpful, but please do not suggest other cameras as im only interested in these two models…

regards

10:33 pm - Tuesday, May 19, 2009

#8 lokman

I am looking for a replacement for my old EOS 10s. Right now looking seriously at 40D and 500D. Need advice on which to buy.
I’ve tried both in a Canon shop, but found the color reproduction (from the LCD anyway) not very faithful, especially the 40D. Have tried all the different white balance settings but still could not find an acceptable one. I also find the controls of the 40D not as simple to use as the 500D.
Overall I do not find much to like about the 40D and my shooting preferences do not call for its ‘pro’ level features (high frame rate, rugged body, bulk [my hands are not so big anyway], etc). I am more into candid family photos at home, outside, travel, etc, rather than take complex nature/artsy photos.
However, since the price (body only) is the same for both and of course the ‘pro’ tag of the 40D, should I just get 500D which suites my preferences now? Or will I regret it after some extended use and wished I had bought the 40D instead?

3:26 am - Saturday, May 23, 2009

#9 Joyce Tenneson

Randy please keep play with your nikon
in the pro world , i mean in the real pro sector there is almost only canon
every 20 shooter , 19 are canon 1 nikon


again keep playing with your nikon and don’t forget to watch shows and movies (there nikon is the king of the fools)

5:51 pm - Saturday, May 23, 2009

#10 Mike

Joyce, what a sad little person you must be.

You act as if Canon is your own company.
What is your vested interest? (Besides owning a Cannon)
Photography is not a sport where you need to support a team!
Both Nikon & Cannon produce great great cameras, and to be choosing sides is beyond petty. It pathetic!

Get a life

6:49 am - Monday, May 25, 2009

#11 Dárion

Actually, you can shoot 170 jpegs in a row with the EOS 500D, not just 70 as the review claims.

I’m really looking forward to getting this camera, this week. Finally a good enough digital system camera without an insane price… have been waiting for a while. One thing that is a bit strange with this camera, however, is that it only allows you to take RAW in max resolution. Hopefully, Canon will fix that in a future firmware update. It’s also a real shame that you only can record full HD video in 20 fps, and hardware limitations probably wouldn’t allow it to be increased to 30 through a firmware update, and even if it was possible, I doubt it’d be in Canon’s interest to improve that, anyway. :/

By the way, does anyone know how weather resistant this camera is? Can you take pictures in the rain without protecting it and just wipe it dry shortly afterwards? If so, about how heavy rain can it handle and what should be kept in mind when you use it in the rain?

12:04 pm - Monday, May 25, 2009

#12 Neill

The price has just been slashed in the UK. Kit price is now £649 and body only is £599. These are high street prices as well. Makes the 500D a much more attractive upgrade proposition!

4:58 pm - Tuesday, May 26, 2009

#13 Nik

@ #9 Joyce

Many pros are switching to Nikon, you can see more and more black lenses in the field,
there’s a good article, from the last Olympic games, showing that many photographers are switching to Nikon.
No doubt that Canon got a sesnible advantage in the sport world due to his good AF from the early 90s

7:56 pm - Tuesday, June 2, 2009

#14 Anton

Cool!

1:40 am - Thursday, June 4, 2009

#15 CxxC

As a couple of people have already stated here, the EOS 500D can only record full HD (1920x1080) at 20 frames per second.  If you want 30 fps, you are limited to recording video at only 720 resolution. However, your review still incorrectly says this:

“This is a sample movie at the highest quality setting of 1920x1080 at 30 frames per second. Please note that this 7 second movie is 36.7Mb in size.”

You may need to change that.  :)

4:52 pm - Saturday, June 20, 2009

#16 careless

not bad for its price but is it gonna satisfy you at all
? thats the question

12:31 am - Sunday, July 5, 2009

#17 Repair-Man

I was thinking of getting this camera for my son; he is pre-teen. Is it simple enough for a beginner or should I go with something like the cyber-shot? He currently uses a little Kodak - nothing to learn on that- ‘point-and-shoot’

2:22 pm - Thursday, July 23, 2009

#18 daman

you all a bunch of losers…

4:25 pm - Tuesday, August 4, 2009

#19 Tim

WOW   ! ! !  catty….  I use a 400D at the mo and it is starting to show its age a little. So the upgrade has to be a 500.

