Canon PowerShot SX210 IS Review

4.0
March 29, 2010 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

177 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Cathy

The image quality of the Canon SX210 IS is rated “4,” as is the image quality of the Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ10. Yet, the Panasonic is “Highly Recommended” and the Canon is “Recommended.”

If image quality is the main concern, which camera would Photography Blog rate higher?

5:02 pm - Monday, March 29, 2010

#2 Frank

Firstly, this is one of my favorite sites and I feel one of the most informative sites in its field. That said, with the exception of a few car pictures, the portrait and a night picture, most of the pictures seem devoted to the two gimmick effects: fisheye and miniturization. Since this camera is in the TZ10 and Sony HC5(?), it is a shame no one took the usual cityscapes since that would really show how it compares to the class leaders.

9:44 pm - Monday, March 29, 2010

#3 m3 real

“Call me shallow if you like, but there are far better looking camera’s out there”

So obviously you value more what other people think about you, with your ‘ugly flash’, than have a great camera that takes great pictures?! Nuts. Do you own Apple products by any chance?

6:55 am - Tuesday, March 30, 2010

#4 UUmode

Can’t really ascertain what quality this camera outputs from the sample images, not much is in focus -  hopefully this is some incamera filter and not a decentric lens element resulting in limited central sharpness and blurred corners ;-)

Bravo for getting this review up first on the internet though.

12:54 pm - Tuesday, March 30, 2010

#5 Ian Lang

Have to agree with the last comment - when there is no standard set, it is very difficult to compare and why so many ‘gimmick’ photos? The few samples at DCResource give a much more representative idea.
And, judging by the few photos available on Flickr, Photographyblog and the person posting there were at the same sponsored shoot - didn’t they let you take the cameras away?
A very good site, which I use all the time, but I’m glad it isn’t the only one ;-)

2:04 pm - Tuesday, March 30, 2010

#6 Kevin Kellerman

Thank your for the review of the camera. I do have to agree with the others, a lack of standard images makes it impossible to compare between models. I really like dpreview’s site for that reason… only trouble is Phil hasn’t done this camera yet, and I’d like to buy it soon.

Get some standard images, and you’ll be well on your way.

I am surprised to see a lack of a tripod mount for this camera, or at least it wasn’t visible in your pictures…

5:30 pm - Wednesday, March 31, 2010

#7 Tom

I would like to know how long it takes the camera to be ready to take a picture when you turn it on.  You may have mentioned it, but I missed it.  The Nikon S8000 takes a reported 3 seconds!

8:36 pm - Wednesday, March 31, 2010

#8 Lyn

Hey, I bought the Powershot SX210 recently, and I have to say, I’m lovin’ it!
Your review was partly the reason I made up my mind to settle on this instead of others.
You can trust Canon for its photo quality, so no worries about it being inferior to Panasonic, Nikon, Sony and blah blah blah. Cos’ being at 14.1mp with a 14x zoom, seriously, what more are you asking for? Don’t forget it’s so compact!
And having such a bold and pretty colour (purple), it has made itself irresistible to a girl like me!
Now, I can hold this pretty camera with me, looking ever bimbotic, while taking awesome pictures that captures awesome memories!

9:23 pm - Wednesday, April 7, 2010

#9 Lyn

To Kevin Kellerman,

-I am surprised to see a lack of a tripod mount for this camera, or at least it wasn’t visible in your pictures…-

Hey,
There is a standard tripod mounting hole at the bottom of the camera! Hope this helps:)

————- 


To TOM,

-I would like to know how long it takes the camera to be ready to take a picture when you turn it on.  You may have mentioned it, but I missed it.  The Nikon S8000 takes a reported 3 seconds! -


Hey,
I timed it, it takes only 0.02 seconds. Does that help? :)

9:30 pm - Wednesday, April 7, 2010

#10 Kevin

Lyn,

Thanks, that does help! I’ll be ordering my camera tomorrow! That was about the only glitch I had because I couldn’t see it. I thought it’d be odd not to have one, especially from these guys.

Kevin

2:08 am - Thursday, April 8, 2010

#11 Judy

In answer to the question ‘what more are you asking for?’ (Lyn, No. 8) my answer is a super wide angle, i.e. 25mm and a little less at the other end.  That would make it perfect for my taste.  Still waiting for Canon to come up with that.

8:19 am - Thursday, April 8, 2010

#12 mery

hi boy…is best this 210, the old 200 or the lunix tz7 or tz8 ?  help me ???

8:59 pm - Thursday, April 8, 2010

#13 Uumode

Just received the SX210

smaller than I anticipated and less plasticky than some have described.

Surprised though it can’t shoot traditional photographic sizes like 6x4 so making prints will crop the image.

Also surprised it has no live histogram!! I automatically assumed it would - especially since it comes with full manual mode and manual focussing.  Perhaps it’s buried in one of the menus.

The long zoom indicator could have done with focal length markings since you have no idea where you are 35mm? 50mm? 85mm? Perhaps no one cares as long as you don’t zoom with you feet to fill the frame.  But I would find it useful if only to establish the points the maximum aperture jumps up with the increase in focal length. S90 has done this well.

11:27 pm - Thursday, April 8, 2010

#14 mery

hi think the best buy is sx-210 !

in how mode i burn on a normal DVD (not blue-ray)
this movie into a DVD ?

i have the old Nero6 and i think not support this new MOV format video ?

a freeware software to convert MOV HD file in AVI or burn on dvd this hd file ?

help me .... kiss by Mery

10:14 am - Saturday, April 10, 2010

#15 rae

i want someone to answer me and give me his opinion
i want to chhose between
Canon PowerShot SX210 and nikon coolpix s 8000
which one it the best?
thx

5:55 pm - Saturday, April 10, 2010

#16 Yianni

rae, no doubt the Canon is a better overall super zoom compact especially when looking at the most important factor which is image quality.

The lens is longer, faster and wider than the Nikon.

Nikon in my eyes simply cannot produce a compact at the moment that has good image quality. I see too much smearing and noise reduction all over the ISO range.

Canon on the other hand are very good at churning out good quality compacts with good image quality all day long.

4:54 am - Sunday, April 11, 2010

#17 mery

hi….  why Cnes review say ONLY 6 at the sx-210 ?

and some reviews say have problem with aberation
of lens ? its true ?

nothing help me to burn the movie hd (.MOV)
into a dvd 4.7 gb ????

3:44 pm - Sunday, April 11, 2010

#18 Alain

In response to rae:
i want to chhose between
Canon PowerShot SX210 and nikon coolpix s 8000
which one it the best?

The Canon is by far the best. I’ve been doing my research, and if you can afford this camera buy it. There are some major flaws with the Nikon that shouldn’t be there (and aren’t on the Canon) such as: no optical zoom while shooting video, and a high pitched ring while shooting video. The image quality is also better on the Canon.

1:10 am - Tuesday, April 13, 2010

#19 Karen

Wondering is anyone has had luck with sports shots.  The Canon PowerShot SX210 doesn’t have a “sports” mode.  Will I be disappointed as I need it to take great shots during cross country and track meets?

11:15 pm - Wednesday, April 14, 2010

#20 Rob E

Hey
How annoying is this pop up flash
Does it really always pop up every time you turn the camera on - or only when it thinks you need the flash?

I also wonder how it compares to the Panasonic TZ10

10:44 am - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#21 uumode

The pop up flash can be supressed by holding the flash so it doesn’t pop up.  it makes a click though. And you can pop the flash back in by hand - manual says so

Not great for sports If you need a fast continuous frame rate Panny and Sony better

11:32 am - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#22 rabbit3105

hey, im about to buy powershot 210 and ixus 210 for handy reason when travel. which has better image quality to shoot nature and night time? does Pwr shot has fish eye and miniature effect too?
thanks

3:36 pm - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#23 David

I bought this camera in the USA on holiday and it is FANTASTIC.
A few positive observations i have made are:

1) Miniature mode is great. It softens and warms the colours, and I have some great mini mode pictures from the top of the Empire State Building.

2) Fisheye is a bit of a gimmick and rarely useful.

3) Stitch feature is helpful for large city-scape panoramas, and software is good.

4) You can zoom in movies. Yes that’s right, you can zoom in movies. This is really great, as few point and shoots have this.

5) 14x optical zoom is extremely helpful. I have a Canon dSLR as well, but changing to the big 300mm lens is just a pain.

6) Full manual mode is good for prosumers.

7) I am very happy with the image quality.

8) It’s a Canon. I have had one SLR then an IXUS 400 then a 400D dSLR and now I have added a sx210 IS. All Canons, all good. The build quality is excellent - never had any problems.

Now for some negative points:

1) Flash pops up automatically. very minor as it can be pressed back down, but just a bit annoying.

2) Doesn’t come with a full manual in hardcopy. Just another small grumble

3) Fairly expensive, although this should drop. It is definitely worth it though.

Overall:

A superb point and shoot. When I chose a camera, I first went for the brand: Canon. Then I went by features: What I want etc.
Hasn’t disappointed, at all.

12:40 am - Monday, April 19, 2010

#24 Annemarie

Does anyone know the quality of the macro feature of the SX210?

3:31 am - Monday, April 19, 2010

#25 Rob

I was reviewing the reviews on this camera and found the Samsung WB650
The WB650 seems to be a great camera to compare it against. (12mp, 15x optical)
Apparantly manual controls not so good but pictures and everything else is good.

4:30 am - Monday, April 19, 2010

#26 R K Sudan

The SX210 IS has been awarded very good rating by reputed reviewers including this site. So far all the experts have pitched the SX210 mainly against the Lumix TZ10/ZS7 though some have also tried to make it a three-way contest by bringing in the HX5 from Sony. Image quality of both is ranked at par though the Lumix is overall placed a notch higher on account of better ergonomics and a wider lens (starting at 25 mm as compared to 28 mm of the SX). The SX210 scores on account of a longer zoom which is a whopping 30% more. Image stabilization is also at par.

I don’t think the difference of 2 Megs would be a decider in favor of the SX210 as the sensor remains the same 1/2.3 inch in both the models. I’d rather call it advantage Lumix on this count. The annoying feature of the flash popping up each time the SX210 is powered on has been highlighted by all. Besides being a distraction and nuisance the ever-popping flash (and subsequent pushing down by the user) can cause damage to the mechanical system resulting in camera failure anytime. I wonder why Canon designed it that way.

My opinion is that a buy decision ought to be made after test running both the cameras. In the Indian market Canon has an advantage. They have priced it even lower than the Panasonic’s older model TZ7 (predecessor to the TZ10) and have a head start while the Lumix is yet to reach the market. I wish Canon had continued with the AA type battery.

If Panasonic turns up quickly and with a competitive price we’ll have a real match in this megazoom category. Hope it happens soon.

3:13 pm - Wednesday, April 21, 2010

#27 Rob E

Thank you R K Sudan - great summary - but does anyone think the Samsung WB650 - is also a contender in to these 3.(SX210, Lumix TZ10, HX5)
Specifications say it is.

7:39 pm - Wednesday, April 21, 2010

#28 Tara

I have been agonizing about buying a Canon vs a Panasonic Lumix or Sony. It’s common to hear that Canon has superior image quality, but when I review ANY Canon images online, the colors always seem washed out, almost like there’s a mild haze over the image. In particular, I notice that green grass always has a bluish tinge to it. This is noticeable in one of the sample images here. Is it just me, or is this a problem with Canon? Or maybe my monitor needs an adjustment?

9:21 pm - Wednesday, April 21, 2010

#29 uumode

Having used the SX210 for a few days.

Image quality is very good at 5MP - nearly matches Sigma DP series with a few optical compromises. (the camera I originally wanted), the Sigma has a far superior fixed lens of course, but has major negatives in terms of operational speed, LCD and flexibility, no decent video etc

On the web there are image comparisons between Sony HX5/TZ10 at a max resolution level the Canon ‘just’ by a whisker has the edge on image quality - less smudged noise reduction details in grass / foliage IMHO

However when comparing like for like, the journos forget the face you need to downsize the Canon’s 14MP to match (or shoot in 9MP mode). When downsized the extra amount of pixels the Canon has to start with confers it an advantage in image quality courtesy of downsizing. Everything is that much sharper and defined.

This even matches a Canon S90 IMHO (when downsized to match the same resolution). Oddly I think the SX210 has a more SLR type contrast, whereas the S90 tends to be high contrast and blows out highlights easier, along with much stronger colours bordering on too vivid.
S90 performs better at high ISOs though.

Oddly I think the 640 video is nearly on par with the 720p video when displayed on a 1080p video via HDMI
The 640 video is very high quality with little compression and when scaled to fit it looks decent still despite it’s relative lack of pixels compared to 720p. The 720p video is a bit soft, probably due to higher levels of compression. Unfortunately in movie mode compression cannot be changed, no exposure/focus lock etc either. Sound cuts out annoyingly when it detects the slightest amount of wind.

The dedicated movie button makes it extremely easy to flick between filming movie and taking a still. I’m finding the pop up flash feature to be of a benefit now. If you set your flash mode to be on, it will be on when you power up, but if you know you won’t need it, e.g. in more quick, covert photography e.g. in a store - when powering up you simply hold the flash down with your finger and you know the flash won’t fire. So this bypasses navigating the menus to switch it off.

1:06 am - Thursday, April 22, 2010

#30 R K Sudan

@ Rob E (S No. 27)

Thanks Rob for appreciating my point of view. I don’t really know why anyone hasn’t mentioned the WB650 as a worthy competitor to the SX210 IS. Perhaps it lacks some critical parameters. I regularly follow sites like the Cameralabs review, Steve’s Digicams, Digitalcamera-hq and a few others but haven’t noticed therein any mention of the WB650. May be Photographyblog.com has an answer to your poser.

3:08 am - Friday, April 23, 2010

#31 Rob E

Thanks for responding R K Sudan
The WB650 seems not to be available in NZ yet - so perhaps it is availability or perhaps as a brand it just does not rate yet.
Only downside of the wb650 i have read so far is difficult to use manual controls and I think only one aspect ration - 16:9

3:24 am - Friday, April 23, 2010

#32 andersemanuel

two bad things about this camera compared to the sx200,
1. in video mode especially in low light conditions, it keeps refocusing.. very irritating .
2 the popup flash stays down and is impossible to get out if you cover it when starting the camera,
I still accidentally hinder the flash every other time I start the camera, and the has to restart the cam to get it up.

I bought it mainly for the zoom and better size than the sx200, but the ability to zoom while recording video, doesn’t make up for the irritating blur that appears while the camera keeps refocusing
digital zoom is very usable thou, and gives cool shoots almost up to max 56X ! fantastic in a small pocket camera.

9:40 pm - Friday, April 23, 2010

#33 R K Sudan

@ Tara (S No. 28)

Issues like softness in images or giving a particular prominent shade, something probably originating from the sensor itself, could be attributed to camera brands. Sort of trademarks they become. I don’t include purple fringing and/or washed out/blurry images in this attribute. That is why digital images always need treatment in a photo editing software no matter what camera brand you use or how advanced the model is.

If we go back to roll films of yesteryears each brand had one or another type of colour cast in them. They were termed as biased towards certain colours like the Kodak rolls displayed prominently red casts while Konika had a blue bias and like that.

I don’t have a first hand experience of the SX210 images but can vouch for crisp and vibrant colours captured by some ordinary Canon models like the Powershot A95 of 5 years vintage and my three year old S3IS.

Irrespective of what the experts say one ought to shortlist at least two different brands and test-check the images. I have plans to compare the SX210 and the TZ10 as soon as the latter is officially launched in India.

Well, calibrating a monitor is a good thing to do but blaming the poor thing is certainly not. A faulty monitor would be treating images from all the sources in the same way without any discrimination.

10:19 am - Saturday, April 24, 2010

#34 BZ

Can someone please comment on the no flash interior pictures? Parties, home pics, smokey bars, live shows, etc…

I was going to buy the s8000 but if the sx201 is good at this, I’m thinking of changing.

Thank you in advance!

2:05 am - Tuesday, April 27, 2010

#35 andersemanuel

reply BZ
I am not satizfied with the indoor movie performance, most of my prior canons were less grainy and kept focus better. I believe it has something to do with the fact that you now can zoom optically while filming. My Canon S90 is much better althou only vga movie mode.
The flash is also an irritating factor. It keeps poping up on your thumb when you start the camera. If you dont let it, it stays down and cant be used. you have to restart the camera to get it up. the only exceptional thing about the sx210 is the 14x zoom in a extremly compact format
I haven’t tried the s8000.

7:05 am - Tuesday, April 27, 2010

#36 BZ

reply andersemanuel

Thank you very much for your thoughts. I’t's taking me a lot to find a good camera for ‘no flash interior pictures’ and still no clue.

Any ideas? Anyone?

Thank you very much in advance

11:56 am - Tuesday, April 27, 2010

#37 andersemanuel

reply BZ

If you can accept the size of the S90, it is a good choise. It has the same large sensor as the G11, and very good indoor capability.
My thoughts on iso ratings for digital cameras is that it’s impossible to compare.
A more fair test of the sensor speed is to for example take pictures of kids on a trampoline.
If the camera manages to catch a sharp and bright enough picture, it’s good.
the bad thing is that 5 years ago, almost all cameras did ok, but with larger pixelcount now, it is not for certain.

12:30 pm - Tuesday, April 27, 2010

#38 uumode

If indoors, no flash then the Canon S90, has a slightly bigger sensor and slightly better low light performance at higher ISOs.

However if you are more serious, you need a large sensor - I personally would go for an entry level SLR which is about same price as the Canon SX210.

Portability shouldn’t be an issue as you are indoors right?

12:36 pm - Tuesday, April 27, 2010

#39 BZ

reply andersemanuel & uumode

Thank you for your thoughts.

The S90 is a wonderful camera, and although portability is an issue (I like compact cameras to fit in my pocket), it’s small enough for me.

The interior lighting capabilities seem totally OK for me.

The bad things are: 1) the zoom is not very powerful (i could do with this) and 2) it’s too expensive, I was looking for something on or under the 300$ range, as most compacts seem to be.

I’ll have to keep looking, I can sacrifice things as pixel count, zoom & other features but I really need that the camera gets right the no flash interior light, it’s where my former cameras (all nikon coolpix) failed.

Any further suggestion is welcome, you are wonderful people, thank you for your efforts so far & thank you in advance again.

5:34 pm - Tuesday, April 27, 2010

#40 Lorie

Sadly I bought this camera and am sending it back. Bought as a package kit from Butterfly Photo via Amazon so it came with two batteries. Both discharged with 1-2 hours of moderate use. I cannot believe nobody is talking about the battery problem!  We took our daughters 110 to Paris. That camera takes AA lithiums. We loaded it fresh when we arrived and didn’t change them with 10 days of heavy use including reviewing all evening. Here’s a quote from butterfly -the battery Canon ships should give you about an hour of actual use of the camera. It never crossed my mind this camera would draw down that fast and I’ve tried both batteries. Considering I took a photo with the 110 of the moon behind the Eiffel Tower and could pick up the surface craters with batteries that last for days, I’m returning this one and going backward in the product line. And frankly my pictures are not all that impressive. They are grainy in low light and I could not care less about fish eye tricks. So goodbye little gold beauty!

2:40 am - Wednesday, April 28, 2010

#41 Dilan

Is that true that this one dont have much battery life?? Anyone??

7:37 am - Tuesday, May 11, 2010

#42 Lorie

I also want to comment on the macro mode. On the 110 you could use macro on auto but on this camera it’s only available on the program mode and maybe one other. I was noticing I could not zoom in as closely as I like to take close ups of flowers. Doing research I found a poster who said the 110 version had a macro of .5 cm but the 210 only focuses at 5 cm. That’s a huge difference for a macro which us why I was frustrated getting really up close shots. You’re giving up some other features to get that long zoom. Fir me and I’m no pro I had much better stability with the 110 at 10 mpx than the 210 at 14 mpx. I just shipped mine back and am lookong at the 120 now which is still in the same class as the 110 with some improvements.

11:27 am - Wednesday, May 12, 2010

#43 Linden

I am trying to purchase a compact superzoom. I have narrowed it down to the following:
-Nikon S8000
-Canon SX210 IS
-Sony DCS-HX5

I value image quality first and foremost and I don’t anticipate using the video feature. Could someone please let me know what they think the best choice would be?

Thanks!

8:16 am - Thursday, May 13, 2010

#44 Don

Pardon me but were you on something when you took the pictures, they are terrible, I can send you my 12 year old gson along if you wish. You had none of the usual bridge thing, as is handy to keep to same view for better comparison, the rest were blurred. Add more water next time.

6:34 pm - Saturday, May 15, 2010

#45 andersemanuel

re Don
sarcasm and irony is no good on a forum for cameras.
if you don’t like the editors photos-just say so. fyi we have your ip address and know where your grandson lives. is a joke but you don’t know that. get it?

6:54 pm - Saturday, May 15, 2010

#46 tosa43

I think the pictures are very bad Canon 210 presented
These are the worst pictures that can make 210th
Why is this done I do not know ???

4:33 pm - Sunday, May 16, 2010

#47 Englaise

Overall, this camera is very good:

Excellent image quality (colour rendition, clarity, low-light noise factor, movie quality).

To Annemarie; this is not the best macro camera. The Nikon would probably be a much better choice for that, as you can get physically closer to your subject than with the Canon (0.1cm vs. 5cm with the Canon) Additionally, the Canon has no special “Macro” mode; the closeness to your subject it what determines this. The fact that they call it Macro is rather nebulous. Even my ancient Coolpix 880 does a much better job with macro shooting…and it DOES have a true macro mode.

Else, the Canon is very good for bringing distant subjects up close, and the wide-angle is great for capturing, say, the contents of a room from a cramped vantage with a single shot.

Whether these different camera models is best for you, depends on how you will use them.

I don’t do much macro shooting, so the Canon was a better choice for me, as I do lots of nature/landscape shooting, interspersed with the occasional wedding/social event.

8:32 pm - Wednesday, May 19, 2010

#48 nanu

sony cybershot DSC T90 or canon power shot SX210??? which one’s better?? tnx.. :)

1:20 am - Wednesday, May 26, 2010

#49 Mark

This vs sony dsc-h55? I know only that latter’s much cheaper.

3:12 pm - Saturday, May 29, 2010

#50 Peter

Interested to see that in Macro, the test shot could only go as close as 5cms on the SX210.

On the SX200 the test shot went to 0cms.

Why the big difference?

On this evidence (if correct) for my preference in Macro photography, the SX200 seems the best deal.

Any comments?

10:23 am - Sunday, May 30, 2010

#51 Peter Buckingham

Why does the Macro setting on the SX210 only go to down as near as 5cms from the object.

The SX200 allows a 0cms (zero) distance.

11:23 am - Monday, May 31, 2010

#52 Joe

I am highly interested in getting the SX 210IS. I have complete faith in Canon and have owned Canons for the past 30 years and have never complained about quality or anything else for that matter, except for battery drainage on the A1100AS. Now reading about same problem on the 210 gets me concerned. Is this a one off or a regular problem? Any comments from all you camera users. Thanks

10:12 am - Wednesday, June 2, 2010

#53 michal

maybe somebody can tell how long you can actually use this Camera ??? please

9:15 pm - Wednesday, June 2, 2010

#54 Mark

@Joe : Reg. battery drainage, maybe you can buy a spare battery & charger? Just ordered a Canon SX20 IS for the same reason-to avoid battery probs. There’s a 14-day return policy for my cam. I’d like to know how to quickly test my cam when it arrives (just in case there are functional defects) before the 14 days elapse. Any tips or resources?

8:14 am - Thursday, June 3, 2010

#55 visitor

i used to have canon a570 and it had a dedicated macro mode. played with 210 at local Worst Buy. I saw the macro icon and there’s an option to select it. Similar to my old cam. I can’t imagine why this overpriced POS cam wouldn’t have macro mode.

i would buy this cam but reviews say it’s slow. shot-to-shot, processing/writing to memory card, burst mode, focusing stills, focus hunting in video.

Ergonomics. What ergonomics? i would prefer a hot shoe and no flash than that pathetic useless pop-up POS flash.

1:25 am - Saturday, June 5, 2010

#56 Murali

Hi,
anybody please suggest me, i’m planning to buy a camera and my choice is canon SX210 and Fujifilm FinePix HS10.

So which is the best.. please suggest me,

3:42 pm - Wednesday, June 9, 2010

#57 Jenny

The Canon powershot 210IS does not have a viewfinder which I always use on my old Canon. Is this a problem in bright light?

12:41 pm - Thursday, June 10, 2010

#58 Wil

Has anyone experienced lag or noticeably longer wait times shot-to-shot or b/w taking pics for the Canon SX210?  How is the quality of and ease of taking action photos w/ this camera?

6:53 pm - Thursday, June 10, 2010

#59 Harly

with the features included on the camera, does it make more sense to just use photoshop instead of using the settings?

11:22 pm - Thursday, June 10, 2010

#60 Mike

m3 real wrote:
“So obviously you value more what other people think about you, with your ‘ugly flash’, than have a great camera that takes great pictures?! Nuts. Do you own Apple products by any chance?”

Yes, as a matter of fact I do and your comparison is nonsense.

12:59 pm - Sunday, June 13, 2010

#61 steven

no1 has replied about the battery drainage. i wud expect any camera to last longer than an hour. i am really impressed with the reviews of this camera and was planning to buy 1 except for this MAJOR blip. if it is one

any help wud be much appreciated…

4:22 pm - Sunday, June 13, 2010

#62 gena rainey

I would like to know which one is the better camera.  I am trying to choose between the Canon SD3500 and the SX210.  The SD3500 is a touch screen.  I like this idea, but I would be just as pleased without it.  I really like the 14X zoom of the SX210.  I am not an experienced picture taker and have only owned one digital camera…..Kodak easyshare.  I would like to upgrade.  Any information or suggestions would help and be appreciated.  Thank you…...Gena

10:36 pm - Thursday, June 17, 2010

#63 madagascaralex

Lumix TZ10 is better than SX210 in terms zoom, video recording and wide angle:)...maybe price too. Lumix uses Leica lens. Both doesnt performs well in low light due to their low aperture. But, HD quality videos worth it all. Best for divers.

6:10 pm - Sunday, June 20, 2010

#64 Barry P

Hello people,
        LOOK I have this camera about a week now, I have like you all read the the reviews and as per them I have been Disappointed bye the lack of if you like Accuracy , because I have been playing around with cameras for years and this camera the ES210IS produces pictures that are almost 3D I went to the zoo with my Daughter to have a shoot off if you will LMAO who thought her Sony SLR ,not a very high end camera but way more money than what I paid for the canon and the comparisons blew both her and my mind.
this is truly a do all camera beyond that trust me don’t walk but run out and buy this camera you will never look back the biggest gripe is the flash who cares when everything else is Amazing! Most people giving reviews always have a few favorites just like in school if you get my drift because I can not believe that I see something they don’t but again beauty is in the eye of the beholder right so each to his own, on that all I can say is that the camera takes wonderful quality pictures do you have to work for them yes anything you shoot requires that you learn f-stop and aperture and light adjustments you will be able to take a picture good enough for most magazines that’s how good this camera shoots it’s not fast it’s not pretty but it does what you wish most cameras would do, if you want better you will spend 2 to 3 x as much period and the flash will not fail I spoke to a canon rep it is Supposed to Click and uses a smooth roller switch that is pressure sensitive ok, and to boot it comes in colors I Prefer black looks rich so there is something for everyone, and it Comfortable in you back or front jean pocket unless your 4 ft tall yep a lot of bang for the buck and thats no BS>.

4:13 am - Tuesday, June 22, 2010

#65 uumode

The Canon SX210is is the camera which I would choose again, but it has in my mind these flaws - which would benefit from being better in the next model.

1. battery charger doesn’t automatically switch off to prevent over charging (my previous 2 Fuji’s do it, as does my netbook, iPhone..)

2. no live histogram (biggest missing feature for me)

3. battery left indication goes from healthy to you might need to charge up, to zero in no time. Don’t know if the battery indication could be a little more accurate and progressive?

4. flash is tiny and weak

5. the digital zoom in movie mode doesn’t utilise all the pixels on the imaging sensor like it does on the still photos. If shooting 640x480 mode for example in stills mode you have full use of most of the optical zoom range without image degradation, with video you lose that, otherwise you could have a whooping 30x video zoom without loss of quality.

6. No auto ISO modes!

1:23 am - Saturday, June 26, 2010

#66 austo

i needed to upgrade from my cannon ixus850..28-112mm.appx..so i looked at the sony : only 25mm-250.zoom..the tz10 was bad in low light..and cannon dont make a 24mm. wide angle with super zoom just yet..so,i purchaced a samsung wb600. 24mm-360mm…big misstake ..it has fantastic features but it takes awfull photos…i am returning it tomorrow..and after all, “PHOTO QUALITY” is the bottom line. ?so maybe its the cannnon sx210 for me or i will wait untill they release a lower wide angle…cannon quality is in my opinion ,hard to beat..tks

2:30 pm - Tuesday, June 29, 2010

#67 Judy

Austo, I agree that Canon quality is hard to beat and am also waiting impatiently for them to come out with a 24mm wide angle travel camera.  Until then I am using my Panasonic TZ7 which I find does a remarkably good job, and there are ways to overcome the lack of any manual control. I do, however, prefer Canon colours, so hopefully Canon will come out with something soon.

2:39 pm - Tuesday, June 29, 2010

#68 Gaurav

I’ve been using this camera for a couple of months now for landscape photography and don’t have major issues.

Battery backup, well I didn’t face any issues. It worked fine for a day or so. (I switched off the camera when not in use).

I’ll just list down my observations
- Flash popping up is a non issue.
- Close up images using macro could have been better.
- Just that at $329 I found it a bit costly. I’d say if you can wait for prices to drop.
- Battery charger doesn’t indicate when battery is fully charged.
- Battery indicator is unpredictable.
- Videos are best with zoom facility.

All in all, a great cam if priced say at $250-$270 range.

5:51 pm - Sunday, July 4, 2010

#69 claire

some remarks

- There Is a macro in Auto mode, it detects automatically and a flower appears in the screen to indicate that

- Since I put my left hand quit similar on the camera as my right hand, I automatically blocks the flash from popping up, (good thing) and contrary to some comments, it Can be lifted up afterwards when needed, without restarting, there is even a little minigrip for it.

-picture deletion is possible in 3 buttons, not in 6. press down wheel , go right to confirm, and confirm.

-price , I payed 260€, very fair price I think.

-battery charger does have charging/full indicator. (red/green)

-battery indicators always have been poor on canon. and that’s why I miss optical pointer, to be able to turn off screen and take 10 times as many pictures as with screen on. But it seems most cameras do without these days.

-no printed manual is better for the environment,
and I’m not even really an environmentalist, but also I prefer having such things digital, as a manual often gets lost or old. Even could have done very well also without the 4 booklets included, to throw out 3 immediately seems silly but is the case, it has been printed, shipped, included in the price etc. Should be downloadable or send on demand for those without internet/computer. 

-also a good thing they finally stopped the ridiculous 32 mb memorycards , that nobody ever uses and are just thrown out immediately.

7:45 pm - Monday, July 5, 2010

#70 marberfa

At first, I was really disappointed when I bought the SX210. I also own an SX100 and an SX10, as well as a couple of Pannys which all seemed more capable.

FYI: I’ve been shooting pix for pay and play since my first Pentax Spotmatic SLR in the mid-1960’s.

No need to go into the SX210’s negatives that have been discussed thoroughly here and elsewhere.

However, after more than 500 shots in a wide variety of situations ranging from bright to dim light, fast action to landscapes, as well as spur of the moment photo ops, I am telling you that THIS IS THE BEST ALL-ROUND CAMERA I’VE EVER USED!

There is a price to pay, however, and I don’t mean money: You must always be aware that this is a VERY idiosyncratic camera that demands you LEARN it! If you just want snapshots, you can do better with less capable products at half the price. But if you’re reasonably intelligent and patient, and willing to woo this demanding little monster, you will be amazed at it’s (and your) capabilities.

As ye sow, so shall ye reap!

6:48 am - Tuesday, July 6, 2010

#71 Mgh

Sorry to say, I am very disappointed with the sx210. Not what I hoped to get for the price I paid. There are several problems, starting with unimpressive low-light performance, and ending with an unstable auto-focus during video recording. The picture just goes out of focus every few seconds, and then back to focus. This happens more in low light conditions, but also in full daylight. There’s more, but I just can’t be bothered. Bad choice.

7:34 pm - Saturday, July 10, 2010

#72 Amit

hey…
first thing ..i m not much good at photography..
i just bought sx210is…
i got a problem wid it… whenever i shoot avideo of candle the video contain a vertical line of light near the flame of candle…
(truly i don’t know this a problem or not).
i’ll be very thankful if anybody can explain what this thing is…is there any problem wid the camera?
u can also reply me on my mail
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

8:53 am - Monday, July 12, 2010

#73 ryan

after doing lots n lots of research…i came down 2 dis final 2 cameras…canon s90 or canon sx210???pls comment on dis…thank you!!

6:40 pm - Friday, July 23, 2010

#74 Dars

If you are a pro or semi-pro that doesn’t care about the zoom and values image quality above all, choose the s90.

If you want a camera that has lots of cool features and captures a decent image in almost all the situations, choose the powershot.

If you still can’t decide, go to “snapsort.com”.

11:45 am - Thursday, July 29, 2010

#75 Iv

Can you please help me choose the best camera for myself. I had Canon IXUS 960IS and was very happy with it while it was working. I am looking for a compact camera that:
-captures quickly and produces good quality images of moving objects ,i.e my 19 months daughter
- good for close up shots
-good at low light
-has a good video so that we can film precious moments.
My choices so far are:
Canon S90
Canon IXUS 300HS
Canon Powershot XS210IS
Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ10
Feel free to add the best if I have missed it.
Thank you

4:23 pm - Friday, July 30, 2010

#76 MOhammed

the specification of SX 210 is wonderfull , but i have 2 qusetions?
1- does it has panorama option
2- could i zoom in and out while recording vedio
thanks

2:08 pm - Sunday, August 1, 2010

#77 Dars

Reply to Iv:

Subject: 1st place/2nd place/3rd place/4th place

Captures quickly (shutter lag (not sure if I am correct)): Panasonic/Powershot/S90/IXUS

Captures quickly (continuous shooting): IXUS/Panasonic/S90/Powershot

Captures quickly (high speed video): IXUS

Good quality images of moving objects (maximum shutter speed): Powershot/IXUS/Panasonic/S90

Good for close up shoots (macro): S90/IXUS; Panasonic/Powershot

Good for close up shoots (optical zoom): Powershot/Panasonic/S90; IXUS

Good at low light (ISO): S90/Panasonic/IXUS/Powershot

Good at low light (aperture - wide angle): S90; IXUS/Powershot/Panasonic

Good at low light (aperture - telephoto): S90; Panasonic/IXUS/Powershot

Good at low light (minimum shutter speed): Panasonic/S90; IXUS; Powershot

Has a good video (video quality): IXUS; Powershot; Panasonic/S90


If you are going to use it at home mostly, I recomend the S90 or the IXUS.

Reply to MOhammed:

1- Yes, but it only cuts the photo in haft. There is, although, a cut and paste option: you take a photo and haft appears in the screen, you lign up the haft with the reality and take another photo, you lign up the reality with the new haft, and so on.
Not like the Samsung NEX 5 but it works if you are very steady.

2- Yes, but it’s slower than when you take a picture.

 

If you have more questions about the sx210 or other camera just ask.
I’l try my best.

1:35 am - Monday, August 2, 2010

#78 MOhammed

ok i wanna know which better
PowerShot SX210 or Cybershot H55, or cybershot HX5V, or panasonic TZ10

7:35 am - Monday, August 2, 2010

#79 Dars

Reply to Mohammed:

It depends on what the camera is for.

If you want image quality above all you may want to rule out the Cybershot HX5V (it’s not like the image quality is horrible but it’s sligtly lower).

Although the image quality is the worst, Cybershot HX5V has the gold medal in video quality.

The camera with less ISO is the PowerShot SX210.

They all have great zoom but the Powershot is the best.

The Panasonic is great in low light pictures because even if the ISO is not enough, you can use the 60 seconds shutter to get more light (you just need to have a tripod or a table…).

If you like continuous shotting, choose the Cybershot.

If you can’t choose either go to snapsort or tell what kind of camera you want.

Good Luck!

11:41 am - Monday, August 2, 2010

#80 Cees

Difficult choice between PowerShot SX210is and Panasonic TZ10.
I’ve been reading all the reviews and actually I have no idea what to choose.
What I’m looking for is:

Good quality images
Good pictures even in bad light situations
Pictures of objects in motion (animals, kids, cars)
Zoom (10+)
Nice and easy panorama shoots

Not really looking for a fotocamera that makes good/great HD videos (then I will be looking for a videocam)

Tnxs in advance

12:20 pm - Friday, August 13, 2010

#81 Joe

I have been reading several comments on the Canon SX210. I have bought it and just came back from a holiday and used it extensively, took almost 1500 shots in various conditions as one can imagine. I can now say that the Canon SX210is is impeccable. It needs a little getting used to as all cameras I presume, but the quality, the features, the clarity, colours, bettery life are exceptional. I can easily recommend it to anyone. Canon have always produced high quality cameras which I have used for the past 30years and in my opinion Canon have no competition, they are the ultimate in photography. So anyone trying to decide between this camera and any other, i feel extremely confident in saying, ‘Go for the SX210is’ and now i can say it through experience too, and it is worth evert euro I spent on it.

12:33 pm - Friday, August 13, 2010

#82 Dars

Reply to Cees:
In my country the panasonic tz10 is very expensive.
If it is the same with you I do not recomend the panasonic.

It’s a tie.

The image quality is almost the same (I heard that the panasonic exagerates red but its probably just a stupid rumor).

The panasonic rules in low light.

The Canon powershot is better to capture moving things but you probably wont need that much shutter speed.

Again the Canon is better but it’s not a big diference.

I believe that the panasonic has the nice and the easy and that the canon has just the nice.

Both have 720p (hd) video.

You just have to decid what matters the most for you.

1:23 pm - Monday, August 16, 2010

#83 diego

Can someone tell me if this camera lets you change the optical zoom while making a video?

9:13 am - Thursday, August 19, 2010

#84 Mel

Hey Cees!

“Good quality images
Good pictures even in bad light situations
Pictures of objects in motion (animals, kids, cars)
Zoom (10+)
Nice and easy panorama shoots”

I would say it’s the Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX5V.
Go read up the review. Best suits what you are looking for! (;

3:23 pm - Sunday, August 29, 2010

#85 parthasaradhi reddy

Recently i purchased powershot210 .Picture quality is good at 9mega pxls.video is fine with zoom.Dont rely on reviewers verdict. SEE, VIEW AND PURCHASE.

12:27 pm - Friday, September 3, 2010

#86 bam

I too am looking for a compact cam with:
1) good image quality
2)can take good pictures even at low light situations without using tripod
3)can take good pictures of moving objects/person
4)superzoom at least 10x
5)good video quality

I don’t have much photographic skill but am willing to learn. I want a less expensive cam than pan lumix lx3 and I also considered Panasonic ZS7 but read that it is not so good in low light situations? Is Canon SX210IS better in overall low light situations?

Why is Casio FH100 not mentioned at all as it has all the good points I mentioned above though it cannot zoom while taking videos but on the other hand the plus is its ability to take slow motion and its high speed continuous shooting mode and better than average battery life?

5:51 pm - Saturday, September 4, 2010

#87 Bam

Sorry, I should not have mentioned pan lumix lx3 as it has no superzoom of 10x or more and good video quality.

7:02 pm - Saturday, September 4, 2010

#88 Dars

Reply to Diego:

Yes, it does that to.

Reply to bam:

Probably because Casio is not one of the “elite” brands.

Still, they are very good for fast stuff.

8:11 pm - Saturday, September 4, 2010

#89 John

Batteries are an expense to think about when buying a camera like the PS SX210 IS which has a proprietary battery as opposed to standard AA NiMH off-the-shelf batteries. If the charger does NOT automatically turn off or go to trickle charge when the batttery is fully charged, you will cook your battery and be buying a new one (not cheap) sooner than later.  The circuitry for an automatic turn off/trickle charge is very simple, and I cannot believe Cannon did not include it with this charger.

6:42 am - Thursday, September 9, 2010

#90 Kevin

John - where have you been the last 5 or 6 years? AA’s just don’t have the capacity of Li+ batteries, and show me any decent camera that still runs on alkaline batteries. I have 4.5 years on my SD800’s original pack with no capacity issues.

I won’t buy a camera today unless it comes with a proprietary battery. AA’s are for the stone age!

1:51 pm - Thursday, September 9, 2010

#91 Monica

Have been debating between the Canon SD1400 vs the Canon SX210 .... any thoughts… pros vs cons….Any insight would be appreciated….

5:42 am - Friday, September 24, 2010

#92 SoCal John

Had the camera for less than two months. I need a new $60 battery. Get the “Change battery pack” signal.It won’t recharge. It is likely due to the reasons stated on this blog—no overcharge safety feature. So I have to babysit the charging so it doesn’t overcharge. Functionally, I could never find out how to delete a photo. Someone said it took six clicks to do that. Not being able to delete a photo makes the girlfriend a little uneasy. Anyway I give it a thumbs down for these two reasons given the price.

2:32 am - Saturday, September 25, 2010

#93 Monica

SoCal John….Are you referring to the Canon SX210??

3:56 am - Saturday, September 25, 2010

#94 Socal John

yes the SX210

7:18 am - Saturday, September 25, 2010

#95 A

We’d have liked Canon to have found room for a dedicated delete button here or somewhere else on the camera back. As it is, no less than six button presses are required before a duff shot can be deleted. Such tediousness seems to go against the ease of use ethos deployed elsewhere in the camera’s operational arsenal.

You can 1 click delete on a photo by pressing down on the wheel.

12:51 pm - Saturday, September 25, 2010

#96 Monica

Help…. I am leaning toward the Canon SX210…. wondering if anyone has the inside scoop of when to expect 2011 models…if the SX210 will be upgraded…?? Thinking I should hold off buying this years model in hopes of them perfecting the “flash” etc….. Any thoughts….

8:20 pm - Wednesday, September 29, 2010

#97 truecolor

have owned and operated Canon SX 210 IS for approx. 1 year. Noted marked color distortions with inside photos…which must be adjusted manually to get close to accurate colors…leaving camera in AUTO or EASY will result in inaccurate colors not only inside, but also outside, in natural light. Many neutral colored objects, like straw, clouds, etc., show up as unnatural yellow colors…even skin colors are often untrue, and will take on the color of reflected surroundings. Very frustrating, especially for a $300 camera.

8:54 am - Friday, October 1, 2010

#98 sunil

Want to buy a camera with (in priority order)

1. EXCELLENT IMAGE Quality
2. Good Zoom
3. Video (wtih zoom while shooting)

Can someone help me on selecting between Canon SX210, Pan Lumix TZ7, and TZ 10.

Excellent Image quality is first priority. Cost does not matter.

6:38 am - Saturday, October 2, 2010

#99 sunil

Adding to my previous comments, i may consider other camera also in the above mentioned priority order.

6:40 am - Saturday, October 2, 2010

#100 Gareth

I put the Canon SX210 IS to the test in low light with fast moving objects. I was impressed with the results, both in video and still, the only downside being the drive/processing speed.

See the video here http://www.youtube.com/user/garethrowson#p/a/u/0/gUrrCgMmnSI

Or read the WideWorld Magazine review.
http://www.wideworldmag.com/reviews/canon-powershot-sx210-is

10:20 pm - Saturday, October 2, 2010

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, wide-angle, 720p, movie, 14 megapixel, manual, canon, 28mm, powershot, 14x zoom, sx210, Canon PowerShot SX210 IS Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry