Canon EOS M Review

December 17, 2012 | Gavin Stoker | |

Your Comments

37 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Jerry

A sad chapter in the history of Canon.
Instead of developing an entirely new camera system, they took one 600D and did everything wrong.

Too expensive, poor image quality, no tilting display, not an innovative feature.

2:40 pm - Monday, December 17, 2012

#2 Pavel

“Lowest Price: $739.99”
.
I disagreee with reviewer on value 4 money…IMO 1/5…either the world (potential customers) or Canon management gone mad ..apparently both..

5:14 pm - Monday, December 17, 2012

#3 JS

IQ is fine, the whole concept sucks, still beter than Nikon 1 or Pentax Q…G1X is much better choice!

10:15 pm - Monday, December 17, 2012

#4 Franky S

What a bizarre offering this turned out to be.  I was really holding out hope for something with even a modicum of inspiration behind it.  And then they have the temerity to ridiculously overprice the damnable thing.  Dear me.

Oh well, there’s always next time.

11:52 pm - Monday, December 17, 2012

#5 Bruno

This review was a farce. The Slow AF has been conveniently left out of it.

2:48 am - Tuesday, December 18, 2012

#6 Chandrasekar

can you post some city pictures, this is full of trees

8:21 am - Tuesday, December 18, 2012

#7 C Murdock

The reviewer says “pin sharp” image quality, but that’s not what I’m seeing.  I’m seeing lots of blur, even at low ISOs (and I’m not talking about bokeh), and lots of sharpening halos.  This is typical Canon image quality—soft, over-sharpened (lousy).  Does the reviewer have eyes???  Maybe the reviewer is looking at 8” x 10” prints.  At that size, any camera’s images will look sharp.  LOOK AT YOUR SCREEN, MAN, LOOK AT YOUR SCREEN!

1:40 pm - Tuesday, December 18, 2012

#8 dj

If this was the only mirrorless camera in the world then maybe id buy it….but its not: there’s loads of better choices from Panasonic, Olympus, Sony and Samsung for that price! The new Mirrorless segment of cameras is very exciting but the Canon (and Nikon) mirrorless cameras are just plain bland.

6:27 am - Thursday, December 20, 2012

#9 Marco

What’s with these horrible sample images? They look worse than my G11 produces, and that’s got a lens full of scratches from the lens cover opening and closing. Lack of detail in the trees, blurred distant detail and just general yucky pictures! Is this the best Canon an come up with using today’s sensor technology? Such a wasted opportunity.

12:16 am - Wednesday, December 26, 2012

#10 Ron Quinio

I started with Nikon during the film days and shifted to Canon when I went digital. My very first DSLR was a Canon 10D and went through all the various models: 40D, 7D, 5DM2, and now 5DM3. I use most of the popular L zoom lenses and some really excellent prime fixed lenses such as the 35mm, 85mm, 100mm II macro, & 135mm.

I got my EOS M only 3 weeks ago and after putting it through my usual shooting routines (portraits, landscapes, street photography, etc.), I can say it’s a good photographic tool with its own set of limitations. For it’s size and image quality, I would say it could be a fantastic tool in the right hands. I was very much impressed with the IQ and I can take it anytime versus my 7D or even my 5DM3 for routine travels unless I’m really shooting some very important assignments & sports events.

The EOS M is a great DSLR-back-up camera, not a replacement. For those who have yet to try it, you will not be disappointed with the image quality.

5:14 pm - Wednesday, December 26, 2012

#11 BlackBox

What a toothless “conclusion”!

“not perfect in every single regard (and which ‘first attempt’ ever is?)”

I’m sorry but this just doesn’t justify it! Even Nikon who was VERY late with their compact mirrorless camera are in the second generation. Sony who also weren’t in too much rush are in the third. Panasonic and Olympus are in FIFTH! And what a product they all have!

This camera epitomizes what is already obvious - Canon is in agony. And unless they do something radical, they’re going to be dead soon. And products like this, which Canon tries to squeeze in YET AGAIN without disturbing the line-up, are the nails in its coffin.

“this camera can deliver.”

Why do I have a picture of a gun muzzle at the back of the author’s head as he types this? Who was it, Gavin? Yakuza? Your lawyer?

5:37 pm - Wednesday, December 26, 2012

#12 C Murdock

Marco, sample images from this camera are equally bad from other sites.

Ron Quinio, if you are getting good images from this camera, please post links to them (full-size images, not reduced).  This is a great review site, but their sample images are consistently lousy.

5:54 pm - Wednesday, December 26, 2012

#13 Sunil Thakkar

If you consider the price… this camera has the worst (slowest - dancing) focus in the range… horrible…

10:24 am - Thursday, December 27, 2012

#14 J Alexander

What a bunch of worthless commenters. Your bias is showing. You spout off all this trash before you even try it just based on looking at a picture of it. Don’t worry about leaving your mother’s basement I’m sure you’re as good as your words…

11:42 pm - Thursday, January 24, 2013

#15 C Murdock

J Alexander, I am basing my comments on my examination of a couple dozen full-size sample images that I have seen.  Full-size sample images tell the whole story.  I have no doubt that the camera works well, and that it is user-friendly, etc., etc.; but Canon image-quality has deteriorated over the years, and I don’t have to own Canon cameras to see that.  Canon cameras have heavy AA filters and employ heavy processing of JPG images.  That is not a philosophy I agree with.

10:18 am - Friday, January 25, 2013

#16 Bojan Flaks

I have been using one of these for a few weeks now.
Apart from the slow autofocus (which I hope can be fixed with a firmware upgrade) it is a fine little camera and produces very good images (for a “crop” sensor).  Overall I agree with this review. One thing that has not been discussed is the ability to fix it on the back of an EF 300mm f/2.8 L IS lens!

11:49 am - Tuesday, January 29, 2013

#17 Mario H.

I have used many cameras, the Olympus half-frame to the Konica FS-1, and now the Canon 50D, and I have not been disappointed with any of my ‘prints’ so far.
HOWEVER, I have been so spoiled by seeing lovely animal and bird photos on screen from both Nikon and Canon,that I expect to see this quality from Digital photos that I take nowadays, forgetting that photographers(sic) also use Software to ENHANCE their photos to a degree unattainable by simply using lenses and bodies. I am gratified to see these uncorrected samples, and it replaces my recent disappointments in the images that I have shot with my new EOS-M, with an assurance and promise that if I delve into some Enhancing software (which I have not done), my photos might be as good!

5:35 am - Monday, April 1, 2013

#18 Ketata

I have a problem with my eos m : err 60
What kind of error is ? Any one knows ? What shoud i do ?

12:07 am - Thursday, April 4, 2013

#19 Ketata

I have a problem with my eos m : err 60 !!! What kind of error is? Whet should i do ?

12:12 am - Thursday, April 4, 2013

#20 Dave

Can anyone tell us if Canon fixed the autofocus problem with the firmware update?  They said they did, but I would rather read it on a review site than a company press release.

4:18 pm - Tuesday, July 2, 2013

#21 Janie Barclay Photography

We have this camera as a back-up wedding camera. They are the future, with the new firmware update it preforms very well for it’s price! Lets see the next one of these!

9:55 am - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#22 Fabio

    Just got this camera with the new firmware, all I can say is that it’s outstanding , a tiny camera with a big sensor with excellent image quality , a pleasure to use.

4:18 am - Friday, August 2, 2013

#23 Mr. Low Notes

I have an EOS M, 60D and 70D. The M is a great little camera image wise. Looks as good as my other two cameras I listed. One must ignore those trash comments at the beginning as they are complete BS. The firmware upgrade does improve the focus speed. All Canon needs to do now is make some more lenses for it. I also own Nikon and other brands of cameras too. I would recommend the EOS M to someone for general use and landscape photography but not for sports and fast moving subjects. Get a dslr for that.

5:30 pm - Tuesday, February 11, 2014

#24 Steve Elizondo Photography

I am a owner of the EOS M camera. It’s a great compact camera. I use it with 22mm f2 lens and have gotten excellent images. Quality comparable to my Nikon D7000. Excellent low image noise at high ISO such as 1600 or 3200. Maybe even better than my D7000. This is an outdated and discontinued camera, but if you can get your hands on one for $300 which is what I paid for a year ago I strongly recommend it. Also the LCD display is beautiful and touch screen is intuitive. Cons is that is not good for taking action pictures. Camera is slow for that. Also no pop up flash. Having an external flash takes away from the compactness.

7:01 pm - Tuesday, May 13, 2014

#25 Nb

The EOS M now is heavily discounted.  It is half the price of most Micro 4/3rds cameras.
It’s the only camera I know where you touch the part of the screen where you want the camera to focus and the camera will focus and set exposure based on where you touched.  Very nifty feature that no one else has.
As for image quality, it’s EOS 60D quality in a tiny package.

Not sure where the criticism lies but this camera rocks even with it’s limitations.  i would pit it against any camera of similar size anyone cares to name.

8:25 am - Saturday, June 21, 2014

#26 arkhun punjabi the kiddo

In mumbai, we-kids only use toy cameras and the adults dont need any camera. Someday…when im 18 and have a real camera i will join all macro n micro stock agencies and will become the best selling artist/contributor.

7:47 am - Sunday, June 29, 2014

#27 alexis

im thinking this is good as a secondary camera. It can never out do the image quality that dslr’s produce. But it getting there..

1:29 pm - Tuesday, October 21, 2014

#28 allen

I own an EOS M with the 22mm f/2.0 lens.
It takes beautiful pictures.
The camera thankfully is not bloated with
gimicky features.

7:17 am - Wednesday, January 7, 2015

#29 David

Over at http://creativeflyers.co.uk we use this amazing little camera all the time to capture some lovely aerial images

7:49 am - Wednesday, January 7, 2015

#30 sue anne rush

How do you fix error 60. I hear a motor noise with the error 60 when I turn it on.

9:31 pm - Monday, February 16, 2015

#31 Marcus Vinnas

My EOS-M takes great pictures and videos as well.

4:22 pm - Wednesday, April 8, 2015

#32 Tom

Cannot understand the many negative comments made by earlier responders. 

However your list of “Main rivals”  was irrelevant to me.  My main camera is an EOS 1Ds ii (yes 10-year old technology, but it does everything I want wonderfully).  As everyone knows Canon 1-series are not the lightest of cameras. It is okay to go out from home with two of them for a special occasion, but I would not want to go backpacking with a pair of them.

The EOS-M is so light that it is the perfect backup body

2:44 pm - Friday, August 28, 2015

#33 Phil

The images and video from the Canon m are very impressive IMO!
The firmware they released certainly improved the AF and I have captured some real pleasing images.
I think a lot of people haven’t taken time to set up and learn how to get the best out of it.
I added the 22mm f2.0 along with the lens adapter so that eos/EF lenses can be used but here you do find the AF can struggle TBH in all but good lighting conditions.
With the 22mm f2.0 fitted it’s a little Gem and will slip into all but the smallest of pockets.
So please don’t be put off the little Gem by early negative pre firmware upgrade comments.

11:36 am - Wednesday, January 6, 2016

#34 Michael McGrath

Thank you for your excellent review. I am a professional photographer in Kilkenny city, Ireland, and as such I can recommend the Canon EOS M heartly.

I use the Canon 1Ds Mark 111 and L lenses. In fact the 18-55 kit lens supplied with the Canon EOS M is as good as an L and as well built as some. And though I am drawn to the Fuji X-A2 for its best high ISO performance that camera is wholly plastic whereas the M is metal jacket and good enough at high ISO too, though the Xa2 is champion at that.

Thing is I can use all my canon lenses with the EOS-M with the adaptor , which I have. 

With its flash thrown in for free and reduced to a third its price with the new firmware the Canon EOS M is still an outstanding bargain in 2016.

Indeed the EOS M is better than its successor the EOS M3 for picture quality, the pics just look better out of the original M.

No expense was spared in the production of the EOS-M , even the strap lugs are uniquely and luxuriously designed.  The lenses for it are all excellent optics. And it can fit in the pocket with its lovely little button-type 22mm.

It won’t do for fast sports - though it has 4.3 frames a second and it’s brilliant at video, movie buffs I know swear by it as a cheap second cam on set.

The Canon EOS-M is still highly recommended in 2016 - though if you can stand all p;lastic including a plastic mount the Fuji Xa2 is better at the highest ISO as it has probably the best Bayer sensor of them all - based on that ubiquitous Sony Bayer sensor that still makes the Nikon D7000 so damned good for pictures.

But there’s not much in it and the Canon EOS-M is a jewel of a camera in comparison.

10:11 pm - Sunday, August 7, 2016

#35 Michael McGrath

correction: heartily

10:14 pm - Sunday, August 7, 2016

#36 Ivor Bigun

Michael McGrath i completely agree, the original M is a cracking little camera, and it’s superb for video, ok the auto focus isn’t the fastest, but if i’m shooting motor sports or the like i will use my Dslr.

Oh and it has it’s own Magic Lantern which takes it to a whole new level.

7:02 pm - Monday, September 5, 2016

#37 Michael McGrath

Don’t get me wrong, the EOS M is only fast enough for the still formal shots of a wedding, say, or a meeting , portraiture or a still speaker,or a First Communion, Confirmation or Bar Mitzvah. It’s still not fast enough for the slowest sports but great for urban landscap e and architecture as it takes allL lenses including tilt and shift.
Though having much the same sensor as the 7D the EOS M photos are much better than 7D photos- maybe because the lens is so directly close to the sensor?

1:18 am - Tuesday, September 6, 2016

Entry Tags

hd video, review, hd, samples, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, jpeg, mirrorless, movie, csc, canon, touch-screen, touch screen, raw, touch, 18 megapixel, compact system, flash, lcd, hotshoe, eos m, m, Canon EOS M Review, 4.3fps

Tracker Pixel for Entry