Canon Pixma MP980 Review

4.0
July 3, 2009 | Jon Canfield | Printer Reviews |

Printing

The primary reason you'll be looking at one of these devices though is most likely the printing. The Canon Pixma MP980 includes automatic duplex printing, making it easy to print on both sides of the page, and is reasonably fast at printing normal documents. But, we're interested in photo printing here. Here the MP980 does an amazingly good job. I ran both glossy and luster photo papers through with a series of test images that include hard to reproduce colors like red and blue, as well as grayscale tones to check for neutrality in the prints (Figure 4).

The Canon Pixma MP980 has two feed paths - a cassette for normal weight papers, and a rear feed for heavier photo papers like Canon's Fine Art Rag. Both paper paths can be loaded at the same time with the user selecting the correct path in the print driver (heavy paper types will automatically select the rear feed path). Canon includes profiles for gloss/semi-gloss, matte, photo rag, and their new high-end Platinum series papers. I found the quality of these profiles to be uniformly good, although I was able to improve detail in the denser blacks by building my own custom profiles with a DataColor SpyderPrint.

Canon Pixma MP980
Figure 4

Color accuracy with is excellent - good reds and skin tones as well as accurate greens. Overall, the prints tend to come out about ½ stop too bright though, losing some detail in white and light skin tones. I compensated for this in the driver to correct and was happier with the results. There is a slight amount of bronzing, or gloss differential in the blacks that can be seen when viewing the prints from an angle.

Although the Canon Pixma MP980 has a dedicated gray ink cartridge and a grayscale mode, I found that prints done in grayscale had a green cast to them that wasn't present when printing in color mode. The gray ink does give prints a smoother tonal range than previous models, with no apparent banding in gray ramps that were problematic with previous four color printers.

The MP980 supports printing on heavier fine art papers and does a beautiful job with these, coming close in quality to the Pixma Pro 9000 printer (an eight color dye ink printer).

Entry Tags

wireless, canon, printer, scanner, bluetooth, all in one, pixma, AIO, Canon Pixma MP980, mp 980, mp980

Tracker Pixel for Entry

Your Comments

13 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 erica mueller

Looks like a pretty good little printer… an amateur photographer’s dream.

Personally, I have to have the document feeder. I also need speed since I run a short run printing business. For me, the Epson Artisan 800 fits the bill.

2:51 am - Saturday, July 4, 2009

#2 Shawn Michael

A nice blog containing full information of quality cartridges. Please see our website .. thanx for visiting this blog.

1:27 pm - Monday, July 6, 2009

#3 Glenn Fernandes

Canon Pixma MP980 printer can print, scan, copy, and e-mail.The Canon Pixma MP 980 printer is designed very well with a silver and glossy black body.The printer also does well on graphics. The text prints are of average quality. For more details refer http://www.etechreviews.net/canon-pixma-mp980-printer-reviews/

8:13 am - Wednesday, July 29, 2009

#4 Marie K.

Thank you for this informative past.  I purchased one of these on the advice of my camera shop guy, and have been very happy with it for the most part.  I am glad you mentioned it could print on the heavier art papers, as I am a painter, and will probably be printing occasional artwork. Mostly I use it for printing photos that I am going to paint from.  I have noticed some (very) faint lines when printing-this is my only fault with the printer.

6:58 pm - Wednesday, August 12, 2009

#5 Roger Andersen

Be adviced!!! This printer is eating your ink really fast.
Best tip to save ink is to leave the printer with power on at all time. This is becase of the printers excesive head cleaning.

2:33 pm - Saturday, August 15, 2009

#6 nintendo dsi r4

I have now been using this printer/scanner for over two weeks. This replaces an old HP multifunction device which had problems with my Mac when printing over the network.

6:58 am - Monday, December 21, 2009

#7 Davo

I had a R310 which was an exellent printer but struggled to feed the heavier photo paper

8:27 am - Wednesday, May 25, 2011

#8 les wollam

will you be review in new printers soon? i realize the big demand is for cameras, especially compacts, and lenses, but i’d love to see more printer reviews, esp. low end ones. i’m going to have to replace my r-1900 soon

5:48 pm - Saturday, August 27, 2011

#9 Conrad

To be avoided!!!
Although it prints very nicely and scans well, it drinks your inks very quickly…
Furthermore, when your out of black/grey ink it won’t even let you scan a document without printing. Pretty disappointed.

8:10 pm - Sunday, September 9, 2012

#10 Kathy Blackmore

A bit pricey but great quality and the scanner works extremely well. If I could afford to get a more expensive printer I would defiantly consider this.

Thanks for the review!

Kathy Blackmore | Cartridge Shop

1:47 pm - Wednesday, November 28, 2012

#11 Matthew

My MP980 is drinking ink as of late, inks don’t even last a week from new. I’ve been a big fan of Canon for over 12 years and have printed many pictures on these machines, I bought 4 over the years.  This one is going in the trash. I am looking into other brands now.  Thanks A ton Canon!

12:29 am - Sunday, January 20, 2013

#12 Lewis

I know that printing photo or a document using the Canon Pixma MP980 is highly cost effective. All the manufacture recommends using the original ink cartridge for quality printing. It’s really good news anyone can use ink refill to reactivate the original cartridge with its smooth work and lower the printing cost.  Check this how.

12:41 pm - Wednesday, March 27, 2013

#13 Jo

I’ve had this printer for several years and love it but the document feeders have finally stopped working . Is there a newer model that is comparable with the same functions?

10:54 am - Wednesday, January 29, 2014