I use it to take scenes in mountains where an EOS 1DS MkIII and fuul lens fit would be too heavy.
I also use it for social photography.

So the 500 looks a good bet.

looking at some of the previous comments,I am sure that someone will tell me that I don’t know what I’m talking about. But then I haven’t refered to it as a “Point and shoot” . I find that the manual options are as capable of producing excellent results when teamed with a quality lens, as most others. But then I know how to use the manual options (Like most people who have actually used this…)

9:01 pm - Monday, August 10, 2009

#20 Freemason

Innocent me came to this blog to find out about a camera I had been offered, and some of the comments were very helpful, and thanks for that.  But why do so many comments consist primarily of insults regarding perfectly innocent postings by other people (complete strangers?).  Apart from exposing the writer’s personality problems, these comments waste the time of those with a genuine interest in the topic.  I am also surprised to find that photography can be such an emotional subject. I find this a little sad.

6:55 am - Friday, October 9, 2009

#21 Tim

Hi Freemason (and everyone else), and welcome to the catty, bitchy, backstabbing world of personal opinions. Firstly Photography is a very emotive subject and if you want people to stand face to face and wax lyrical, it is a great place to start. Of course if they can’t see each other and there is no danger of getting a punch on the nose then as with C.B. Radio (Remember that?) or driving in the high street, People who would otherwise be charming, educated, and really very pleasing, go on forums/blogs and tend to forget their manners and go for each other like rabbid dogs (not JUST photography either).
I have bought my EOS 500d and am VER impressed with it. The HD movie facility is one that I THOUGHT that I would never use. And while you are restricted to 720 if you want 30 Frames per second, this is very usable. If you require more then a camcorder is designed for just such people.
The kit lens supplied is a good and capable lens which produces results way in excess of a compact camera and is way more versetile (Spelling, sorry). When top quality glass is used (I have tried an EF 50mm 1.4 USM, an EF 300mm 2.8L IS USM, an EF 35-350mm 3.5-5.6 L USM and an EF100-400mm 4.5-5.6 L IS USM.on mine), the results are frankly mind blowing.
Printing at A4 there is no discernable difference between this and my EOS 5D MkII. Although by A2 the differences are apparent to the qualified examiner. For £600 it is an absolute bargain, and far easier to lug up Helvellyn (3000 odd feet) than an EOS 1 DS MkIII.
As for Nikon these too are blindingly brilliant cameras, but PERSONALLY I prefer Canon, They are what I know.

7:50 am - Friday, October 9, 2009

#22 Tim

Could I just add that I also wanted the power Grip. The Canon version is very expensive for a plastic tube, and a friend suggested the “OPTIKA” version. I found it at less than half price on the 47th Street Photo site. Frankly I was not expecting much, A cheap tube for batteries from a supplier 1/8th of the way around the planet.
What I got was a huge suprise. It arrived in 48 Hours well packaged and despatched by FEDEX (Who use a tracking system which ACTUALLY shows you where it is… I opened the box and found 2 Batteries included and a goody box of lens cleaning/Screen protecting gear and a Very light small compact tripod.EXCELLENT service.
The Grip is the same as the Canon equivalent except for the Canon Logo on the front and FAR superior to the EOS 400 Canon grip which I also own and is the real McCoy.
HIGHLY reccomended.

8:18 am - Friday, October 9, 2009

#23 Robert

Just to let anyone who is looking for a battry grip that the Opteka grip is on e-bay at £49.99

7:24 pm - Sunday, October 18, 2009

#24 Richard

I am looking at moving up from my Panasonic FZ28 to a DSLR and am stuck between the Canon D500 and Nikon 5000.

I won’t be shooting videos and so just want the best camera for stills photography. They are both more or less the same price now & so would welcome some recommendations.

10:54 am - Monday, November 2, 2009

#25 Nikki

Hiya

I dont know why people put so much pay in the camera anyway. Yes it must take good images, but i have never used the auto settings or autofocus, Id rather do it all myself. I thought photography was all about seeing the picture and working out how to frame it, not letting a camera do it all for you. My thirteen year old son can take a great picture on auto settings, anyone can.

I have been using a 350D from canon for a good few years now and i get shots that still sell over other peoples. I had a Nikon before and that died after getting rained on once, I do a lot of outdoor photography, and a lot of night work thus my cameras always get battered to death by the elements. The 350D has been soaked two or three times, dropped a couple, nearly blown up and blown over on its tripod and is still working fine!

That is my reason for always sticking with Canon… they are very very good if you do outdoor work!!! Plus its been round the clock 22 times and still hasn’t needed to be serviced…...

Find a camera that you feel happy with weight wise, and that you can set up and use easily…. all the extra electronics arnt that needed !

6:49 pm - Tuesday, November 10, 2009

#26 Tim

That is EXACTLY why I bought the 500D (It was the same as my old 400Ds but with more metal pixies… Then I kept the 400Ds as it doesn’t matter too much if they get misused a bit. Frankly they are so battered that I couldn’t sell them anyway, and so bullit proof that they still work as well as the day they were made.

8:06 pm - Tuesday, November 10, 2009

#27 sailesh

having used this camera now for a good three or four weeks, i have to say i am impressed. i was going to get the eos 50d but as this one cost less i settled for the 500d and any disappointment i thought id suffer was lost when i took my first hundred or so shots - really clear, crisp, impressive and vibrant colours. now im happy.
as for the ranting and raving on these comments, it all seems pretty silly really…

8:13 am - Saturday, November 14, 2009

#28 tabby

Really helpful review and convinced me to nip out and buy this camera as soon as i have clicked ‘post comment’ !

I am probably never going to be anything but a point and shooter, just want to take great pics of my toddler and i miss the shot every time with my current regular digital cam. It’s the shooting 170 jpegs in a row that clinched it for me. Surely i can get at least 1 out of 170 as a decent pic?!

3:56 pm - Friday, November 20, 2009

#29 josh

“Randy

This is a great little camera for point and shoot photography.  We try to keep easy to use cameras around for family, etc. so we don;t have to lug our big pro DSLRs everywhere.  With a kit lens, it’s hard to beat. “

Retard!

8:19 pm - Friday, November 20, 2009

#30 Tim

Now THAT ladies and gentlemen, is EXACTLY the sort of comment that brings these areas into dis repute.
While I totally disagree with Randy’s comment. It is his opinion and therefore he is entitled to it.

Josh , However is just being insulting, and doesn’t even have the intelligence or the good grace to be informative in any way. Not only that, but chooses an inocent group of people who are seriously disadvantaged, and unable to defend themselves (A cowardly act at best) to use as the insult.
In my humble opinion he is exactly the sort of person who really needs to be discouraged from joining what should be a discussion.
I can’t help but think that if we were all in a room together having this exchange of views, that Josh would have used a somwhat different choice of words. And as such, should have used them here…

1:13 am - Monday, November 23, 2009

#31 Andy

Hi,
How disapointing, I was expecting a blog with information helping me choose my first real DSLR. This site is clearly run by fools, thanks for the help…NOT

1:34 pm - Wednesday, November 25, 2009

#32 Paul

Hi,
I have only ever had compacts, and not that great compacts I suppose. I want to spend a bit more and get an SLR to make the difference between the average to poor shots my compact takes into great-good shots. I was looking at the 450D and then saw that I could get the 500D for £50 more. My question is this, I only want to take good shots, not interested in the video bit in the least as I have a camcorder for that. But, does the increase in ISO levels, the extras 3mp and improved processor make this a better photo camera than the 450D? I have read some conflicting reviews that say the quality of photos of the 450D is better than the 500D. I just wondered if anyone here had used both or seen the results from both to be able to have an informed opinion? Many thanks.

7:04 pm - Friday, November 27, 2009

#33 James

Just ordered a 500D and 18-55 kit lens for myself this afternoon. I am just moving from point and shoot type cameras to the entry/mid level DSLR with the hope to learn more about photography etc, and also be able to take great photos and movie clips of my new born son. My sister and brother in law are both photographers and this looks like it will be a great camera for my level and will still have the grunt to last me a while too.

