Canon PowerShot SX130 IS Review

4.0
November 12, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

113 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Kenobi

I was expecting this review, ‘cause this is the camera that I’m more willing to buy.

In the past 4 or 5 months, I’ve doing a hard “research” for which is my best camera to get.And I hope you can help me with my desicion, because this is my choose, unless you, my friends, say otherwise.

This is the trick:

@I’m in a budget of $250 price tag at max:

Since I’m not from USA, my currency is weak against dolar, so products that in the USA market cost for about $250, here in my country are about the equivalent to $400-$500 bucks. (food for your thought: Playstation 3 USA release price: $599, in my country, the same released PS3, did cost the equivalent of $999 US dollars.)
_________________________________________________
@I want a semi pro camera with the best PQ (that that price range can afford) and that camera must be the full manual mode for let me choose shutter speed, focus, etc, etc.

I’m a amateur in the photography business. In fact this will be my first camera that I will be using for taking pictures in the amateur field. My last camera was a Sony DSC-P41, that was 6 years ago. I’ve reading many photography sites looking for tips, guides and guidelines about photography, so I want a fully functional camera but I dont have the money for a DSLR (those things cost the equivalent to $1200 US dollars, the cheapest, here in my country)
__________________________________________________

@If you know about websites where I can learn about tips and landscape, city and snow photography, I will thank you

7:22 pm - Friday, November 12, 2010

#2 Visitor

http://www.xtranormal.com/watch/7624395/

10:40 pm - Friday, November 12, 2010

#3 John Zhao

This camera is good for amateur, I use Canon 20D DSLR for better results.

5:27 am - Saturday, November 13, 2010

#4 John Zhao

This camera is good for amateurs, But for better results you may consider a Digital SLR camera.

John Zhao
Photographer

http://www.sydneyportrait.com

5:29 am - Saturday, November 13, 2010

#5 mazen

i think this is one of the best cameras
and canon p&s are still the best choices
still my sd 900ti is very good though i bought it 3 years ago

10:10 am - Saturday, November 13, 2010

#6 SANJIWA

I am anxiously waiting for this review .Recently I had purchsed and am really happy with the performance of the camera’s feature, quality of sharpness, zoom etc. But battery power is little cons.

4:17 pm - Saturday, November 13, 2010

#7 tom

this is the best camera at a resonable price. you wont find a better one!

even that it’s a bit bulky is an advantage: stability, comfort etc.

great picture quality too.

6:12 pm - Saturday, November 13, 2010

#8 Lynx

Kenobi

In your case I would take a look at the FujiFilm Finepix S1800-S2500HD(it’s the same camera, one has an hdmi port, the other doen’t). There is also the Finepix S2800Hd, but I haven’t any review on it so I can`t recomend it, yet.

I’ve found them for about 200-230€, wich is a good price for a 12Mpx, 18x stabalized optical zoom with dslr like styling with advanced scene modes and P,A,S,M HD movie etc…

I’ve been researching for a few months now to see wich fits my needs and I have discovered that these Fujifilm digicams have the best price/performance relation on the market.

You can check the reviews that have been done on these here in photographyblog.com.

This is my personal opinion and I am a Canon Powershot owner.

4:01 pm - Sunday, November 14, 2010

#9 Lynx

I`m not saying that this isn`t a good digicam. I`m just saying that the Fujifilm has better picture quality, with this I’m saying it produces less noise up to ISO800.

This Powershot is a great cam to start learning with.

But I think you will like the fuji just a little more.

4:07 pm - Sunday, November 14, 2010

#10 artisan

I bought this camera after reading some good reviews. It was quickly returned !!!

Perhaps I had a rogue sample but the picture quality was awful. Images were very grainy and over saturated, the reds especially so and would over dominate any image.

In addition, in program auto, aperture/shutter priority, the camera does not show both aperture and shutter values until the shutter button is half depressed. Then, if you want to change settings it’s necessary to go through a convoluted procedure of half pressing the shutter while at the same time pressing the exposure compensation button and then turning the thumb wheel to affect the change.

This was my first and last Canon camera.

9:49 am - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#11 artisan

And, I forgot to mention that the battery life is abysmal, even when using high capacity Ni-mh batteries.

9:54 am - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#12 Tim

@artisan: sounds like you have not a single glue about cameras. buy an iphone.

10:07 am - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#13 artisan

Tim,
I believe I am well qualified to air my view having been a photography enthusiast for well over 30 years and have owned and used many different film and digital cameras.

As I mentioned, I may well have had a rogue example of the camera. My comments are my own personal view beased on my experience of using the camera.

10:27 am - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#14 Raviraj

Got this camera for a week now & loving it. nice zoom & specially like the ability to use manual controls. Regarding adjustment of shutter speed & aperture values, nothing can beat the simplicity of control dial which lets you adjust the values for different settings in a faster way. Its so convenient. Also I am using Camelion Always Ready rechargeable & the battery backup is good. I shoot a HD video & around 200 pics on single charge, still no sign of Low battery. So thats decent….

Check out some pics taken with canon SX130 IS:
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=40519&id=100000242526627&l=c89aed5ee8

3:03 pm - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#15 wedding photographer leeds

artisan - A poor photographer always blames his tools.

9:31 pm - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#16 artisan

It seems that making an objective comment on this camera, based on my own experience with it, has sparked responses that simply attack me as a person and as a photographer.

If any of you actually read what I said you will note that I commented that the camera I had was most likely a faulty example. Indeed, my retailer was happy to reimburse me my money after seeing some sample pics.

As I see it, the objective of this comment page, like similar pages and forums, is to allow people with first hand experience of a product to air their views about it, thus helping others to make an informed decision.

However, there is obviously no point in doing so when you are derided and your integrity is attacked as has been the case here.

Artisan

9:08 am - Wednesday, November 17, 2010

#17 tim

you were crying about canon’s menu that is very easy to handle. silly.

2:52 pm - Wednesday, November 17, 2010

#18 sanjiwa

So perfectly it’s picture quality and easy to capture even the biggners can shoot a good quality photo. Field of view or depth of field is marvellous. As much you aware with the camera so as you like more. I still read the detail-manual everyday to understand the devise. This is my first ever digital camera and it inspired me to purchase a new slr. Thanks canon…..

5:11 am - Thursday, November 18, 2010

#19 Alex

I have the previous model (sx120) and i am satisfied. This camera has some improvements (hd movies, 28mm) but image quality is the same.
@Artisan: this is an amateur camera, it’s good to learn manual controls and to shoot the first real photos. If you want a really good camera you should buy a DSLR or a 4/3, and in the future i’ll buy for sure a better camera. I think that using this camera in auto mode is a nonsense. If you have no time to set the manual controls to shoot a photo you can use the program mode, so when you turn on the camera you have your preferred settings like color balancing and exposure value. In Auto mode the results are not good, until you do some post processing like adjusting colors, contrast, etc. But if you use it in M or P mode you always get good results, until you know how to set controls.
So i don’t understand your comments.

5:32 pm - Tuesday, November 23, 2010

#20 Alex

@Artisan
Sorry i have read now your last comment, i didn’t see it. Forget about my comment :)

5:35 pm - Tuesday, November 23, 2010

#21 PaulK

I bought this camera a week ago and have taken pictures in different conditions. Its simple to use and takes good quality pics for the price and £20 cashback. The video is also good quality but a little slow at focusing so you have to be patient.
It also fits into my pocket. The battery life is poor and thats the only adverse side.

1:14 am - Saturday, December 4, 2010

#22 Erika

This camera looks a bit better than fuji s1800. The reason why fuji s1800 may appear better to some people is that it uses a lot heavier noise reduction which smudges the detail. These effects are seen even @ 100ISO in fuji s1800, while on Canon SX130 IS they become apparent just around 400 ISO.

Take picture of smaller fine textured things at the wide angle (people’s hair, animal fur etc.), look at it on the computer monitor at 100% of magnification and you will see what I mean.

I’m returning s1800 which I bought as a present, as I’m very disappointed by its unnatural watercolor looking picture quality. I am thinking to exchange it to Canon SX130IS, as their prices are very similar where I live.

2:33 am - Friday, December 17, 2010

#23 Jose

My previous camera was a simple P&S Nikon Coolpix and boy, what a change. I love this Canon SX130IS, the images are excellent.

First thing I did was scrap the batteries in the box and use a pair of Energizer NiMH 2450mAh instead. Been learning and shooting for two weeks now and still no sign of battery change.

The P, Av, Tv and M modes have got me more interested in photography and I am experimenting with different settings.

Don’t see the need for a flash indoors with normal room lighting now, and the zoom, really great.

7:48 pm - Friday, December 17, 2010

#24 Erika

I exchanged Fuji s1800 to SX130IS. It looks like the Canon camera model resolution and noise handling is better than the one used in Fuji s1800. Fuji had a good design though.

I compared this Canon SX130IS to my Panasonic FZ-35/38. Its picture quality is certainly not worse than the one from Panasonic FZ-35/38 in the range of 100-200 ISO, and its general exposure looks a little bit better overall.

Overal Canon SX130IS looks reasonably decent camera with better picture quality than Fuji s1600/s1800/2500HD.

1:40 am - Sunday, December 19, 2010

#25 Rahul

@Artisan,Thank you for your review and negative comments. You are always welcome to share your views. But please note, you have admitted that your camera is a faulty one and you have also stated ‘this is your first and last Canon’. You can’t judge a brand like Canon, Nikon, Sony, etc. with just one faulty camera. Even your retailer has admitted that your camera is faulty.

As for your problem with various modes, you need to know- In any P&S digital camera you can not choose both shutter and aperture in Av, Tv & P mode. You have to use M (Manual) mode for that purpose. In Aperture Priority mode you set the Aperture value and the camera sets the shutter speed for you, judging the subject light condition. Likewise in Shutter Priority mode you set the shutter speed and the camera sets the aperture value. In P (Program Auto) the camera processor sets the both by judging the scene & lighting. I don’t know about DSLR modes, as I don’t have one, but I think they work on the same principal.

I have one SX120 IS for more than a year; it is perfect for occasional family photos. My cousin has bought SX130 IS two weeks ago after my recommendation, I haven’t seen it but he says it is also very good for amateur photography.

9:00 am - Sunday, December 19, 2010

#26 rahulgkhs

@ Artisan, Thank you for your review and negative comments. You are always welcome to share your views. But please note, you have admitted that your camera is a faulty one and you have also stated ‘this is your first and last Canon’. You can’t judge a brand like Canon, Nikon, Sony, etc. with just one faulty camera. Even your retailer has admitted that your camera is faulty.

As for your problem with various modes, you need to know- In any P&S digital camera you can not choose both shutter and aperture in Av, Tv & P mode. You have to use M (Manual) mode for that purpose. In Aperture Priority mode you set the Aperture value and the camera sets the shutter speed for you, judging the subject light condition. Likewise in Shutter Priority mode you set the shutter speed and the camera sets the aperture value. In P (Program Auto) the camera processor sets the both by judging the scene & lighting. I don’t know about DSLR modes, as I don’t have one, but I think they work on the same principal.

I have one SX120 IS for more than a year; it is perfect for occasional family photos. My cousin has bought SX130 IS two weeks ago after my recommendation, I haven’t seen it but he says it is also very good for amateur photography.

9:25 am - Sunday, December 19, 2010

#27 jackwagon

@ Artisan… I must have got the one you returned because I am seeing the same results you got.  Very poor image quality indoors.. and outdoor the focus is hit and miss… I take the same picture twice and one comes out focused, the other a little off.  I had a Canon a540 and it beat the pants off this one with speed and image quality… it was just missing the zoom.

I also don’t get all the attacks..  this is a POINT AND SHOOT camera.. I point it… I shoot it… it looks like crap.  If I wanted an SLR.. I would have bought an SLR..

Most reviews have stated that anything over 400 ISO causes alot of noise.. and I have to agree.  Maybe that is why the AUTO mode produced poor images.. indoors it alway select ISO 800 with no flash and ISO 500 with flash.  If I have to adjust the manual settings for every shot I will most likely miss every shot.

I truly hope Canon has a firmware fix to help the modes produce better results… or this one is going back.

5:13 am - Wednesday, December 22, 2010

#28 Al

I have some question for all the Powershot SX130 users:

I just got this camera that ordered some weeks ago. The PQ is awesome. I come from a old Sony P4q, so for me, this is like getting a professional DSRL.

The question is that, when I take shots or half-press the shutter button to focus, I can hear a mechanical “click” noise coming from inside the lense. Its like if something open o close. Its a strange sound. Maybe its the normal sound of lens themechanism, but I never heard something like that on my old Sony camera.I want to say that this camera has no malfunction or something, take sharp and crispy pictures.

Is normal that mechanical sound?

4:17 am - Thursday, December 23, 2010

#29 Al

I just did realize that this mechanical sound comes indeed from the tiny lens inside. This sound is produced when the actual shutter cover and uncover the tiny lens.

Again, I dont mean the “simulated” shutter sound that is done in the system software. I mean, actual mechanical sound.

I dont know if this is normal, since in my old P&S, Sony P41, I havent heard this sound when the shutter close and open again.

Maybe you can re-create what I’m talking about when you toggle between review mode and shooting mode(its the button with the “play” simbol in the back panel). When I toggle, i can hear and see how the shutter close and open and the sound can be heard.

5:40 am - Thursday, December 23, 2010

#30 rahulgkhs

@jackwagon: try the setting- set mode to P, auto focus to center, FOCUS POINT to SMALL, iso to 100-200 at max for daylight, 200-400 for lowlight. Always use flash when the subject is close (5-15 feet). I hope it will significantly improve your shots. After some use experiment with the Av mode.

One more thing: it’s not a so called Point and Shoot, it’s Bridge Style. Big difference is- it’s a P&S with DSLR like manual controls. Meaning: it will be some tough! And all those extra megapixels in the same size sensor means poor lowlight performance.

1:38 pm - Thursday, December 23, 2010

#31 Pranav

It is good camera. Canon still needs to improve its picture quality in Low light conditions. The camera is bit hungry on battery.

6:47 am - Thursday, December 30, 2010

#32 Siegfried

I love the Kamera as far as it comes down to picture quality, handling etc. Batteries last for about 200-300 shots with Enelops. But the hissing sound coming from the left stereo channel at video mode which seems to be a construction fault is an issue that dims the total fun. The hissing noise can be heard as soon as the camera is on. Anybody has a solution?

4:43 pm - Saturday, January 8, 2011

#33 chandan

i wanna buy powershot sx130is is it good pls let me know about this one.. i am wanna buy using my savings.

4:08 pm - Friday, January 14, 2011

#34 chandan

i wanna buy Canon powershot SX 130IS is it good please let me know. i am buying this using my savings so….budget with in 15000 rupees

4:10 pm - Friday, January 14, 2011

#35 Anant

Either my piece is faulty or this camera is itself the worst camera on earth….my old nokia 3230 takes better pictures than this one while being only 1.3MP its really a big fail having bought this piece of crap…I am literally gonna throw this one in dustbin and stick with my cell phone if nothing suits me from now on….

3:10 pm - Friday, January 21, 2011

#36 Steve

After using this camera for the 1st time on a holiday, I tried to copy pics and vids to my PC via the supplied cable.
At least 75% of the files were ‘unreadable’ and could not be copied. Yet I can see them when viewing pics on camera’s LCD. I was using a 4gb class 6 SD card. Any ideas how to fix problem?

11:21 am - Monday, January 24, 2011

#37 Lynx

Steve you might have a problem with your SDHC card, or the cable might have something wrong. If you have a card reader try taking the card out of your camera and reading directly on to your PC.

I have two diferent digital cameras from Canon and they didn`t have this problem.

Good luck and let us know if it works.

11:59 am - Monday, January 24, 2011

#38 Steve

Thanks for the reply Lynx.
I did manage to copy all the files last night. But only by reading the SD card via the camera. I don’t have a SD slot in my PC. There is some software glitch I’ll have to figure out. Maybe I’ll reload the CD supplied with the camera.

8:59 am - Tuesday, January 25, 2011

#39 Lynx

Steve;

Try to format the SD card inside the camera, that might help, I think Canon usually recomends this when you put new sd cards in, or if htey have already been used for other functions.

Goodluck.

10:47 am - Tuesday, January 25, 2011

#40 Siegfried

After a third try I finally got a proper working camera, no more hot pixel(the first one had two), no sound problem8described above)- all working as it should….

9:36 pm - Tuesday, January 25, 2011

#41 deepak

sx130 best price,

12:17 pm - Saturday, January 29, 2011

#42 chandan

hi,
i want to buy this camera.. after reading above review i am quite afraid… because i am spending my savings for this.. please let me know is this a really a good one..

8:28 am - Sunday, January 30, 2011

#43 Lynx

Don’t worry Chandan it’s a great camera for its price. If you have any problem with it you can always use the warranty. Did you read the review? The only problem I see in it, is its short batterry life on alkaline AA’s. It would be better to get NIMH rechargables.

I have a Powershot A400 from 7 years ago and it still works perfectly(but slow), and a Powershot A480 from a year and a half ago. Still works perfectly.

10:32 am - Sunday, January 30, 2011

#44 Anant

hello lynx, i hope you read my previous comment, i bought this sx130 IS with so many reviewing and what i got is totally crap, it has mobile phone like photo quality and sometimes even worse,

i spent Rs.14000+ for it and this is what i got, this was a total scam from canon hyping their brand so much and giving such poor results, i even thought of suing canon for customer fraud. and as you said warranty then i only have one question that getting it repaired with the warranty is not an insurance if they deny and say its alright, u cant do anything then? can you?

3:03 pm - Monday, January 31, 2011

#45 Lynx

Anant if the camera they gave you has cellphone image quality that could only mean 2 things.

A) Thats not the camera you ordered.

B) There is something wrong with the camera.

Is the image size in 12MPX and the quality in fine or super fine?

If you show us some of those pictures maybe we could hekp you.

Any ways you should be abe to get your money back or a new camera and pay the difference.

This depends much on every countries laws. In Europe you are supposed to have a 2 year warranty on everything you buy, everything, clothing, cars, stereos, computers, shoes, etc. Thats the theory, but the truth is a bit different. In real life dependeing on where you made your buy, you get better or worse treatment.

5:19 pm - Monday, January 31, 2011

#46 Anant

lynx here you can see some images from my canon powershot sx130 is

http://www.flickr.com/photos/canon_powershot_sx130_is/

these all are my photos, i compared them with cell phone that was an ironical expression for the picture quality so don’t take it literally as i meant that the pictures are not as good as expected and shown in the reviews i read, not even one photo shown on web reviews matches the dullness i have with this camera, in case u can’t get to this url ,Let me know!

2:55 pm - Tuesday, February 1, 2011

#47 Madhu

Hai, every one I am new to this forum and I am planning to buy a P&S camera, 3 are in my list and please suggest me which one should I buy.

Fujifilm finepix S2500HD
Canon Coolpix SX130 IS
and Nikon Coolpix L110.

Out of these 3 which one will give me best image quality for P&S. I am neither a professional nor desire to do any advanced settings on camera as I am not aware of all these terms. Please suggest me a good one. Dont go for the cost, as all are costing same, rather Fuji is less $10.

6:45 am - Saturday, February 12, 2011

#48 Lynx

Madhu I think the Canon might give you the best photo quality, that or the Fuji.

That Nikon was given bad reviews, though I think that for a simple point and shoot any of them will give you good enough photo quality.

The best HD video is for the Canon also, including stereo sound.

3:49 pm - Saturday, February 12, 2011

#49 dawid

Hey,

Can anybody help me.
Im going to buy camera and i have spent a lot of time looking for a one good for me.

Which is better do you think?

Ricoh cx3 or Canon sx130?

Maybe another one is better?

9:50 pm - Saturday, February 12, 2011

#50 dawid

Hey it’s still me.
Cany anobody who has sx130 is tell me if can I set the shooting interval and the number of pictures when shooting several pictures with the Self-timer ?

11:25 pm - Saturday, February 12, 2011

#51 Prashant

@david
Time delay of upto 30 sec. and up to 10 shots can be set in self timer.

11:16 pm - Sunday, February 13, 2011

#52 kerala photos

am planning to buy this camera as it is having manual controla and a good optical zoom.

also it’s having that 1cm macro.. things looking much promising to an amateur photographer.

don’t know about the battery life as i haven’t used it yet.

what about taking moving photos, ie photos in sports mode etc… is it getting blurred?

2:16 pm - Friday, March 18, 2011

#53 Sourav

rechargable batteries for this camera?? also how long do they last??

8:03 am - Saturday, March 19, 2011

#54 wolf

hey which one to go:
cannon sx 130 or Nikon L120 ??
im not a pro shooter, just want a decent cam. shoot and run kind of.

8:04 am - Saturday, March 19, 2011

#55 kelsci

I reviewed this camera’s photos and videos on the net. It appeared to take nice photos on this site and I found the same on amazon.com where owners download their pictures.

I then went to youtube a few days ago to see this models video quality.  I downloaded the videos and burned them to a dvd-r and watched them on my Toshiba Regza 37 inch set listening to the audio through a headset.

Overall, the color quality and image briteness on the vidos were quite nice.  The color saturation was quite good. None of the videos looked boring to me in their image quality and color saturation. In fact, the color quality and saturation was quite extroadinary IMHO.

Then there is the stereo sound.  Minus some windnoise the stereo imaging was extremely good as was the overall sound quality. 

I think this unit uses AA batteries.

I think for the money this is about the best camera you could buy for pictures and videos. The price is a bargain.  Occasionally with all products you hit a “sleeper” and this unit is a sleeper.  I do not think anyone who wants really good pictures and videos on the cheap could not go wrong with this camera.  I think it is the best thing that Canon or anybody else makes regardless of price.

10:31 am - Monday, March 21, 2011

#56 DEW

i am confused between canon sx130IS & nikon coolpix s8100. i have heard some good things about s8100.so m lookin for a cam that can take clear pics in daylight n in low light conditions too not forgetting decent videos. s8100 hasnt got manual controls but its has CMOS sensors while sx130IS has CCD sensors.how much difference these two sensors make?can sx120 take low light pics better than s8100(has got night mode).can anyone help me on this?thnx..

7:06 pm - Thursday, March 24, 2011

#57 Anant

I HAVE JUST THROWN THIS PIECE OF SHIT OUT OF MY WINDOW….TOTAL CRAP AND PURE WASTAGE OF MONEY…GO FOR ANOTHER BRAND FROM NOW ON….

3:27 pm - Saturday, April 9, 2011

#58 Soumen

Get a Canon SX130 today.Its fantastic.I am back from a tour just after i bought it and the kind of pics it produced were amazing…...
I did a research and considered sony H55,fuji s1800,nikon L110.
The best turned out to be the canon in the price range.the manual settings are very easy to control and takes brilliant photos.night photography is amazing.
The short battery life is bit of a concern and you must have 2 xtra rechargeable batteries always in your pocket.
All in all a fantastic buy!!

9:09 pm - Friday, April 22, 2011

#59 Soumen

@dew.If u hv the option pls compare the two at the store.i did the same and you can see too that sx130 is a much better camera.

9:12 pm - Friday, April 22, 2011

#60 Sher

Question for anyone. I’m considering the Cannon SX100. My grandson plays hoceky and flouresent lights are terrible to take photo’s in. Has anyone used it in hockey arena’s?  Or do you have a suggested camera in this price range that works great?

1:32 am - Monday, April 25, 2011

#61 mukunt o_0

i’ve bought this camera a few months ago at the price of Rs. 12500 about 275 USD. It has a professional touch by nature first of all i was not interested in photography it made me a amateur in this fiel for this i thank cannon…as i am a amateur noise is not a big problem for me the noise doesnt affect upto 100-200 ISO. i’ll say if any one juz wants a digi cam for un professional purpose or amateuring ur professionalism this is ur 1…
@sher:
i’ve shot some moving images by juz increasing in the shutter speed in manual mode..

10:52 am - Thursday, April 28, 2011

#62 Maria

Hi,

After reading this review and all of your comments I am pretty sure this will be my new camera. But I am also interested in Canon PS sx220 and xs210. I want a camera with more than 5x zoom, higher than average PQ (even at evening and indoors) and that isn’t that bulky. Which one should I choose?

2:16 pm - Friday, April 29, 2011

#63 Lynx

The Powershot SX220 is the way to go.
It has been honored as the best superzoom of the year.

2:59 pm - Friday, April 29, 2011

#64 Kylie

ok so I am going on a trip soon and I was wondering if I should get this camera because it seemed easy and affordiable but I’m kinda scared now so should I still get it???

8:03 am - Wednesday, May 4, 2011

#65 Tom

Used a Nikon FM for 30 yrs & just got the SX130IS.  When I asked the gal at store if it would take 20 pics, she said “I dunno, maybe not that many.”  Ha!  No card in the thang which is how much I know.  I’m interested in finest quality stills, indoor and out.  Being used to 24/36, I don’t need high numbers, just high quality.  So, question is, if even relevant, what kinda card & will scandisc 2G perform to my desires if I don’t need that many pics?
Thanks

12:58 am - Monday, May 9, 2011

#66 Brian

i use the old Nikon D5000 as my main camera and i bought the SX130 IS as a second camera to carry around. I have to say i’m quite impressed with this little baby, it has great image quality, nice color rendition, the video is pretty cool with the stereo sound and it’s pretty straightforward to use.
Great super-zoom,
thnx a lot Canon !

2:56 pm - Tuesday, May 10, 2011

#67 Ruben rubert

Lots of Improvement than the predecessor SX120IS

11:53 am - Thursday, May 19, 2011

#68 vivek

i want to purchase a camera and i gone through some of them. My budget is 15000.
I have two options.
Canon x130is
Sony H55

I gone through canon but i found it has bad battery backup.
Please suggest.

4:33 am - Sunday, May 29, 2011

#69 vivek

i want to purchase a camera within 15000.
I have two options
Canon x130is
Sony H55
I concirn about canon battery life. I heard batter life is bad. So for which should i go

4:38 am - Sunday, May 29, 2011

#70 vivek

i want to purchase a camera within 15000.
I have two options
Canon x130is
Sony H55
I concirn about canon battery life. I heard batter life is bad. So for which should i go. Canon is good but dont knw how is battery performance really is.

4:40 am - Sunday, May 29, 2011

#71 stan

The shutter mechanism on my daughter’s 6 mo old sx 130is litteraly fell apart into its componet pieces while she was taking a picture.

The camera is not damaged as far as can tell and just seems to have failed in the shutter department.

Help and what would cause this

2:08 am - Saturday, June 11, 2011

#72 Yashwant

I’m planning to buy a P&S camera,,have 3 options:-

1- canon SX130 IS
2- canon A3300 IS (16 mp)
3- sony DSC WX9 (16 mp)

I’m somewhat confused as I came to know that,,more the mega pixels in a tiny sensor,, worse is the image quality..
So whether A3300 IS or Sony (both 16 mp) would be good or bad..?

Plz help..!

11:48 pm - Thursday, June 30, 2011

#73 vivek

@ Yashwant.

i think Canon SX130 will a gud option as it has more zoom capacity. one drawback is that its battery back up is less with Alkaline battery

5:57 am - Friday, July 1, 2011

#74 Yashwant

@vivek-
Thanx 4 reply, but my main priority is excellent image quality in both day & night shooting…

I’m also a beginer in photography & prefer to shoot mostly in Auto mode..

Previously,, I had a canon A3000 IS (10mp) but I wasnt satisfied with its image quality
So whether this one is gud 4 me or 16mp canon/sony compact digicam..?

5:35 pm - Friday, July 1, 2011

#75 Manish Sharma

Hi friends, i m new in photography…. i want to buy a camera i m bit confuse in these two:
canon sx130is
nikon cool pix s8100

i want manual control, better image quality in outside, indoor as well as in night or low light
Please suggest me which one is better in performance

8:52 pm - Monday, July 18, 2011

#76 ram

HI, I have this cam too, could anyone tell me why the colours of photos are different comparing to reality, for example my skin is bright but in the photos it is like orange? :)

8:29 pm - Tuesday, July 19, 2011

#77 puneet

Hi
I am new into photography.
I am confused between these three cams:-
Nikon coolpix L-120
Canon Powershot SX130IS
Sony DSC H70
I want it for normal use and picture quality should be good in both day and night.
and which would be the best camera and worth money.

4:41 pm - Tuesday, August 9, 2011

#78 Krishna

Puneet, I tested the 130IS for quite some time and after now using a highly esteemed Sony Hx 5 I tend to get again the Canon, because in picture brilliance and Video sound quality it surpasses the Sony. Also the battery issue is no problem when using the Sanyo Eneloops.

6:24 pm - Tuesday, August 9, 2011

#79 picman

my last canon was stolen from my car. I bought this canon sx130 to replace it love the easy operation for the money you can’t beat it.

9:19 pm - Friday, August 12, 2011

#80 Olsi

Hi everybody!
I’m an amateur in photography and i’m looking to buy a P&S digital camera. I did a bit of research and found your website very useful. I have a budget of 250$. I’m really confused on witch camera to buy so far i’ve made a list, but now i saw this canon model and i really like it. I could really use your professional opinion on witch camera to buy. Here is the list:
Canon Powershot SX130IS
Canon Powershot SD1400 IS
Olympus SZ-10
Olympus VR-320
Fujifilm Finepix F300EXR
Fujifilm FinePix S2950
Nikon Coolpix S6100

I know the list is a bit long, but i really dont know which to choose, i’m looking forward to your
response!!
Thank you in advance

2:02 pm - Saturday, August 13, 2011

#81 Matty

I have this camera, and it makes a constant hissing noise. You can only hear it when your in a quiet place, or by puttin it next to your ear. You can hear it in recorded videos too, which is annoying. You can hear it as soon as you turn the camera on - even in playback mode when the lens is shut. Anyone else have this problem?

10:29 am - Thursday, August 18, 2011

#82 RAJARSHI BANERJEE

guys plz suggest me what should i choose between canon sx130is or nikon L120?

10:23 pm - Saturday, August 20, 2011

#83 J N

Very good camera, but I would like to be able to add a polarizing and or uv filter.  Is here any way that can be accomplished?  Would like to know where to purchase.

9:59 pm - Sunday, August 21, 2011

#84 Sudeep

RAJARSHI : go for Cannon,i L120 bulky, of course it has more zoom and all but inpsite being point to shoot sx130 has brilliant picture quality ..

12:30 pm - Thursday, September 8, 2011

#85 Puneet

Rajarshi: I was also confused between the two lately i bought Nikon L-120 and i am not regreting it .

9:21 pm - Friday, September 9, 2011

#86 srija datta

this is the best camera of canon in a   low price.its very compact, light and is a semi slr.  i like this camera and   suggest all of u to buy this for rs 11000/-  only

5:47 am - Monday, October 3, 2011

#87 Mohamed Imran

Am bit confused either to select Canon powershot SX130 IS or Canon IXUS 220 HS. Please give me a good Suggestion.

2:45 pm - Monday, October 3, 2011

#88 SANDEEP

its awsm , check the detailing of sx 130 is. its simply owsm i m lovin it. 


https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/318385_256610721050486_100001046797444_832599_1300316128_n.jpg


contact
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

11:40 am - Wednesday, October 12, 2011

#91 Roy Phillips

I had this camera’s predecessor for nearly 2 years and thought I would change it for the SX130is.  The camera itself is almost identical, but I had one moan about it - the reduced size of the tab on the zoom lever - I just could not live with it, mu finger just kept slipping off (it looks like the new SX150is is the same).

The tab on the SX120is zoom lever seemed much bigger, so that your finger did not slip off when zooming. Unfortunately, the tab on the SX130is is almost non-existent and I had to get rid of the camera because of this; which is a shame, as I really liked the rest of the camera.

Why do manufacturers do this kind of “redesign”?  It just makes the camera unusable, especially if you have short nails!

6:58 pm - Tuesday, October 25, 2011

#92 Sudeep

I had this camera for more than 2 months now.
I am happy with the picture quality and all other features, but I am not able to use digital zoom while taking picture (it was working earlier). It works while recording though. Menu shows digital zoom option disabled.  Can anyone help me with this issue.

8:32 pm - Thursday, November 17, 2011

#93 Rajan

Sudeep
In the menu somewhere you should be able to find a ‘Reset All’ option. clicking that should bring back the digital zoom.

3:53 am - Thursday, November 24, 2011

#94 Chris

Just bought one of these, had a choice between this and the SZ-10 and the rz-18 and went with this SX130IS, more manual options and the only P&s in this price range to allow optical zoom with stereo sound in 720p (thats what sealed the deal for me).

4:27 am - Monday, December 26, 2011

#95 Tanjim Rahman

Loved this camera. Wanna have this as soon as possible.

6:25 pm - Tuesday, February 7, 2012

#96 Nino

I have two grandchildren that I see at school pageants on stage. I am usually too far away to take pictures, about 20 to 30 feet.
But with this camera I was able to take excellent pictures on the low light setting without flash or tripod.

3:27 pm - Friday, February 10, 2012

#97 Alex

Check picture quality before you buy yours!

Bought this camera 6 months ago. Canon A720 IS was my previous camera. Picture quality of SX130 worse than my phone’s camera. Propably there is a problem with some of them. Pictures are 12Mpxs but picture quality is awful (same as Anant’s photos in Flickr). Artisan, Anant and I seem to be very unlucky. 
I don’t believe that I don’t have a chance if I ask for a new one or a repair. Lost 200$ :-(

5:23 pm - Friday, February 10, 2012

#98 Jim

I just bought this camera and am looking forward to trying it out. I had looked at a couple of other Canon P&S having ruled out Nikon due to recurring problems with the lense cover not closing completely. I picked this up at a clearance price, not having read any previous info on this particular model. Glad to see most people on here, and other review sites I have looked at, seem to love it. Perhaps I will be able to provide some of my own feedback in a couple of weeks.

11:19 pm - Saturday, February 11, 2012

#99 Emad

my question is about continuous shooting. I need to take continuous shooting for my child so I need to know How many images this camera can take continuously in one second?

and what is the relation between continuous shooting and shutter speed ?

6:36 pm - Sunday, February 26, 2012

#100 Emad

my question is about continuous shooting. I need to take continuous shooting for my child so I need to know How many images this camera can take continuously ?

and what is the relation between continuous shootinf and shutter speed ?

6:38 pm - Sunday, February 26, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, 12 megapixel, beginner, super-zoom, travel-zoom, travel, canon, prosumer, powershot, 12x zoom, sx130is, sx130 is, Canon PowerShot SX130 IS Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry