Canon EOS 650D Review

4.5
September 10, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

15 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Peter

I am doubting between Canon’s 650D, 60D or Nikon’s D5100. I want to use the camera only for photography, not interested in making movies with such camera at all.
Is there anybody that can help me with the decision? thanks

7:41 pm - Monday, September 10, 2012

#2 SLX

I waited for 650d, but when it finally comes three monthes ago i was disappointed, the same 18mp sensor just as in 600d, very noisy @ iso 25600.

Now am waiting for 70d, hope it will have a better sensor, and if not am switching to Nikon or Sony SLT.

9:44 pm - Monday, September 10, 2012

#3 Volant

@photographyblog:
i always follow ur reviews. at the conclusion of this review u never talked about image quality and also didnot compare the IQ with its rivals like pentax k-30. by the way u give 4.5 score for the image quality at the end. but i read many reviews the IQ of this model is even lower than canon 550D or 600D. so how come the score is as same as pentax k-30 which is on par with pentax k-5 in terms of image quality?

2:29 am - Tuesday, September 11, 2012

#4 Volant

i always follow ur reviews. at the conclusion of this review u never talked about image quality and also didnot compare the IQ with its rivals like pentax k-30. by the way u give 4.5 score for the image quality at the end. but i read many reviews the IQ of this model is even lower than canon 550D or 600D. so how come the score is as same as pentax k-30 which is on par with pentax k-5 in terms of image quality?

2:34 am - Tuesday, September 11, 2012

#5 ALBERT

The EOS 650D easily outclasses the 550d both in terms of picture quality and features and has the same sensor as the 600d so what you read about the 650d having inferior image quality than both the 550D and the 600D is utter rubbish, i have a 600D and a 650D and the image quality of both is identical there are lots of people who will bemoan the 650D because they probably cannot afford to purchase it and the stupidity talk of it having inferior picture quality is stemmed not from experience but envy!!!!!

6:24 am - Thursday, October 4, 2012

#6 ALBERT

The 600d and the 650d both have the same sensor, the picture quality of both cameras is identical the 650d is not inferior in picture quality, thats rubbish.

6:28 am - Thursday, October 4, 2012

#7 Nk

Thanks for the review, was considering Sony a37/57 but decided to go with canon 650D. Why? Well it just felt better in the hand. Pictures day 1 are superb. Am a novice moving up from point and shoots so anything would better!! Video with constantly focusing noisy lens is pants! Instead of buying an expensive usm lens I will get a cheap camcorder:) ...overall am super excited to learn more about photography…

11:13 pm - Saturday, December 1, 2012

#8 manutd1878

to peter, the 650d is the latest entry level slr from Canon and has touch screen feature, and it is cheaper than 60d.

9:08 am - Monday, January 7, 2013

#9 Jeffers

The 650D is an excellent camera, I have had one for a few weeks now and am delighted with the results.

4:54 pm - Thursday, January 24, 2013

#10 vahab

?????? ????? ??????? ????
?? ?? ?????? ??? ?????

10:11 pm - Friday, March 29, 2013

#11 Monique

I have a Canon 650D and most of the photos have a brown tint. In order to get realistic colour I need to go up two stops but then loose detail in the sky etc.
The histogram stops abruptly 3/4 towards white end so no real whites.
Its at Canon at the moment and they say its fine although I have taken it into a camera shop and they did a comparison with their display model and my images alot darker.
Im upgrading from my G11 but the G11 colour accuracy soo much better so I stopped using 650D.
Canon said to spot metre but then the background even darker. Any one else have this problem?
Cheers

8:09 pm - Friday, April 19, 2013

#12 Dee

Thinking to buy a canon 600d or 650 d…confused and still want to know which is better dslr Nikon,canon or Sony,whose pictures look more realistic and natural for normal photography…am confused ,let me know

6:49 am - Monday, August 12, 2013

#13 Claudia

5 stars, great camera, heaps of options. Bravo!

1:44 am - Wednesday, September 11, 2013

#14 Anushka

Hello,
Can anyone help me please..i have a new canon 650d..i’ve used it 3times..it was okk…am having a problem with it…when applying on the shutter button it doesn’t release any picture…i dont knw if some setting have been changed..am unable to use it to take pictures..can anyone help me please? thanks alot…

4:22 pm - Saturday, December 7, 2013

#15 Raneesh

Dears

i am planning to buy a Canon SLR. Let me know which is the best one ?  1100d, 600D Or 650D

3:57 pm - Monday, January 13, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, samples, 720p, jpeg, movie, touch-screen, DSLR, touch screen, canon, tilting, touch, raw, 18 megapixel, digital SLR, 5fps, vari-angle, lcd, hybrid af, t4i, digital rebel t4i, 650d, eos 650d, Canon EOS 650D Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry