Canon PowerShot SX20 IS Review

4.0
September 8, 2009 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

227 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#201 dan

is this normal for sx20 i just bought it yesterday and i dont know if this is normal the light trace blue pink

http://www.4shared.com/video/y2_z8SAk/MVI_0078.html
and

http://www.4shared.com/video/mvYtDnPs/MVI_0090.html

2:08 am - Friday, July 2, 2010

#202 james

i’m planning to buy a digicam but i donno which

canon powershot sx20 is
or
nikon coolpix p100

plz help me

5:01 pm - Tuesday, July 13, 2010

#203 simon

does it come with a memory card ??? replay to me

10:11 am - Sunday, August 8, 2010

#204 Randall Haugen

No it does not come with a memory card,at least mine didnt.

7:04 pm - Sunday, August 8, 2010

#205 Engr. Mark Ocampo

I want to buy a camera, I prefer the canon sx20 can you help me decide which camera to buy, I prefer a good quality of picture and good video

3:32 am - Saturday, September 11, 2010

#206 Anky

i m confused between these cameras….

PowerShot SX20 is, Nikon p100, fuji HS10, Sony DSC HX-1
someone please help…!!!

Thnx…

11:59 am - Wednesday, October 6, 2010

#207 Les

I just purchased (this morning) my first bridge camera, looked at the new SX30IS (35x zoom Canon) and the HS10 (Fuji), haeld them both and took pics in the store.

Went for the Fuji, the manual zoom did it for me, much quicker and more precise than the motorised I felt.

Took ~ 100 pics this afternoon . . . brilliant results on 30x zoom, very easy to move in and out on a subject to ‘find’ them, and the macro is unbelievably detailed perfect focus.

I am absolutely looking forward to a short course soon (next Thurs) on just how to best use the manual settings on this camera.

Out of stock at the moment, but 3” screen protectors are high on my list of must haves, although the HS10 screen does tilt nice for low macros or overhead shots, it doesn’t fold away like the SX20 or SX30.
Mind you, none of my previous digitals have had this and are undamaged, so maybe it was a positive I didn’t really need.

Cheers,
Les

12:30 pm - Sunday, October 10, 2010

#208 Carol Bleasdale

I have had my SX20 for over a year now and am very pleased with it.  I have recently started taking some portrait photographs with it and the recipients were very pleased, even with the images printed out at 10 x 7 inch sizes.  See the following link for an example:

http://www.ephotozine.com/u46787/gallery/1690995

I have nothing but praise for this wonderful camera!

3:45 pm - Friday, November 5, 2010

#209 Martin

I’ve had the sx20 is for about 4 weeks now, and took loads of photos, using auto, part manual, fully manual… and the quality is excellent… it saves humping around lenses, messing about changing lenses and so on, plenty of options for different types of photos, and an excellent tips tool built in… I would recommend it 100%

p.s. Brian and Schoei, great pics of the moon guys… I took a few of the stars the other night, Orion, the Plough etc… turned out nicely also..

2:58 am - Sunday, January 9, 2011

#210 Joe Smokie

What settings did you use for your moon pics? I’ve taken some pictures at night (using the night setting) but my moon pics didn’t come out as I would have liked them to.

Thanks

1:32 pm - Sunday, January 9, 2011

#211 Brian

Joe Smokie:

I used Shutter Priority and 1/800 on one and 1/320 on the other ISO 400. Turn off IS.  Have to play with it a little bit to get it to focus.  Have takenmore pics, including some of the recent lunar eclipse.  Will post those to the folder ASAP. 

Thanks

3:51 pm - Sunday, January 9, 2011

#212 Martin

Moonshot settings were,

Mode: M
Shutter: 1/320
Aperture f5.6
ISO     400
Exposure   -2
and turn off IS as Brian says…

I also used the timer at 10secs…

See moonshots here, still a work in progress, waiting for a full moon! :D
http://www.flickr.com/photos/joeymonk/sets/72157625698734159/

12:01 am - Saturday, January 15, 2011

#213 SailsElan

Interesting ... I took some full moon shots in Aperture Priority mode without a tripod and without turning off IS and even they came out really great.

12:55 am - Saturday, January 15, 2011

#214 Joe Smokie

Thanks for the info, Brian and Martin. I’ll try it out.

1:46 pm - Sunday, January 16, 2011

#215 Martin

Ok, took some more moonshots, I was struggling to get the full moonshot at the settings I wanted:

Mode: M
Shutter Speed: 1/320
Aperture: f5.7
ISO: 400
Zoom: 80X (or whatever)
Exposure Compensation: -2

The exposure kept defaulting to +2 or 1,3/4 in orange, it wouldnt let me change it, result? big white moon! very annoying! anyone know if the manual mode allows FULL manual control?
However, I did manage some nice shots including the moon shot through trees using the “fireworks” mode… slideshow here:http://www.flickr.com/photos/joeymonk/sets/72157625698734159/show/

1:00 pm - Saturday, January 22, 2011

#216 Martin

or try this link
<object width=“400” height=“300”> </param> </param> </param><embed type=“application/x-shockwave-flash” src=“http://www.flickr.com/apps/slideshow/show.swf?v=71649” allowFullScreen=“true” flashvars=“offsite=true&lang=en-us&page;_show_url=/photos/joeymonk/sets/72157625698734159/show/&page;_show_back_url=/photos/joeymonk/sets/72157625698734159/&set_id=72157625698734159&jump;_to=” width=“400” height=“300”></embed></object>

1:01 pm - Saturday, January 22, 2011

#217 Audrey

I was looking for a new camera to buy and got interested with this Canon Powershot SX210IS. From an earlier review I’ve read, this camera is supposed to be small. But how come the image above looks a little bulky, and is not really close to the previous image I’ve seen. I’m referring to this http://mydigitalcamerareview.org/canon-powershot-sx210is-review/ and you could tell the difference between the images.

9:12 pm - Thursday, February 10, 2011

#218 Martin

Your looking at a different camera Audrey, the posts on here are about the SX20 IS, your link is to a SX210 IS….. remove the 1 after the 2 and you have the right camera :)

9:26 pm - Thursday, February 10, 2011

#219 Sarah

Wish I bought a Nikon….my cousin has a couple of them and their fantastic!!!

2:28 am - Thursday, March 24, 2011

#220 Jonathan

Canon SX20is: I now have some considerable expeience of using the SX20. I read several reviews of the camera before purchasing and decided that the facilities offered were ideally suited to travel photography (compact, ide angle & long reach, HD movie, full control or auto) allowing me to carry a minimal amount of equipment. I can only say that the images produced by the camera are extremely acceptable. It’s easy to use, with a little experience too. I have noticed a some fringing in high contrast situations but they are not that obvious generally and esily removed with post processing. Personally, I would recommend the SX20is.

9:11 pm - Wednesday, April 6, 2011

#221 supratim

what a bad camera is canon sx20. i bought it & then get mad looking to its pics. whereas small digital cameras also have great pics. all the pics r with yellowish color. low light pics r horrifying. take 10 pics, 1 or 2 will be of good quality. i sold it to my friend in very low cost. bought sx30. same probs regarding it. again sold out.BOTH OF THEM R TOO HEAVY TO HANDLE. bought Nikon s8100. superb pics. crisp & clear. every photo is high quality. low tight pics is superb. now i am satisfied.

4:56 pm - Tuesday, August 9, 2011

#222 fanelul

One year from buying it and I can’t get any flaws related to my “precious”!
Anyone looking into this segment (compact+superzoom) couldn’t get any better.
As an amateur I couldn’t have made the diference between pictures taken by any Lumix and this but the features are great.
All the lens quality in the world comes to nothing when using it on long trips away from AC. So I just pop my extra 4xAA and I’m good to go.
Al these and the excelent CHDK project make SX20 a must buy….. if you can find any nowadays, that is…

10:47 pm - Friday, October 21, 2011

#223 Carolina

I bought the Canon SX20 Is just over 2 years ago and loved it. However, I started to get problems like R K Sudan described in comment #192. I take lots of photos on portrait setting with fully extended lens. The camera makes a sound as if 2 images have been taken, but only one blurred image is recorded. It happens more and more often. I took the camera back to the shop where I bought it, and they send it on to Canon. Canon says there is nothing wrong with the camera.
Does anyone know what to do about this?

5:08 am - Friday, November 11, 2011

#224 Mark Nongkhlaw

@fanelul, you mentioned CHDK project. May I know what that is?

11:45 am - Monday, February 6, 2012

#225 Josh Bin

This comment may fall on the third or so page, but I hope this gets noticed.
The Canon SX10 IS and SX20 IS are both a poor man’s camera. Not that the cameras are poor, but what I mean is they’re enough for compact camera users. I’ve been using an SX10 IS (see GraphiteOnPaper at deviantArt for fantastic images by SX10) and the photos are somehow good. If you’re a fan of compact cameras, this is a good one. But mind you, I shoot at ISO-80 for most of the time. Problematic noise ACTUALLY starts at ISO-100 or -200. One thing I really like is the Super Macro mode. Though not comparable to real macro lenses, I can say it’s pretty good for a compact camera. Check out “hidden beauty inside the desert rose” at Google images.
But I can agree with Panasonic, though.
Anyway, I’ll be soon having a T3i.

9:37 pm - Thursday, May 30, 2013

#226 Josh Bin

Regarding Martin’s (someone who posted a comment above), there’s actually an easy way to get a fantastic moon image using SX20 or SX10 (which other cameras can’t do).
Here are the settings:
Manual Mode
ISO-80
1/60sec
Full zoom, no digital zoom (handheld only)

Here are sample images using SX10:

http://graphiteonpaper.deviantart.com/art/Our-Neighbor-340305872?q=gallery:graphiteonpaper/36664593&qo=8

http://graphiteonpaper.deviantart.com/art/Bedtime-Stories-373116330?q=gallery:graphiteonpaper/41289298&qo=9

I hope this helps.

9:53 pm - Thursday, May 30, 2013

#227 Joe Smokie

@Josh Bin

Thanks for those moon shot suggestions. My SX20 is still going strong and I love to get night time shots. Too bad I missed the recent full moon but rumor has it that it will come back around in a few weeks at most!

10:31 pm - Thursday, May 30, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, compact, 720p, 12 megapixel, super-zoom, canon, bridge, 20x zoom, 2.5 inch LCD, sx20, sx 20, Canon PowerShot SX20 IS Review, power shot. review

Tracker Pixel for Entry