Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Review

4.5
April 16, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

80 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Satyakumar

Hi, thanks for review still can’t decide between Nikon S9300 and Canon SX260HS ?

1:39 pm - Monday, April 16, 2012

#2 andy clad

If you want to save yourself a few quid. Shop around on line and find yourself the near identical (except for the lens and extra grip) SX230HS, or SX220HS(no GPS). Basically the same camera but with a 14x lens for over £100 less than the SX260.
Also, can someone please let me know if the SX260 still has the same problem where the spot metering setting cannot be saved and has to be manually set every time after switching the camera back on.

10:27 pm - Monday, April 16, 2012

#3 marcio

so panasonic Lumix TZ30 has better scores than this? seriously? at IQ? bahhh

11:37 pm - Monday, April 16, 2012

#4 TonyP17

In the first paragraph of the Conclusion you refer to the otherwise identical SX230HS. You surely mean the SX240HS.

This is the camera I am currently thinking of purchasing as I do not want to get caught up with the GPS fad.

You rate the camera lower than the Panasonic TZ30 but do not really make any comparisons to justify this conclusion. As such I find your review rather disappointing. I am very nervous about the image quality on the Panasonic.

I am keen to read reviews on the Fujifilm F770EXR and the Nikon S9300 before making a final decison. Do you have dates for these reviews please?

12:20 am - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#5 dr mza

I prefer TZ30

8:02 am - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#6 Yoco

I have SX220 HS and I am pretty satisfied with it.
This new one it seems to be a little step forward but just little. I like 28 mm wide on the SX220 more because there is less barrel effect against wider angle on new one.
Also, 20X zoom is really not so “long” like it seems to because of this wide angle.

Old one has at 14 x zoom 392 mm and Sx260 has only (500:392=1,27) that is 27 percent more.
In case of the 28 mm wide angle there will be 20 x zoom at 560 mm or 43 percent more than SX 220.

And the viewfinder will be desired instead of the the GPS. Who really need that?

OK, there is my dreaming super zoom pocket camera:

- from 8mp to max 10 mp,
- minimum 1/2 sensor size
- 26-28 wide angle
- 20-24 optical zoom
- optical IS system at least 4 steps
- viewfinder
- battery for minimum 300 shots
- jpeg and RAW
- IQ at least in Canon S100 range
- camera menus like Canon have in this new cameras
-  but ISO and picture largeness on the two separate shortcut button
- P,A,S,M and good Auto
- video is not so important
- price max 350 $ or 350 €

I pray that someone from photo industry read this post and make camera like that. I think that is possible with all that technology which we have today.

10:46 am - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#7 Baby Elph

I respectfully disagree with the reviewer’s assessment regarding IQ ... the image quality of the Canon SX260, especially its high ISO performance is definitely superior to Panasonic’s TZ 25 / 30 ... in my estimation by at least 1 full stop. The only thing going for the Panasonic is the sharpness of its Leica lens… I have both camera’s so have come to my conclusions based upon real world test shots… The new Digic 5 processor does an outstanding job at noise control… and noise is barely visible at even ISO 1600 (although detail is a little softer at that setting).

12:47 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#8 Tony

This is very good camera.I have it one day before this review and i am pleasured with this imaze quality and exceptional steadily zoom.If you are ready to buy go for this camera and you won’t be disappointed!

1:45 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#9 Ian

It’s a really nice camera. I just bought one over the weekend. Though I do agree with Yoco that a viewfinder would really help.

Watch out for high pitched squeal picked up by the stereo microphone. Some of them have it, and some don’t, but you’ll want to check right away by playing your clips back on a computer. It will be obvious if it’s there unless you’ve lost hearing in that frequency range. It’s a constant high pitched electronic sounding noise. You could also say it’s like a dog whistle.

The second camera I bought - after I returned the first - was fine, but the first was awful, and judging by some of the Amazon reviews, I wasn’t the only one to have this problem.

4:18 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#10 Ozzy

“The SX260 HS features an excellent 3-inch, 460k dot resolution widescreen format LCD at the rear that displays a 4:3 image ratio as its default setting.”

The LCD is not wide-screen format, it´s 4:3. In SX230 the LCD is wide-screen, 16:9.

7:39 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#11 Jeff

Is this camera ever going to take a shot at 20x zoom that will be fit to print out and hang on the wall? 
Even in perfect lighting conditions, I doubt it. So what’s the point?

Rather than increasing the zoom and pixels, I’d rather see a camera that sticks with 12x zoom, 10 MP and concentrates on improving IQ, low light performance & speed of response.
Maybe even a large sensor compact with about 10x zoom.

7:55 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#12 andy clad

Hi Yoco, I don’t think that canon or whoever will ever make exactly what we want.
A bridge camera with a DSLR size sensor would be nice. But then its the science bit of the size of sensor in relation to the size of lens. Hence a constant F2.8 17-55 DSLR lens being rather huge against the equivalent for a bridge or compact.
But the latest sensors from Fuji are very interesting (x10) and great IQ. Maybe a 200mm equivalent lens on an x10 would be a start from F2.0 - F2.8, lovely.
I’m interested in the Fuji F660-770 and am really looking for a good compact travel camera to replace the SX220HS.
Please Mr Fuji, get it right :)

9:13 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#13 Yoco

Hello Andy,

I don`t like Fuji, it has over processed images and Sony too.  I am talking about P?& S, bridge and super zoom cameras. Nikon and Canon are still the best when IQ is in first plan in this segment.

But I also like Sony NEX 5 and FUJI X100, but that is different class.

9:47 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#14 Stuart

The language on the Image Quality page is identical to that in the Powershot SX 230 review.  Also, the Conclusions page states, “Image quality is on a par with the previous SX230, that is to say very good.”  It even calls the SX 260 “a big step forward for Canon’s travel-zoom cameras.”  So I am eager to read comments from the two camera’s respective reviewers of how the SX 260 earned an IQ score of only 4 stars, compared to the SX 230’s 4.5 stars.

    Also, the Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ30 got 4.5 stars for image quality, despite very similar language on the Image Quality page of its review.  Did the SX 260’s rating have to drop in comparison due to inferior video results, or to iContrast and Handheld Night Shot results that fell too far short of the Panasonic’s HDR results?  Please inform us.  Thanks in advance.

10:49 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#15 Stuart

The language on the Image Quality page in the Powershot SX 260 review is, word for word, identical to that in the Powershot SX 230 review.  Also, the Conclusions page for the SX 260 review states, “Image quality is on a par with the previous SX230, that is to say very good.”  It even calls the SX 260 “a big step forward for Canon’s travel-zoom cameras.”  So I am eager to read comments from the two camera’s respective reviewers of how the SX 260 earned an IQ score of only 4 stars, compared to the SX 230’s 4.5 stars.

Also, the Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ30 got 4.5 stars for image quality, despite very similar language on the Image Quality page of its review.  Did the SX 260’s rating have to drop in comparison due to inferior video results, or to iContrast and Handheld Night Shot results that fell too far short of the Panasonic’s HDR results?  Curious readers live for these details, so please supplement these very useful reviews with your comments on these questions.  Thanks in advance.

10:50 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#16 Roberto

My fears were justified. I have seen the test pictures from this and Dcresorce and Imaging-resource sites. The extra wide and tele have just ruined the lens sharpness.

From my point of view, image quality has not improved at all from SX220/230 (outstanding travel compacts)despite the new DIGIC 5 processor.

Nothing can be done if the lens is a failure. You can apply more sharpness in the camera settings, but the lost detail can not be recovered.

Numbers and marketing have beaten common sense once more.

11:15 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#17 shd

a very biased review indeed…........i no more trust photographyblog
ONE way u say that image is on par with SX220/230 HS…......then how cum only 4 stars for IQ
A VERY FLAWED REVIEW….....
that shitty TZ-30 gets a essential badge and 4.5 for those crappy IQ…....
sorry to say but Mark Goldstein your review on SX 260 is very flawed…......find a better job man…....

2:12 pm - Thursday, April 19, 2012

#18 shd

a very biased review indeed…........i no more trust photographyblog
ONE way u say that image is on par with SX220/230 HS…......then how cum only 4 stars for IQ
A VERY FLAWED REVIEW….....
that shitty TZ-30 gets a essential badge and 4.5 for those crappy IQ…....
sorry to say but Mark Goldstein your review on SX 260 is very flawed…......find a better job man…....
its not that SX 260 is the best but it deserves better ratings!!!!

2:13 pm - Thursday, April 19, 2012

#19 Mary

And all the experts try to put in their two cents.  Things change and Canon is no longer what it once was.  Want IQ go with Panasonic.

BTW, don’t try and blame PhotograpgyBlog, they are just the messenger based on the product.  Contact Canon and voice your concern.

6:13 pm - Thursday, April 19, 2012

#20 Yoco

Mary, considering IQ in the little super zoom p&s area Canon and Nikon are far ahead the Panasonic, but Panasonic is very good in their G class mirror less cameras.
IQ from SX260 HS is much better than from TZ-30, just try to look photos on the screen at 100% crop.
At small (postcard)size both are almost same, but if you wish to print in larger formats, there a differences are becoming visible.

1:06 pm - Friday, April 20, 2012

#21 shd

agree with you @yoco…
+1

7:19 pm - Friday, April 20, 2012

#22 Katie

I’ve always wanted to get more involved in photography,  I was looking at getting a Nikon d3000 but was talked into something smaller and easier for first timers so now I have the Canon powershot sx260 hs…do you think its a good camera for a beginner?

1:59 am - Saturday, April 21, 2012

#23 Ramiz

i’m in 2 state of mind, whether i should go for Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX10V or Canon PowerShot SX260 hs!!

help!!!!!!!!!!

8:50 am - Sunday, April 22, 2012

#24 CHFels

Ramiz, the answer to your question is easy: don’t touch the HX10v with a barge-pole, Sony have ruined a great camera by upping the pixel count yet again.

The HX9v was a nice camera, however, and you can pick one up at a good discount now.  The images won’t look quite as nice as the Canon at full resolution, but the Sony has many other virtues: sharp lens, great 1080p video, handheld twilight mode, etc.  The sony also has a nice grip and so is easier to shoot one-handed…

That said, kudos to Canon for NOT upping the pixel count; it’s a shame if Roberto is right about the lens having gone downhill.
CHFels

6:37 pm - Wednesday, April 25, 2012

#25 Jack

Hey, after reading this post I bought this camera. And I haven’t regretted it. It’s great and really the images I make with it are really amazing!

5:25 pm - Thursday, April 26, 2012

#26 Tuck

I bought this camera at Sam’s Club. I have only used it at my son’s high school baseball games. I LIKE IT very much. The zoom shots I have taken, “sliding, catching,“etc have been flawless. The other parents have requested that I send the pics via e-mail after they look at them on the 3inch screen,I have some awesome shots. I rate it at a 10!

7:31 pm - Wednesday, May 9, 2012

#27 ramdev pachu

I am HAPPY with it!Canon is the best

12:03 am - Saturday, May 12, 2012

#28 Jan Ferrari

I’ve changed from Canon to Nikon, because i was not satisfied with details in highlighted areas, they were totally white. I can see at the sample images that this is a major problem for this camera too.

9:11 am - Wednesday, May 16, 2012

#29 Technology Philippines

I like the canon Power Shot SX260 HS. The quality of a canon camera is really good. Actually many photographers are using canon camera.  Thanks for sharing.

-Antonnette

3:40 am - Tuesday, May 22, 2012

#30 mery60

help…

what is a BEST camera with good photos ( with flash in house light) and good HD video ?

more peolpe say to me:

Sony HX7v or HX9V or  

Panasonic LUMIX TZ30 or LX 3 or LX 5

or this news canon sx 260 ?

the HD Video is 30p or 50 p ??? and
there is the 10 minutes limit or not ?


help me, what i buy ? the best camera is ?

Mery

7:47 pm - Tuesday, May 22, 2012

#31 Yoco

The best camera is always that which you have it with you at the moment ;)

3:56 pm - Thursday, May 24, 2012

#32 shd

@mery60

sx240/260 hs and hx9/hx20v belong to travel zoom cameras, they take good pictures as well as pack very high zoom into the small body. panasonic TZ 30 yet suffers from noisy Image quality problem.

whereas lx5 will give you hardly 3x zoom with better image quality

sx 260 hs does 1080p videos at 24fps and 720p videos at 30 fps and a super slow motion mode where it records video at lower resolution at 240 fps(sony doesnt have this) whereas sony does 1080p at 60fps

as a all-rounder camera i prefer you go for canon powershot sx 260 hs(it delivers good image quality)....i have tried it with flash and pictures r good.

the recording limit is because of SD cards

http://travelzoomcamerablog.blogspot.in/

2:52 pm - Monday, May 28, 2012

#33 shd

@mery60

there is no 10 minutes video recording limit in canon sx260hs
it will keep on recording until the memory usage reaches 4 gb on your SD card.
after which you have to again start a new video recording.

http://travelzoomcamerablog.blogspot.in/

2:56 pm - Monday, May 28, 2012

#34 shd

@@mery60

today i tested my camera in a quiet environment and yes, whie zooming in videos the microphone does pick up some noise of the lens movement, but i guess its not a deal breaker.

12:45 pm - Tuesday, May 29, 2012

#35 Backyard

Wondering if I have a defective camera. I bought the SX260 based on reviews and a friend’s recommendation. Most of the pictures are coming out blurry. The image is in focus then when the shutter button is halfway pressed, the image goes out of focus. Not sure how everyone is rating this camera so high.  I am ready to return for a refund.

12:28 am - Wednesday, May 30, 2012

#36 mery60

HELP ME, what whit NOT high prize digital camera….. I buy ?


Some peoples say in some forums:

CMOS sensors that Panasonic have replaced the previous generation of CCD are significantly lower than those of Canon and Sony, is an sensor half blind in the dark, with much noise! And they say they carefully avoid the compact Panasonic.

As photos: video looks like it wins on all the sony camera.

Others say they play safe with Sony DSC-HX7V-or-PANASONIC TZ20 (but it seems that in the video is trembling with fear!)

Others suggest the Sony HX-7V. with good pictures and great videos.

Lumix none cameras ??  Canon what the best powershot SX-230 or the new SX-260 ? the compat IXUS 220 (in USA named ELPH )or ixus 230 bad ? or I buy a Sony ????

But it seems that across the reviews on the web the sony are always the worst!?

So I take? that confusion in the head!


P. S. but none (maybe staying in canon) camera that makes great pictures and good HD video with
    NOT the usual Lithium battery pack ,but 2 or 3 AA batteries to be replaced? anything acceptable exist with normal battery?


hlep me ...Mery

7:22 pm - Wednesday, May 30, 2012

#37 shd

@mery60

for pure Image quality go for - Canon powershot S95/100

for excellent video recording -HX9V

an allrounder that is image plus video-SX 230 HS or sx 260 HS

1:18 pm - Thursday, May 31, 2012

#38 ElementElectronics

Thank you for another great review. I really like the color they used for the faceplate.

10:25 pm - Monday, June 4, 2012

#39 Yoco

shd


+1

10:44 pm - Monday, June 4, 2012

#40 Backyard

I must have had a defective camera. I exchanged the camera for a new one. The new camera (same model) is taking great pictures.

