Canon IXUS 125 HS Review

3.5
March 22, 2012 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

22 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 pete peterson

The specifications are wrong. This is a 5x zoom digicam sporting an f/2.7-5.9 lens.

8:43 am - Friday, March 23, 2012

#2 Warren Lyons

Makes no sense at all to buy this model at anywhere near the suggested price when for a little more you can get a “real” camera like the Sony HX9V, or for a lot less, a Kodak.

9:03 pm - Friday, March 23, 2012

#3 Sigmar

in comparison with the similar Kamera(price/size) “Sony WX50/WX70” the Images are way better.
i just send back the Sony and order the Ixus.

2:30 pm - Sunday, March 25, 2012

#4 Russell

How is it possible that seemingly every tested camera with a built-in flash never causes any red-eye? I find that difficult to believe, and makes me think the testing methodology is flawed.

5:29 pm - Sunday, March 25, 2012

#5 Warren Lyons

Sigmar, are you referring to my comment?  You might just be right about the Sony WX50/70, but the HX9V is a whole other animal, and being “last years’” model can be had for as little as $280. My own feeling regarding cameras in this price range is that you often get more for your money on a discontinued higher end model than the current lower end offering.

6:16 pm - Monday, March 26, 2012

#6 Sigmar

but you cannot compare apples with pears.
The HX9v is way bigger.
The Ixus 125 and the WX50 are the half smaller and nearly double the weight

8:02 am - Tuesday, March 27, 2012

#7 yin93

which 1 better is compare to IXUS 230 HS?

3:12 pm - Sunday, April 1, 2012

#8 Katml

I wonder the same thing, is the IXUS 230 HS better than this?

2:42 pm - Tuesday, April 3, 2012

#9 Arjun

Yaa…. I also need to know, whether IXUS 230 HS is better than this?
IXUS 230 - DIGIC 4 processsor
IXUS 125 - DIGIC 5
So the latter should perform well…
But this site gave “highly recommended” status to the 230 HS and juz “above average” to 125 HS.

3:33 am - Sunday, April 15, 2012

#10 Katml

Amazon had ipthe 125 HS for $199.99, same price as the 230 HS, so I went for it and just purchased the 125HS as it was even cheaper than some of the colours

3:53 pm - Sunday, April 15, 2012

#11 Maesstro

I just got my IXUS 125. It is made in Malaysia!

Any opinions on this?

9:14 am - Tuesday, June 19, 2012

#12 oomiwan

ehm…is there something wrong with my eyes? in my opinion the image quality of Ixus 125 is much better & clearer than 220 or 230, especially in ISO 100, but the ISO 1600 % 3200 are brighter too, this must be the digic 5.

wonder why it’s got only 3.5 for features, while those two got 4, what feature 125 misses?
and image quality? I compare the pictures of the same lady in 125 and 220, though the ISO and f-number are a bit different, but the difference in detail and sharpness are very significant, you can see for yourself, how come it got only 3.5 and 220 and 230 got 4 and 4.5 respectively, I think that’s unfair judgement

P.S. and about value for money, it deserves 3.5 if they sell it higher than 230, but some shops sell it $10 cheaper than ixus 230

4:50 pm - Saturday, June 30, 2012

#13 ad

just get the casio zr 100

3:06 pm - Tuesday, July 24, 2012

#14 Rajeev Rao Gautam

I have purchased brand new camera model IXUS HS125 from Vijay Sales. After two weeks, I have tried to get capture some picture in night and found there is some problem in flash due to which my brand new camera is unable to get captured clear picture. I have reported this problem to one of the Canon service center which is located at Barakhamaba Road, New Delhi and asked genuine question why this problem is occurred as it is brand new camera and I have used first time to get some picture after my purchase. I have raised this concern and asked for DAO to get new camera replacement of my camera but they people deny to do this and enforcing me, this device require to get it checked by engineer. If problem persist then we will repair accordingly. I am very much confused as I did mistake to purchase this one or have purchased second camera. They representative did listen anything as customer point of view.

7:11 am - Monday, September 3, 2012

#15 Kal

The IXUS 125 HS and the IXUS 240 HS have:

1. Identical 16MP CMOS sensors
2. Identical 5x Zoom lens systems
3. Identical DIGIC5 processors

This being the case, I would expect them to have identical image quality (save unit to unit variations). So, it is surprising to me that the image quality here is rated 3.5 stars, versus 4 stars for the 240 HS. Any theories on why that may be?

7:53 pm - Wednesday, September 5, 2012

#16 Hassan

I just purchased Ixus 125 HS first and it was just great for indoor shooting purpose then i replaced it by power shot SX240 HS and i just get disappointed by its result. Ixus 125 HS is really a great camera and produce excellent quality images indoor. Power Shot SX240 HS is only for travelers and it doesn’t produce good detail at all of indoor images. indoor shooting is much nosier and softer if we compare it with Ixus 125 HS. I am gonna replace my camera again with Ixus 125 HS. It’s really compact and easy to take shots in auto mode. Power shot SX has so many manual features which is hard to manage and understandable.

8:41 pm - Friday, September 21, 2012

#17 Denish Limbu

i just got a the ixus 125 hs. I read the review and i’m confused, how to utilize the shutter speed of 15 - 1/2000 sec and aperture f/2.7 - f/5.9 while taking photos. is it possible or not can anyone help ?
and also i choose this ixus over sx160 because of the battery life, was it a good decision ?

6:14 pm - Friday, November 9, 2012

#18 candide

i have both cameras and i can attest that they have same image quality in every way. i tested them both on same circunstances and the results are identical.i think they are great value for the money and in terms of detail they come very close to canon’s own s100 which i also tested together with elph 110 and 320.

6:37 am - Friday, February 8, 2013

#19 RAbbi

Does the Phone support the Plasma photo quality??????????

10:24 am - Tuesday, March 19, 2013

#20 AcID1337

$121 @ amazon.co.uk atm. ^^

3:25 pm - Friday, May 24, 2013

#21 Mopi

Having an Ixus 125 delivered, at the moment it’s somewhere in Germany but should be in Ireland by end of the day. Bought it from Pixmania for 99 euro [$135]. The Ixus 132 is on sale for under e90 [$125] which is the better value, do you think?
I have an Ixus 95 but I want better video capabilities especially when on holidays and skiing.

3:29 am - Tuesday, October 29, 2013

#22 Jasmine

I have IXUS 125 for 18 months and I´m still satisfy to keep that, because:
- It is very light and have many options as a compact camera compare to those semi-SLR sizes that always are like a ball and difficult to carry in every bags. I like it because I can carry that like my cellphone everywhere and not like something extra in a special bag or etc.
- second and more important is that the saving speed of canon to be ready for next shot is much faster than sony (colors is sony are sharper) but for photography of fast objects (like animals) I absolutely prefer my baby canon.

4:43 pm - Friday, December 5, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, 16 megapixel, full hd, 5x zoom, manual, 24mm, ELPH 110 HS, ixus 125 hs, Canon ELPH 110 HS Review, Canon IXUS 125 HS Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry