Canon PowerShot SX500 IS Review

4.0
October 22, 2012 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

147 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 moeskoetie

image quality 3.5
value for money 3.5
but still 4 stars….en recommend ??????

12:12 pm - Monday, October 22, 2012

#2 Turner

Yeah it does not read like a recomended!
Then again never used it myself!

8:59 pm - Monday, October 22, 2012

#3 Joey Wilson

I think it’s unbelievable that Canon expects you to use a 720mm-equivalent lens (or more with the digital expansion), holding the camera at arm’s length in front of you like a dirty diaper since there’s no EVF, which all SX’s have previously featured.  Get an SX40 on closeout while you still can !

7:04 am - Tuesday, October 23, 2012

#4 DieKabouter

What a snooze-fest! More of the same dolled-up 1/2.3 sensor at an inflated price from Canon. You’re not fooling anyone (let’s hope).

9:34 am - Tuesday, October 23, 2012

#5 Matt Grayson

Hi
I use a mean average based on all the sections that I rate. The camera got two 4s, a 4.5 and two 3.5s. Unfortunately the rating system doesn’t allow me to add a 3.75 rating so I rounded up.
Let’s face it if |I put it at 3.5 someone would’ve commented that it got three high scores yet no recommended… ;O)

1:51 pm - Tuesday, October 23, 2012

#6 ben

Im intrested to see it go against the new casio hs50. I think the casio will beat it!
And well done for defending yourself Matt, its good to know you guys read the comments and take an intrest.

10:20 pm - Tuesday, October 23, 2012

#7 dj

No panaroma stitch mode on this camera…why’d they leave that feature out?

6:35 am - Wednesday, October 24, 2012

#8 Rob Mac

Nice features and camera for its size, but I wouldn’t buy it. No BSI-CMOS sensor with less MP (I have a 12MP SX220HS with good low light capability) and NO EVF for such a huge zoom range! Sorta like trying to shoot a distant target with a pistol instead of a rifle. Also limited visibility, especially in the good old Aussie sun.

6:16 am - Thursday, November 29, 2012

#9 Ken

I just got this camera, bought for the long zoom, and it seems okay, good for the price, the usual features are present for manual control. I will miss the viewfinder. And it’s a bit small for my hands.

10:57 pm - Tuesday, December 25, 2012

#10 Joe Prete

It’s too bad this one slipped by most people very quietly, it was a little ahead of it’s competition, and it was completely under rated by even Canon. Even here, only nine comments! On the Bright side,  for just over $200.00 now, you really get some Bang for your Buck!
... Joe Prete

9:45 pm - Monday, December 31, 2012

#11 Joe Prete

Oh, sorry I got off track there for a minute. What I really came to say was, From the staff and writers at photographyblog.com we want to wish our readers & their families a Very HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

Please remember to drive safely and most of all, don’t forget to BRING YOUR CAMERA. We wish you all the best, even those who shoot Pentax. I’M KIDDING!! We wish the best for Pentax/Ricoh and we hope this is a new beginning for them!
... Joe Prete

10:05 pm - Monday, December 31, 2012

#12 Beth

Hello, I just purchased this camera at Costco.  I have NO photography knowledge, I am a silversmith and make sterling silver jewelry and sell online.  I just had a little Nikon coolpix camera to take on vacations for basic photography.  I was told in order to get in real close to my jewelry to get good photo’s, I would need a camera with a longer lens on it.  So, I poked around Costco and threw up in my mouth a little bit when I saw the price of camera’s….$1,000 up!!  An employee thought this might be a good start for me to get some decent close up shots without draining my bank account.  My brother in law constructed a light box for me and I’m ready to get started…..I was wondering if anyone out there is able to give me some pointers or helpful hints to get started and get some good close up shots of my jewelry?  Thanks for any help!  ~Beth

1:45 am - Monday, January 7, 2013

#13 ElementsElectronics@eBay

Well written article. Impressive camera for the $200 range!

8:33 pm - Monday, January 7, 2013

#14 JOE PRETE

Beth,
A light box is an excellent way to illuminate your products with a consistent light source, however this SX500 is not a good choice to shoot (Macro) close up images of small products. I hope that you can return or exchange it. What is your budget for this project? Will it be used for a long period of time? Tell me what area you live in so I know what is available to you and I will see what I can find in your budget.
... Joe Prete

11:30 pm - Monday, January 7, 2013

#15 Beth

Hey, thanks a lot, Joe…that’s very kind of you.  Yes, I can return the camera within 90 days to Costco.  I have tried it out and it gets more detail and MUCH closer to the jewelry than my coolpix camera ever did.  So, I’m not totally disappointed with it.  I also purchased Photoshop and I have been having success cleaning the photo’s up a bit after I take them.  But, it would be nice if I could find a camera that does it for me without so much editing when I’m done.  Unfortunately, my budget is quite small…I would like to stay under $300 since this is not my profession and I’m only trying to get ‘some’ detail on the jewelry but not trying to have them submit to magazines :)  I am in Denver, CO.  Any help or advice is welcomed!  Thanks again!  Beth

11:48 pm - Monday, January 7, 2013

#16 JOE PRETE

Beth,
I’ve got it. I will check your Costco first, so maybe you can just make an exchange. A $300.00 budget is a challenge, but I’ll give it a try. I would think that you only need JPEGs and they should not need any post production software like Photoshop. I assume you mean P.S. Elements, but it’s good to have around anyhow. You should know, the quality of your Photographs can make or break a sale so this is important for your business. If you have a North facing window, that and a piece of white foamcore as a reflector should save you some of the cost of lighting.
I’ll be in touch,
... Joe Prete