2:43 am - Tuesday, June 5, 2012

#41 mery60

ok…but ixus 220 or 240 not good camera ?

the little sony hx5v ?  help me

7:43 pm - Wednesday, June 6, 2012

#42 CHFels

The ixus 220 or 240 are just very different cameras - smaller, less zoom. If that sounds good to you, go for it! (Though for 5x zoom, I would rather spend a bit more and get the Canon S100 - much higher photo quality.  Also, the ixus models are slippery as a bar of soap, I would be afraid of dropping it in the first week).
CHFels

8:26 pm - Wednesday, June 6, 2012

#43 shd

@mery60

hey you are really confused…...

dont look at the ixus models at all

hx5v is a very old model(of 2010 i guess)

as i have told earlier either the canon powershot SX 260 HS OR S100

see at this rate of confusion you will not land up taking a camera….so jst chill and go for either of the above mentioned powershot models…

4:14 pm - Thursday, June 7, 2012

#44 Sveyo

Really great camera. I am still wondering if this is better than my digital compact favorite the DSC-HX10V which is just amazing. I guess it’s all a matter of choice because they are both amazing cameras.

6:12 pm - Thursday, June 7, 2012

#45 chris

I was hoping you clever people could help me, as too which camera to get.

It is between the Panasonic TX30 or Canon Powershot SX260HS or Sony HX20V.

It’s for my Mum and will be mainly used on automatic settings.

9:43 pm - Thursday, June 7, 2012

#46 Julia

Ohhh.
Really confused to me to choose which one is good for taking pic or videos.
I had seen many reviews of another cameras, but still feel confused.

I think Nikon S8100 is better, but many peoples said that when we record video, it will says “please wait while camera finishes recording”.
What camera should I buy???

12:28 pm - Friday, June 8, 2012

#47 shd

@Julia and @chris

this year the competition is very tight, so it goes down to personal choice
as per my personal view when it comes to IQ the powershot 240/260 hs is the choice to go for

but in video department
HX20v might have a lead

the panni TZ-30 has improved a lot over last years model but i guess its not yet up there to give competition to canon and sony.

2:59 pm - Friday, June 8, 2012

#48 mery

what is IQ ???

for me best camera with good photos in night and flash and good movie fullhd ?  sony or ?

NONE on ixus canon camera ?  help me

8:02 pm - Friday, June 8, 2012

#49 mery60

very ok this cameras TEST ?

http://www.quesabesde.com/noticias/canon-sx260-fuji-f770exr-panasonic-tz30-sony-hx20v-comparativa,1_8828

but possible not exist a very good canon IXUS with good photos and fullhd videos ? none ???

8:50 pm - Sunday, June 17, 2012

#50 mery60

very ok TEST ?

http://www.quesabesde.com/noticias/canon-sx260-fuji-f770exr-panasonic-tz30-sony-hx20v-comparativa,1_8828

but possible not exist a very good canon IXUS with good photos and fullhd videos ? none ???

8:52 pm - Sunday, June 17, 2012

#51 Mythune Jennifer

My camera is just like it. Like any trademark of a high end digital camera—- durability, servicability and reliability, the Canon is one of the best.

11:51 pm - Monday, June 18, 2012

#52 Mery60

none IXUS (elph in US ) best for me ?

i like the canon S100, but is too expensive !

no IXUS good camera ???

7:48 pm - Thursday, June 21, 2012

#53 oomiwan

Still wondering why camera producers keep squeezing extra useless mega pixels on tiny shitty 1/2.3 sensor,

Have you or will you ever print the image on larger than A4 size?

Is their any monitor or TV on planet earth that shows more than 5MP full image?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Display_resolution

http://www.proaxis.com/~ferris/docs/dpi-monitor.html

Canon itself admits that there is more than just Mega Pixels

http://www.canon.co.id/personal/web/yourcanon/compactcameratips?languageCode=EN#is_pixel_count_all_that_important?

So it’s just reasonable, logical, rational and above all humane to go back to 1/1.7 sensor and keep the resolution at 5MP most, than having to mislead people on gigantic MP

6:03 am - Tuesday, June 26, 2012

#54 shd

@oomiwan

atleast canon is keeping it till 12 megapixel, look at sony, panasonic, nikon etc…...... they have taken it to 18-20 megapixels…. which is really pointless

12:02 pm - Wednesday, June 27, 2012

#55 oomiwan

I’m not referring to this specific product only, but canon as a whole, most of them have 16MP look for yourself, even a sub-$100 camera

http://www.dpreview.com/products/canon/cameras

they’re catching up, because they don’t want to be left behind in this irrational MP race (FYI 12MP smartphone cameras are not uncommon these days)

http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_n8_vs_samsung_pixon12_vs_sony_dsc_hx5v-review-519.php

I still think they should stick to 5MP at most, the less crowded tiny sensor will bring less noisy high ISO images (at least 1600), and we will have “usable” cameras that can take clearer pictures without flash indoor (in the club, restaurant, etc) and night shot, because that’s what pocket cameras are for, I think.

3:19 am - Saturday, June 30, 2012

#56 shd

here are my samples of SX240/260 HS videos(zoom test)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uI3o2nDRKww

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DS-b1oGQDJI

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d1-jeDoFzi8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0kWFAPZVYDw

njoy the videos!!!! :)

2:42 pm - Monday, July 23, 2012

#57 Giannis

Hello,
I would like to buy a compact camera.
I am between Sony HX20V and Canon SX260 HS.
Which is the best?
What is your opinion?

8:18 pm - Saturday, August 18, 2012

#58 mery60

i read in some REVIWV that

sony hv9 si the best on video fullhd but not good
photos !

the sx220-260 no good video in movie
and not godd phot in automatic mode !

not exist a good camera ? POSSIBLE all bad and
with some bug or problems ???

10:18 am - Monday, August 20, 2012

#59 shd

latest powershot SX240/260 hs youtube Videos

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KkPY25ODgg0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KM7RzBuASrc


slow motion video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t7G3kekXg2Q

2:19 pm - Wednesday, September 12, 2012

#60 shd

latest powershot SX240 hs youtube Videos

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KkPY25ODgg0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KM7RzBuASrc


slow motion video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t7G3kekXg2Q

2:24 pm - Wednesday, September 12, 2012

#61 shd

latest powershot SX240/260 hs youtube Videos

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KkPY25ODgg0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KM7RzBuASrc


slow motion video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t7G3kekXg2Q

2:42 pm - Wednesday, September 12, 2012

#62 Jas

To the SX260 users:

1. is anyone bothered by the battery life on this camera?

2. or the fact the battery indicator is not displayed until the battery is half used or dying? (Not sure exactly when it appears, please specify from experience.) The idea of charging before every use (not knowing how long I’ll have if I don’t) just makes me uneasy.

3. How long under what level of use do you get from full battery?

4. Is it a deal breaker?

I’m about to go to the store, buy this camera ($310 AU) then holiday in Thailand so I reallllly don’t want to make the wrong choice!

Thanks in advance. Jas

11:35 pm - Thursday, October 4, 2012

#63 Ian Roberts

Is the GPS function accurate eg within 3 metres, 6 mtrs etc?
Is it easy to switch on & off.
Lastly, why don’t manufacturers just put a button on the outside for GPS -On or Off?
Ian R

3:15 am - Friday, November 9, 2012

#64 sonia

my sumsung galaxy III takes better photos

10:22 am - Saturday, November 10, 2012

#65 Rob

I bagged one yesterday (19th Nov) from SLR hut at just £139.95 inc a 2gb memory card & various other extras (plus £25 P&P) which seems to massively undercut other suppliers.  £165 all in; delivered.

Even at Manchester duty free its over £200 for that.  And they shouldn’t charge VAT!

I know that this will be a superb camera at a mega-value deal.

Rob

8:18 pm - Tuesday, November 20, 2012

#66 Jim

This looks like my ideal camera with one question I am old with very big hands and neuropathy. I cannot always feel what I grip so I have dropped a couple of cameras. Anyone have grip issues with this camera? Any other cameras that are easier to grip?

8:59 am - Wednesday, November 28, 2012

#67 CHFels

To Jim:
Don’t buy without holding a camera and playing with it in your own hands. 
I have normal hands, but I’ve shied away from many Canon models in recent years because they are smooth and slippery as a bar of soap.  This one has a little ridge on the front that helps *a bit*, but I would be nervous about dropping it anyway, if I were you.

If you really want a long-zoom compact, the Panasonic TZ30 or Sony HX10v have better grips and similar quality overall. (The Sony HX9v from 2011 was even better, but hard to find now.)  If you have enough to spend and don’t mind giving up long zoom, the Panasonic LX7 and new Olympus XZ-2 are much better cameras (photo-quality wise), and have good built-in grips. 

But again, I really suggest you handle for yourself before buying!

10:37 am - Wednesday, November 28, 2012

#68 Jim

CHfels, Thank you for your advice. I visited a couple of camera shops to hold and manipulate cameras you suggested. What a difference I found. The Nikon P510 and Panasonic FZ150 fit my hand the best and I think that a wrist strap may even add more security. The small “bar of soap” cameras just will not work. More manufacturers should pay attention to hand grip. Thanks again

1:44 am - Saturday, December 22, 2012

#69 CHFels

I agree, Jim, and I’m glad you found a couple that work well with your hands!
CHFels

8:23 am - Saturday, December 22, 2012

#70 Bulent

i think Canon PowerShot SX260 is a good camera. I searched day and night video-photo performances and its good. Of course i prefer more proffesional machines with manuel settings. But i can say i liked this cam.

2:22 am - Monday, December 31, 2012

#71 PointandshootBrian

I’ve been using the Canon sx260 for about a month now and it’s a pretty amazing little camera. Great picture quality. I just shot a picture of the moon at full 4x digital zoom… 35mm equivalent 2000mm… and it’s fairly impressive, especially for a camera that fits in your pocket. Here’s the link if you want to see it… http://pointandshoothawaii.blogspot.com/2013/01/canon-sx-260-zoom-test.html

10:01 am - Wednesday, January 23, 2013

#73 Zarif

I am facing a problem in the camera. The screen or display has been separated into two halves. The lower half is showing in the upper portion and the upper half is showing in the lower portion. The upper portion is negative and lower portion is positive. There is no problem in the settings and it has no scratch in the screen. It didn’t fall from anyone’s hand.
What should I do to fix it?

6:53 pm - Monday, April 8, 2013

#74 Shirley

How do I make the camera take super quick pictures? Every time I try to take a picture of something I see I always miss it because it lags. I don’t really know how to use this camera. Should I leave it on auto?

6:25 pm - Friday, May 3, 2013

#75 Kira

Hello!
Not many people have mentioned it in reviews, but in the specifications it says that the shot to shot time for this Canon PowerShot SX260 HS is quite slow…do people find that this is a problem? Cheers :)

8:54 pm - Sunday, May 5, 2013

#76 John macpherson

I bought the 260 hs but I was unable to get the instruction disc to operate. The booklet does not discuss the GPS so I have never used it and have never tried. Am I missing something

4:18 pm - Tuesday, May 7, 2013

#77 Serge

Love the camera and photos/videos, but…. the video sound has a constant high pitched squeal which is most annoying - I have had 2 and both of them have it so am now considering the Panasonic TZ40, if it wasn’t for the very poor video sound I would rate this camera a 10/10.

12:57 pm - Thursday, June 20, 2013

#78 Roy

Hi , Brought this camara for the soul perpose of it was recomended to me for concerts , i like to film , but for some reason it picks up alot of bass and ruins the footage as it just sounds like wind when i watch!!! any ideas ?????

11:31 pm - Saturday, June 29, 2013

#79 ken

Yes Roy, dont film concerts. You wont be able to really enjoy them and it is annoying for other people.

Otherwise, put your finger on the microphone, it will reduce the noise.

10:30 am - Thursday, July 25, 2013

#80 shd

zoom test

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zp13bdPCmjQ

10:52 am - Thursday, September 12, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, wide-angle, 12 megapixel, movie, camera, manual, travel-zoom, travel, canon, travel zoom, GPS, 25mm, powershot, 20x zoom, 20x, map, maps, sx260 hs, sx260, Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Review, sx260hs

Tracker Pixel for Entry