Canon Powershot N Review

3.5
May 29, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

7 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Lodiko

My first camera was Canon A85. Perfect choose for a start photographer.
I hope this camera will be better.

12:16 pm - Wednesday, May 29, 2013

#2 Observing Cameras

Excellent review. While this camera is not for everyone, it nevertheless has a lot of appeal to any young budding photographer without costing a fortune.

3:31 am - Thursday, May 30, 2013

#3 Jenn Hooi

There are some typo (don’t know if it is a typo or a pure copy-and-paste error) in the Creative Shot subsection under Image Quality. The camera name should be Canon Powershot N instead of Canon Powershot SX280 HS. :)

11:24 am - Thursday, May 30, 2013

#4 BlackBox

Very nice review, thank you!

As for the camera itselt… what’s the word I’m looking for? Brave? No. Innovative. No, not that… RIDICULOUS! That’s the one! It’s like a bicycle in which you have to push the pedals with your ears. VERY innovative, but hardly convenient. And with very little chance for popularity.

PS They should’ve at least installed a SIM-card slot in it. Then it’d make just a wee bit of sense.

1:53 am - Saturday, June 1, 2013

#5 Joyce

I really don’t agree with the review conclusions or the comments. This little camera is packed full of innovation. And the pictures and movies it takes are amazing. There are drawbacks with movie digest and with holding it for longer periods of time, but the creative mode can be breath taking, and my photos from the little guy rival my g12 at times. As to cost, don’t judge it by size, I don’t regret one penny I paid for it. Although the LCD screen can be difficult to see in bright light…but then that’s the way it is…

8:22 pm - Tuesday, June 4, 2013

#6 tmc

I bought this camera as a present to my hubby. We’ve had it for weeks, and we do a lot of outdoor and kids photos. He has taken some really great shots a. Overall I would say that it is a really fun camera and it has a really great zoom. Can take acceptable pictures at really far distances. With the camera’s zoom capabilities I might consider shooting birds lol. :) An extra battery might be something you want to consider however. One full charge will last me 2 or 3 days…..that’s maybe an hour a day of active picture taking. The camera is really very compact.

I made a comparison and short personal review on this camera. So if anyone is interested you can read it here http://www.squidoo.com/canon-powershot-sx500-is-best-buy

9:19 pm - Friday, June 28, 2013

#7 mike

i got one of these cause i didn’t want to carry my two 1-d’s with me on a trip. i’ve had this only a week, and not taken the trip yet, but it’s lots of fun and very light and easy. the images are good enough—and, i found that NO point and shoot or micro from any company, no matter how zeiss-y or leica-able gave me anything like my leica lenses or canon L lenses on my 1-D’s.

I got this N camera for 150.00 at local Target, totally discounted out because they weren’t selling—too complicated for mom or two featureless for the mobiles.

mostly, i felt like a fool even getting a point and shoot, but this has good movie making and i’ve got a 128 micro sd card in it. i don’t really see the problem with this camera, since i expected so little from this kind of camera in the first place.

9:00 pm - Thursday, June 12, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, compact, 1080p, wide-angle, 12 megapixel, movie, camera, wi-fi, wireless, wifi, canon, tilting, 28mm, GPS, smartphone, powershot, tilt, wi fi, 2.8 inch LCD, 8x zoom, tiltable, maps, map, 8x, smart phone. mobile, canon n, powershot n, Canon PowerShot N Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry