Canon PowerShot A3400 IS Review

4.5
August 7, 2012 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

17 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 nick192

4.5 for image quality? I don’t think so.

3:47 pm - Tuesday, August 7, 2012

#2 Chandrasekar

good camera great image quality, but you already reviewed this camera

4:09 pm - Tuesday, August 7, 2012

#3 JS

Canon makes good compacts!

5:15 pm - Tuesday, August 7, 2012

#4 sh

Has anyone ever printed out pictures taken with these compacts? If they are excellent for sizes up to A4, then why would anyone need a heavier camera?

6:07 pm - Tuesday, August 7, 2012

#5 Teg_j

I don’t get it. Shot 2 (white flower) is utterly burned out on the highlight; shot 20 (river) is just out of focus; and there’s heaps of noise all over even at ISO 100 (e.g. shot 10 - clothes pegs). I’m sure its an OK cheap camera, but let’s not get carried away.

12:03 am - Wednesday, August 8, 2012

#6 Steve

4.5 for image quality?  Were you afraid to upset Canon?  My ancient Sony Ericsson K750 used to take far better photos than the sample images you have taken with the A3400 and the K750 is a 7 year old basic phone!

You have a duty to your readers to give honest reviews.  I’m tired of seeing quite ludicrous reviews & scores handed out to (most notably) Nikon & Canon cameras on this site when it’s quite clear that the images many produce are sub-standard.

If you are frightened that honest reviews will stop you getting samples to play with from the manufacturers then it’s time to pack up and go home and shut this site down as it’s not serving a purpose apart from conning people.

10:54 am - Saturday, August 11, 2012

#7 Matt Grayson

I don’t think it’s a dishonest review. Bear in mind that this is a camera at a little over £100 now. When reviewing cameras it’s easy to think what we’d love to see as a result of taking pictures. As a photographer, I want to see crystal clear, tack sharp images with no noise, chroma or any other rubbish that may appear on a digital image. However, unless it costs a couple of grand, that’s not going to happen. I have to keep it in mind that it’s a cheap and cheerful camera. For the type of person looking to buy this as a first camera, the picture quality is very good. It’s nowhere near as good as a 5D MkIII or any other DSLR or even a prosumer compact but then it doesn’t have the level of technology invested in it.

I look at all these factors and yes, I also think about previous cameras and the results they gave (I’ve reviewed cameras that seriously couldn’t even take an ok quality picture - the base objective of a camera!) before making my mind up. With all those factors in mind I grade it and the image quality on the A3400 - while not good by what we’d LIKE to see - is great at that level for that target audience.

I hope that helps. :O)

9:15 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#8 Eleanor Jarvis

I received my newly purchased camera kit and discovered too late it doesn’t come with a memory card.  Does this mean I have no “film” for the holiday photos I thought I would be taking?

9:03 am - Thursday, November 22, 2012

#9 piroflip

They’re now 59 pounds at PC World or another 8 pounds bundled with a memory card.
I bought mine a few days ago and at that price who cares about a slightly dodgy battery door.

4:10 pm - Monday, December 24, 2012

#10 Diwesh Gupta

My Friend Suggested me Canon PowerShot A3400…. Its been 4 months after buying the am..But Till Today I Thanked him for Suggesting the cam….Superb Camera with mostly every option like DSLR Cams…. Only one problem..that i didn’t know the setting whiling using it in a room with light variation..bcoz it comes grainy..Can AnyOne suggest the setting for my problem???

4:11 pm - Friday, January 11, 2013

#11 Tom

Does this camera have a Multiple Shot/Burst with Self-Timer? at 8MP or higher? My stupid Nikon L110 doesn’t. Thanks.

4:02 am - Monday, January 28, 2013

#12 bb

when my very heavy and much loved canon sd 630 elph fell on a marble floor and broke (still worked but has no screen or setting
adjustment, i bought this.) V. disappointed. hate the plastic
touchscreen.  would never buy such again. hate the way i always put the battery back in backwards. on the 630 you could not put it in backwards.  a number of other hateful features have crushed my feeling towards canon and i feel their cheapening of it reflects how they feel about me.
pictures are fine.  i LOVED that little sd630 and always will. even when it no longer works i will keep it forever like a little jewel you tuck away and never forget or let go of.
i will never love this new one.

11:48 pm - Friday, March 1, 2013

#13 edwards

when i turn on my camera, it says lens error will shut down automatically.  is there any help for this camera?  does anyone know?

11:40 pm - Tuesday, March 26, 2013

#14 moji

yeap,i enjoy it taking clear pics…

4:16 pm - Friday, October 4, 2013

#15 Dragan

I have a canon powershot A2200 and this winter I was making night shots at minus ten Celsius. Great pictures, inexpensive device.

2:06 pm - Monday, February 3, 2014

#16 Ramtin

It’s good at all , but 4.5 for image quality is a bit concentration.
As in the article written , I expected to have nicer image on computer.

7:09 am - Friday, April 25, 2014

#17 Ali Abd El Fattah

Now I have A3400 but 6 years ago I owned A720 it was 8 mp but it was better than the new one a3400 :(
Every photo I took by A3400 has a problem in noise and sometimes in colors, I didn’t take a perfect photo by it till now :(
The Canon A720 was a great camera but the Canon A3400 is an ordinary or a bad camera

10:13 pm - Friday, May 16, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, review, 720p, 16 megapixel, beginner, video, 5x zoom, touch-screen, canon, touch screen, touchscreen, touch, movies, powershot, a3400 is, a3400, Canon PowerShot A3400 IS review

Tracker Pixel for Entry