I am going to try and find a 2nd hand lens for more zoom applications, as I cannot afford to buy a new one at this stage. Just want something to learn with and also have the ability to take zoomed shots etc.
I was going to stretch and get the 500D with the 18-200mm lens, but I couldnt justify the extra money.

Thanks for the information I have read on this site.

James

7:03 am - Monday, December 28, 2009

#34 Low Budget Dave

I have noticed these cameras at “closeout island” for what looks like $289.  Has anyone had experience with that website?  They also appear to be bundling the camera with generic lenses and generaic memory chips for an extra $100.  Can anyone guess whether the bundles are worth the paper they are likely to be made out of?

Thanks,

6:57 pm - Monday, December 28, 2009

#35 Mike

Must confess I’m appalled at some of the postings here, unreal. Interestingly not one question posed has actually been answered or replied to…what does that tell you….. well I don’t know! I have been the proud owner of an EOS 500D for approx 3 hours and can’t wait to get to know the camera inside out and back to front. Sorry but I’m unable to answer any of the questions posed.

1:51 am - Friday, January 8, 2010

#36 Zarul

I have CANON 1000D 18-55 IS kit. It is very nice camera. I usually use it for point and shoot situations but i’ve tried some manuals and it produces great pictures either way ! All depends on LENS ! Most important i may say ! The BODY is important,but defers for what goal is used. If u want some exallent point and shoot at ease just go and take “Canon POWERSHOT SX1 IS”. It would be much easier to just shoot, a lot of ZOOM,ect… BUT if u want to try the “real thing” like manuals and thinking about the frame go for that CANON 500D for example!
That i have to say. good luck folks !

1:55 am - Tuesday, January 12, 2010

#37 And_War

god some of you guys are pritty sad post here, maybe you should all play Call of Duty and see who wins, I just got my 500D its my first SLR and I im going to enjoy using it.

sham the 1080 video is at 20fps and the 720 at 30fps ill just stick to 720 for smoothness, but the video is just a bonus the 15mp is crazy, who need 15mp.

3:48 pm - Monday, January 18, 2010

#38 Ade

Hi all,

Just read through most of the above posts and although tedious at times I thought I should add my thoughts regarding the splendid 500D!

I was in the middle pricewise. I loved the 50D as it was bigger and felt more sturdy but when I handled and tried the 500D I thought it was a good as any place to start. The 450D didn’t compare for features. (You can always look up but it’s then hard to look back down…lol)

I’ve owned it now for about 3 months and have racked up about 5000 images. I’m an amatuer who’d love to go pro one day so I try every type of photography regularly to find a style that suits me best.
Funnily enough, I was standing with some celebrity snappers the other week, (paps) and one of them looked at my 500D and laughed whilst asking what I was hoping to achieve with such a small toy camera. I then pulled out a 70-200L f2.8 IS which I had hired for the day, fired a few shots and then suggested that I put my SD card into his laptop. He obliged….

The net result of this story is that he had the 50D and could not see the point of putting an ‘L’ lens on it. He was staggered that there was NO discernable difference between the two cameras. I then had the last laugh….

Anyway, my whole point of replying is to say that the 500D I think is brilliant. The 18-55IS kit lens is not the best but if you put a quality lens onto it then you will be astounded at the results this camera can produce.
Sure most cameras can point and shoot as can this one. If you take time and use the camera to it’s fullest, you can easily achieve images that can be sold, published and blown up to large sizes.

It is not as big as ‘pro’ models which means it is not as heavy. It is not actually that small either. If you do have large hands then buy a battery grip, it makes all the difference.

15mp is superb, do you actually need any more?
HD Video is slightly dissapointing but 720 is actually almost as good and more fluid to watch.

For the money, features and sheer useability, I highly recommend the 500D.

Next step for me would be the new 5D full frame. I see no need to step in between. ie 50D or 7D unless you need 6+ frames per second!

11:24 am - Wednesday, January 20, 2010

#39 Paula Couchman

I am looking at upgrading from a canon powershot SX100 IS. I am looking for a camera to take good action shots, motorcross, rodeo etc. My p&s is just not good enough. This camera is in the right price range. Please I would like to know as I am going to town tomorrow.

3:59 am - Wednesday, May 12, 2010

#40 Raj

I am new to DSLR photography. I read the review of this camera and clicked the comments tab to see that what pros are writing about this cam as their comments are always useful while choosing and making the purchase. But its sad to see that pros are busy with insulting each other rather than giving valuable contributions in the form of comments.

Very sad..

11:28 am - Thursday, May 20, 2010

#41 Merlin Stewart

Here’s my experience as a new Rebel T1i (500D) owner.  I am by no means a “professional” photographer, but that doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate good photography and good cameras.
I apologize for the length of this post but please hear me out.
I have a Canon G2 that I bought nine years ago that has become undependable at producing clear pictures.  When I bought it I retired my Pentax SLR film camera, but for the most part didn’t miss it as I went forward to the benefits of digital.  But as DSLR prices came down I yearned for one again.  When my G2 began to play out, I figured this was my opportunity, so after much research I bought a Rebel T1i about 3 weeks ago, thinking this was the ideal camera for my price range.  I also strongly considered a Canon G11.
I have taken roughly 1000 pictures since, and I love everything about the camera except the image quality.  I take mostly landscape pictures, and when viewed on a computer screen, seldom do they have the crispness, contrast, or color brilliance compared to my G2.  Had I not known better I might have thought it was normal, but I’m very disappointed.  Why can’t a modern 15 megapixel camera with a much larger sensor produce at least as good images as a nine year old 4 megapixel camera??  Obviously, numbers don’t tell the whole story.  I have experimented with different settings and have seen some improvement, however, with the exception of close-ups they still don’t match the image quality of my G2.
So it’s the cheap kit lens you might say.  However, the reviews say that thought the construction is cheap, the optics are quite good.  And if the lens is the issue, then that means the lens on my G2 is better??  And why does a camera that can produce such stunning close-ups do such a mediocre job at everything else?  I knew when I purchased the camera that the kit lens was far from ideal, but I hadn’t planned on spending a bunch more money on a better lens right away.
And if you think that “Full Auto” is the same as point and shoot, forget it, it’s almost useless.  Focus failures are the norm, even at very long distances with nothing close to confuse the AF.
I showed the G2 and T1i pics to my dealer and he has no explanation why the G2 pics are noticeably better.  We tried another identical camera and the result was the same.  We also tried a better quality fixed focal length lens and the improvement was very slight.  Some images taken with a G11 were actually slightly better.  Another comparison with a Rebel XSi (450D) revealed no significant difference. 
In conclusion, even thought I love taking pictures with the T1i, the love affair fades significantly when I view the images.  If they were as good as my G2 I would be satisfied.  I wish I could say that there is something wrong with my camera, but comparisons with others didn’t validate that.  I wish now I had bought a G11. Even though I’ve always been impressed with the images my G2 produced I didn’t realize what a good camera it really was until now!

4:27 am - Tuesday, June 22, 2010

#42 Merlin Stewart

Today I started taking pics in both jpeg & raw, & what a difference!  Noticably better detail & color in raw.  But for the guy who just likes to take good pics, raw is a pain.  But it indicates to me that the jpeg conversion isn’t working very well, inspite of the reviewers saying that this camera does jpeg just as good as raw.

5:19 am - Wednesday, June 23, 2010

#43 leon oberg

Merlin, I thought it was me. I too am disappointed with the image quality of my 500D. Pictures are definately NOT as good as my Canon 350D. However, by working them through Nikon Photo Editor I tend to get them where I want them to be. However, I made an expensive mistake buying the 500D. I did intend getting a Nikon D90. Wish I had. Leon

7:04 am - Thursday, June 24, 2010

#44 Merlin Stewart

Leon, thanks, but a person shouldn’t have to spend a bunch of time on the computer getting them “where I want them to be.”  I didn’t have to with my G2, used ‘auto’ mode (jpeg), then enjoyed them.  RAW wasn’t any better that I could see.

2:36 am - Friday, June 25, 2010

#45 PAUL

i gat a canon 500d and i find it a beet hard to find out evrithing about menu ex- i tried to make a photo on portret mode but i cant do it seeind the imegine on the screan only in the litle visor it that normal?

