Canon IXUS 230 HS Review

4.5
November 3, 2011 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

17 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 J. Stanton

“the lack of chromatic aberration shows the high quality of the lenses.”

Actually, this camera has the worst chromatic aberration I’ve seen on any camera to date, as is clearly visible in your example shots. Every high-contrast edge perpendicular to the center of the screen has both a green and a red side.

All the recent Canons clearly display this problem, though the 310HS is the worst.

For that matter, all the recent cameras with CMOS sensors have clearly visible chromatic aberration, ranging from moderate to severe. I wonder if this is a characteristic of the 12MP and greater backlit CMOS sensors?

At least the 310HS doesn’t use the 16MP CMOS sensor, which produces unusably noisy output in every camera I’ve seen it used - or, alternatively, requires ridiculous noise reduction that makes foliage look like it was painted by Claude Monet.

It’s dismaying that I can’t find a single modern pocket camera with picture quality equal to the average 6-8MP Canon ELPH of 3-5 years ago. I hope some company gets it together to realize that more megapixels is producing objectively worse photographs with less dynamic range and more noise.

JS

3:16 am - Friday, November 4, 2011

#2 syaz

FINALLY! someone who agrees that the Canon Elph was the best!!! i can’t find ANYTHING that can beat my Ixus 860… This looks like its the best, but im fearing it wont be as good as my ixus 860.. is it?... IS IT??!?! please help.. i need a new camera cuz i lost mine… thanksss

12:22 pm - Friday, November 4, 2011

#3 Mad Hungarian

Canon needs to stop dumping garbage on the US consumers and remember that when the financial crisis is over people will remember exactly who was trying to fool them with sub-par mass produced junk.
We don’t care about some fancy color, we care about an honest 100% Made in Japan quality Canon product.

4:43 pm - Saturday, November 5, 2011

#4 CHFels

J. Stanton, I don’t see what you see re chromatic aberrations.  Compared to the simultaneousy reviewed ixus 1100 HS, or the popular PowerShot SX220/230 HS, this camera seems to have much less of a problem with CA.  In the latter pair of cameras, every tree photographed against a bright sky looks like a jacaranda in bloom.

What does surprise me in the sample photos is the number of photos with major blown highlights.  In theory this shouldn’t be the camera’s fault; according to TechRadar (http://www.techradar.com/news/photography-video-capture/cameras/canon-ixus-230-hs-review-techradar-labs-data-1033342) this camera has excellent dynamic range.  Was the iContrast feature disabled?

Webmaster, why do I get “403 Forbidden” if I try to open a sample photo in a new tab?

This Canon looks like a winner for the price!

9:37 am - Monday, November 7, 2011

#5 Pavel

It seems that Canon likes Samsung’s design..;)

8:33 pm - Thursday, November 10, 2011

#6 Keith Black

This is the camera my little sister said she wanted for Christmas. This is actually how I found your website, looking for a good review about this specific model.

I love my cameras but for someone that just wants to take pictures for her Facebook page and while in college, this is a good enough camera.


@Mad, This is not a bad camera. Not everyone needs bells and whistles. The colors are cool for those that are not into cameras, like you ans I. Go easy man. :0)

4:03 am - Monday, November 14, 2011

#7 bill

The Canon is the second best compact in this ‘super zoom’ range (£200ish) the Nikon S9100 is the best camera but is a little ‘bulky’ in comparison to the ultra slim Canon Ixus 230HS.

I actually bought both of them and spent a few days with each, the Nikon is quite superior (and has a much loger optical zoom) but the Canon is tiny in comparision and is ultra quick in low light conditions (without flash).

In addition, the results from the the Canon are slightly better (or as good as…) than the Nikon (it is very close!), if you can live with the bulk of the Nikon it is a better camera but the Canon is quick, good and tiny, just the thing for a three week trip to Las Vegas where an SLR would be far too bulky. Bill-london

2:51 am - Friday, December 2, 2011

#8 Rita

where can I buy the Canon Ixus 230 MADE IN JAPAN.
I’ve been to Jessops & Camera World Ixus 230 in their shop is “made in China”
P.s I live in Essex UK.

3:51 pm - Thursday, December 8, 2011

#9 Evolet Pearl

i like this one.Starting from its specification to its damn cool look and last but not the least the brand name canon is always the one u can rely on.

11:12 am - Friday, January 20, 2012

#10 dion

video sound quality very bad.. :(
muffle sound and not like stereo

but, image quality and focusing are decent

12:54 pm - Friday, May 18, 2012

#11 Shakeel Ahmad Awan

Advise me which one is good for a beginner

Canon IXUS 230 HS or Canon IXUS 220 HS

6:54 pm - Monday, May 21, 2012

#12 dion

@ Shakeel Ahmad Awan: for image quality and overall performance, pick 230 hs. I had use 220hs, and 230hs much better.

1:09 pm - Monday, May 28, 2012

#13 oomiwan

Yes, I agree with the first two comments, It’s ridiculous that instead of educating people about the real thing, camera producers chose to get carried away and follow them to race for the bigger pixels, just the way they like to get another bigger P*n**

IMHO it’s better if if they put a bigger sensor, let’s say 1/1.7 or better 2/3 and keep the pixels at around 4-6 MP, rather than cramming a tiny 1/2.3 with crowded teens mega pixels

2:26 am - Thursday, June 21, 2012

#14 oomiwan

movie can’t be downloaded, error 404

8:57 am - Thursday, June 28, 2012

#15 Kalpesh

Hi There,

I just got this camera and its jus wonderful! the images are just rich, and sharp, one can even see the shadows! incredible detail.. and one cant go wrong with canon cameras. yes, i do agree that with this price i could’ve gotten something with higher reso n bigger zoom and wifi, but it boils down to one thing… Image quality. thats wat camera is made for.. the pic quality is remarkable, even when shot in low lights.. def recommend to but this, its an upgraded version of ixus 220. :-=)

4:25 pm - Thursday, December 6, 2012

#16 shubham

i m a begginer what i can say is my canon ixus230hs is a best partner of mine during all my occasions outing colleg tym and offcourse when i feel delighted to fulfilling my photography passion even in low light with my canon ixus 230hs

10:59 am - Sunday, December 1, 2013

#17 Andry Lie

I have this camera for 1 year replacing my Ixus 85 to use along my Canon 60D. I love this camera for the price, excellent quality for its class. Video is useless, the sound is horrible. I would recommend it for a day to day camera.

6:02 pm - Wednesday, January 1, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, compact, 1080p, 12 megapixel, 2.7 inch LCD, full hd, 28mm, 8x zoom, back illuminated, PowerShot ELPH 310 HS, ixus 230 hs, Canon PowerShot ELPH 310 HS Review, Canon IXUS 230 HS Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry