Canon PowerShot SX200 IS Review

4.5
March 30, 2009 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

152 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#101 vi

JORMA:

if you look at this link you can see the problem i have with my lcd screen: http://www.flickr.com/photos/turtlefly/4131890007/

in the top right you can still kinda make out the P for program and you can tell that it’s still registering whatever the lens is looking at when you move it around, it’s just that it’s not enough to still work the camera obviously. i love love love my sx200 and i haven’t had it for very long but i know that warranty doesn’t cover broken lcds. do you think that i’ve actually only got my protective window cracked, too? i’d like to know before i go to a repair place and get ripped off or something… thank you so much for taking your time to read this if you see it!

3:56 am - Sunday, January 10, 2010

#102 Martin

I don’t understand why everyone thinks this camera is good. It is possibly the worst camera of this typre I have ever had. I have been very disappointed with it frankly. Images aren’t brilliant, pop up flash, can’t use the zoom when using movie mode, ergonomically it slips out my hand all the time. Just don’t rate it and now hardly use it. Get something else.

11:33 am - Sunday, January 10, 2010

#103 Jorma

vi,

I think you also have the actual display cracked, so it’s going to cost more. A repair shop can probably give you an estimate on the phone if you tell them that both the protective glass and the display need to be replaced.

5:30 pm - Sunday, January 10, 2010

#104 vi

jorma:

thank you so much for looking at that for me! i thought the display was probably cracked too because of all the black, but i’d never had an lcd not die on me all the way before, so i wasn’t sure. thank you again!

12:46 am - Monday, January 11, 2010

#105 JC

Anybody got some advice? I am on the verge of purchasing a compact digital and am torn between the canon SX200, canon SX120(to a lesser degree) and the sony DSC H20. Not so concerned with the video aspects but seeking the best picture quality and ease of use. Looking for a good all around camera(with manual capabilities).... but I need it especially to take pictures of artwork. Help!

8:55 am - Thursday, January 14, 2010

#106 Ivan

@ JC: If you want the best COLOR quality, I think you should go for a canon camera. My sx200 IS delivers excellent color fidelity. So if I were you I would choose between the SX120 and the SX200 IS. Personally I think the SX200 IS is the better choice, because it’s a little bit more compact. Hope this helps you!
By the way, my father creates artwork (paintings) and he’s very pleased with the photos I take from his paintings.
Cheers,

Ivan

2:43 pm - Thursday, January 14, 2010

#107 JC

Ivan
Thanks for your comment. The canon SX200 was my initial gut reaction choice, but I’ve read so many reviews on cameras lately that I spun myself into the ground(and there is the matter of that pop-up flash). Anyway, yours is an encouraging word.

4:36 pm - Thursday, January 14, 2010

#108 Muhammad Umer

JC:
I bought this camera baout two months ago. The pop-up flash was annoying but I have grown out of that thingy.
But thats not the point. I bought this one because it has a full manual mode and when one wants 4 sec exposure to capture bright moon behind clouds, the routine dig compact automatics just wont deliver what one is trying to capture.
And it is a good compact camera that you can easily carry around with lots of modes to shoot in (easy mode in addition to various SCN modes as well as the automatic mode in addition to automatic mode).
Another new one by canon is S90. apparently that was supposed to be better than this one.
Also, if shooting video is your main requirement thne probably consider Panasonic but then that one wont have the manual modes. Also, the colors are ARTIFICALLY vibrant.

Best of luck

2:05 am - Friday, January 15, 2010

#109 JC

Muhammad,
I looked at the S90 also but where I’m at it’s about $100.00 more than the SX200 and for what I’m looking for a camera to do, I didn’t think it was worth the extra $. From what I’ve seen and read I think you are right about the Panasonics, they are good cameras but they don’t exactly address my needs, at least in this kind of price range.It seems the pop-up flash issue is kind of tied into one’s personality/tolerance level, although I’m not a big fan unnecessary mechanics. But it’s nice to hear that it can be overcome. Thank you for your input.

6:00 am - Saturday, January 16, 2010

#110 Jorma

I still don’t understand the fuss about the flash.
I really like the fact that if I don’t want the flash to fire, I can just push it down with a finger without having to fiddle with the menus as with most cameras.

12:58 pm - Saturday, January 16, 2010

#111 Bill

It really is very simple. Why have the flash pop up ALL the time when it is not needed. You should not have to fiddle with menus and it’s not related to your personality type. When the light level requires it, it pops up. When it does not it stays down. It is that simple and considering on most other cameras that is what happens I do not understand why some people seem to think it is fine. It is like having pop up headlights on a car that pop up even when they are not required.

Other than that the camera is not a great camera, I bought it and I regret it. The photos are not as clear as my previous Canon camera and I am about to get a new camera because this one is not up to scratch. I work with SLR’s most of the time but needed a small quick camera for unexpected shots. I do not expect SLR standards but the clarity of photos is just not even as good as my previous canon A650.

2:08 pm - Saturday, January 16, 2010

#112 muhammad umer shehzad

JC:
you are most welcome.
Jorma:
I have to admit that I was kinda “pissed of” at the flash exactly where anyone would be used to holding the camera . Esp with my chunky hands, it was outrageously annoying for me. but I could not wait for S90 and didnt want to jump to a DSLR without trying out manual controls on a smaller and a cheaper digicam, and hence my choice SX200.
But as I said earlier, one just learns to live with it.

2:09 pm - Saturday, January 16, 2010

#113 muhammad umer shehzad

Bill:
“your logic is impeccable” 
(Tuvok in Star Trek Voyager).
:-)

2:13 pm - Saturday, January 16, 2010

#114 rob

hi all
new to this camera stuff
the sx200 seems to be ok for a first time youser so if any body is not happy with there camera will you sale it to me CHEAP please

6:38 pm - Saturday, January 16, 2010

#115 buy r4 ds

After researching this camera and reading rave reviews, I replaced my point and shoot with this model. This camera makes beautiful crisp outdoor pics. But like any point and shoot, indoors, if the subject is too far away for the flash to reach(approx 15ft), not going to get the shot. I was however able to make some beautiful video of my child’s recital from the back of the room, great zoom for video. Sound quality great. Pop up flash is a bit of a bother as it pops up everytime the camera is turned on. Easily hooks up to hdtv for viewing. A little bulkier than I had expected.

10:43 am - Friday, January 29, 2010

#116 Jorma

buy r4 ds,

The flash really tends to be a challenge for many compact cameras.
My solution was to buy the Canon HF-DC1 auxiliary flash. It packs quite a punch in a small enclosure and has two modes auto and manual. In the auto mode it flashes whenever it sees another flash, so it’s mainly suited in situations where I’m the only one taking flash photos. In the manual mode I have to push an ‘arm’ button to enable the flash to fire.
It can be mounted on the camera with the included bracket or freely placed somewhere else for e.g. indirect lighting.
I’m sure there are other, lower cost, solutions, but at least this works seamlesly with the Canons.
It’s powered by a CR123A lithium cell, so it can stay unused for long periods of time and still be ready whenever needed.

12:34 pm - Friday, January 29, 2010

#117 jen

Looking to buy an camera and have narrowed it down to this canon SX200 or fuji F70 EXR which should I buy and why?
Thanks

10:26 pm - Friday, January 29, 2010

#118 pop

which one better…this canon sx200 or panasonic tz7 for stage/concert shot…need your advice…thanks in advance

9:59 pm - Wednesday, February 3, 2010

#119 Brenda

I am a point-and-shoot novice, have enjoyed my 10x optical zoom on my sturdy old Olympus and now (about to travel)I am finding it hard to consider changing to a 3x optical zoom “Canon Ixus”, a little camera-type my family loves.
Today I discovered the SX200IS and this forum online! I’ve read all comments. Sounds like it can be used as a point-and-shoot. One question about the annoying pop-up flash: people say just put it down when not wanted, but do you have to HOLD it down manually during the shot, or will it snap closed and stay down for that shot, or for a series of shots?
Or, can anyone recommend another Canon instead?

9:49 pm - Wednesday, February 10, 2010

#120 Jorma

Hello Brenda,

You will have to hold it down.
I guess it’s a matter of taste, it’s a non issue for me, but seems to be a big one for quite many.
I think it would be best for you to go to a store and take it for a spin to see how it works for you.

Jorma

10:46 pm - Wednesday, February 10, 2010

#121 Ivan

@ Brenda: for me, the flash isn’t an issue at all. But you should wait a while before buying a new camera, because Canon just announced their new canon SX210 IS. This is the successor of the 200IS. It will have a 14x zoom and a 14 megapixel censor, along with improved flash capabilities.

Ivan

11:37 pm - Wednesday, February 10, 2010

#122 Jean

Mistake in the test report that nobody noticed : the threaded socket in the camera bottom for the tripod is NOT made of plastic, but made of ALUMINIUM !!!
Strange that nobody checked this on his camera.
To avoid the flash inadvertently firing in a museum, just press it down and on the screen a icon will warn you that the flash will NOT fire. Just as simple as that!!!
And right, the AV connection cover is a very cheap design and make! Not up to Canon’s standard.
JP

3:29 pm - Monday, February 22, 2010

#123 Paul

I always preferred cameras that reproduces natural colours. Casios were good. Originally went for TZ7 as a replacement for its numerous features but after 6 months of continual disappointment at the quality and colour of its pictures I’ve finally given up. Outdoor photos in particular are always horrible, colours way over the top and can’t handle greens at all.

Looks like I’m going for the SX200 as everyone tells me I’ll like the colours on it.
But what is the battery life like? I got minimum 300 pics on a single charge on TZ7.
The pop up flash sounds like a big problem. Is there any way to disable the flash completely?

Finally I’ve got a couple of holidays coming up so tempted to get this now or should I wait for the upcoming SX210 will solve the issues of the SX200?

Thanks for your help

5:01 pm - Monday, February 22, 2010

#124 Muhammad Umer Shehzad

Paul:
pop-up flash sounds a lot. but you will grow out of it. just like many other things in life, you will learn to live with it. nothing is perfect.
colors are definitely great on this camera.
added advantage is manual mode which can give nice night shots.
I am not aware of SX210 specs so cant really compare it with that one.
It would be a good idea to get an extra battery to carry around on vacation.
if you go through this forum from begining , you will get answers to ALL your questions.
I used this forum to decide to buy my SX200.
good luck.

5:50 pm - Monday, February 22, 2010

#125 Celeste

Please advise - I’m new to this. I have the SX200IS and want to film my granddaughter playing violin for 5 minutes (in school hall). Do I have to set the camera to P and do I have to set sound recording level or is that automatic?
(Hopefully someone can advise me before Wednesday 3 March).

4:06 am - Saturday, February 27, 2010

#126 Nashira

I’ve been torn between the Lumix and the PowerShot but have finally decided to go for a PowerShot becuase I can tinkle with the manual controls and this website:

http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/CHDK

can help you push the boundaries set by the manufacturer.

Bearing in mind this will be my first digital camera I may come to regret the decision but I shall return to this website in the future & hopefully I’ll remember to include updates!

9:40 pm - Sunday, February 28, 2010

#127 Nikki

has anyone else had the problem of the flash not going down when you turn off the camera? Mine has now been up for days, and I can’t get it to go completely down. I only bought it in September, so I’m really hoping something can be done - any ideas??

6:55 pm - Tuesday, March 16, 2010

#128 Muhammad Umer Shehzad

Nikki,
This sounds like a problem in the mechanism . It should automatically go down completely. did you try GETNLY fiddling with it? It may sometimes work, but forcing it will probably break something. best is to take it back to the canon shop/warranty service.
Best of Luck

3:43 am - Wednesday, March 17, 2010

#129 Celeste

Nikki,

Same happened with mine & the shop changed it. I am now used to it staying open, but have remember to check if I’ve set it NOT to flash if not needed.

3:45 pm - Wednesday, March 17, 2010

#130 Sofie

Hi.
I want to buy a new camera and cant decide between this one or a lumix tz10. I’m going to a lot of concerts so video recording needs to be good on the camera I choose.
I saw some vids shot by the tz7 and I was blown away by the amazing sound quality. After that I was pretty set on buying the panasonic one.  However, I was a bit worried when I read a few reviews on the image quality. dont think I’ll mind the colour issues on the pani so much but some reviews tell me that it doesnt take so good shots in low light. What do you people think about taking photos at concerts? My friend has a sx200 and her concert photos are amazing.
So basically, I want a camera with superb video recording and ability to take good photos at concerts. If the pani takes shitty concert photos I’ll have to reconsider once again.
Im sorry if my english is bad, I’m not a native speaker. lol.
Thanks for your help!
/Sofie

2:22 am - Friday, March 19, 2010

#131 mery

help me…what the best the lumix tz7 or 8 this camera sx200 or the new canon sx210 ?

help me ...kiss

9:11 pm - Thursday, April 8, 2010

#132 BM

My (ex)trusty Canon Powershot A710IS died just 2 days into a 6 week vacation (in Vientiane, of all places).

In Vientiane, and no better place for 3 weeks to buy a camera, the best camera available was a Samsung E70 (12megpix, 5X zoom).  Sadly nearly fully auto.  Nevertheless, it did a magnificent job for what it as (or wasn’t).

Seeking to find a replacement, I rejected the Canon sx200IS out of hand for the stupid flash issue.  The S90 doesn’t have enough options for my consideration.

I’ve narrowed it down to the Canon sx120IS [very easy to use] or the Samsung WB660 (HZ15W, in places) [has more features, but will I use?].

For me, megapix over 8 are rarely used, and I doubt I’ll ever use a zoom over about 6X/8X unless with a tripod (which I’m never going to carry).  So, the supposed extra pixel/zoom features of the TZ7, or the WB660 really don’t matter, and hence the less features of the Canon aren’t a ‘loss’ for me.

I rejected out of hand the Panasonic TZ7 because while it has heaps of features, it just isn’t user friendly; I don’t want to have to fiddle with all sorts of knobs/dials just to adjust a shot.

If users have come to a similar camera comparison (ie. Canon sx120IS / Samsung WB660) and can help, I’d love some feedback.

Cheers

2:59 am - Friday, April 30, 2010

#133 Ali Reza

Hi,
I have problem with my SX200IS camera when I am going to transfer videofrom the camera to my PC.
When the file capacity is small, its transfering has no problem; otherwise transfering is impossible.

Thanks
Ali Reza

10:10 am - Sunday, May 2, 2010

#134 BM

‘C’

I don’t like the sx200 because the flash unit automatically pops up when it is turned it on.  You cannot control that function.  And, the flash is located where your hand normally holds the camera.

To me, this is a BIG problem.

As for picture quality, a comparable camera with just as good quality (IMHO) is the Samsung WB660 (elsewhere called WB650 and some other names in the US).

If, like me, you like the general approach of canon, why not go look at the sx120IS.

Cheers

12:34 pm - Sunday, May 2, 2010

#135 nicole

I bought the Powershot SX200 IS last September 2009 - and still love it!! I read all the reviews - asked around at camera shops for their opinions and in the end I stuck with Canon. I’ve been using Canon for years and have always been happy. I was not let down. I read about the flash - and to be honest it’s not a problem. Bad design yes - but once you already know about it, it really isn’t an issue. The point about the weakness of the AV cord outlet rates - made of plastic and weak design - I thought there was a problem or that I’d broken it the first time I opened it. Again - hasn’t bothered me since. As far as the quality of my pictures - I LOVE IT. You have so much scope to create, design, adjust - far beyond that of the Panasonic - and that’s why I chose the Canon. Really it’s fantastic. I went from an old canon SLR (not digital) to this. WOW!
It’s easy to use. Battery lasts a long time. Video great quality. Definitely a purchase worth recommending.
Go for the CANON!

11:00 am - Monday, May 10, 2010

#136 Nashira

*****
This is a long shot but does anyone know where/how I can procure a physical paper copy of the full user manual?

I have the manual on disc but it’s impractical to print and lug around 170+ pages of A4/A5 format script - I need a booklet sized copy of the FULL user guide to carry with me as this is my first digital camera and I’ve never used manual controls before. 

Tinkering in ‘M’ is producing some okay pictures but I need to know what all the controls do and have a handy reference with me.

Any help would be much appreciated - just post a comment and I’ll receive the updates to this thread!

ps:  The camera is great, I’m happy I brought this over the Panasonic as the presets work well - they have helped me to produce some wonderfully clear and detailed pictures (this is before I have used the CHDK hacks - see: [ chdk.wikia.com ]).  Occasionally I cannot stabilise the image and I often keep getting the orange light flashing - I’m confident that this is down to the ineptitude of the owner rather than any problems with the camera itself.
*****

6:37 am - Saturday, May 15, 2010

#137 BM

Nashira

The orange light means that the camera considers the ‘zoom’ range you’ve chosen is too much for hand held (ie the camera can’t focus due to your hand shake) .  You can get small tripods (ie about 100mm) that you can use to help.

As for a printed manual, have you tried just printing one or two pages that assist you on one or two functions?

The camera controls for manual are the same as SLR, etc.

I’m assuming here that you may not be fully conversant on the effects of shutter speed &/or aperture, so may need to read up on this (and practice by taking pics with the variety of offerings and see the result).  If I’m wrong in my assumption, apologies. 

Cheers

9:25 am - Saturday, May 15, 2010

#138 Nashira

Re: #137

It pays to sound off - you have provieded me with an ingenious idea:

Simply print off a couple of relevant pages of the manual and have those to hand!

I can honestly (though sheepishly!) admit this had not occurred to me before - I have been obsessed with wanting to know how every little function works rather than taking it one step at a time… Probably too optimistic considering I do not know how to use an SLR. 

Luckilly I already have a tripod - I brought an octo/gorillapod because I like to be mobile but hate lugging lots of equipment around with me.  So far it has proved useful (for practising shots at night with increased exposure/slower shutter speed) but does have limitations - you need to have either a flat surface to balance it on or a surface for it to grip to.

I’ll take these ideas on board (including becoming better conversant with aperture/shutter speed/focusing) and add another update when I’ve put it all into practice.

On an aside my friends are impressed with holiday and botanical garden pictures I have taken using a mixture of mainly presets with some manual attempts.

Many Thanks “(^_^)”

6:32 pm - Monday, May 17, 2010

#139 FIQQER

The Fixed zoom is a deal breaker for me. 

For photo quality you need to take your own photos to compare not rely on stock photos from the companies/sales person as they can be very misleading.

I have taken much better photos for the camera I eventually chose than some of these reviewers and I am only an amateur.

The review is not relatively old and there are much better cameras out there at a much cheaper price.

For the uncritical, the Panasonic TZ10 or 8 or 7 easily has the best video facility, even if not quite perfect focussing when zooming

I ended up with the Fuji F80EXR as it seems to have the better parts of everything.  Lots of manual options Many more than available from the canon and a zoomable HD video mode (with mono sound)- The video mode is not as good as Panasonic but easily superior to the canon.  Image quality is on par with the Canon but has far more intelligent options, so that it may much the canon in bright outdoor light, but easily suprasses it in indoor conditions.

6:32 pm - Monday, May 24, 2010

#140 Toria

Just to counter what martin said about the flash, you can turn it off, easily, or you can just hold it down with no adverse effects

this camera is worth it for multiple reasons, you can get it for under £200 easily, the zoom is brilliant, and its a sturdy wee thing! I’m going to be honest, i bought it for real photos but its been used mainly for more crazy nights out than are healthy and it still works like new! i just looked over it and realised it got scratched on its last adventure but it is still a beautiful little camera that i wouldn’t be without!

1:10 am - Monday, May 31, 2010

#141 Fiqqer

For Photos in less than daylight conditions, particularly for outdoor/scenery I would strongly recommend the Fuji F70/f80 exr.  This has an EXR mode that combines 2 photos at different exposures to create on clear photo with less noise and a Pro Low Loght mode which is superb at night scenes if you are able to hold a camera very steady/use a stand.  The F80 has a good video mode, although the sound is not great.  The Panasonic models have the best video mode but for photos the Fuji is quite a bit better if you know something about ISO settings.

12:32 pm - Thursday, June 3, 2010

#142 erick

i bought this camera yesterday, i don’t get full understood with this camera yet, but i have took several images with auto mode and the image is so great. I love this camera cause i can shoot widely and the camera look great for pocket size with 12x optical zoom….

4:49 am - Monday, June 21, 2010

#143 Rahul

Hello guys,

I am a novice, and want to buy a digital camera for myself. While searching over the internet for best options available I came to know that Nikon(1) & Canon(2) are the best brands in the market when it comes to camera. So i decided to go for Nikon Coolpix L110 (I liked it DSLR Look & 18x Zoom). While my research i found that manual controls can produce a much better shot than auto/presets available in the camera. And i can also learn a lot if i get a camera with Manual Controls. So, i found Canon SX200IS in line. I was trying to compare both of these L110 & SX200IS. But, as far i can see.. in these comments SX200 IS is always compared to Panasonic.. Nikon is not mentioned even a single time. Is it a coincident or.. i m taking it wrong. For me size hardly matters.. please suggest me is SX200 IS is best that suits me .. or u suggest some other camera.

Thanks in advance. :)

5:55 pm - Monday, July 5, 2010

#144 Rahul

oops.. i mention it wrong.. L110 have 15x zoom not 18 as i mention in my last post .. sorry guys ..

5:56 pm - Monday, July 5, 2010

#145 Nashira

#143 Rahul

Nope it’s not in your head - it seems the SX200IS’s nemesis is the Lumix.  I was torn between these cameras and it was the manual mode on the SX200IS that swung it for me.

The SX is my first camera and I figured it would be a good starting point to learn about Manual set up on cameras in general and so far this has proven true for me… It would be easier if they printed out a manual but as someone else on here pointed out - just print off the pages with the functions that you need to learn about.

The Lumix has a wider lens and better video recording than the SX but I want a camera for pictures, not videos.  I do fantasise about a wider lens but you have the stitch-assist function on the SX that deals with this.

The Nikon one looks pretty but does it have a manual mode?  How much more than the SX does the Nikon one cost? If I remember correctly my SX was about £170, boxed, with memorycard from ebay in March ‘10.  Image is not everything - concentrate on the functionality of the camera.  Zoom is useful but not in every situation.  Optical zoom is more important than digital zoom and often you will need a tripod to stop shake (which is amplified at higher zoom levels).  I think there comes a level in point&shoot; when it is not worth paying more for a p&s camera,  you should use the money to fund a fully manual one…

I have had many compliments on my wonderful pictures - bear in mind this is the first camera I have ever owned (not including on my mobile phone) and I have minimal knowledge of the functions such as ISO, noise, etc!  Mega-pixels will only be useful if the camera has a higher quality sensor to match!

Hope this is helpful but do make sure you read all of the comments as they contain useful info - many people have met the ‘which camera’ dilemma x

8:54 pm - Monday, July 5, 2010

#146 Rahul

Nashira

Thanks for your reply..

Manual control is the thing that’s attracting me. Otherwise, As u may already know .. it have wider lens, greater zoom, dSLR Look (that i like), And it costs nearly half of the Canon SX200 IS. I’m from India & when searched here .. i am getting Canon SX200 IS for INR21,149 (Approx. 453USD) & Nikon L110 for 14,000 (Approx. 299USD) as per today’s currency value. But, Manual Control is a big thing that i don’t want to loose is getting me stuck. Don’t know what to do..

thanks for your reply once again. :)

5:16 am - Tuesday, July 6, 2010

#147 Lady Linda

I love my Powershot SX200 IS but when I downloaded my videos onto my new computer running Windows 7, I have no sound.  On my laptop which runs Windows Vista the sound is fine.  Can anyone advise please?

8:16 pm - Thursday, September 2, 2010

#148 Vasshchuk Gennadiy

Dear friends. Where photo quality is better on wb600 or on sx200? if second is to pay such money for it or better to watch something else? Thank’s.

7:43 am - Thursday, September 16, 2010

#149 Sunil

Hi,

Please help me to choose between SX130 and SX200.
Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

12:48 pm - Sunday, October 3, 2010

#150 andy

CHDKfor timelapse does it   for me

7:14 pm - Sunday, May 27, 2012

#151 Barbara

I have this camera and I love it, but I was thinking about buying an sx500 to renovate it. I checked our site and the image rating for the sx500 is lower than the rating for the sx200. Should I not replace my camera for this one?

6:05 am - Wednesday, May 8, 2013

#152 Arash

Hi guys! I want to buy a SanDisc memory card with this infos: SDHC 16G class 10 but I’m not really sure that this card is adoptable with my camera specification: CANON SX200 IS
thank you in advance for your comments

3:10 pm - Sunday, July 14, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, 3 inch LCD, compact, 720p, 12 megapixel, beginner, 12x zoom, advanced

Tracker Pixel for Entry