Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Review

4.0
November 15, 2011 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

141 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Fotografia Esencial

We’ve tested this camera finding its performance is akin for the casual photographer looking for high picture quality and reliability.

6:42 pm - Tuesday, November 15, 2011

#2 John RS

I wish that you had labeled the Sample images more fully. As there are no focal lengths listed and what is with the sharp and blurry top and bottom of the building shot at wide aperture. Is this a special setting to give you a diorama type appearance. There is no explanation that I found.

John

7:38 pm - Tuesday, November 15, 2011

#3 John R. Spurr

My last comment with the name of John RS is a real comment not spam.

John

7:40 pm - Tuesday, November 15, 2011

#4 Billy Jordan

Thanks for the review of the Canon SX40 HS. My comment is that there is one item in the review that is factually incorrect. The SX40 does, indeed, have external flash capability. The hotshoe is hidden by what Canon calls a “hot shoe cap.” You can find out all about it in the User’s Manual: page 38 shows the location of the hotshoe cap with the hotshoe being just beneath it; page 180 & 181 speaks about the cap and of using external flash; pages 2 & 211 show a picture of the hotshoe case; and page 212 lists the recommended flash units for the SX40 HS. Just thought you should know.

7:46 pm - Tuesday, November 15, 2011

#5 Billy Jordan

The SX40 HS does have external flash capability. You can read about it in the User’s Manual on pages 2, 38, 180, 181, 211, and 212 has the recommended flash units.

7:49 pm - Tuesday, November 15, 2011

#6 Warren Lyons

From the business point of view, I have to hand it the the folks at Canon.  They seem to know that buyers of bridge cameras are the most likely to upgrade every year or two.  Those buying $100.00 point and shoots don’t care and will keep them until they stop clicking.  Those buying prosumer or better DSLRs have already invested large sums and will keep their present equipment until it goes or until there is a signifigant change.  Having had the just upgraded from the SX 30 to the SX 40, I can say that the improvements were enough to make the upgrade worth my while, but not so great as to cannibalize sales of more profitable DSLR bodies and lenses.  This camera serves as a great complement to my “throwaway” kodaks and my micro 4/3 system. (panasonic G1 and Olympus EPl-1, with kit lenses and 40-150 and 100-300 zooms).  I use the Kodak when I MIGHT take pictures, the Canon when I WILL take pictures, and the micro 4/3 when I am out for the purpose of taking pictures.  This reminds me of a friend who is a bicycling enthusiast.  He uses a $50.00 clunker for commuting in bad weather, a $1000.00 hybrid bike for 50 mile rides with friends and training, and a $4000.00 carbon fiber wonder for race day

8:11 pm - Tuesday, November 15, 2011

#7 anon

i’m planning to buy this camera, thanks for the review

3:49 am - Wednesday, November 16, 2011

#8 Billy Jordan

One other thing I forgot…the SX40 HS can also accept filters. Go to the Canon website and click on the “accessories” section. I’m not sure if it takes a 58mm or a 67mm, but it’s one or the other. The Nikon P500 and Sony HX100v, as good as they may be, cannot accept filters.

4:36 am - Wednesday, November 16, 2011

#9 Billy Jordan

John,
I agree with you….I get the same spam message when I post here, yet I get the photography blod email every day. Go figure.

4:38 am - Wednesday, November 16, 2011

#10 Sol Misol

It appears, that the price is an important thing you criticise. Well, here in Germany the camera is available for 410 € @ amazon. At ebay, you even get the camera for less money.
You won’t get a DSLR for this price….

8:11 am - Wednesday, November 16, 2011

#11 toorop

Wha the heck such a small sensor??? Why they couldn’t put the S100 sensor inside??? Silly

7:45 pm - Wednesday, November 16, 2011

#12 hariyanto

This is what bill john says: The SX40 HS does have external flash capability. You can read about it in the User’s Manual on pages 2, 38, 180, 181, 211, and 212 has the recommended flash units.

I do agree with him. I have had this camera for 2 weeks today. and IAM really shock with the verdict of this site. I have been a loyal reader of this photographyblog site. Before buying this camera, I have done intensive research in every site and most of the them give highly recommendation for this camera.

And I think Gavin stoker need to read the manual before reviewing this camera.
What a shame.

8:00 pm - Wednesday, November 16, 2011

#13 Biffo

I got this camera for £260 in the UK..Not a P&S fan.I got it for portability on my holidays..Having previously owned a Sony HX100V..I can tell you this Camera blows the Sony away..The detail at maximum zoom is real good..Foliage on distant trees is detailed,Unlike the Sony which is just cludge…Kudos to Canon for dropping the MPx to just over 12m…I have the Sony A500 SLR and some good Minolta lenses.It’s hardly used..This camera is that good..R.

11:43 pm - Wednesday, November 16, 2011

#14 Mike

I bought this camera for £289 in the uk.superb value for money.I got it to avoid a dslr,huge lens and huge expense and dragging kit about.I have a g2 and two zoom lenses and the canon gives better results especially sharpness.my only quibble is lack of raw but it’s not a deal breaker.souped up point and shoot for the price of a dlsr and kit lens?! I don’t think we are on the same planet.