12:51 am - Tuesday, January 8, 2013

#17 JOE PRETE

To Beth,
Here’s what I found. The Fujifilm SL300 looks like it’s right for you. It shoots in Macro mode down to 2cm. or 0.8” I found it in stock at B&H Photo & Video in N.Y. for $149.00 Their number is 877 759 8009 or BH.COM The camera that you need should say “MACRO” in it’s list of features. (Nikon uses the term “Micro”)

This one has a “Super Macro Mode” it’s very good for your purpose. I tried Costco, but no matter what camera I search for, it keeps switching back to the SX500. I have nothing against the Canon but it’s not the right camera for your needs. If you want that brand, it may go over your budget. If you need to reach me, look for the Nikon L810 Review on this site and go to comments. At number 102 you will find me. See my comments about lighting in this prior post. I’m sure you know you need an SDHC card. 8GB should be more than enough and cost less than $15.00 Unless you find a 16GB for $20.00 that should be fine. Good Luck to you,
... Joe Prete

9:20 pm - Tuesday, January 8, 2013

#18 JOE PRETE

To the Readers,
Please remember that this prior post was based on this individuals needs, and is not in any way saying that one camera or brand is better or worse than another. They more than likely came to this review because of the purchase. I would say that asking an employee or owner of a store might not be the best thing for you, and may just be better for them. That’s part of the value of a site like this, you can make a more informed decision after doing your own research of the cameras on this and other sites like it.

Regarding memory cards like SDHC: IMHO, it’s better to buy two 8GB cards rather than one 16GB or two 16’s rather than one 32. In other words “Don’t put all your eggs in one basket”
Happy Shooting,
... Joe Prete

10:02 pm - Tuesday, January 8, 2013

#19 Beth

Joe,
Thank you so much for giving me all of this great information.  I am getting ready to order the camera at B&H right now, and FREE shipping!  Love it!  I think this camera will suit my needs much better.  I’m just glad I checked out this photography blog and you were able to give me some useful information (I had no idea what a macro feature was) before my return time is up at Costco.  (And I’ll keep my old coolpix for Hawaii :))  Thanks again!  Beth

10:49 pm - Tuesday, January 8, 2013

#20 Bert

I used the camera for a week on holidays and generally was very pleased. It is definitely much better than the pocket sized nikon coolpix I used before, although the Canon’s size is sometimes a bit bothering. The Camera makes nice pictures, nice zoom and realistic colours.

4:11 pm - Thursday, January 10, 2013

#21 Mark

Hi,

I’m not a professional photographer. I take pictures just on the occasional, so would anyone recommend this camera jus for an everyday casual camera?

3:56 pm - Monday, January 21, 2013

#22 Ken

I recommend it, If You Can Do without a viewfinder. (the screen is good). The zoom is great, nice outdoor shots. Low light is ok, but requires still subjects. Flash fixes that, but you know, natural light is much better. If you don’t want to pay big bucks, this is a good camera. Its Not a pocket camera, and not an slr. I think its a good compromise for the money.

5:13 am - Tuesday, January 22, 2013

#23 H. MONETTI

Ken,
Yes, by all means, encourage more people to “Do the dirty diaper”
technique. Rather than the correct method of using the “Optical” or
“Electronic Viewfinder”. This practice is well known by the “Point & Shoot” crowd. They’ve been doing it for years now, they’d be lost without their “LCD”. And don’t look for Joe to help you, I’ve seen him throw LCD cameras into the trash can!
.....Hank

6:49 am - Tuesday, January 22, 2013

#24 Ken

There are trade offs if you want to spend less, Hank.

1:42 pm - Tuesday, January 22, 2013

#25 Rob Mac

Looks like a nice little super zoom, but 16mp on a tiny CCD -ouch!. Bring on the BSI CMOS sensors. Also. I can’t see the point of having a 30x zoom and not having an EVF for stable shooting and visibility in bright light. That would put me off buying this camera.

2:15 am - Wednesday, January 30, 2013

#26 JOE PRETE

Ken
What about Fujifilm HS20EXR, HS25EXR, HS30EXR
There are more in the Fujifilm line-up with viewfinders
or Nikon P510 (P520 was just introduced) I don’t like taking pictures at near arms length either, do you ken
... Joe Prete

2:46 am - Wednesday, January 30, 2013

#27 Marianne

Hi , I have a Canon SX120is which I have used for introduction into photography. Would the SX500is be a suitable upgrade or should I rather go for SX50is. There is considerable price difference in South Africa, so not sure at all, what to do.

12:21 pm - Tuesday, February 19, 2013

#28 Ken

I like the camera, but DO long for an EVF. I think the 50 is quite a bit more expensive, but if you have the bucks, I’d go for it.

1:15 pm - Tuesday, February 19, 2013

#29 Ken

I miss the viewfinder, so if you have the bucks, I’d go for the 50.

1:19 pm - Tuesday, February 19, 2013

#30 Marianne

Thank you @ Ken. Have no idea what EVF is. The 500 is on special for R 2499.95 whereas the 50 cost R 4499.95 , so big difference, no I don’t have the bucks LOL ......... want to upgrade as get so irritated when I cannot get that bird , you know.

1:39 pm - Tuesday, February 19, 2013

#31 Marianne

@ Ken ... my little SX120 don’t have viewfinder, I tried out a SLR, the viewfinder drove me crazy *smile*

1:41 pm - Tuesday, February 19, 2013

#32 JOE PRETE

Hi Marianne,
The SX500 IS is priced at about half that of the SX50 HS. The major Differences are The Zoom lens is 720MM vs. 1200MM the Sensor is a CCD vs, a CMOS, It only shoots JPEG vs JPEG+RAW, the LCD is fixed vs. a Full Vari-Angle, The processor is a Digic 4 vs. Digic 5 The movie mode is 720P vs. 1080P HD, ISO is 1600 vs 6400 (the ability so shoot in low light and/or at faster shutter speeds, this is “sensitivity, as in HS) Optical image stabilization vs. six way optimal image stabilization based on shooting mode,
32 pre-defined shooting situations vs. 58 in the SX50 HS

The list above was SX500 IS vs SX50 HS in that order, the SX50 HS has in addition, 10 Shot Burst, a Viewfinder and an LCD also, the SX50 HS has a Hot Shoe for external Flash or other accessories.

The main things that would sway most people to the SX50 HS, The Eye level Viewfinder, The higher ISO Sensitivity, The 10 Shot Burst Mode, 1200mm Zoom, The Vari-Angle LCD and the The Hot Shoe. I’m sure that after I submit this, I will think of more deciding options, but I think that should give you a good idea.

The thing to remember here is, when you miss a shot because your camera doesn’t work fast enough, you will always say to yourself “I should have bought the better one”, this only goes in the one direction, you will never say “I could have saved a couple hundred dollars” That just doesn’t happen!
... Joe Prete

2:48 pm - Tuesday, February 19, 2013

#33 JOE PRETE

Marianne,
EVF is Electronic Viewfinder, it works the same as an optical viewfinder, so you don’t have to hold the camera out in front of you, you have a choice over just the LCD. btw, the LCD pivots and turns for better versatility. The ISO performance is also much greater it’s 1600 on the SX500 and 6400 on the SX50 the SX500 has optical image stabilizer, but the SX50 has 6 way image stabilization. The SX50 has the newer DIGIC 5 vs the DIGIC 4 Also the movie mode is 720P, But the SX50 is full HD 1080P and the SX50 shoots RAW & JPEG vs just JPEG. SX50 has a Hot Shoe for flash or accessories too. I’d say there are more than just a few differences. Many people just look at it for it’s 1200mm lens but the camera is like night and day when compared o the SX500
Marianne, you have an extra digit on each price you listed.
... Joe Prete

3:20 pm - Tuesday, February 19, 2013

#34 Ken

eelectronic viewfinder=EVF

3:30 pm - Tuesday, February 19, 2013

#35 Ken

the zoom on this camera is great for birds. my problem is in bright sunlight, where the screen can wash out.still, I really like the camera.

3:36 pm - Tuesday, February 19, 2013

#36 Ken

the screen is nice in bright, so don’t be too afraid of it

3:41 pm - Tuesday, February 19, 2013

#37 Marianne

@ Joe, no I don’t have an extra digit on the prices, lol, I live in South Africa. Rand 1 = $ 8.95 at the moment. *smile*

4:07 pm - Tuesday, February 19, 2013

#38 Marianne

oh crumbs   you guys are very technical, but think it boils down to , make do with what I have and save for the SX50 rather. Thank you so much for your input, Ken and Joe.

4:09 pm - Tuesday, February 19, 2013

#39 Marianne

@ Ken , my SX120 also washes out on screen in bright sunlight, you are right, not thinking of that, was I? True. If I hold very very still and uses the 40x zoom can still get a bird sitting still on a branch a while off, but not if in flight, only a lucky lucky shot gets that one.

4:11 pm - Tuesday, February 19, 2013

#40 JOE PRETE

To Marianne Post #30
Marianne,
You mentioned Birds, if that is your reason for needing the longer Zoom lens there may be an option you haven’t thought of. There are Binoculars that have built in cameras that will capture birds that you could never reach with a conventional camera. I believe there are also spotting scopes (mono) that are also equipped. I have catalogs for several brands, even (rifle scopes). Just say the word and I’ll get them off the shelves to take a look. They’re MP level is not as high, but it doesn’t need to be when you’re getting so close. I believe they start at well under $100.00 U.S. Just let me know,
... Joe Prete

12:22 am - Wednesday, February 20, 2013

#41 Marie

I am also looking for a reasonably priced camera to shoot birds and other wildlife while on a nature safari. I am an experienced photographer with many great glass lenses and my trusty film cameras, but I am looking for a digital alternative that is not too big to carry on my trips. I like the idea of binculars or spotting scopes with a built in camera. Is the quality OK?  Anxious for your recommendations!  THANKS
PS I have been thinking about the Canon sx50.

11:44 pm - Saturday, February 23, 2013

#42 JOE PRETE

Marie,
I haven’t counted, but there have been quite a few posts just like yours in the past several weeks. One guy who wrote me today had just received his SX50 HS He wasted no time at all- the best way to do it, jump right in! I can help you on line or via email. My email is in the comments section of the SX50 HS Review (about #232) and at the L810 review comments at (#102) Use the drop down at camera review or type it into the search bar of the home page. Go to comments section. I reply in 1 day
... Joe Prete

4:24 am - Sunday, February 24, 2013

#43 Lori

Hi - I am looking at purchasing this camera and would appreciate some advice. I’d like something not too complicated with my main needs being image stabilization (rock concerts) and close-ups. I’ve been using a Panasonic Lumix TZ5 which is great outdoors and decent for close ups, but it doesn’t do well with concert lighting (red, blue lights). Also if I’m photographing a guitar player, the image will be crisp but the hand strumming the guitar will be in motion. Will the SX500 do the trick? Thanks so much!

6:17 am - Monday, March 4, 2013

#44 Bre

I am really interested in this camera and I was wondering do you think it would be good for me? I am wanting to take photography in college but right now I just enjoy taking pictures of my horses and my brother skateboarding so I guess I will be taking a lot of actions shots but I also like taking pictures of plants and just a bit of everything.  I am a college student so I have a small budget.
Thanks,
Bre

10:30 pm - Thursday, March 14, 2013

#45 ken

Haven’t tried high speed action shots, but the camera has aperture priority and shutter speed priority settings as well as full manual, which should allow flexibility. Outdoors it takes good shots. Indoors without flash it tends toward blur if subjects move, but that’s to be expected. Flash is a bit bright, but can be adjusted. There is a macro setting for close ups of plants, etc. If you can’t split for a more expensive camera with an electonic viewfinder, this would be a good choice.

Perhaps someone else has tried high speed shots.

2:38 pm - Sunday, March 17, 2013

#46 Albert

i am an amateur blogger, usually using compact cameras, in consideration of the price hope that SX 500 IS help me a lot..

4:34 am - Tuesday, March 19, 2013

#47 Lily

Would this camera take good photos at concert events where there is a lot of flashing lights and movement?

8:09 pm - Thursday, April 4, 2013

#48 JOE PRETE

To Lily,
I’m not trying to be sarcastic at all, but in short here’s your answer: Yes, No and Maybe. Try this: If a Knowledgeable Photographer arrived at the job, equipped for a variety of situations, he or she would have a good chance of obtaining useable images. But, a Novice using a camera like this would have roughly a snowball’s chance in hell of producing snapshot quality pictures. Also, Your phrase “Would this camera take good photos?” is completely wrong. The camera does not take the photos, the Photographer does. In fact, if you could film the camera, just “getting out of it’s Box by itself”, you would have a very successful “You Tube Video!” in fact, I predict that it would go viral within a few hours, making the concert appear to be of very little importance.
... Joe Prete

3:16 am - Friday, April 5, 2013

#49 Jaime G.

@Joe Prete. I was reading your feedback to Beth and I’m very pleased to know people with experience are here to help. So now I’m asking for some help as well. I want to get a camera in the $250 dollar range. I want to be able to zoom in at sporting events and take actons pix of my kids. Some close up stuff and wanting the remote shutter release to take pictures of waterfalls. I’m fairly new at this so I want to get the right camera the first time I do this. Thanks!!

8:38 am - Sunday, April 7, 2013

#50 JOE PRETE

Hi Jaime G,
We try to help people to get off to a good start. We do hope that those people, will help someone else down the road. It’s a great hobby, and digital made it much more affordable. I like to ask a few questions about some things you need you consider to get you into the right area. With a moderate Zoom lens you are looking at a Bridge/Superzoom which will require a case to carry it in. Not that they’re expensive, but it means a shoulder strap. The Zoom kinda forces them into putting an optical viewfinder and an LCD, so that works out good for you. So a case is like $20.00, and a memory card or two will be another $25.00. Two 8GB cards are better than one 16GB (ie. Don’t put all your eggs in one basket). So, are we still able to spend $250.00 on the camera? The truth is, this pretty much covers it, so there’s no other hidden costs. So tell me: Are you okay carrying a shoulder or belt case? and are you still okay with the $250.00 budget?

If you’re okay so far, I just need to know what area you are in. If you’re in the U.S. you can get cheap or free shipping anywhere.
If you have a BestBuy, Walmart or Staples, that would help. If you are outside the US, I’ll need to be a little more specific about your area so that I know what’s available to you. If you don’t want any of that printed here, you can email me, whatever works for you. Last name is not required, and nothing will be stored. This is completely free, from me to you. If you need to cut corners to save some money there is always discontinued gear at a decent savings. Many of the people that started here, ended up finishing through email, so they weren’t forgotten at all. but that’s usually when they can’t get through the filters. The sooner I hear from you, the faster it will go. Best Regards,
... Joe Prete  

If you’ve had a P&S camera, they are known for their LCD only, but when you want to zoom out to catch some sports action, even kids, you’ll appreciate the optical finder, so I would look for a camera with the combination, LCD & Optical finder

11:06 am - Sunday, April 7, 2013

#51 Jaime G.

Oh sorry I’m in Oregon. I live near a Costco, Walmart, and Best Buy. Sorry I forgot to tell you that I have 2 digital 12 megapixel camera’s, memory cards….etc. They are the hand held ones with an LCD screen and fit in your pocket. I am looking for something a little nicer. Maybe something I can take off the lense and upgrade down the road but not required.

1:37 pm - Sunday, April 7, 2013

#52 Elizabeth L

I’m glad to see this post! For months I’ve been waiting on buying this camera after being told it’s a decent one for the price point and my needs… although this review seems a lot more down to earth and realistic than everyone else who is part of the sx500 cult(I say cult because you have to see how blushing these reviews are.. especially on Amazon!)

Anyway I really don’t want to spend more than 300 on a camera although this camera was around 300 when I first decided upon it.. the whole price drop to 219(and some places 180) has made it more tempting but then what if I end up with the “shoot.. should have brought a better camera aka spend more $$) sentiments in the future?

I’ve always used point and shoots and I’m no photographer but I’m really wanting to have nice pictures that aren’t grainy and gross. I want something for the usual needs - outside with friends (daytime/nighttime.. I haven’t had one nice nighttime/lowlight picture experience yet) cats, outdoors.. and also for conventions since I make costumes and attend lots of comic book conventions and japanese themed festivals. Sakura Matsuri is coming up (last week of April) so I’d like to have something by then..

I have thought about SLRs but I don’t want to be seen as a “rich-kid-with-a-fancy-camera” who has no idea what to do with any of the settings.. I figured the sx500 would give me the opportunity to play around without being too lost. I saw the sx50 as well thanks to reading through the comments but noticed people complaining on Amazon about the ISO being locked in manual mode in nighttime shots…


To give you an idea of what I photograph at conventions etc (and .. the “quality”.. hah) here are some pictures taken with my coolpix s4000. I’ve got some nighttime photos too but those are so bad I rather not post them!

http://fc05.deviantart.net/fs70/i/2012/287/d/d/sailor_pluto_and_chibimoon_by_lizlizcosplay-d5hub8n.jpg

http://fc00.deviantart.net/fs70/i/2012/265/3/9/enma_ai_by_lizlizcosplay-d5fk19c.jpg


http://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-snc6/r90/254718_4125073169168_497760847_n.jpg

http://sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-snc7/426374_4125074289196_1189097590_n.jpg

Hope to hear soon ^_^

3:04 pm - Sunday, April 7, 2013

#53 JOE PRETE

Jaime G.,
I’ve got a few cameras to review for you and I’ll be in touch with
you soon, okay.
... Joe Prete

Elisabeth L.,
You may want to read the conversation between Jaime and myself.
Mainly to discuss camera size and Viewfinder & LCD or just viewfinder,
... Joe Prete

Lily,
I wasn’t giving up on you, but your questions were more about Photography, and less about the Camera. If you want to discuss that, you’re welcome to email me at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
So that I can explain what’s involved with concert lighting and distance. I’ll be glad to help you, it just can’t be done with limited space and other questions in between.
Regards,
... Joe Prete

7:35 pm - Sunday, April 7, 2013

#54 JOE PRETE

Elisabeth L.,
You may want to read the conversation between Jaime and myself.
Mainly to discuss camera size and Viewfinder & LCD or just viewfinder,
... Joe Prete

Lily,
I wasn’t giving up on you, but your questions were more about Photography, and less about the Camera. If you want to discuss that, you’re welcome to email me at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
So that I can explain what’s involved with concert lighting and distance. I’ll be glad to help you, it just can’t be done with limited space and other questions in between.
Regards,
... Joe Prete

7:36 pm - Sunday, April 7, 2013

#55 JOE PRETE

Lily,
I wasn’t giving up on you, but your questions were more about Photography, and less about the Camera. If you want to discuss that, you’re welcome to email me at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
So that I can explain what’s involved with concert lighting and distance. I’ll be glad to help you, it just can’t be done with limited space and other questions in between.
Regards,
... Joe Prete

7:39 pm - Sunday, April 7, 2013

#56 Joe Prete

Jaime G., Elizabeth L. and Lily,
I’ve been trying to reply, but the spam filters aren’t letting much of anything through today. If you want to email me directly this will go much easier. I’m at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
Lily, your question was more about Photography than about camera choice, but I’d be glad to help you through email
Sorry for the inconvenience guys, but this does happen a lot on this blog. It’s been an ongoing problem and mgmt. knows about it.
Regards,
... Joe Prete

7:54 pm - Sunday, April 7, 2013

#57 Elizabeth L

Hello!

The email you have provided is not working for me… sorry that the spam filter is being difficult on this website - i’m having a hard time posting myself at the moment. Perhaps you could message me on my tumblr account? supersailormars.tumblr.com of course now I realize you’d need a tumblr as well…

since I rather not put my primary email up, here is one I don’t use so often: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

thanks!

8:20 pm - Sunday, April 7, 2013

#58 JOE PRETE

Jaime G.,
Here’s a Fujifilm SuperZoom S4250 much like the camera in this review. The main difference, the S4250 has an LCD & Viewfinder! W/24X Optical Zoom lens (24-576MM), 3” LCD, Image stabilization, HD Movie Facial Recognition, Red eye & Blink reduction, Panorama mode, AA Battery convenience, and a good price too. At Walmart for $179.00 Why don’t you take a look at their site and the Fuji Video there as well. The S4000 Line is an economy camera but it gives you everything you need at a very good price. Check the packing, you don’t want a repack if you go to the store, but if you buy online that won’t be a problem at all. Let me know what you think,  Okay.Fujifilm S4250 $179.00
... Joe Prete

8:46 pm - Sunday, April 7, 2013

#59 JOE PRETE

Jaime G.,
Here’s a Fujifilm SuperZoom S4250 much like the camera in this review. The main difference, the S4250 has an LCD & Viewfinder! W/24X Optical Zoom lens (24-576MM), 3” LCD, Image stabilization, HD Movie Facial Recognition, Red eye & Blink reduction, Panorama mode, AA Battery convenience, and a good price too. At Walmart for $179.00 Why don’t you take a look at their site and the Fuji Video there as well. The S4000 Line is an economy camera but it gives you everything you need at a very good price. Check the packing, you don’t want a repack if you go to the store, but if you buy online that won’t be a problem at all. Let me know what you think, Okay.  Fujifilm S4250 $179.00
... Joe Prete

11:29 pm - Sunday, April 7, 2013

#60 Elizabeth

Hi Joe,

I’ve tried to email you at that address but it bounces back.

perhaps you could message me on tumblr supersailormars.tumblr.com (assuming you have an account) or provide a different email?


Thanks!

2:31 am - Monday, April 8, 2013

#61 Joe Prete

Sorry Elizabeth,
I was over my limit. You can email me at the Yahoo account, same name .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
These lines should be free on Monday the 8th, we’ll catch right up.
... Joe Prete

4:24 am - Monday, April 8, 2013

#62 Toby

I really do not know if this is the correct place to post this question but I just came back from the local canon store, We want to upgrade our camera which won’t be hard since all we ever use are point and shoot cameras…
Most of our pictures are boating and lake shots, Sports, daughter plays Volleyball and we have a trip planned to the Kentucky Derby here I would like to get really good pictures as it is going to be a once in a lifetime trip there for us. They showed me the Power Shot S110, Power Shot SX50HS and the Power Shot SX500 IS, Any recommendations from you guys? I kind of like that SX50 because of that zoom but I really have no idea what we need…
Thanks in advance

10:02 pm - Tuesday, April 16, 2013

#63 JOE PRETE

Hi Toby,
The first thing you need to consider is the SX500 has no Optical Viewfinder. It’s an LCD only, like the other Point & Shoot that you mentioned. The SX50 HS is a SuperZoom. 24-1200mm it’s a 50X Zoom. You can find it for $400.00 Competing cameras are Fujifilm HS50EXR a 42X 24-1000mm lens with a 1/2” CMOS II Sensor with Phase Detection $489.00, Fujifilm SL1000 50X 24-1200MM $360.00 and the new Sony HX300 also 50X 24-1200mm $498.00 and Nikon P520 42X 24-1000mm $425.00 Obviously, the HS50EXR is a next generation with Phase Detection and the larger sensor. The others are all small sensors.
... Joe Prete

12:13 am - Wednesday, April 17, 2013

#64 d.ackerman

Hi there!

I loved your review on the Canon SX500 IS camera. I would like to ask you a question about it. I just got mine and for some reason the display image looks a little crackled/fog, hard to explain…not crystal clear. However, when I take a shot the picture looks perfect. Is this a normal thing for this camera? Or mine is defective? I am a bit worried. I would really apprecaite if you could let me know if you experience the same problem with yours.

Thanks a lot!!! ;-)

2:42 am - Sunday, May 5, 2013

#65 ken

My display is clear and sharp, both right after taking a shot and when I review (using the blue arror key to switch the display). I don’t know if there is a setting for the brightness if the review screen, but you may have a defect.

5:17 pm - Sunday, May 5, 2013

#66 PD

I am confused between the canon sx160 & sx500. The only difference that I could notice in the spec. sheet is the 16x vs. 30x zoom & the battery type.
I like clicking pictures but this is going to be my first digital camera so I cannot actually define my exact my needs right now, but which one would be a safer option?
Other options that I have shortlisted are sony dsc100v/200v & nikon L810/820.

2:25 pm - Tuesday, May 7, 2013

#67 PAUL

Great site. I’m going on a landtour & boat cruise in July to Alaska. I currently have a Canon a540. Figure I need more zoom on the trip. I’m worried about that and battery life. Trying to stay around or under $300 as I don’t usually take that many photos. Think this will do the job?

5:45 pm - Friday, May 10, 2013

#68 Matsen

Hi,
I’m currently looking around to replace my 5-year old Nikon S550. I mostly use my camera on travel. I’m looking for something with more zoom, but also with higher quality in more challenging light conditions (late afternoon, shaded side of the valley, clouded days where the light still seems to be strong). I came across this Canon, and enjoyed the review. It offers more zoom, but not too much, and seems smaller than most bridge cameras. Handy, as I need to carry it while travelling. It also has some manual features, so I could try that out.
Is this the type of camera recommended, or are there any others that suit better? Any tips?

8:21 pm - Wednesday, May 15, 2013

#69 Hank

Why do you keep asking, without Joe they don’t reply. They don’t care about this, they make money their money from the advertisers!

9:27 pm - Wednesday, May 15, 2013

#70 OrionsLinedotCom

Excellent review - looks like a ton of features packed into a very low price. Will have to look at adding this to my store.

10:20 pm - Monday, May 20, 2013

#71 Joan

I’m looking for a small camera that has high pixels and great zoom capabilities for distance shots. I’d like to stay under $300.00. Is this the best camera, or should I be looking elsewhere?? I’m going on a once in a lifetime trip and want to capture everything - especially if I am viewing from a distance. Your suggestions would be appreciated.

10:31 pm - Monday, May 20, 2013

#72 laura

I have a question. I take tons of pictures and use my Nikon D50 slr camera. I hate that I have to chage the lenses every time I want to shoot a close up and then a picture that is far away. Would you reccommend a camera that has a great zoom lens that doesn’t need changing?

3:58 pm - Thursday, May 23, 2013

#73 Fabio D.

Hello, can anyone help me?
I wanted to buy a new a new camera, not interested in high-end slr’s.
My choice would be between the Fujifilm HS25EXR and the Canon SX500, both are in the same price range and have interesting features.
Thanks to anyone who will share their thought.

4:00 pm - Thursday, May 23, 2013

#74 CuriousShopper

Hello experts,
I’m a newbie to photography and was looking to buy a not-so-expensive-as-DSLR camera which can blur the background, but keep the subject (usually a group of people/single person) in focus.

After stumbling onto http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=eep&cs=6099&sku=a6338209

I thought the “portrait” mode in this camera should be perfect for the job and want to assert this, before I actually buy this camera.

Has anyone used the portrait mode on this? Does it really work as good as advertised? Are there better suggestions for a camera (under 300 bucks) for same/better background blurring + subject sharpening effect?

