Canon IXUS 255 HS Review

4.5
April 19, 2013 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

18 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Pavel

still no panorama mode in Canon compacts ?

6:10 pm - Friday, April 19, 2013

#2 Rob Mac

Good on Canon for not falling for the megapixel race with their new HS CMOS sensors and lowering them to 12 MP instead of 16 or 18MP. I have a G15 HS and an
SX220HS both with 12MP sensors and the low light performance is great for such small sensors.

9:24 am - Saturday, April 20, 2013

#3 r f jukes

Appears ideal in every sense but NO Viewfinder. I remember standing on the edge of a field in Surrey 2 years ago in bright but not blinding sunlight using a Fujifilm 200EXR and with not the slightest idea of what the camera was taking. I would pay another £50 for this camera if it had a viewfinder. As it is the aged FZ28 survives for a bit longer. Is it beyond the wit of man to provide a viewfinder on a small camera with a reasonable zoom like this one? Doesn’t have to be high quality, I just want a broad idea of what the camera is seeing.

12:53 pm - Saturday, April 20, 2013

#4 BlackBox

I have a predecessor of this camera and my advice - buy a silver one. On black ones they use plastic that looks and feels like fine sandpaper - EXTREMELY unpleasant. Silver ones are fine in that aspect. I really like IXUSes. Inexpensive but quite capable. Don’t try to compare them to something with a mirror and a 4-digit price tag, though. As an every day point-and-shooters, they are probably the best.

5:00 am - Monday, April 22, 2013

#5 Beta Test

This camera is the BEST small compact that Canon has produced to date, and a worthy successor to my old Powershot. Image quality is truly outstanding for a camera this small and at this price point. It is almost the equal of my more expensive Interchangeable Lens Camera (ILC)!

Only complaints are no RAW mode, and EVF, although a camera this small will never have an EVF.

9:25 am - Friday, May 3, 2013

#6 indysteve

starting to rival entry dslr. fantastic iq from that size sensor. canon can still outshine the others when provoked. 510hs and sx280 are very fine also with that small sensor

5:03 pm - Tuesday, June 4, 2013

#7 DAVID

Just got it so still finding out. Seems perfect for travel, casual and everyday use, and on account of compact size and decent pictures, likely to be there when you need it. My main gripe is not the battery cover (mentioned in the review) but the plug cover. Low spec, flimsy and looks easily breakable. Looking forward to using this little gem box.

11:32 am - Saturday, July 13, 2013

#8 Donna Lustica

I have a canon EOS which is too bulky to take on a 3 week holiday.  After a lot of looking around for a compact camera, finally decided on this one.  Took the camera on our holiday.  It is excellent for travel.  Great night shots, better than expected video.  And so compact I was able to take it everywhere.

2:13 am - Sunday, July 21, 2013

#9 mery

if i buy the IXUS 255 is a best camera ? nice photos and videos?

and some questions about this nice camera:

1) what is the problem to have the FullHD video “only” at 24 ft/s ?
is a big prolem or ?

2) there is a solution to eliminate the “limit” at ONLY 10 minutes
of record an movie ? if yes in how mode ?


I see in this site:

http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/CHDK

no solution in this web site ?

sorry for my bad english, thanks for help me….

11:29 am - Tuesday, July 30, 2013

#10 Saundra Ann

I am totally new at this and have not found a decent site or manual that takes you through the simple steps for working with this camera.  I have searched and still have not found the answer to how to delete all images at the same time instead of individually.  I cannot identify with the oranges bands of information and all that it entails.  Whatever happened to the good old-fashioned manuals that came along with a camera—this one sucks.

3:23 pm - Sunday, September 22, 2013

#11 stephennic

Hi,

Just looking at this model ixus 255 or Sx280. Which has better image in low light and normal light. Which is easier to do panorama function on. Both are on sale on the moment. Any advice would be helpful. Thanks.
Steve.

10:51 am - Saturday, November 16, 2013

#12 mery

help….no system to eliminate the limit of 10 mninutes of record the movie video ? no CHK or solutions ?

1:29 pm - Saturday, November 16, 2013

#13 Henny

I used to own an Ixus 300HS which I loved for picture quality and camera weight. Although extremely compact, it was sturdy. Is the Ixus 255HS, which is a less expensive model, but which has had rave reviews, anywhere near comparable?

11:13 pm - Wednesday, November 20, 2013

#14 Manoj

After using canon 225 for 5 days I got the following impression about the camera.

Easy to use
Ideal camera for travel
Responsive

Weakness:
Image quality is just average
Photos are soft when downloaded on the computer.

Many glowing reviews about the image quality of the camera is far from true. Images taken and compared with my old kodak and Panasonic camera will give this camera a run for its money.

 

1:01 am - Tuesday, December 17, 2013

#15 David

I’ve used the camera for about six months now and agree that images are not as crisp as one would want. However there has to be some compromise at this price and small size. I find that its too slow when fast shooting is required but fine for casual snaps. Its not a marvel but still a reasonable buy. Probably better options exist by now though.

5:03 am - Tuesday, December 17, 2013

#16 Diana K.

Question:
My Dad bought this Camera and is wondering IF and how you turn the Volume on, up & down, and off during Video and while watching it on View setting.
Can anybody answer this Question for me? or has a link?

6:26 pm - Monday, May 12, 2014

#17 mery

it’s true .... my very old and economics powershot 710is only 5MPixel to do musch best photos !!!

my have a big problem, sometimes say battery low or power off !!! is a fault on the door in plastic for closed tha battery pack !

VERY disappointment for this camera and CANON !

very bad !!!

6:43 pm - Monday, May 12, 2014

#18 Buckaroo

Just ignore the people above who say its images are mediocre.

This camera is well worth your money and its image quality is great. Just compare it with the newer IXUS 265 and you will understand why. Maybe it is because Canon installed Digic 5 image processor on this camera and installed the older Digic 4 on the NEWER Ixus 265.

I wonder if Canon is trying to cheat people, they seem to be going backwards!

But don’t let that bother you, this camera is still the best Ixus to date.

5:13 am - Tuesday, July 8, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, 12 megapixel, wi-fi, wireless, full hd, canon, 24mm, 10x zoom, powershot, wi fi, 10x, ixus, elph, Canon PowerShot ELPH 330 HS Review, PowerShot ELPH 330 HS, Canon IXUS 255 HS Review, ixus 255 hs

Tracker Pixel for Entry