Canon IXUS 1000 HS Review

4.0
December 8, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

20 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Eyal Gurevitch

“Sharing the same 10 megapixel back-illuminated CMOS sensor as the excellent S95 and G12 models” ?

Both S95 and G12 have a 1/1.7” ccd sensor.
The SD4500 has a 1/2.3” BI CMOS sensor.
They definitely do not share the same sensor.

12:41 pm - Wednesday, December 8, 2010

#2 Mark Goldstein

Thanks, we’ve corrected that.

1:03 pm - Wednesday, December 8, 2010

#3 zebarnabe

It’s seems that shares the same 10MP BSI that Sony makes ...

Too expensive, Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ10 / ZS7 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX5 look like better proposals for this kind of camera…

Or, like said in review, Canon G12 and S95 for this kind of price…

Oh well…

3:59 pm - Wednesday, December 8, 2010

#4 photographer

the Ixus 1000 have much better video quality can see in your test movie here.also have nore zoom as S95 and G12.

I see that, even on 1280*720 camera with CMOS Sensor (Ixus 1000 have) video is lots more sharpen as Camera that use CCD Sensor (G12 S95)

I think most camera as TZ10 too record only in 640*480 and interpolate, because the 1280*720 movie are blury also in compare to Camcorder.

but when scale down all videos to 640*480 no diffrence can see.

zooming on Video is too good on Ixus 1000.there are 2 zoom speeds and slow speed allow good zoom move and focus keep.

only i think is worse that the battery life is so short and there is no cheap battery replacement here and a original canon battery cost 4* more

what i miss of course is raw, but there is chdk that allow more features by patch temporary the new firmware.

http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/SD4500

temporary mean, when switch off camera all is as before, the firmware is not overwritten.

but currently for Ixus 1000/ixus 300 raw do wrong color images.

7:23 pm - Wednesday, December 8, 2010

#5 Paul K

I own this camera and can recommend it for my type of use.

I have a 5D Mark II and my wife a 50D, and a number of good lenses. However for many occasions we want something versatile but highly portable. and this camera fits the bill perfectly.

The 1080p video recording is, in my opinion, not a “nice” feature but a necessary feature, the improved resolution and capability is much, much better than the 720p on alternative models we considered (and mentioned).

1080p video on the excellent macro? Priceless. 1080p video using the maximum telephoto on a bird? Superb. Getting good image quality, great.

As for the battery life, it isn’t great as mentioned although for moderately intensive use it was sufficient for the day (e.g., go on a full-day hike snapping lots of photos along the way). I haven’t felt the need to purchase a second battery, although I do agree battery life is less than stellar.

So yes there are a couple of negatives. But having the capability and quality of this camera in a package this tiny outwieghs them. If other similarily sized models offered 1080p video, the quality and the long zoom I’d consider them—but they don’t so the choice was easy, and I don’t regret it.

7:39 pm - Wednesday, December 8, 2010

#6 Eyal Gurevitch

zebarnabe,

The TZ10 and HX5 don’t feature the same low light support that the SD4000 does, with its f/2.0 maximum aperture.
The S95 does, but it’s costs almost a half more.

Eyal

11:35 pm - Wednesday, December 8, 2010

#7 C.Y.Leow

I get really annoyed when someone just shoot off with comment like “camera with CMOS Sensor (Ixus 1000 have) video is lots more sharpen as Camera that use CCD Sensor (G12 S95)”!
I shot my wife’s line dancing group with G12 in HD and the quality is mind boggling!
The G12 and S95 have the BEST Canon P&S sensor, period.

11:18 am - Thursday, December 9, 2010

#8 photographer

I forget also to say, i notice when i full zoom, long focus time even if i use continues autofocus.

I see before i press shot button half, picture is sharp, but when i press it half, then i see picture get very unsharp and the autofocus need ca 1 sec time to get it sharp again.

Have other Ixus 1000 Users the same problem ?
or users of other Camera ?

maybe canon can fix that with new firmware.

For the less battery live of this cam i can tell some real life results and tips.

I do always continues shots with 5-6 images for each motive.The advantage of this CAM is also, you can shoot forever at a rate of 2-3 fps(depend on exposure time).
when exposure time is large for example indoor and low ISO, there come a busy message and this CAM do dark frame subtraction and frame rate drop very low.

But even if you shoot a series of 20 pics, release the button, and press it again, you can shoot in 1,5 sec later again continues. 

so when i go outside to a event, i switch often the camera on and off, and i reach with the battery 500- 1200 images without flash.

Here are my tips for longer battery life.

I notice its important to let the camera not long in shoot ready mode and switch it better off to move lens in instead let it 30 sec on.

the LCD display can stay on full bright, i see not that this have lots of effect when dim it.
also the camera can work very long time in mode when lens are move in, even if brightness is set to full.in the ixus manual stand 4 hours, but i dont verify that time.

I hear a constant motor sound noise in the camera in shoot ready mode, when lens are out.

Seem when the lens are out always run a motor.so maybe thats the reason that long standby is not good for battery life.

is a motor always running on other camera too ?

battery life of video i have test too.i put my camera on a table and every 10 min (max recorsd time), i delete the recorded, switch it off and on again and record new movie.

with that test can record 52 minutes.
i see also when battery is new, battery need load 5-6 times to reach best capacity.

on my first tests battery, get very soon empty.

11:22 am - Thursday, December 9, 2010

#9 photographer

>I shot my wife’s line dancing group with G12 in HD >and the quality is mind boggling!
>The G12 and S95 have the BEST Canon P&S sensor, >period.

have you do the same scene how it look with Ixus 1000, WB2000, casio FH-100 ?

the testvideos you can see here, are excelent to compare.

and here i see that the movies of these Cameras are more sharp as other camera.

look at the structure in the bridge tower.

11:28 am - Thursday, December 9, 2010

#10 C.Y.Leow

Read your comment AGAIN! You claimed: “camera with CMOS Sensor (Ixus 1000 have) video is lots more sharpen as Camera that use CCD Sensor (G12 S95)”!
Who is talking about Caio and WB2000.
Can you understand what you are saying?

11:48 am - Thursday, December 9, 2010

#11 zebarnabe

C.Y.Leow,

I think he is referring to video sharpness, i haven’t check video samples only images, it may be just the sharpening settings on software side (that is applicable in post)... but i agree, while IXUS 1000 HS does a great job on it’s own at 350~400€ you better out with a G12 (420€) or S95 (380€)...

However, 1000HS price is dropping fast, might worth it once it goes under 300€

Unless you really need the 10x zoom lens ... well for the price Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ8 / ZS5 makes more sense, and you get 12x zoom and 14MP ... after all it costs around 230€ or TZ10 for the extra features for 280€ (GPS capability, 3in / 460k screen, AVCHD movie mode, one-touch record button, HDMI port)

Well ... IMHO, WB2000 and EX-FH100 are not even worth considering ...

PS: Prices I’ve put here are just indicative…

12:57 pm - Thursday, December 9, 2010

#12 photographer

>Who is talking about Caio and WB2000.

The Casio and WB2000 use cmos sensor as IX 1000.

If Canon use the sony BSI sensor or have a own BSI sensor i dont know.

maybe i am wrong, that cmos sensors give sharper image, but do you not see sharper video, when you look on the Video of these cmos cams i name, and compare with S95 ?.

G12 testvideo here is diffrent, so cant use for direct compare of sharpness.

there is also the panasonic fz100 with Cmos sensor.here too the Video look sharper.

but fz100 have very much noise and noise reduction artefacts, due to 14 megapixel.

1:08 pm - Thursday, December 9, 2010

#13 photographer

In older post i write, there is no replacement accu here.

but now i look again and see there is now a cheap replacement from accu cell here.

4:12 pm - Thursday, December 9, 2010

#14 DocBob

Pretty poor showing for a $300 (street) Canon.  Picking through the pictures doesn’t reveal anything of real quality; a Fujifilm F300EXR, even the JZ300, make an equal or better showing for as little as half the cash.  Canon, come on!

7:37 pm - Saturday, December 11, 2010

#15 Blake

This camera is just so goofy looking! I mean I’m all for something a little unusual but this just looks ugly to me.

7:33 am - Thursday, December 30, 2010

#16 Arjun

thanks for giving full review because it helps us to get knowledge about camera. I am using cannon Rebel XT now . I found that the zooming on Video is too good on Ixus 1000.there are 2 zoom speeds and slow speed allow good zoom move and focus keep.

only i think is worse that the battery life is so short and there is no cheap battery replacement here and a original canon battery cost 4* more

12:05 am - Sunday, February 27, 2011

#17 Lynda

OMG, I am so confused now. Too much tech talk for me.  I left similar query on Olympus SZ20 section. I am tossing up between a Canon 1000HS and an Olympus SZ20. I want a camera for party pic’s and to take pic’s of kids show jumping / sports. Can someone who knows both camera’s please suggest which one I should buy.
PLEASE HELP, I’m not a professional, so don’t want complicated, I just want nice sharp pic’s.

6:52 am - Monday, May 9, 2011

#18 Paris

Canon 1000HS is not a pull out the box and start shooting camera, the images are awful if you use auto, the only way to get a decent image is to switch to program and put the ISO at 100, if using anything more the images are blurry, pixelated with rubbish detail and a greeny yellow tint,

i must point out this is on people only, flowers or small objects in macro are amazing,

just ashame it takes rubbish pictures of people, take a picture of a face and it looks like the eye lashes have disappeared on indoor shots, and you will have a yellow green tint, eye brows look drawn on etc,

auto is hopeless, older canons are much better like the canon 980 IS, best ever compact,

by the way the 310 HS gives pixelated in door images to on faces, it must be something to do with the HS software.

1:28 am - Friday, August 5, 2011

#19 Doug Cowie.

I have the Canon IUX 1000HS. It is a great camera and produces stunning photos. The reports saying it takes poor quality photos is that you can say with any camera in the wrong hands. For me it is just a great camera and many have marveled at my images. It s not for learners. Know the camera before you judge it. The only thing that I can fault is the battery life but just carry an extra and problem solved.

5:44 am - Wednesday, October 10, 2012

#20 Videofotografen

I bought this IXUS 1000 HS for a couple of weeks ago for SEK 1.500.- (ca US$ 200.-) and I really love this camera. I can’t compare it with my Nikon P7100 but I am satisfied with what the 1000 HS can show me.

9:03 pm - Friday, April 19, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, hdmi, beginner, full hd, 10 megapixel, 10x zoom, canon sd4500, sd4500, ixus 1000, canon 1000, Canon IXUS 1000 HS Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry