Canon IXUS 220 HS Review

4.0
April 8, 2011 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

36 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 kelsci

Looked at a few videos on youtube from this unit. Videos in full hd looked quite good. Could not tell about the sound quality though.

3:53 am - Saturday, April 9, 2011

#2 Roger

Really?  This small digital camera can record HD videos?  25 fps or 20 fps?  Thanks.

9:14 pm - Sunday, April 10, 2011

#3 zebarnabe

Roger,

On PB there is a specification entry on the review:

“(Full HD) 1920 x 1080, 24 fps, (HD) 1280 x 720, 30 fps, (L) 640 x 480, 30 fps, (M) 320 x 240, 30 fps
Super Slow Motion Movie (L) 120fps, (M) 240fps
Miniature Effect (HD, L) 6fps, 3fps, 1.5 fps
iFrame Movie (HD)”

I just hope the camera prioritizes a shutter speed of 1/48 or 1/50 ...

With less megapixels than Panasonic, it seems that Canon is providing cameras with better image quality (at least when comparing TZ20 with SX230 HS) while maintaining a substantial feature set.

5:22 pm - Tuesday, April 12, 2011

#4 Jacques

What wonders me reading reviews on this kind of camera’s is that all the attention goes to how the make photo’s. Video is hardly tested. Not only this website, all origenal photocamera reviewsites do this. On the other side camcorder reviewsites don’t take this camera’s serious and never review them.
Last week I had the change of testing both the Canon Ixus 220 HS and the Nikon Coolpix P300. To me photo’s from both camera’s where quit similar in quality, there are good reviews for that on this website. But what I want to share is that in my opinion the video quality of these two camera’s are very different.
Where both produced good video aiming at one point, only the Canon produced smooth pannings and camera moves, and did oke while zooming,
The Nikon had a lot of trouble keeping focus at one point and keeping the exposure stable. Sometimes focus was slightly of during a clip of 6-7 seconds. This easely occurs when shooting handheld where the subject has many little details like trees and brick houses. The focus is searching a lot, noticable on a computerscreen, on a modern TV less. But worse is the exposure, what seems to want to react on the smallest change, even the little shake of your hand, to correct the exposure in noticable steps. Like I said, this does not happen all the time, but depends on cicumstances and how steady your hand is. In my case about 25% of the footage from the Nikon suffered from one of both of this issues. With the Canon it was almost none.
You could lock both AF and exposure, but then it’s not really a P&S camera anymore. And even with both locked, the exposure is going from darker to lighter to darker etc. while zooming.
So the problem probably has to do with the way the pixels are proccessed. I guess Nikon just doesn’t have the experience of video proccessing that Canon has.
While I can highly recommend the Canon for video, it does have a few minors. First of course that stupid videobutton on the back. There is no reason to put it there. Canon should have sticked to the design of the Ixus 100, where a switch put the camera in video or photo mode. That way you can startup in videomode, make your composition before and you don’t have to move your hand while filming to use the zoom or get a firm grip on the camera. To me that button is just a marketing trick.
Second there is no exposure compensation in video mode. While the camera does a good job exposing, even at high contrast situations the exposure mostly stays within correctable values (on the computer) there could be situations where this is not true. Maybe a good idea for a software update.
The same for the Nikon. Good hardware, but it needs a big software update to improve the video performance.
For those looking for the Canon video quality and a lightstrong lens like the Nikon, should have a look at the Canon Ixus 310 HS, that is if you like a virtual videobutton on the touchscreen.
When will they ever make a camera to my liking??

11:22 pm - Wednesday, April 13, 2011

#5 Michael

Thank you for your reviews.

After reading IXUS 220 HS,  PowerShoot 230 HS and Nikon S8100/S9100 reviews , I decided to buy something better and more expensive (Canon 500D SLR kit ).
Just because the image quality.
The small Point and Shoot cameras with FullHD are still noisy ...

2:09 pm - Thursday, April 28, 2011

#6 dion

Im disappointed with the overall performance from 220hs. images that ive taken, was so reddish.. is it only my 220 hs, or anyone has the same issue? then, the image was not so crisp. i miss my lumix tz-5..

7:46 am - Wednesday, May 25, 2011

#7 Ian M

I’m looking for a digital compact with HD and good sound quality - in particular the ability to pick up a good range of sounds.

Myself and a friend do a lot of filming on aircraft. During take-off my old Ixus 750 doesn’t pick up the higher pitched engine sounds as well as my friend’s Ixus 100HS, but on landing with the deeper thrust reverser sounds, my Ixus 750 does a much better job than the Ixus 100HS.

What I would really like for these situations is a compact which can adequately deal with both situations. Any reccomendations?

I wish it was possible to get a true compact with an external microphone jack.

5:52 am - Saturday, June 11, 2011

#8 john

in the nightshot sample image: http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/canon_ixus_220_hs/sample_images/canon_ixus_220_hs_27.jpg

was it taken on Auto mode or did you have to change any settings?

11:12 am - Sunday, July 3, 2011

#9 AL

HONESTLY JACQUES I DO NOT BELEIVE that the canon is a great performer on the video side.the lens is always out of focus.the image is blurry when you are zooming and recording.
I HAVE TESTED 3 of those at different level in different shops and many people have reported the same issue so how come you fail to mention this when testing against the nikkon?
there is a big flaw on the canon lens.the focus also goes from dark to light and vice versa.
canon should have looked at this before shipping these.so far i’m sticking to my lumix TZ10 as i always get sharp videos.
bulkier than the canon but at least i get good videos.

10:27 pm - Sunday, July 3, 2011

#10 TVNshack

Sound quality is good. Better than on my G10.

Video are 29.97 fps @ 25mbit/s in 720p and 23.98 fps @ 35mbit/s in 1080p

10:24 am - Sunday, July 17, 2011

#11 Canon User and Abuser

A little story: I must confess i had few money to offer for a digital compact camera. I always used Canon and Nikon cameras, even reflex. Last year i’ve lost my Canon Ixus 100is, and this year I finally had the chance of getting a new camera. I’ve bought the Olympus VR 310, but first I’ve tried the VR 130. Well, my comments about this cameras are in VR 130’s review - comments, but I loved the photographic potential of both cameras, specially the 10x optical zoom and lens quality of VR 310. However, fast-forwarding the story… 4 days after I was paying extra 80 euros for the Canon Ixus 220… I am a happy man now! Canon - definitely. period.

5:05 am - Thursday, August 4, 2011

#12 Jayraj Krishnan

This is generic statement as I have used many cameras but not the one under review here - canon 220 HS.

From my experience Canon Ixus (called elph in some parts) is the ultimate in compact cameras. Image Quality, style and carryability well combined. Earlier they were pricey. Now even that’s gone. You can buy any Ixus and you wont go wrong. Cant say that about all compact Nikons or compact Olympuses. But some compact Sonys are nearly as good.

8:50 pm - Tuesday, August 23, 2011

#13 Diane

I wonder how the reviewer can take pictures in the 10Mp mode. I haven’t found that option yet..

12:45 pm - Wednesday, August 24, 2011

#14 Lucamax

I do not agree with AL while I agree with Jacques.My Canon 220 have excellent video performances, focus is a little slow when making videos but it is not disturbing. Photos have a very good quality. I use it for aerial videos on a drone and it is simply the best weight vs performance choice, better than popular Go-Pro HD.
The main defect of the 220HS is while shooting a video , the exposure when scene goes from clear sky to darker scene is quite slow to change to new luminosity level.

11:21 am - Saturday, November 5, 2011

#15 vyvas

@ dion.. reddish images are not an issue.. set the white balance manually or try to use another preset balance until you get neutal colors.. panasonic is no match for canon in image quality, atleast in the compact section

see

http://www.digitalversus.com/guide-white-balancing-photography-article-854.html

9:30 am - Sunday, November 13, 2011

#16 Suyog

Hi,
The specifications on this site say the camera is suited for functioning in temperature range of 0 to 40 degree C “(Operating Environment   0 – 40 °C, 10 – 90% humidity)”, however i’ll have to use my camera in temperatures below zero.(in the likes of -5 to -10 degree).

Should I purchase this ?

7:13 pm - Saturday, December 17, 2011

#17 Calle

This is the best compact I’ve had so far. Photos are overall great, and the night-steady-hand mode utilizes some sort of image stabilization that truly makes it possible to shoot during night, without using a tripod. Of course it’s never like using a tripod, but in my case, it overcome my expectations. Furthermore, the video function is a real blast. I have a shitty old 2GB SD card, so I’m usually kickin’ it 720p, but even at this “lower HD” quality, it looks great. The quality of the videos really kill anything made with my old Sony (DV) Handycam. Oh, I haven’t noticed any distortion either. Of course, perspective gets pretty wicked at widest lens setting, but that’s natural. However, some vignetting will in some cases occur when shooting with lens at it’s widest setting. So, what can you expect? The price is great, seeing what you get. I fully recommend this point-and-shooter.

7:14 pm - Friday, January 6, 2012

#18 Marius

Hello. I am new to photography. recently Bought this camera and was a bit disappointed. Though it has 12.1 MP picture quality is lower than Sony’s 7 MP camera. Could someone explain me why is this?

8:37 pm - Tuesday, March 6, 2012

#19 Rohail AKS

Please suggest me a good camera between Canon Powershot 230, and Canon IXUS 230 or IXUS 220, I’m looking to buy a good camera of canon with range of approx 200-250$ so any other canon model suggestion could also be a great help!

6:51 pm - Wednesday, March 21, 2012

#20 zebarnabe

Rohail AKS,
It comes to a personal preference, Powershot SX220 HS, (identical to SX230 HS, but without GPS) it is probably the best deal right now, bare in mind that it suffers a bit from chromatic aberrations and the battery performance is not that great.

Wide angle is not the best on 220/230, some other brands have better wide angle in some of their models, if you like landscape photography you should look at them as well.

Some new cameras (Canon models included) are coming, but price wise they will be quite more expensive in comparison.

2:07 pm - Thursday, March 22, 2012

#21 Rohail AKS

@zebarnabe

Thanks for a quick reply, I’d bought IXUX-230 a day after my previous post, happy with it’s features and outstanding images quality, few days earlier I took a demo of IXUS-220 and found considerable difference in build qualities of IXUS220 and IXUS230, i found Ixus-220 have much better built quality e.g chrome metallic body which really feels like a metal but my IXUS 230 mostly feels like a plastic and Don’t gives any metallic feel, Wondering why Canon makes such downgrading in successor model of 220.

1:42 pm - Wednesday, April 18, 2012

#22 Aris

Positive
- Video HD is good and also the sound is stereo
- Built in Quality
- take picture without flash is still good and acceptable

Negative
- take picture with flash seem feel too hard on skin
- flash position is bad, will have side dark on bottom left side on wide

7:41 am - Thursday, May 10, 2012

#23 DavidK

Love this camera. Complements my big Nikons - never fails to take excellent photos and videos. Have taken it on 3 trips and used it in all conditions. Video is great including sound quality. Of course, the operator needs to take care to get the best results. I found that a class 10 card made a difference. It’s nearly always in my pocket.
DK Melbourne.au

3:00 am - Saturday, May 12, 2012

#24 fallofsaigon

I’ve had this camera two weeks and have used it in a variety of situations.  Haven’t had one image from it that i would consider acceptably sharp.  I had an Ixus 3 or 4 years ago and the quality from that was great.  The styling and form factor, build quality are superb.  But in what really matters - image quality - this camera is terrible.

10:45 pm - Tuesday, May 29, 2012

#25 Del Bernard

i think this is the greatest cheaper compact camera in the world for this present !! great photo quality, great HD recording !! but just one weakness is focus does not stable !

7:09 am - Wednesday, May 30, 2012

#26 Om Arsu

just bought this afternoon. But I am surprised, it only uses single aperture at all focal length, which is the maximum. There is no way you can use smaller apertures even using ‘landscape’ setting. this is very disappointing.

4:26 pm - Saturday, June 9, 2012

#27 zebarnabe

Om Arsu, IXUS is all about style and simplicity, Powershot is all about giving you the power over the shot. But not all is lost, if you feel like it give a try to CHDK, it is a alpha release for the ixus 220 but might make your camera a lot better feature wise.

8:36 pm - Saturday, June 9, 2012

#28 kochan

i’ve been watching a lot of this camera test video.. there are some occasions on some videos look blurry, but some are not.. do you think the problem in the setting? autofocus should be turned off maybe?

3:04 am - Sunday, September 9, 2012

#29 Mohan Arekar

UNSUPPORTED AUDIO message flashing on screen of my smart TV when I play videos shooted by this camera, Why?

3:16 pm - Thursday, February 7, 2013

#30 Yogesh

Hi…

I got Canon Ixus 220 HS, i am very disappointed when it come to images of pink color with white mix…the are not crisp, i can see no clean edges….

can you tell me if i can correct this with any settings?

9:42 am - Tuesday, May 7, 2013

#31 jaywii

yes i agree with AL.
i own this camera and the video is really crappy.
you can’t zoom while video-ing else the video taken would be totally blurry and it keeps going out of focus which annoys the hell outta me.

one little shake of your hands, and the video becomes blur. really really really lousy camera for video taking.

1:47 am - Wednesday, July 3, 2013

#32 TZH

I love this camera. I’ve had it since it came out. My Ixus 220HS was the black model but the paint has come off because my sweat seems to corrode nearly anything.

My favorite things about the camera:

1. price is really great for all the things you get!
2. the auto setting is very good. I’m no photographer but it sure takes great shots w/o me messing w/ the controls.
3. its compact and goes w/ me anywhere I go!
4. the video recorder is fantastic, perfect for lots of sports
5. video quality is very good, I love the wide-angle lens

Things I want improved:
1. the battery life is pretty short. I need two batteries if my family goes to Disneyland
2. the camera runs pretty hot w/ heavy use
3. the paint comes off very easily! I had to scrape mine with a spoon to get to the metal finish below. now it looks better. the next camera I’ll buy will probably have a composite or plastic surface
4. it does not do very well with very low light settings.


I still love this camera, I’ll use it until it breaks. :-)

2:48 am - Monday, October 7, 2013

#33 TZH

addendum:

yeah, the flash needs improvement and there are dark parts on the lower corners.

2:50 am - Monday, October 7, 2013

#34 hilda lou

I have had this camera for 2 years and on the whole I am really pleased with it. I have been looking to find out why the results were disappointing when I used it recently at a wedding. I set it at low light in the venue and results are not good. It seems the resolution reduces to 3.5 mega pixels at low light. I have excellent results with the video quality and made a really good video of a wedding in Greece. Also I took some fabulous pics of flowers this summer. It seems the key is getting the lighting right. I am going to another wedding soon at the same venue and I wonder if I should set the camera on automatic for the entire time??

12:19 pm - Monday, January 13, 2014

#35 Arisen

Does this camera have sepia mode? (that’s one of my favorite modes). Thanks for answer in advance!

5:48 pm - Monday, June 2, 2014

#36 John

Can someone help me please.

I’ve tried1080p and 720p but cant get a video longer than a minute. (25 seconds max on 1080p!)

What am i doing wrong? I have an 8GB card.

6:49 pm - Thursday, September 11, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, compact, 1080p, 12 megapixel, full hd, 2.7 inch LCD, 5x zoom, 24mm, back illuminated, PowerShot ELPH 300 HS, ixus 220 hs, Canon PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Review, Canon IXUS 220 HS Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry