Canon EOS 5D Mark III Review

4.5
April 11, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

23 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Bryan

I have been looking at the reviews for the Mark III and the only thing i heard on the negative side was that the Video quality isn’t something to write home about. Any other thoughts?

11:02 pm - Wednesday, April 11, 2012

#2 Frank

Can I ask. I have only been shooting for a year but I shoot in a lot of dark locations. I also shoot in Raw. Why do the Raw images look so soft?

3:34 am - Thursday, April 12, 2012

#3 Ivan

I echo Frank’s comment, the images from the RAW seem a bit soft but I assume that you have chosen a less agressive sharpening regime.

The main thing that you may have confirmed for me is that the RAW capture is actually quite noisy.  Before LR 4.1RC was released, I was using JPEG and did not notice the noisy images but with LR available I switched back to RAW and found that my high ISO 3200 and above were noisier than my MKII.  they could be removed with a noise reduction but it may me quite suspect of a defective sensor.  I was going to borrow another MKIII to try but your testing results seem to confirm my suspision.

6:57 am - Thursday, April 12, 2012

#4 Nenad

I am owner of 5d mark III.
I ll totally disagre about noise free image of mark III.
Camera make iso free, but with jpg image, where is use in camera noise filter.
I can do it in photoshop with any camera.
More important, and no one talk about that, raw image on 1600!! iso have noise, 3200 and more, have lot of noise.
And second thing, image on higher noise are not sharp!

10:58 am - Thursday, April 12, 2012

#5 jamshaid

Canon EOS 5D i really love it its pictures quality is really owusam.

photographer australia

photographer in Regional NSW Australia

4:49 pm - Thursday, April 12, 2012

#6 Bryan

Looking at other reviews, I have heard something similar to what Ivan is saying about the RAW capture being noisy.

4:51 pm - Thursday, April 12, 2012

#7 Bryan

Agreed with Nenad.

5:51 pm - Thursday, April 12, 2012

#8 Frank

So based on what everyone is saying and what this review showed it seems to me the real upgrade with this camera is in the software not the sensor. If it was the sensor that got such low noise on the Jpeg then that would translate to the Raw. This has be wondering. I have a pre-order in now to upgrade from the 7d. Wondering if it is really worth the $3,500.

9:49 pm - Thursday, April 12, 2012

#9 Jack

No Nikon D800 in main rivals? Wake up!

10:56 pm - Thursday, April 12, 2012

#10 Coffee

This is a camera for professional photographers, news reporters, journalists etc. I don’t think such people are likely to change all their gear just because the D800 offers some extra pixels and convenience features. The situation is of course different for those who start from scratch. But even here I can see why many would still prefer the Canon ...

P.S.: Did anyone notice the sample image number 6, which shows a small crowd outside the “Britain At War” museum? On the wall of the building it says “This Building Is Fully Air Conditioned”, right underneath which there’s a poster of someone with a gas mask ... hilarious.

1:16 am - Friday, April 13, 2012

#11 Frank

Just found this. http://www.the-digital-picture.com/News/Default.aspx?Cat=Canon-Digital-Photo-Professional

Wonder if this was done using this software. I will be using Lightroom when it is released. Was wondering if this softness shows up in there release candidate.

I do know this is getting into the pro level but the type of shooting I am doing seems to benefit from a Full Frame system. I have already spent about 8k on L series glass so want to get a pro body now.

2:18 am - Friday, April 13, 2012

#12 Andy

An exceptional camera. I really love shooting with the 5D series from Canon. The sensor is excellent and I’m able to get great clarity and vibrancy in my work. See some examples here - http://www.andylegresley.com

6:51 pm - Sunday, April 22, 2012

#13 Oleh

Canon is loosing the game,
Nikon produce much cheaper & much better D800 !!!

6:35 am - Sunday, May 6, 2012

#14 Oldmn

pixels in new 5d mark are almost the same but details & colour are just in other level, much better !

5:04 pm - Monday, May 7, 2012

#15 Andrew cresswell

Great article, answered all my questions, mk111 on order :)

6:19 pm - Monday, July 23, 2012

#16 Sydney wedding photographers

A great camera, but not so great that I’d want to rush and replace my 5D MKII

8:28 am - Wednesday, August 15, 2012

#17 Sydney Photography

Great camera, but not so great that I’d rush out and replace my 5DMKII

8:30 am - Wednesday, August 15, 2012

#18 wedding photographer - Kam Yau

Yes, I used this camera as my main since April 2012. Love the low light performance. But low light AF seems slow too - sometimes. I’m not sure I’m the only one or anybody has the same experience.

8:41 pm - Thursday, October 18, 2012

#19 Life Grows

I would love to own a 5D. I have heard so many good things about this camera but unfortunately it is out of my price range.

7:47 am - Tuesday, May 21, 2013

#20 Nando

I own a Canon 5D Mark III.  I’m disappointed in the audio noise introduced into movies when the lens image stabilization is used.  The internal microphone picks up the mechanical sound from the lens IS.  Its amazing how a $200 point and shoot camera (with IS) can take quiet movies but the Canon 5D Mark III which costs ($$$) can’t. 

Maybe I should have bought a Nikon.

3:57 am - Friday, July 5, 2013

#21 Leah

The Canon 5D is an amazing camera. We have multiple ones at our video production company and are more than happy with them. http://www.diamondviewstudios.com/tampavideoproduction

7:24 pm - Tuesday, September 24, 2013

#22 Nikolay Stoimenov

Great Camera! If I ever have the money to go to the Full Frame sensor cameras, I would by this one or MK II version. For now it is only a dream:)

9:29 am - Sunday, February 9, 2014

#23 Graham

I will be ordering one of these. The D800 is not always a good option. Depending on how big your images are printed, very high file sizes clog up workflow and memory space.

9:21 am - Wednesday, March 5, 2014

Entry Tags

review, 1080p, test, jpeg, photo, dslr, cmos, raw, digital SLR, image, 3.2 inch LCD, 6fps, 22 megapixel, 5d mk 3, 5d mark 3, Canon EOS 5D Mark III, 5d, 5d 3, 5d3, 5d mk iii, 5d mark iii

Tracker Pixel for Entry