11:34 am - Thursday, November 17, 2011

#15 Warren Lyons

It comes as no surprise how many readers have responded to this review in so short of time; far more than would have to a review of a cheap point and shoot or a pro DSLR.  I think a large portion of PB readers is made of of those who want the best bridge camera, those already using one, and entry DSLR users wishing they bought one

4:53 pm - Thursday, November 17, 2011

#16 chin

i just bought this camera, want to learn photogarphy and take gd. pics, did i make the right choice, i thought the slr was heavy and the lenses too

9:30 pm - Thursday, November 17, 2011

#17 Paul Haverson

The Canon does indeed have a hot shoe flash bracket. Thae fact that you did not find it makes one wonder how well you know the camera and it’s capabilities. It is a superb piece of kit actually

12:10 pm - Friday, November 18, 2011

#18 Paul Haverson

Odd that you mention the image quality. Yours is the only blog I found to date which finds fault with it. Every other review praises it@s image quality

12:14 pm - Friday, November 18, 2011

#19 John R. Spurr

I questioned specifically the image quality of 2 shots. The building shots at wide apertures. The foreground and backgrounds are very blurry while the central part of the shots were sharp. Was this a special feature (mode)? While the slightly smaller apertures were sharp all the way through the photo. Without more info in the photo descriptions one is left in the dark. These are the questions. Not a complaint on overall image quality as that is very good.

2:37 pm - Friday, November 18, 2011

#20 My 1st personal Camera

i have a sony hx100v n my friend bought canon sx40hs 2 weeks ago. so i have a firsthand experience of the two cams. If u talk about quality then my sony will get 9/10 and his canon 10/10 compared to each other.
noise - sony 8.5/10 n canon 9.5/10 noise comparison is best available on cameralabs website. Features - sony - 10/10 n canon 7/10. so if u want to have some fun thn offcourse hx100v. additional 5x zoom in sx40 doesnt give much diffrnce on image. sony is smallr too.

so overall evn though sx40 is best bridge camera to date in terms of image quality n noise level its still isnt best overall..  so if only the image quality n noise level is ur concern then close ur eyes n buy SX40hs. If you cn do even a 10% adjustment in its quality thn open ur eyes 4 othr bridge like Sony Hx100V.

regards.

8:15 pm - Friday, November 18, 2011

#21 Simon

I hope no-one is pondering purchasing this camera on the strength of the photo’s displayed here..!!
This camera is capable of achieving FAR higher quality pics.
I recently took my SX40 for the ultimate test- an indoor music gig,with poor lighting,no use of flash,and at up to 300mm(equivalent)range,for close “face” shots. I shot in Aperture priority,wide open,iso1600- and the results were excellent.
And as much as it pains me to say it- outperformed my beloved old 350D Canon..!!
The only real alternative to this VERY impressive camera is Panasonic’s FZ150- which might just(only just)lag behind the Canon in IQ,has lightning fast operational speed and RAW capture. It also feels slightly more “professional” and well made- though of course,you do lose a little at the zoom end compared to the Canon,though in the real world,I don’t think it’s a deal breaker…

9:16 pm - Friday, November 18, 2011

#22 guru

i bought canon power shot 100 digital, wh. is better as taking sharp pictures compare to SX40

10:00 pm - Friday, November 18, 2011

#23 HB

Ooowh, was waiting for the review of d sx40 by PB from a long time.. n now it’s here, Bt not satisfied with the review..!! i thought it will be a good cam, bt didnt found out that good.
And why those 100% crop flower pics in noise level, my eyes can’t differentiate it, want those books pic. that show’s d real difference.
Any one heard any rumor abt sony’s next bridge cam launch.. As canon has already patented for a 42x bridge cam.. so sony should make a leap from HX100 to something far batter..

8:25 am - Saturday, November 19, 2011

#24 Sokhoomora

1st place: Panasonic DMC-FZ150 (?.57)
2nd place: CANON Powershot SX40 HS (?.42)
3rd place: SONY DSC-HX100V (?.28)
Based on fully and professionally testing and comparison in all conditions and situations in 30 days in our hands.

10:03 pm - Saturday, November 19, 2011

#25 Sokhoomora

1st place: Panasonic DMC-FZ150 (88.57/100)
2nd place: CANON Powershot SX40 HS (85.42/100)
3rd place: SONY DSC-HX100V (81.28/100)
Based on fully and professionally testing and comparison in all conditions and situations in 30 days in our hands.
(The site has little problem with percent sign!)

10:07 pm - Saturday, November 19, 2011

#26 Simon

Sokhoomora- who’s hands are “our hands”...?
I’d like to see the tests/comparisons.. :o)

11:16 pm - Saturday, November 19, 2011

#27 photoman

I dont understand wy there are some miniature effect pictures here (top and button unsharp).I want see image quality that camera can do.

I see the image quality big enhance(hair, tree and grass look better), its lots sharper now as older Canon but sharpen artefact can see.To reduce that more, sharpen can reduce in maycolor settings.

SO i hope that soon a Sx220 follower come

10:32 am - Sunday, November 20, 2011

#28 Iruwen

I guess many people were waiting for a photographyblog review of this camera which makes it possible to compare it to the HX100V and the DMC-FZ150. I already read the one over at cameralabs and now this one and I guess I’ll go for the DMC-FZ150 in that competition. It doesn’t have as much focal length, but if I really needed that I’d attach a teleconverter, IQ isn’t optimal in that range anyway. Overall the Panasonic seems to be the best package.

1:52 pm - Tuesday, November 22, 2011

#29 Nico

Can’t understand why at least 5 of the sample pictures are in miniature mode. This is of course not the best way to judge quality.
I always highly appreciate Photographyblog’s reviews but this one is really not done in an objective and professional manner.
Looking forward to any sample pictures and maybe a corrected review ?

11:01 am - Friday, November 25, 2011

#30 faisal

hi Sokhoomora,
can you explain or show something that helps you to put FZ150 in the position above SX40 HS??in a great dilemma…

9:28 pm - Sunday, November 27, 2011

#31 Yoco

I wish that Mr. Mark Goldstein made that review, I like his work and also it is easy to compare IQ between the different cameras because he is always use the same scene like this below:

http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/fujifilm_finepix_f600exr/sample_images/fujifilm_finepix_f600exr_43_thumb.jpg

http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/fujifilm_finepix_f600exr/sample_images/fujifilm_finepix_f600exr_44_thumb.jpg

11:58 pm - Monday, December 5, 2011

#32 Norbert Schollaert

If the person who wrote this review did not know there is a ‘hot shoe’ has he really held the camera in his hands? What is this review really worth?

10:35 pm - Monday, December 12, 2011

#33 mehran

1. does any one know that how well is it’s slow motion movies?
2. can i take bokeh photos with sx40?

9:50 pm - Monday, December 19, 2011

#34 Billy Jordan

To Mehran,
For movies, yes, you can shoot slow motion and my guess is that it is as good in detail as any photo. Please refer to your manual, page 111, for slow-mo.
For bokeh, set the dial to SCN, then look for a Portrait setting. You might also try “Macro” for bokeh. SCN is on page 61, Macro is on page 84. If you don’t have a manual, got to Canon’s website, type in SX40, then download the manual.

4:03 am - Tuesday, December 20, 2011

#35 Buffy

I just purchased this camera and in the manual it says you will hear 2 beeps after pushing the shutter half-way, I only hear one.  Does anyone else have this issue?  Also I am using the auto focus to begin with and can’t say the pictures are the sharpest I’ve ever seen, and it seems the icon to attach a tripod comes on with almost every shot.  Any helpful comments for these issues?

8:20 pm - Saturday, February 4, 2012

#36 TeRR O.

Tecirved mine for Xmas 2012 it amazes me each and everyday! I take wonderful pictures of my Grandchildren, turtles and life in general! Cant wait for Spring to capture the tractors in the fields:) thank you Cannon love it!!

4:49 am - Wednesday, February 8, 2012

#37 Yoco

Turning ON the Powered IS Function
Powered IS reduces subtle camera shake when shooting movies at max.telephoto. However, when shooting while walking, or during long panning shots, you should set Powered IS to [Off], as it may cause unexpected results in these situations.
?Also:

Set IS to “Continious”, that is automatically sets the optimal image stabilization for the scene
(Intelligent IS) (manuals p. 193).

BUT If camera shake is too strong, attach the camera to a tripod. You should also set the IS Mode to [Off] when the camera is attached to a tripod.

1:05 pm - Wednesday, February 8, 2012

#38 Sam

To Billy Gordan:
I used this camera in a wedding. the battary was finshed and I recharged it, What do you think? it must has more than one?

12:49 am - Friday, February 10, 2012

#39 sgtommyc

I’ve had this camera for about a month now, and it keeps impressing me at how much I can do with it, just got an adaptor and some 67mm filters, so now I can do almost every thing appart from making a cup of tea with it. Only two minor issues has anoyed me so far, the “View images” button is too easy to press accidentaly, and the “Video reccord” button is to hard to find when using the viewfinder, why can’t you just use the shutter button in video mode? Every thing else is above my expectations, especially low light performance and macro where the object is actually touching the lense.

You can make it shoot in RAW, if you get the hack from the CHDK site, as well as a lot of other more or less usefull extra features, like longer exposure time etc. An other feature, not mentioned else where, is that the camera supports the ultra high speed SD cards @ 95MB/s.

The battery is also impressive, I’ve taken some 400 pictures and some videos, and there’s still juice left, haven’t used the flash much though.

5:42 pm - Saturday, February 18, 2012

#40 Dirk

Since a month I have this camera and unfortunately it gives a lot of vignetting.
Therefore I need to crop most of my photo’s to remove the dark corners.
At the moment I am not using filters or a lenshood!
Does anyone have tips or a solution for this problem.
......and does anyone have the same?

9:27 pm - Monday, February 27, 2012

#41 Anton

Hi , I am looking to buy another camera and my interest so far is the Canon sx40. I saw this one priced at Amazon for $79.00. Is that exactly the same camera?? And is my camera choice the right one????  there are so many cameras of approximately similar features. I would like to hear comments about this.  Up to now I have been using the easy-automatic.Panasonic lumix tz15 but my view-screen on that one has lost clarity. thanks for any comment.    Anton

5:40 am - Tuesday, February 28, 2012

#42 Billy

Anton,
If you saw the price of $79.00 for the sx40, it is either a used one or, more likely, one that has sold at that price on these bidding war websites, like QuiBids. No, you can legitimately get it for around $350-$400 at places like Best Buy, WalMart (that’s where I got mine and paid $379 for it), or Amazon.com. Hope this helps. And, yes, it is a TERRIFIC camera and you’ll love the auto-focus, auto-zoom feature.

2:51 pm - Tuesday, February 28, 2012

#43 Billy

To Sam,
Best advice is to always have a backup battery. That was the first thing I did when I got my camera a few months ago. They’re not that expensive and there will always be a circumstance to happen that you MUST be able to capture that once-in-a-lifetime opportunity so don’t miss it because you didn’t have an extra battery!

3:03 pm - Tuesday, February 28, 2012

#44 RDCollins

Some of the sample photos taken with the SX40 that you’ve posted are very misleading. It’s very apparent that in the 2nd and 3rd photos of the cathedral (1st row of samples), you had the camera’s built-in MINIATURE effect activated. As stated on page 65 of the manual (U.S. version), this “blurs chosen portions in the top and bottom of an image to produce the effect of a miniature model.” Why anyone would want to do that is not explained, however. In any case, such photos are hardly representative of what the SX40 can do. Perhaps next time you should RTFM.

8:58 pm - Saturday, March 10, 2012

#45 Paul Edwards

I have let myself be seduced into buying this boring awful camera and I feel I have made a big mistake. The camera I have had for the last 12 months was the Fujifilm HS10 and I have to tell you ITS imaging and coloure rendition is lightyears ahead of the SX40. The only thing it has is a bigger lens and more automation. The Fuji HS10 produces wonderful detailed colored images whilst this Sx40 I have produces cludge. The worse thing it does is with macro (what a joke!)  I have some fantastic macro images of insects and flowers with the Fuji - ALL the macro images taken with the SX40 are soft and out of focus and as for the HD video its a joke!  Its ok WHEN its in focus which it isn’t 30% of the time.  I was robbed..PE

3:39 pm - Sunday, March 18, 2012

#46 Billy Jordan

To PE,
I think what is going on here is that you simply have brand loyalty for your Fuji HS10. It has served you well, no doubt. But to blast this SX40 in the way you have is utter stupidity! I have actually owned 2 different Fuji’s, the HS20 and the S200EXR, which is my favorite of the two. If you think your HS10 gets good color, you should trade it in for the S200. But getting back to the Canon SX40, I have experienced NONE of the issues you have mentioned, so all I can attribute it to is operator error. Sorry, dude!

12:52 pm - Monday, March 19, 2012

#47 Anton

Thanks for your comments, positive or negative.I see there are mixed feelings of this camera and I haven’t made a choice yet.  I prefer the Canon sx40 and now my 2 choices are the Canon or the Nikon P 500. I will let you know soon , but is after you buy something that you find out for yourself if it is up to your expectations.
have a nice day.  Anton

1:59 pm - Monday, March 19, 2012

#48 Billy Jordan

Anton,
I’m sure the P500 is a very good camera, but the SX40 has some crucial differences that might make a difference for you. The SX40 has a wider aperture than the P500 (f/2.7 vs. f/3.5), it has a longer battery life, the image stabilization is built into the lens on the SX40, you can buy an external flash for the SX40 but not the P500, you can install filters on the SX40 lens, the SX40 has a much faster shutter speed (1/3200 vs. 1/2000), and it also has a slightly better sensor rating which affects the image quality. The Nikon does have a better fully articulated screen but compared to these other features on the Canon, in my opinion, you get a better camera in the SX40.

3:50 pm - Monday, March 19, 2012

#49 Ahsan

Hi everyone, I have had this camera for one month.The problem i am facing is about battery backup.I can take only 120 images without using flash or viewing the images at LCD.Its very disgusting to always look for battery charge while taking images.One other thing is the charging time of the battery- it takes almost 3 hours to fully chargeup the battery.Can anyone please help me with this matter?

8:00 am - Tuesday, March 20, 2012

#50 Paul Edwards

Ahsan. Sounds to me that there is a fault somewhere either with your camera or with the battery.  I was out most yesterday clicking away, still got about 70% battery left. I always put mine on charge overnight - it switches itself off. So give it a good long charge maybe buy new battery. Gently clean the terminals on the battery. And charger. If not, then there could be problem with your camera. Let’s hope not.PE

11:21 am - Tuesday, March 20, 2012

#51 anton

Hi Billy Jordan

Thanks very much for your comment. I really appreciate it.
have a great day.
regards Anton

2:31 pm - Tuesday, March 20, 2012

#52 RDCollins

Ahsan, to extend battery life, try switching off the GPS feature, and change the auto focus from constant to photo only. Also, get a couple of cheap replacement batteries—they’re small and easy to carry.

3:42 pm - Tuesday, March 20, 2012

#53 Paul Edwards

I didnt know the sx40 has GPS…...

What I have done is install the CHDK which is a huge enhancement of the cameras normal functionality. For example use RAW files,keep shutter open fir up to 64 seconds! Detect movement trigger shutter - and a 101 other things- oveeride all settings. Easy to install on your sd card. Google ‘cdhk wiki’

5:20 pm - Tuesday, March 20, 2012

#54 roh

SX 40 HS with GPS function, not that I am aware of, has there been any upgrade already..?

11:19 am - Thursday, March 22, 2012

#55 Billy Jordan

There is no GPS function on the SX40….it’s not in Canon’s own description of the camera and it’s also not found in the manual.
To extend your battery life, try using your viewfinder most of the time instead of the LCD articulating screen. If you’re unsure of how to switch, read your manual (which can also be downloaded from Canon’s website).

2:08 pm - Thursday, March 22, 2012

#56 RDCollins

Opps! Sorry about that misleading comment. The SX40 does NOT have GPS. The advice was intended to be of general application to Canon cameras.

4:08 pm - Thursday, March 22, 2012

#57 anton

What is CHDK?  Could that be the reason that Ahsans batterylife is shorter??
If you override the camera setting and replaced or add “101 other settings”. that could influence the camera behaviour and shorten battery life???????
Anton

10:21 pm - Thursday, March 22, 2012

#58 pauobedwards

Well Anton, he would have to install CHDK first wouldn’t he…... It runs from your sd card and gives the sx40 the kind of functionality it should have had in the first place including saving RAW (unprocessed images) and have your shutter open for up to 64 seconds. And a million other things. Just Google it. Mt battery lasts for ages unless you do a lot of hd video. Anyway, mines for sale on Amazon.co.UK so if you live in UK you can have it for £270 UK pounds. Pe

4:04 am - Friday, March 23, 2012

#59 rohit

hello sir,
        My sister is going to get a camera for me, i have 2 choices, Canon PowerShot SX40HS or Canon EOS 1100D, what should i do sir. I’m keen to photography, and I have a lot of interest in taking telephoto pics like that of birds, wildlife etc. Should I go for powershot or the DSLR. The only problem i have with the DSLR is that i won’t be able to purchase those high zoom lens in near future.

Can the image quality of 1100d and sx40hs could be compared? which is better?
I would be glad to have your reply sir.
Thank You

Rohit Gandas

7:01 pm - Saturday, March 24, 2012

#60 Paul Edwards

Yes,problem with dslr is the expense of extra lens! So in your case the SX40 is a good buy as also is the Fujifilm HS10/20 And HS30,though they have slightly shorter lens only 24 to 720mm equivalent. The 24 to 840mm lens on sx40 is very powerful. PE

7:26 pm - Saturday, March 24, 2012

#61 anton

Rohit
There is a large difference in price between the 2 Cannons and when traveling you have to take a bigger and heavier camera case with you all the time and the more compacter SX40 is easier to hang from your belt.

Paul
Thanks for the offer. I live in Australia and will be traveling in Europe this summer.
Are you selling your camera because you have found an even better or newer model?  If I have a really good camera (and I hope the SX40 is) I try to keep it as long as it lasts.
have a nice wekend.  Anton

9:42 pm - Saturday, March 24, 2012

#62 Paul Edwards

I have today sold my SX40HS because I don’t like it. Simple as that. I have gone back to my Fujifilm HS10 because,I’m my opinion it takes better pictures, which is all that matters to me! PE

11:43 pm - Saturday, March 24, 2012

#63 Gina

I just purchased the Nikon p510. I have researched for a little over a month and was deciding between the p510 and the sx40. I am thinking about returning the p510 because I can not find many reviews on it. I am upgrading from a little point and shoot so I don’t know much about cameras in general. I have a trip to Hawaii at the end of April and I would love to have a camera that takes great pictures but is VERY easy to use. Not sure if I should stick with what I bought or exchange it for the sx40. If anyone has any advice I’d really appreciate it. Thanks so much!

3:34 pm - Thursday, March 29, 2012

#64 Gina

Oh and I forgot to mention that I have held both cameras and the Nikon feels much more comfortable in my hand. I have very long fingers and it just didn’t feel like there was enough room to grip the sx40. Not sure how much of a difference this makes and if it should even be a reason for buying one over the other…...

5:25 pm - Thursday, March 29, 2012

#65 Billy

To Gina,
One reason you haven’t found much discussion about the Nikon P510 is because it has been released only VERY recently and people are just now getting around to testing it and writing their reviews. However, there are sites like snapsort.com that offer comparisons of practically every camera you can think of. If you go to this site, you can look for the “comparison” link that will allow you to type in the names of the two cameras you want to compare; in fact, I encourage you to do this so you can see it with your own eyes. But, the bottom line is that SX40 has more practical features than the P510. For example, compared to the P510, the SX40 has a wider aperture, has a longer battery life, you can buy an external flash for more powerful and creative flash photography, it has faster continuous shooting, you can get closer for macro shots, it has a much faster shutter speed, and, as of right now, it costs less, so if you do return the P510, you’ll have a few dollars extra. On the other hand, the P510 does have a much better articulating screen, a longer zoom, you can take 3-D photos as well as panoramic shots, and it has GPS. In my opinion though, the SX40 does have an edge in practicality but it all depends on what you want the camera to do for you.

12:18 am - Friday, March 30, 2012

#66 Paul Edwards

Gina: I think its foolish to return a camera just because it doesn’t have enough nice reviews - what matters is that is that it takes nice pictures - which I am sure the P510 does.

I just sold my SX40 because I didn’t like its picture quality - but it subjective and its only my opinion.  I’m sure that had I only had that particular camera I would have been happy enough with it.

A few months ago I saw a popular photographic magazine in a newsagents that had on the front cover ,and inside, the most amazing macro photo you will ever have seen - all taken by a very old 6mp Fuji camera - amazing pictures.
In the end its the images you take and not the camera that matters - provided it hasn’t got some awful fault that requires its replacement.

I just felt that the images (AND Video) of my Fuji HS10 were superior luckily I was able to sell the SX40 for the same price I bought it for. To be honest, if I could have justified it I would have kept both cameras.PE

3:12 am - Friday, March 30, 2012

#67 rohit

http://www.facebook.com/canonPowerShotSX40

guys like this page and let’s share our experiences with this camera..

5:04 am - Friday, March 30, 2012

#68 SAM

Hi I have just bought this camera and I am going on an overseas trip in a couple of days.
The problem is that I will obviously be needing to empty the photos onto my laptop every once in a while, but I have an 11” Macbook air and it doesn’t have a CD port so I can’t install the software. I have a bigger laptop which I will use for now but I can’t take that one overseas.

Is there anything I can do to install the software on my Mac? I tried looking on different websites for the software but I can’t find anything.

Help will be greatly appreciate as this is urgent and I am flying out in a few days :/

Thank you, Sam

7:54 am - Friday, March 30, 2012

#69 Bert Schollaert

Hi Sam, can’t you just take the SD out of the camera and put it in your computer to copy the pictures? In this case you don’t need the software.

9:52 am - Friday, March 30, 2012

#70 Paul Edwards

I don’t understand why you need a cd port to transfer images - unless your intending to burn. Most modern laptops have an sd card slot. If not,it will have USB connection and you can buy cheap card reader and plug that in then you insert your camera memory card and it should automatically transfer your images to your lappy. This kind of thing is fundamental to this technology.

1:46 pm - Friday, March 30, 2012

#71 Billy

Sam,
Another thought would be to simply buy another SD card for your trip, then worry about your copying issues later when you get back. You should always have an extra SD card as a backup anyway, so this is the time to get one.

2:34 pm - Friday, March 30, 2012

#72 RDCollins

I wouldn’t rely on keeping all of your photos on an SD card—they’re more prone to failure than hard drives, and if your camera is lost or stolen, you would be out of luck.

I’m not familiar with Macs or Macbooks, but assuming they work like Windows computers, you should be able to connect your camera to the Macbook using the white cable that came with the camera to the computer’s USB port. The computer should then see the camera as another drive, and you can then copy photos from it to the computer using the computer’s built-in software.

4:32 pm - Friday, March 30, 2012

#73 SAM

No when I connected the USB by itself, it my laptop did not recognise it and wouldn’t show it. I had to actually install software for the laptop to recognise it.
And it doesn’t have an SD card slot either.

But thanks for your responses guys, I solved the problem :) I went onto the Canon website and just downloaded the software from there.

10:36 am - Sunday, April 1, 2012

#74 BG

I bought the camera about a month back…excellent performance in manual mode; indoor photos without flash - very sharp pictures - I used the vivid color option; in night shooting without flash, the result is excellent if ISO setting is done manually, in one of the auto ISO shots, surprisingly the camera took it at 6400 ISO, although the manual setting is restricted only to ISO 3200. I have a SLR (35 mm) and a digi compact. This my first bridge cam…I love this ones versatility.

10:43 am - Friday, April 6, 2012

#75 Anton

Hi all
Today bought the Canon sx 40 and will start using the camera tomorrow. Thanks for all your advise.
I keep you posted how its going.
regards Anton

4:01 pm - Thursday, April 12, 2012

#76 SUGATO ROY

I HAVE PURCHASED SX40HS ON DT.07.04.2012. IT IS A PRETTY CAMERA. I AM HAPPY. THANKS TO ALL FRIENDS FOR THEIR VALUABLE ADVICE. THANK YOU CANON.      SUGATO ROY / CALCUTTA / INDIA.

10:50 am - Saturday, April 14, 2012

#77 SUGATO ROY

I HAVE TAKEN MANY PICTURES INDOOR AND OUTDOOR (DAY TIME AND NIGHT TIME). PICTURES ARE VERY SHARP. AGAIN THANKS TO CANON FOR THEIR PRETTY GOOD PRODUCT SX40HS.        SUGATO ROY / CALCUTTA / INDIA / +919051875688

5:57 pm - Saturday, April 14, 2012

#78 SUGATO ROY

TODAY AT 10.30AM I HAVE TASTED THE EFFECT OF ZOOM OF MY NEW CANON SX40HS CAMERA. I GOT SUPARB RESULT. I HAVE TAKEN SOME PHOTOS WITH FULLY EXTENDED ZOOM IN HANDHELD POSITION. BELIVE ME, I HAVE NOT SUFFERED FROM ANY BLUR AT THE TIME OF TAKING PICTURE WITH FULLY EXTENDED ZOOM WITH OUT TRIPOD. I HAVE GOT TERRIFIC RESULT. PICTURES ARE FANTASTIC. AT THE TIME OF TAKING PICTURE I HAVE USED ONLY THE EVF AND NOT THE LCD.                                      SUGATO ROY /CALCUTTA /INDIA/ +919051875688

8:13 am - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#79 aidin azad

plz help me
i dont know which one is better or best
sx40hs…..sx30is and canon p.shot g12

3:46 pm - Friday, April 20, 2012

#80 BG

in my opinion sx 40 should be better than sx 30, as it has a cmos sensor. to further compare…you could go to canon’s site. They provide comparison of 3 cameras (based on your seletion) at a time.

11:16 am - Saturday, April 21, 2012

#81 SUGATO ROY

#79 DEAR AIDIN AZAD,                                                                      CANON SX40HS WILL BE BETTR.                                                        SUGATO ROY \ CALCUTTA \INDIA \+919051875688

4:12 pm - Saturday, April 21, 2012

#82 RDCollins

The SX40 is definitely a better camera than the SX30. It’s newer and has better technology, specifically the DIGIC 5 processor instead of the older DIGIC 4. It also has better video, 1080 rather than 720. And it’s less expensive right now as Canon USA is offering a $50 discount—it’s commonly available for $379 in the U.S.

The G12 is a very different camera, more compact, far less zoom (28 to 140 vs. 24 to 840 for the SX40), not as good of video (720 instead of 1080), and the older processor. It is a smaller than the SX30 or SX40.

I would choose the SX40 over the SX30 or the G12—it’s a better camera for a wider variety of photos and videos.

You should also consider the G1X, although it costs almost twice as much as the SX40 and lacks the zoom range, but it does have superior image quality within it’s range. That’s not to say, however, that the image quality of the SX40 is poor—it’s excellent.

1:47 am - Sunday, April 22, 2012

#83 Rock Bourgow

I have this camera since one week now 26 April and i can say
it’s the best bridge i have buy since height years.IT’s my third bridge, 1-Panasonic, 1 Fuji and last this SX40
Excellent automatic white balance in any normal condition, less apparent noise in 1600 iso compare to my Canon 60D, excellent focusing system,never miss photo with the auto dial unless an impossible shoot done by the photograph.The JPG are great at 12 Mpx with this new sensor and digic 5 servo.Just one thing i missing from this body…it’s a manual zoom for taking zoom in zoom out photo
( creativity ).
I have paid less than $350.00 for this caméra super zoom 35x an i consider it like a gift from Canon. Canon habitually don’t give lower price like that for his stock. May be Panasonic,Fuji and Sony have push them to sell this fantastic camera at this bargain price. The quality of the lens for photos and videos are in the top best i have seen for this low price bridge camera.Don’t hesitate you will be satisfy like me….Oups the NB10L battery is very powerful with this camera.

12:58 am - Friday, April 27, 2012

#84 Jacob B

Does anyone know the zoom/megapixel/when will it be available of the future model of this camera?

1.Canon PowerShot SX30
2.Canon PowerShot SX40
3.????????????

11:53 pm - Sunday, April 29, 2012

#85 shantanu

hi, i am a beginner and i am confused between SONY HX100v ans Canon HS40x.
-price diffrence is marginal
-sony has more features of faded background, paranoma sweep etc.
-cannon has better picture quality..

please suggest which one to buy. it wil really matter to my purchase.
as i found your blog the most reliable one after my 1 month of research

12:50 pm - Thursday, May 3, 2012

#86 shantanu

i am a begginer
so suggest me which one to buy?
sony hx100v or cannon hs40sx(getting both at same price)
but heard the features are leaa in canon such as no paranoma sweep and no background fading

please help

12:57 pm - Thursday, May 3, 2012

#87 SUGATO ROY

#85 & 86 Shantanu   PURCHASE CANON SX40HS. I HAVE USED IT. IT IS A FANTASTIC CAMERA.    SUGATO ROY / KOLKATA / INDIA/ +919051875688

6:24 pm - Saturday, May 5, 2012

#88 mike m

has does this camera compare to the powershot S2IS Quaity wise?the cannon S2IS did great for about 8months to a year.then the screen went black.i got it back on but the pictuers are not good anymore.has long has the powershotsx40 been out and has anyone found any defects on it.I said i would never buy another cannon,can someone help me make up my mind?thanks mike

8:27 pm - Sunday, May 6, 2012

#89 mike m

has this camera got any defects i need too know about?i have a cannon S2SI that the screen just went black in less than a year old.this camera seems to have good comments on it.i said i would never buy another cannon can someone help me make up my mind.

8:52 pm - Sunday, May 6, 2012

#90 Rock Bourgow

For now this camera is the best bridge on the market and i suppose that Canon have done a top quality camera..
20 years ago i have by a Canon video and after one and half year he was broken…Since that in the last four years i have buy about 7 Canon digital slr new and use and never something wrong happen.
You can by other kind but it will not the best of the best.

11:03 pm - Sunday, May 6, 2012

#91 Michael

Is there really no raw format just jpg?

12:38 am - Sunday, May 13, 2012

#92 RDCollins

Mike—the SX40 has no “defects,” in my opinion, but, like all cameras, it does have areas that could be improved: cannot save photos in RAW format (irrelevant for the average user, and can be changed with software); focuses slowly; not great in low light; relatively slow between shots. However, where it counts the most—image quality—the SX40 is an excellent camera. Check the posts on http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/forum.asp?forum=1010, especially the photos posted by SX40 users.

12:48 am - Sunday, May 13, 2012

#93 Sarang

Between the Nikon (same zoom) and the sx40 which one would reccomend
Regards

9:09 am - Sunday, May 13, 2012

#94 RDCollins

I’d pick the Canon SX40 over the Nikon HX100V because the Canon is supposed to have the better lens—but that’s based only on what I’ve read about the Nikon.

According to one review, “While the HX100V and the SX40 HS offer similar features and performance, the capability of Canon’s lens far surpasses Sony’s model. Better sharpness, less chromatic aberration, and low distortion are all characteristics of the SX40 HS.”

You should also consider the Panasonic FZ150.

Bottom line: I think you would be happy with any of these cameras, so price may be the determining factor.

p.s.—I love my SX40!

7:38 pm - Sunday, May 13, 2012

#95 Rock Bourgow

Don’t hesitate , take the better for now…In 6 months may be it will be an other mark. For now Canon SX40 is the top of top for lens quality and is imperceptible noise at 1600 iso.The price is ridiculous for this top quality bridge camera.Sensor and lens 35X is the best deal of the last and new year 2012.If you miss a photo with the automatic set-up you are very very unlucky.If you are creative artist photograph,  manual control and semi-auto set-up will satisfy you.

10:22 pm - Sunday, May 13, 2012

#96 SUGATO ROY

#95ROCK BOURGOW.    HE IS 100% CORRECT.  SUGATO ROY / KOLKATA / INDIA /+919051875688

6:00 am - Sunday, May 27, 2012

#97 Kay Baker

I recently used my SX40HS at a music recital. The lighting was fair so I didn’t use the flash. I actually took some with the flash just to see the difference, but most of my pictures I wasn’t pleased with because they weren’t as clear as I’d like. It’s frustrating when this happens because I’ve seen this camera take some really awesome shots with no flash in low-lighting from quite a distance across a room but it seems better results are achieved if I zoom in on a person’s face or a close-up shot. A group shot quite often isn’t as good as I’d like. When I read reviews, I often notice many change up the settings such as the ISO, etc. I usually just leave my camera in Auto mode because I’m not that savvy with camera controls. Would I possibly get better results if I tried to change up the controls myself vs. the camera deciding in Auto? I think I need to take a camera course! Thanks, Kay

3:33 pm - Sunday, June 3, 2012

#98 RDCollins

No camera works well in the dark, and the effective range of the built-in flash on any camera I’ve ever seen is a maximum of about 30 feet. Moreover, in a darken room the camera is going to switch to one of the highest ISO settings, resulting in grainy photos, and slow shutter speeds, which may cause blurring even with image stabilization. Lastly, it’s extremely difficult for a camera to focus precisely when the light is inadequate. In short, you expect too much from the camera, and, yes, it probably would be helpful for you to take a photography course to learn the basics and the limitations of your equipment. In the meantime, RTFM.

5:15 pm - Sunday, June 3, 2012

#99 Kay Baker

I would read the manual but my CD player is out right now. That’s one thing that would be nice to have is a booklet, which didn’t come with the camera.

There was actually decent lighting where I was. I have taken photos in less lighting than the one I referred to and farther across the room and gotten much better shots. Perhaps at that time the lighting was shining down in just the right way, but I always say photography is not a perfect science. I also think that manuals don’t always give you the answer you’re looking for either. K

7:23 pm - Sunday, June 3, 2012

#100 RDCollins

The manual is available on line in PDF format in any of several languages here:

http://tinyurl.com/6t56aj3 (scroll down)

and here:

http://tinyurl.com/7ljgn4k (English only)

7:45 pm - Sunday, June 3, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, compact, 1080p, 12 megapixel, hdmi, 2.7 inch LCD, super-zoom, tilting, super zoom, Canon, 2.7 inch, PowerShot, 24-840mm, 35x zoom, SX40 HS, Canon PowerShot SX40 HS, Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Review, sx40, sx40HS

Tracker Pixel for Entry