12:09 pm - Wednesday, July 14, 2010

#46 danny

hi..im eager to get into dslr photography…as a beginner, whats the best dslr camera for me ..im keen into landscape and nature photography…any recommendation will be most appreciated..tq.

2:52 am - Saturday, July 17, 2010

#47 leon oberg

Danny, In my opinion (and I have been photographing since 1957), you will not go past an slr. I started using new Nikon slr film cameras in the mid 1960s (2xNikon F Photomics, Nikon F2S and a couple of Nikon FE2 and FM2s) and did so with few dramas up until I acquired my first Digital in 2003. My first personal digital was a Nikon but I found it absolutely slow to use and irrationally confusing. While they certainly have got better, the Nikon D90 is superb (a mate has one), I tend to believe the Canon slr to be the easiest to get used to and the quickest to change (toggle) settings should a fast move be necessary. That said, I tend to think after using a range of digital cameras at work [newspaper] and play, the Nikon captures a marginally better image - the Canon needing a little more pre-press work to make it perfect.
I now own a Canon 500D (and a very trusty, reliable 350D) and still have moments, particularly with party type family pix. However outdoors, I find where I have time, by using it in manual mode and centre-weighted metering it tends to improve the image for it is not compromised by harsh (overly dark or bright) contrasting elements. All of this said, it depends upon what one is photographing. For me, it is in-the-field action railway train subjects. I suggest you go to a good camera store with your own card, ask to take a few pix in the store and out with a couple of camera makes, go home and analyse the results on your computer. That way you will find the camera for you.
Leon Oberg (Australia)

3:27 am - Saturday, July 17, 2010

#48 danny

thanks a lot Mr Leon Oberg for your advice. I will certainly keep in mind ur suggestions.cheers!mate:)....But which is the best dslr Nikon or Canon…for landscape photography..?

3:57 am - Saturday, July 17, 2010

#49 leon oberg

Both about the same mate. Try a 500D against a D90 side by side if you can in the same lighting situation and the same automatic iso setting (for simplicity) and view on the one computer and make up your own mind. LO

4:05 am - Saturday, July 17, 2010

#50 danny

oic…thanks again mate…cheers!!.....

4:15 am - Saturday, July 17, 2010

#51 Sir Gawain

A friend of mine bought a Nikon D3000 and just bought a 500D.  I tried the both of them, and i get this conclusion:

- Nikon is better in terms of grip and handling, you can switch the DIAL a lot more comfortable.  better for decisive moment condition.

-Canon to me, has the better quality image when it comes to color!  it just makes an ordinary photo comes alive!

at last in about a week, i get used to my Canon grip, and i just love it! it’s pretty concise! i recommend it as best for DSLR beginners… :) cheers!

4:44 pm - Monday, July 19, 2010

#52 Robin

I was shocked to find that my new 500D was made in Taiwan! The picture on this site shows ‘Made in Japan’ and all my previous Canon’s were made in Japan which I regard as the hallmark of quality. Can anyone shed any light on this? Where was yours made?

10:37 am - Thursday, October 28, 2010

#53 And-War

Ill have to check

10:41 am - Thursday, October 28, 2010

#54 Rizky

I love this camera… Good quality image

5:45 pm - Thursday, December 2, 2010

#55 leon oberg

I was also interested to see where mine was made since Robin raised that ‘question’. Fortunately it is branded ‘Made in Japan’ - camera number 0580104114. LO

10:29 pm - Thursday, December 2, 2010

#56 yhpurnama

Hi #52-Robin,
Mine is Kiss X3,that actually 500D for Japan’s market. And it’s made in Taiwan. Need to worry ?

6:49 pm - Sunday, January 2, 2011

#57 Aberdeen Photographer

Good camera for the price you pay. Has most of the new features from canon which is a bonus.

5:31 pm - Saturday, January 29, 2011

#58 Pat

I have had my EOS 500D about a week now. I have taken pictures of anything and everything to get used to it. I am going on holiday in a couple of weeks and I can’t wait to take it with me. It is a wonderful camera and the shots I have taken are crisp and clear. Pictures of my new grandson and my granddaughter are great and their parents are now asking me to go and take more, they are SO impressed.
I am going to use the automatic setting for a while and then definitely start experimenting with all the other options. I am very hard pressed to use a compact camera now!

3:24 pm - Thursday, February 24, 2011

#59 Belinda Jayne Ahamed

Just wanted to read some reviews on my newly aquired camera and am shocked to find a bunch of kids arguing.

Will look for a decent review elsewhere, thank you.

9:56 pm - Monday, April 4, 2011

#60 ivan

There is a site called dpreview.com has anybody gone there? The interesting thing is there are comparisons pictures at different iso between many kinds of cameras. I don’t know if it can be trusted, but the images of olympus E-PL-1 camera are much better than Canon 500D and many others DSLR cameras. Could anyone tell me, why is it so?
Kind regards

9:38 am - Thursday, April 7, 2011

#61 Pat

Just visited a local camera club and had the opportunity to take a portrait. All the lighting was set up and I was advised what settings to make on my EOS 500D, being a novice. Well my results were amazing! The shots were crisp and I feel very proud of myself. This is a great camera, so far. I am keen to get properly started on my mission to become a decent photographer!!!

9:47 am - Thursday, April 7, 2011

#62 ivan

when I compared images on dpreview.com site I found that those of olympus e-pl-1 are much better than canon 500d and many others dslr. can they be trusted? regards

10:05 am - Thursday, April 7, 2011

#63 Norwegian

I just got Canon Eos 500D SLR m18-55 & 55-250IS before they went out of stock, saved 200£ on deal, and for what camera that is best i am not really sure cause i have been using minolta and canon in past. So in my experience i think its about the person that takes the shoot and how good he or she is in photoshop!

12:00 am - Tuesday, April 12, 2011

#64 Joe

My camera seems to be locked up.  It will focus, the flash pops up when needed, but it won’t fire.  Is there a lock mechanism on it that I can’t seem to find. The card has plenty of room on it, tried taking the lens off and putting back on, took battery out and put back in, and battery is fully charged.  Any help would be great.
Thanks

3:55 am - Monday, July 18, 2011

#65 Snapper

As usual on these blogs the arguement is always Canon or Nikon? Raise your eyes folks, there are other companies out there. The most under-rated camera on the market at the moment in my opinion after about 6 months research is the Pentax K-r. It was released at the end of 2010 to compete with the Canon 550D and Nikon D5000, both of which in my opinion in most areas it outshines, even outperforming their updates the Nikon D5100 and Canon 600D. Megapixel-wise it “only” has 12.3 but as everyone who knows about these things knows, that is all you need to print up to A3. it has a metal frame and feels far more substantial than the Nikon and Canon cameras,whilst also having a far less “fussy” and confusing layout, the kit lense is generally reviewed as better than those normally supplied (by Canon & Nikon?). It scores extreemly well for image quality and can do anything your creative juices require. Besides all the usual settings and a few “fun” settings it has built in HDR, shoots at a very fast 6 FPS can bracket everything, multi-expose, time-lapse and even gives you the option to save an image in RAW that you originaly took in .jpeg if you change your mind. Allthough it started off at nearly £700, because it is not part of the Nikon/Canon cartel the price has been forced down to an amazing £398 with th 18-55mm kit lense or just £80 more with the addition of the 50-200mm as a twin kit. I am not the only one that thinks this. Ephotozine.com have put it at 3 in their Top 11, above the Nikon D5100 and Canon 600D which share 4th place.

9:01 pm - Sunday, July 31, 2011

#66 Archiesmam

Hi everyone,  just bought the Canon D500 plus2 lens kit from Jessops.  The jessops staff looked at me as if I was stupid when I said the camera wasn’t performing to my expectations.  My problem is the auto focus, when set on centre spot doesn’t focus on centre.  It is constantly focused on the dogs shoulders when using sports mode, not their noses.  Most noticable with the 75-300 lens.  I have given it time for me to adjust, and taken hundreds of phots of all sorts of things but am left feeling the camera is letting me down.  Surely I should be feeling like returning to my Fuji??? What should I do?

7:16 pm - Wednesday, September 7, 2011

#67 Alan

Could someone please advise me on a camera to buy. I dont know anything about them. its a present for my girlfriend who has a keen interest in photography. I was thinking the 500D?

11:47 pm - Sunday, October 2, 2011

#68 And-War

Alan, get a D550 its a better starting point than the D500, some of the quirks have been ironed out

9:34 am - Monday, October 3, 2011

#69 Pat

I love my Canon EOS 500D. I have had it since March, and I won third prize in a local camera club competition, out of 23 entries. There is a lot more to discover about this camera I am sure, but so far I am really impressed. I can recommend it - but hey - once you have bought a camera, another one comes along that might be a bit better - then another - and another. Just like everything else you buy - there will always be something else. As for “quirks” being ironed out - what are they?

2:07 pm - Monday, October 3, 2011

#70 freya

hi i was wondering if i could have some advice. i noticed on the review it said the camera sells for about £969 but this review was written in 2009. i have found this camera for the exact same price as the nikon d3100, for about £550 as part of a multi buy. i am completely new to dslr but i am very interested in photography. i will be using it for close ups and candid pictures, probably nothing posed and i am going to las vegas in march so will be taking lots of pictures especially of all the lights and over christmas and new year.
it doesn’t have to be a choice between these 2 cameras but my budget is about £600 MAX! any advice would be greatly appreciated.
thanks in advance

12:36 pm - Tuesday, November 15, 2011

#71 leon oberg

Well guys and gals. I have finally done it. After frustrations with my Canon 500D (see my 24 June 2010 posting), I now have a Nikon D7000. The difference is like driving a BMW against a Toyota Camry. Before anyone jumps down my throat I can say I spent 38 years driving professional Nikon film cameras. Since 1998 I used several brands of camera at work (until retiring) including a Canon 400D. I had earlier bought a Canon 350D and then thought I would update to a 500D in late 2009 because I could not then afford a Nikon D90. While the Canons do the job if one labours at it, their exposures can sometimes vary something terrible from shot to shot, even when driven on manual and operated 1/3 of a stop under exposed. Its great to be back with Nikon. Its incremental iso settings, user friendly high iso settings, great 18-105mm lens not to mention an exceptional movie function make me so pleased I went for this model. Be warned though, the instruction book runs to 326 pages. Leon Oberg (Australia)

12:07 pm - Wednesday, November 30, 2011

#72 growstudio

I have this camera and i love it, its nice for beginners… Accesories of canon are more expensive than nikon but in my country get canon accesories easier than nikon. If you buy one you will not regret

7:18 am - Monday, January 23, 2012

#73 freya

any advice for a beginner dslr user? most importantly which camera to get first

4:32 pm - Tuesday, February 28, 2012

#74 jools252

I am going to buy the 500d tomorrow after saving for a few months its now down to £479 in jessops thats with the twin lens I dont know much about dslr’s has i havnt done photography since digital came out but after doing some research this past few months for the price i personally dont think it can be beaten especially for a beginner

2:05 pm - Tuesday, March 6, 2012

#75 Tom

I have just bought a 500d (UK model) on ebay for £260 with the lenses - it is in excellent condition and so far seems to be working perfectly - a few years ago this was £600+. Yes there are now newer models which will be better but as my first DSLR I am impressed. I have friends who have 500d and 550d and I am a little smug that I now have one at a faction of the cost.

1:12 pm - Thursday, November 8, 2012

#76 Melanie

Hi, what cam will suite me best for ACTION shots with dogs?

Nikon 3100, Canon 500D or Canon 1100D ?

3:54 pm - Friday, December 21, 2012

#77 Paul

I’m not a pro- and the way I’ve seen some behave I wouldn’t want to be. To the camera’s I used to be a huge Pentax fan, and ended up with the K20d, one day a friend of mine, let me use her canon 500d, instantly fell in love with it, so I bought one. And I’ve never been disappointed with it
yet, pictures are sharp and of excellent quality, does everything I expect of it, plus I’ve won two competitions with it, nothing big 2X £50:00p photographic vouchers, so well done Canon for this very useful camera.

11:16 am - Saturday, December 7, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, 720p, DSLR, APS-C, Canon, 15 megapixel

Tracker Pixel for Entry