12:23 am - Monday, May 27, 2013

#75 Eric

Fabio D.
Write to Joe at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)  The people that run this site do not answer any questions. It’s like “Pot Luck”, if another reader answers you, he could be a genius or an idiot, but you’ll never know. At least with Joe, you’ll know who you’re talking to.
Eric

1:11 am - Monday, May 27, 2013

#76 Fabio D.

@ Eric
Thanks for your advice Eric, I decided to take the plunge on the Fujifilm saturday evening. Now I’m just waiting for it to arrive.

8:41 am - Monday, May 27, 2013

#77 yetunde

so what are all of you saying now that the sx500 isnt gud or what?

3:23 am - Thursday, May 30, 2013

#78 ruparna

Hi get the best deal for all cameras at mydeals247.com

2:03 pm - Friday, May 31, 2013

#79 Marie

Hi,
I am looking for a camera to take with me to college but also help with my photography that I am really passionate about.  Is this a good camera for taking good, high-quality, pictures for a photography website?  Also does anyone know it’s shutter speed?

To get an idea of what type of pictures I usually go for here’s my facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/MerryPhotography

Thank you all very much!

4:39 am - Wednesday, June 5, 2013

#80 Navi

I was debating between buying this camera or the canon sx50. i find that this camera is too compact for me. I am used to using nikon d40’s and though those are way out of my price range it kind of gives an idea of what type of image quality and camera id like. so im not sure whether i should give this camera a go or return it.

11:24 pm - Friday, June 7, 2013

#81 Eric

Navi,
You should write to Joe Prete, his email is listed in prior posts, just above. He was answering the questions here but we go right to his email. it’s alot easier.

12:05 am - Saturday, June 8, 2013

#82 Flyinby

What, no photo of the bottom of the camera?  Photographyblog is always so good about doing that when others neglect it.  There’s important stuff down there, and things that matter.  The ‘battery compartment’ photo is a joke, how about the nice, straight on shot of the bottom so we can see the tripod socket location etc.?

3:15 am - Thursday, June 13, 2013

#83 Joe Prete

The Tripod Socket is always placed as close as is possible, to the
“Center of the Balance of Weight”, not at the center of the measurement of the camera. But what you are most likely looking for is the “Location of Manufacture” which means very little, because the parts can come from thirty or more different manufacturers, which may also have many different locations. So your question really wouldn’t give you as much information as you might think. Sometimes a unit is partially assembled at one plant, and is completed at another. With such a low cost camera, even the outsourcing information may vary by serial number of the unit. To just indicate “imported” would make the statement much more accurate. Does this even matter to us anymore?
... Joe Prete

4:59 am - Thursday, June 13, 2013

#84 mel

I’m thinking of purchasing this camera from Costco. I’m usually a person who uses my Iphone for pix. Seems this camera is user friendly. My plan is to purchase this for family trips and to take pixs of my kids in their athletic events ie. ice skating and baseball. hope it works out…

7:11 pm - Tuesday, June 18, 2013

#85 Keilani

Hi, I like to take pictures of my family, nature and vacation trips. I have used my latest camera which is a Canon powershot SX110. I have had it for 4 to 5 years and I absolutely love it. I saw a good deal on the Canon powershot Sx 500. I have been reading reviews on the PS SX500 and confused whether this is a good camera to purchase or if the camera I already have is not much different. The deal ends today so I need to get an answer asap. I notice the SX500 has a lithium battery where mine has double A batteries and mine has a SD card and the SX500 doesn’t? I have read this SX500 doesn’t have a viewfinder, dumb ? does that mean when you take the pic you don’t see what you are taking it doesn’t show up on the picture screen?  Does it use a SD card?
Please reply asap, like I said I love my Canon power shot Sx110 but if it is a step up I may consider going for the camera.  Does a lithium battery last longer? Please email me back. Thanks Keilani

5:17 pm - Wednesday, June 19, 2013

#86 Raju Chettri

To Joe

Hi,
I am looking for a camera specific for bird’s photography and landscapes and would also prefer jpeg+raw for after-shoot editing. I wish to shoot micro photos, birds, insects, flowers etc. I am travel agent and I love clicking anything. My budget is $500 and I live in India. Could you suggest one for me, please?

8:51 am - Saturday, June 22, 2013

#87 Joe Prete

Raju,
You can write me direct at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) I’d be glad to help you there.
... Joe Prete

11:16 am - Saturday, June 22, 2013

#88 Joe Prete

Raju,
You can email me at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address). I will be glad to answer your questions there.
... Joe Prete

11:52 am - Saturday, June 22, 2013

#89 Rajat

Hi Joe,
Need :
1. Landscape pics.
2. Faraway pics.
3. Low light (street light) outdoor pics.

Options :
1. Nikon Coolpix l820.
2. Canon powershot sx 500.

Please advice on:
1. Image quality.
2. True colours in photographs without blue or yellow tints , with or without flash.

Thanks, Rajat.

8:34 pm - Sunday, June 30, 2013

#90 Allison

Is this camera worth trading my Canon Rebel xs? I am seriously think about getting this camera but I need to know about the quality if the slow shutter speed. I love taking picture of water falls. got me sold on everything else.

8:25 am - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#91 Nunu89moza

Hey. I am new here. I want to buy a good camera for my photography lessons. It should have manual control with good features. I am not much familiar with terms and features associated with camera, so I want anyone who can help me with this.I am beginner at photography course. My range is within $300.00

1:25 pm - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#92 Joe Prete

Allison,
Not to seem nasty or anything, but as good as we are we really don’t have a crystal ball here, we have no idea without knowing more information. You have a Digital SLR, and you want to step down to a “Point & Shoot” camera? There must be more to this story, write me at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) so we can discuss this through email. It will be easier & Faster.

Nunu89moza, write to the same email address.
... Joe Prete

6:11 pm - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#93 Miguel

Recommended???

Al sample images at ISO 100? No books with shadows for ISO samples???

I think some is wrong…

5:24 pm - Monday, July 15, 2013

#94 Joe Prete

PEOPLE,
What are you viewing this on? Your Monitor: Make, Model Specs. Age. Last Calibrated Date,

How are we supposed to know what you are seeing, fill in all the information, Yes, all these things matter and in the end, also realize that this is not one of the most accurate cameras in the world, it’s a cheap “Point & Shoot camera so the differences will not be extreme. If you are looking for consistency in the exposure, you will need to shop for the cameras in the other end of the price range, but you asked the question, at least give us the relevant information!
... Joe Prete

P.S.:I’m not going to ask Matt unless you supply all the information. Don’t expect us to educate everyone who passes through here.

7:40 pm - Monday, July 15, 2013

#95 Joe Prete

Miguel
To quote you “I think some is wrong” Too!!!
... Joe Prete

7:44 pm - Monday, July 15, 2013

#96 Roberto El Choo Choo Fingus Dingus

Guys,

I really need a camera that can take a steady load of hot sauce. I like to film the ladies when making urinates. I want it to be able to fit in my shoe. I found this type of camera easy to use under the cubical doors and is easily stuffed in air vents above toilets.
Can I have one for free.
I will do anything to have one. PLS in need dis!

Love

Roberto El Choo Choo Fingus Dingus

4:27 am - Tuesday, July 16, 2013

#97 Shannon

I’m looking to buy the canon sx500 to take pictures on the beach and outdoor activities. Is this a good idea? I need help!

3:41 am - Wednesday, July 24, 2013

#98 Joe Prete

Shannon,
The beach is second only to snow, when it comes to fooling the cameras exposure meter. This simple Point & Shoot is one of the worst choices you can make. The Nikon L820 is one of the other worst cameras for the beach scene. I’m sure you were going there next. How would you even see the LCD out on the bright beach sand? Are you trying to get a camera for $200.00? It’s like buying a cheap pair of shoes, you will be reminded of what a bad idea it was with every step. Save your money!
... Joe

5:15 am - Wednesday, July 24, 2013

#99 Faith

Hi,

I was wondering if someone could help?  I am trying to decide between the SX500 and the Panasonic Lumix FZ62.

All I’m going to use the camera for is hoiday snaps, scenery that sort of thing but wasn’t sure which to choose as they both have varied review.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Faith

10:53 pm - Tuesday, August 6, 2013

#100 Joe Prete

Faith,
The Panasonic DMC-FZ60 and FZ62 Were just announced. I’m pretty sure the FZ40/FZ47 are now discontinued.  But either way, it’s a scaled down version of the FZ200 Mainly because it’s lens doesn’t have the ability to use a constant F2.8 (in aperture priority) that the FZ200 has, but it will cost about Half that of the FZ200 about $250.00 For most pictures, that won’t even matter!

What this camera does have is (1) of the new Sensors Panasonic has been working on and it’s predicted to be amazing!!!  This camera also has an (EVF) Electronic Viewfinder (Optical) and a 3” LCD panel, that’s something most cameras under $500.00 have been lacking (sans a few Fuji’s) So the FZ60/62 will be more of a Photographers Camera, retaining the 24X Zoom or 25-600mm

The Canon SX500 IS is strictly a “Point & Shoot” camera with only an LCD to view, virtually no settings to change at all. So they are in a different class, but I would say the FZ60/62 just for the new sensor/or just for the EVF/ or Just for the price! To me, this new camera (whichever designation we get 60 or 62) will be worth the wait. But that’s me, I’m looking at it from a Photographers point of view, someone who only wants to “Point & Shoot” might think of it differently. Don’t be scared of the Panasonic, you can use it in full auto as well. So you can choose to learn if you want to, or use it in full Auto Mode.  But, this camera was announced about three weeks ago. It will be a few more weeks before it hits the store shelves. (at least 3 weeks)

These cameras have been very good performers, going back to the DMC FZ100, FZ150, FZ40, FZ47 and of course the FZ200 but there is something else we’re waiting on from Panasonic, this cameras big brother, the FZ200 Replacement, but expect that to be in the $500.00 range, so this one is an excellent deal!  What you have to figure out is, which road you want to take, because here, you’re not comparing apples to apples. I think the U.S. Version is the FZ60 and outside the U.S., the DMC-FZ62

Faith, I’m pretty sure you will need some additional advice, if you do, look for me around these pages, my email can be found and I’ll try to answer your questions, but any Photographer would tell you to step ahead, with a real camera, and not take the easy way out, because it’s a good hobby to get into, you can be creative, and learn as you go, and for the small difference in price, you’ll be getting so much more. I have a version of this, 4 or 5 years old, it works great every time. It was an excellent investment.
... Joe Prete

2:15 am - Wednesday, August 7, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 16 megapixel, 720p, hdmi, super-zoom, super zoom, 3 inch, Canon, 30x zoom, PowerShot, 24-720mm, Canon PowerShot SX500 IS, Canon PowerShot SX500 IS Review, sx500, SX500 IS

Tracker Pixel for Entry