Canon PowerShot SX50 HS Review

4.5
October 10, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

336 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Eyal Gurevitch

The SX50 is indeed very impressive,
but to call it a DSLR replacement is going too far.
Large zoom, Hot-shoe and RAW support taken into account, the SX50 is still built around a 1/2.3” sensor, so it will never replace any DSLR.

p.s. - you wrote “...return of a hotshoe for an accessory flash…”, but the SX50’s predecessors had hot-shoes as well.

-eyalg

1:58 pm - Wednesday, October 10, 2012

#2 Jan Toude

IMHO, the sample page is far from perfect.

Why no low ISO telephoto samples to allow us to evaluate sharpness the lens is capable of?

Why no extreme telephoto RAW samples?

No focal length indicated below the thumbnails, no EXIF data in the thumbnails, so the only way to know the focal lengths is to download the full size photos.

Focal legths:
01.jpg-09.jpg:4.3mm, 10.jpg:27.84mm, 11.jpg:9.51mm, 12.jpg-13.jpg:4.3mm, 14.jpg:16.81mm, 15.jpg:10.9mm, 16.jpg:4.3mm, 17.jpg:97.73mm, 18.jpg:148.92mm, 19.jpg:4.3mm, 20.jpg:112.15mm, 21.jpg:8.96mm, 22.jpg:4.3mm, 23.jpg:215mm, 24.jpg-25.jpg:12.52mm, 26.jpg:39.5mm, 27.jpg:31.28mm, 28.jpg:44.4mm, 29.jpg-30.jpg:4.3mm, 31.jpg:42.7mm, 32.jpg:4.3mm, 33.jpg:47.07mm, 34.jpg:4.3mm, 35.jpg:18.18mm, 36.jpg-37.jpg:4.3mm, 38.jpg:146.26mm, 39.jpg:61.75mm, 40.jpg:4.3mm, 41.jpg:45.27mm, 42.jpg:20.04mm, 43.jpg:34.46mm, 44.jpg:22.94mm, 45.jpg-47.jpg:4.3mm, 48.jpg-49.jpg:13.81mm, 50.jpg:215mm, 51.jpg:92.69mm, 52.jpg:31.28mm, 53.jpg:4.3mm, 54.jpg-55.jpg:215mm, 56.jpg:66.59mm, 57.jpg:94.37mm, 58.jpg:122.29mm, 59.jpg:44.4mm, 60.jpg:47.07mm, 61.jpg:43.53mm, 62.jpg:120.78mm, 63.jpg:22.08mm, 64.jpg:52.92mm, 65.jpg:83.27mm, 66.jpg:89.46mm, 67.jpg:73.19mm, 68.jpg:48.95mm, 69.jpg:45.27mm, 70.jpg:215mm

01.cr2-08.cr2:4.3mm, 09.cr2:8.96mm, 10.cr2-11.cr2:4.3mm, 12.cr2:18.18mm, 13.cr2-14.cr2:4.3mm, 15.cr2:22.94mm, 16.cr2-17.cr2:4.3mm, 18.cr2:49.89mm, 19.cr2:31.28mm, 20.cr2:94.37mm, 21.cr2:122.29mm, 22.cr2:47.07mm, 23.cr2:38.74mm

5:20 pm - Wednesday, October 10, 2012

#3 moeskoetie

i see that the quality of the picure’s from the canon is better than the panasonic fz200 compair the picture from the bookshelf with iso 400.
also the picture from the girl in the zoo with focal lenght 215mm is very impressing. imho

7:48 pm - Wednesday, October 10, 2012

#4 Joe Prete

Mark,
As usual, you did a nice job on this review. I often wonder why some people expect a reviewer to have several different styles.
I guess they never did a review for themselves. Obviously, there are other reviewers with their own point of view. My own review would be different, but that doesn’t mean that one is better than the other! Take what you can from each of them.

As for the camera, yes there are many new features, and the Digic 5 alone is enough to make this camera stand out.

Personally, I would never buy a camera with such a slow lens, but these are toys compared to “work cameras”.

That doesn’t stop me from “playing around” to see what kind of results I can get. Aside from the aperture, if thats a sticker that says “100X” on the grip side, that would annoy me enough not to buy it. That seems amateurish for a $500.00 camera, I would expect that from a camera that comes in a plastic “Blister Pack” If it is a sticker, for those that buy it don’t try to remove it because the glue and the impression will always be there.

I wouldn’t expect much from this camera on the long end, I think the “sweet spot” was around 720MM like on the HS30EXR, as soon as you try to print a photo at 1000MM you will see what I mean, but it’s Power Zoom, Video Mode, Frame Follow Assist, Raw, JPEG or Both Modes, Easy Comfortable Grip and the Digic 5
Processor are all good reasons to give this camera a good look.

8:48 pm - Wednesday, October 10, 2012

#5 Laurie Morrison

Thanks Jan for going to the trouble of posting the focal lengths on the sample photos.

“Macro performance is a stand-out highlight, allowing you to focus as close as 0cms away from the subject”
OK, so where are the sample macro photos?
Is the shot of a CF card supposed to show how good it is? Why do reviewers ignore the macro feature when it is a function of nearly all cameras now?
The EVF is the same as the one on my old SX10- hurts your eye after a while. Hopefully on the next update (SX60?) Canon might try to squeeze a bit more quality into the camera like Fuji does and then they will have a real winner.

The SX superzooms have always had a flash hotshoe.

9:14 pm - Wednesday, October 10, 2012

#6 Roy Ang

Not a good trade off considering the lure of shooting at max reach of 1200mm is so tempting.

SX40HS:
24mm @ f/2.7
840mm @ f/5.6

SX50HS:
24mm @ f/3.4
1200mm @ f/6.3

No free lunch. Upping the ISO range with the same processor…must means more cleanup in post. I don’t shoot because I like to push a mouse around. I shoot because I like to push the shutter button.
I’m used to working around the focusing issues by pre-focusing and smart anticipation when using HQ mode. However…the best thing Canon could have done is improved it’s initial focus lock speed. The extra scene modes is just window dressing.

12:55 am - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#7 Albin

Thanks for the most thorough review I’ve seen so far.  I’m looking to upgrade from my SX10 and have to say I’m torn between this and the FZ200 - wanting a thorough review of that one, which seems quite a revolution in a different direction.  I suspect Canon has much the superior in camera jpeg. I would have liked a comment about the famously slippery and dodgy “control wheel” of the SXx predecessors and whether it’s been worked on.

1:33 am - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#8 Joe Prete

Albin,
I feel like I have to tell you this before you buy. I own several Powershots, the latest and best is clearly the G1 X, that I got for the optical eye level viewfinder (because they are fading very fast) and the aps-c sensor gives me SLR quality and at 1.5”. It does the job for me. (I shoot with Full Frame Nikons)

I also own the Panasonic FZ100 and the FZ200. The constant 2.8 aperture, o.i.s. Leica Lens, smooth power zoom and the overall build quality makes the FZ200 very hard to beat. Remember the Panasonic video of the continuos shots of the train, well these Cameras perform flawlessly shot after shot and the feel is the real precision build quality.

While I have not used this Canon, I can tell you that the FZ200 will be very hard to beat. Anything over 600MM won’t really be of much use to you anyhow, but a constant 2.8 lens will do you a lot of good, Also, you will not hear the zoom at all.  That is very hard to beat. Choose very carefully my friend. ... Joe Prete

3:20 am - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#9 F.J.Stols

The cr2 files SX50HS i can’t open them with my Lightroom 4.2; on the other hand the cr2-files from a Canon s100 (my brother’s): o.k. So i wonder what my problem could be?

8:23 am - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#10 paolo

Hi,
I have a sx30… wonderful lens….but hugly ISO performace.
sx50 will be my next camera !
Only an errata corrige…the sx30 and sx40 HAVE the hot shoe for external flash….it is only covered by a plastic cup ( and removable)

11:07 am - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#11 Nikonian

Now im realy getting confused, my Nikon P510 scored 5 points at features, and this SX50 scores 4,5

but it DOES have many more features that i realy would like to have on my P510. (P520 future :) )

I dont get it..  is the reviewer strongly biased??
I like this SX50 alot, because of the features :)

it going to be a tough decision

11:59 am - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#12 Nikonian

it didnt post :(

12:07 pm - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#13 Ian knight

Looking at the noise on both RAW and JPEG there appears to be very little difference. It is hard to believe such a good performance up to 1600 iso for a 1/2.33 sensor. Surely this should be a benchmark .

2:06 pm - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#14 Ian knight

I find it very hard to believe that the iso examples on both RAW and JPEG are so close. And surely a small sensor like that cannot deliver the goods up to 1600 iso ?.

One hell of a sensor . Perhaps Canon have cracked it!.

2:16 pm - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#15 ronaldo

acho que as samples ficaram prejudicadas pelo fato de estar chovendo no dia do review! mas o que me chamou a atenção mesmo foi o desempenho em alto iso

4:59 pm - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#16 Warren Lyons

Is it me, or has the image quality of the SX50 slipped relative to the previous model? (SX40)  Two years ago, when first getting serious about photography, I bought the SX30.  The zoom and features were quite nice, but as my skills and experience progessed, became more aware of its shortcomings, particularly, the purple fringing and softness at the long end.  A year later, I couldn’t resist the temptation to get the SX40, and while the zoom remained the same, the overall image quality was noticeably better.  With the SX50, the IQ seems to have slipped back to the level of the SX30.  If you happen to be a peeping tom, private investigator, or work for homeland security, that drop in IQ is a small price to pay for that extra reach.  If, on the other hand, you are interested in getting eye-catching photos, save your money and pick up a leftover SX40 or wait for the SX60 to come out.  If history repeats itself, that model will clean up the SX50’s act, as the SX40 did for the SX30.

6:05 pm - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#17 zebarnabe

ISO performance is 1 stop above FZ200, though in the long end f/2.8 vs f/6.3 means that Panny has quite an advantage…. however, at 600mm what is the maximum aperture you can use on SX50?

This ISO performance is what happens when you use the developments done in 16MP sensors on a 12MP sensor…

With such a long range I feel that a sharpness evaluation over several focal lengths is missing.

8:51 pm - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#18 Joe Prete

TO Laurie Morrison,
Laurie you shouldn’t be hurting your eyes just to take some pictures and I’m wondering, why does it has to be a Canon for you? If you want some help finding a camera to suite your needs, just ask.

Tell me your price range and what your camera has to have, what you’d like it to have, and what you can do without. If macro is your thing, you should have a camera that works for you.

Many of the companies are producing high quality Bridge Cameras and SuperZooms It only becomes a difficult search when you specify a brand. I wouldn’t recommend a camera that I wouldn’t buy for myself.

And yes, I do have way, too many cameras. Just because a kid takes a Photography class, it doesn’t mean that he has a camera. I tend to lend some out when they are needed. Hopefully, they are inspired enough to get their own camera. Are you open to looking at other brands? ... Joe Prete

9:26 pm - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#19 Joe Prete

TO Warren Lyons,
Warren, I can’t argue with your post. It seems like you are correct. Are you going to wait another year? (more like two) If the Canon is not suiting your needs, it may be that a Bridge Camera/ SuperZoom is not cutting it for you.

Are you getting a compact camera because you don’t want the size and weight of a DSLR? Maybe you’ve been there before?

Maybe you should look at the Fujifilm XS-1 It costs a little more, but it may have everything that you need 24-624mm, f2.8-5.6, JPEG+RAW, 2/3” CMOS, Macro Mode and if you haven’t used EXR technology before you may be surprised.

If you decide to look, try HSN.COM Yes it’s the Home Shopping Network, but they have a full FUJI STORE, Payment plans, very competitive pricing and a Satisfaction or your money back policy.

Unless you want to wait it out, or move to an entry DSLR, I think you should check other brands. I shoot Full Frame Nikon, but I have many other brands of high quality cameras. There is no way I could stay Nikon and get the High Quality cameras in the many brackets that I have.
That includes Powershots, but the best is clearly my G1 X. Write back and let me know your ideas, I’ve seen you around, I’m wondering how long you’ve been looking!... Joe Prete

9:59 pm - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#20 Joe Prete

TO Zebarnabe,
The SX50HS set at 600mm would be an aperture of F6.5
It’s maximum aperture is F3.4 (wide) to F6.5 (tele)
That was why I said, I would never buy a camera with such a slow lens. ( I would never buy an interchangeable lens that slow either)

The Panasonic FZ200 has a CONSTANT 2.8 aperture. That means even at it’s furthest zoom, you could set aperture priority at F2.8 and that’s what you will get.
... Joe Prete

10:10 pm - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#21 Joe Prete

To F.J. Stols,
It often takes time for the software to catch up to the camera. I’m sure something will be along soon.
... Joe Prete

10:15 pm - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#22 zebarnabe

Using Jan Toude handy information, looking at 62.jpg: 120.78mm (669mm eq.) was taken at f/5.6 (and ISO 1600, 1/200s)... so, it is not that bad, what is bad is that the gorilla’s fur is completely blurred, ISO performance is good, but can’t make miracles, and f/5.6 it is still far from f/2.8 at 600mm of FZ200 ...

The lizard shot (58.jpg - 685mm eq.) keeps f/5.6, obviously the camera makes a good job at high ISO for such a small sensor, but those lens are quite slow forcing it to shoot at high ISO, even though you can get some background blurred it is filled with some noise and the fine detail gets blurred.

Not a bad result I would say, but imagine what if FZ200 had the SX50 HS sensor… that would be an heck of a bridge camera :]

11:49 pm - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#23 Joe Prete

Regarding the previously mentioned software issue, apparently it affects two new models, the SX50 and the G15, (they were both released together) so it should be worked out soon, but time will tell. Those affected may want to wait and see. The SX50 may feel a little heavy partly due to the 15 elements in the lens, but that lens is not claimed to be the new Highly Refractive Glass that is incorporated into the G15, that has a much faster lens.

Like I mentioned in a previous post, the SX50 has the new “Seek and Lock” function that keeps your subject in a focus frame until the image is taken. The Movie Mode is said to be outstanding but both of these cameras have several accessories available, that does seem a little counterproductive since we buy these cameras to lighten the load and have less to carry. A bit confusing. ... Joe Prete

11:51 pm - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#24 Joe Prete

Zebarnabe,
You should know that almost all of these type of cameras, while in an Auto Mode, move up the ISO before any other settings are made. They give you a work-a-round, by way of Manual Mode and a couple of “Custom Programmed” settings.

Although most people think these are easy “Point and Shoot” cameras, they can be very technical with many different menu options. Judging by the questions you are asking, it may be a good idea to make sure that you buy a camera with at least two “Custom Program” settings and a Manual Mode. Also, if it doesn’t come with a FULL manual, you should have one printed for you.
... Joe Prete

5:33 am - Friday, October 12, 2012

#25 Joe Prete

Also Note, the sensor sizes Canon SX50HS: 1/2.3                     .
.                              Panasonic FZ200: 1/2.3                     .

TO Nikonian: The scores you commented on, they seem to be right on the money to me. The P510 Zoom range is 24-1000mm (EQIV)
Nikon themselves rate it 4.8 But we’re just splitting hairs now.

...Joe Prete

5:50 am - Friday, October 12, 2012

#26 Albert Wijnhold

Thanks for the reviews and in this case the Canon PowerShot SX50 HS, but as I look at the pictures for noise comparising jpeg and raw under the Noise heading I do not see much difference between them, are you sure the raw pictures are raw indeed?

5:53 am - Friday, October 12, 2012

#27 zebarnabe

“PASM” modes are the way to go in these cameras.

Usually the camera picks the sharpest aperture (around f/4.0~5.6 on a compact), lowest ISO (80~100), slowest shutter speed (depends on the focal length and how reliable the image stabilization is), if light is not enough, usually the camera opens the aperture, once aperture reaches the maximum, the ISO starts raising, if it reaches the limit the camera will lower the shutter speed usually giving a warning icon on the screen. This is how P mode works for most cameras/lens. In auto modes, the camera uses P mode unless it detects something that points a better behaviour (like a close focus distance -> macro, high dynamic range scene -> backlight, fill flash, horizontal detail/tone scene -> landscape, etc).

In A mode Aperture is defined to a set value (for depth of field control).

In S mode (or T mode) Shutter speed/Exposure Time is set to a given value (to control motion blur, either smoothing it, or freezing action)

In M mode everything is set by the user, there is usually a indication pointing how well exposed the photo will be.

Usually ISO can be limited to a given maximum, or set to a given value.

Usually it is possible to compensate the auto exposure, increasing or decreasing it (in case of the subject being on shadow or bright light).

I have a (quite old) Micro Four Thirds camera from Panasonic and a (amazingly old) 35mm SLR from Nikon… people often ask me what gear to buy, so I check these type of websites to keep myself up to date.

7:12 am - Friday, October 12, 2012

#28 F.J.Stols

to Joe Prete
but is there a difference between a cr2 (to convert to jpg) from either one camera or an other?

8:12 am - Friday, October 12, 2012

#29 Ian knight

Can anyone explain how the HS sensor technology works?...does it compare to the Fujifilm EXR sensor?

8:34 am - Friday, October 12, 2012

#30 H. MONETTI

Zebarnabe,
That was pretty funny, I’ll share it with the crew today.
What, did you read a book or something? T mode… Good one!

12:40 pm - Friday, October 12, 2012

#31 Bruno

I own the great Canon SX40 HS. I am not entirely convinced I should buy this one despite some improvements. I mean shooting at full telephoto is surely tempting but then ISO goes up high and there comes noise and all the problems with it. Maybe I should wait.

12:50 pm - Friday, October 12, 2012

#32 Warren Lyons

Thanks for your input, Joe.  I favor bridge cameras for the same reason I carry a Leatherman or Swiss Army knife on my belt, rather than lug around a bag of tools.  I do happen to have several bags of tools and I also have 3 micro 4/3 camera bodies, (Panasonic G1 and GF2, and Olympus EPL1, with their respective kit lenses, as well as an Oly 40-150 and Pany 100-300 zoom lenses).  I carry a Kodak Z950 when I MIGHT take pictures, the SX40 when I WIlL take pictures of my day’s activities.  I save the compact system cameras for when taking pictures IS the day’s activity.  I did consider the Fuji XS-1.  At first, it seemed like a good idea, appealing to bridge camera buyers willing to give up some zoom, pay a premium price, and put up with the extra weight in return for better IQ, while at the same time, luring would be entry DSLR buyers willing to give up some IQ in return for convenience and cost savings of not having a bunch of lenses.  As it turns out, it sold poorly, partly due to its high price, as well as some software, sensor, and quality control issues.  Bridge camera buyers continue to prefer cheaper, lighter, and zoomier models while DSLR buyers still buy DSLRs.  In the end, it is kind of like a mid-calf length skirt; neither short and sexy or floor-length and elegant.

3:55 pm - Friday, October 12, 2012

#33 zebarnabe

H. MONETTI,

I’m glad you found it funny, I forgot to say that P mode allows for changes in shutter speed and aperture while keeping the same exposure.

I didn’t read it from a book, any hobbyist/amateur knows what PASM modes are, many Canon cameras have T or Tv mode on the mode dial instead of S, the meaning is the same, the letter is different. Some cameras don’t have a mode dial (my old SLR has an aperture dial and a shutter speed dial), but they often have these settings in one way or another.

I was hoping that some ppl could understand what those modes do and what are they for, auto mode is fine if you just want a point and shoot, but if you want to get creative and understand what you’re doing, you’ll have to know what aperture, shutter speed and ISO do and how to control them…

You have a crew… how nice…

4:32 pm - Friday, October 12, 2012

#34 Joe Prete

TO Bruno,
Honestly, to upgrade from the SX40 to the SX50 you will not see much of a difference. They are $50.00 apart at the Canon store, and the focal length went from 840mm-1200mm But if you move in a little closer, you will have a better Photograph anyhow. In my opinion, stay where you are for now, it won’t be worth the upgrade. The used value would be about a $25.00 difference.

I’m not surprised, they’ve spread themselves thin covering Video and the G series, and the problems with the Pro DSLR’s this was really just a lens swap. Save your money.
I’ll get to the other questions through the day, okay guys.
... Joe Prete

5:00 pm - Friday, October 12, 2012

#35 Joe Prete

TO Ian Knight,
The HS in SX50HS stands for High Speed. It is a backlit CMOS sensor that is a compromise, built for Still and Movie Pictures.
It is a very good, High Quality sensor that Canon builds themselves. In the past, this was a big advantage, but now, it doesn’t make much difference, due to the consistency in parts manufacture. These sensors are often used in pairs in their high end PRO Quality DSLR’s.

The EXR is Fujifilm’s own patented Sensor. It is a BSI (BACKSIDE ILLUMINATED) Sensor that arranges the pixels in pairs, with every second one at a 45 degree offset in a way that nothing blocks light from reaching the sensor. I won’t bore you by explaining PHASE DETECTION but the arrangement of the pixels gives the HIGH DYNAMIC RANGE and maximizes the light array that passes through to the sensor.

The HDR increase is over 1500% in the CMOS Sensor, In short, you get the full array of light and dark colors (the HIGHEST OF HIGHS and the LOWEST OF LOWS in light and in colors, delivering HDR that is outstanding.

It took a while to get there, but by the time the HS20EXR was released, all the components were functioning correctly. I did a review at that time and had to give their camera back, but I had already ordered one from B&H. Once I learned how it worked, I had to have one. Since then, they changed the lens sensor assembly under warranty due to a few dead pixels in the center area and upgraded the Firmware. Their repair facility in Edison N.J. does fine work, I am known to be very particular, especially with optical glass and sensors.

There were many returns in the beginning, almost all due to the lack of understanding of how EXR MODE works. Since I’ve become somewhat of a “know it all” with EXR, I explained it many times so I won’t repeat it here (I’m also known as Photojoe55)

So in short, learn how to use their EXR cameras and you too will see what all the fuss is about. By the way, the HS20EXR & HS30EXR shoot RAW+JPEG. The HS25EXR shoots only JPEGS

Getting back to Canon, I bought the G1 X due to the aps-c sensor (1.5”) But the Superzoom models actually need the smaller sensor to create such a Superzoom, but the SX50HS (HIGH SPEED) is very close in size to an entry DSLR with a kit lens, and the price is about the same. It feels like an SLR, it looks like an SLR, even costs as much as an SLR, But it’s not an SLR.

An FYI: Fujifilm also makes Backlit screens (A FILM SHEET) that goes behind the components in large screen TV’s There is a constant demand for these panels from different brand HDTV’s I hope that helps you to understand, and please realize that I have nothing against CANON, it’s just that there wasn’t much of an upgrade from the SX40 to the SX50. I do like their “Follow Focus Frame” that covers the subject until the shot is taken and their build quality is solid, their Tech support is good. ... Joe Prete

6:51 pm - Friday, October 12, 2012

#36 Joe Prete

Warren,
I thought you had plenty of cameras and experience. We may have talked over at dp, but you’ve got a good name and I’ll remember it. If you need any help, it doesn’t hurt to ask, and if I can’t help you I’m sure I can direct you to someone who can.

It’s funny how we buy these cameras because they seem like the best they could ever be, and then years (or Months) later, they get topped by something better. It’s like getting “crowned” in the game “checkers”. Well Good Luck Warren, I’m sure we’ll talk again. ... Joe Prete

P.S.: There is a real time Forum in this site but it doesn’t seem to get much traffic. Maybe it’s too well hidden. For those who are interested, mouse over “COMMUNITY” to find it. ... Joe Prete

8:07 pm - Friday, October 12, 2012

#37 Joe Prete

TO Ian Knight,
Regarding the quality of the photos, most likely they were taken in JPEG+RAW Mode for consistency. Depending on your screen size, you may not see any difference unless you go very large. On the 27” IMAC, the noise level is extremely minimal. However, the RAW images are completely free of any noise distortion at all.

I would say, that the camera does produce excellent JPEGS. I know with the G1 X the JPEGS are actually good enough to use as is. If you check around, you will see that other people share the same opinion. That also helped me to decide on the G1 X mid year, instead of waiting for CES where the G1 X was announced.

I don’t know your screen size, or what size prints you usually make. Judging on the camera you’re looking at, I doubt that you plan to go extremely large. It’s only a Bridge camera. What kind of quality are you expecting from a $500.00 camera? I buy a few filters for $500.00 This IS Photography and we are talking about a plastic camera Right? What size prints did you make this week?

If you want some examples, look for Marco Nero’s JPEGS taken with the G1 X. I mention this reference because the SX50HS and the G1 X share the same DIGIC 5 Image Processor. I wouldn’t be surprised if the SX50 does produce excellent JPEGS. Take a look at my reference and judge for yourself. I met Marco through dp but I’m sure his pictures won’t be hard to find. ... Joe Prete

10:21 pm - Friday, October 12, 2012

#38 Joe Prete

FRIENDS,
For those interested, here’s the link to Marco Nero’s site that I mentioned in my last post http://www.pbase.com/nero_design  He does have a few sites, but this one shows what can be done with the Canon DIGIC 5 Processor and don’t think it’s just the G1 X He has plenty of JPEGS taken with the Canon S95/S100 I hope this inspires you to see what can be accomplished with JPEGS alone. Shots can also be seen at our friends at dpreview.com Maybe you can save yourself many hours of extra work!

I try to not need any “Post Production” work at all. Plan your shot, choose your settings and shoot as if it’s your last frame of film, then learn from your results. Maybe you will find that everything doesn’t need to be “Saved” with Photoshop. ... Joe Prete

2:03 am - Saturday, October 13, 2012

#39 moeskoetie

canon sx50hs or panasonic fz200?
eitch one is the best in control of noise and for long zoom?

11:40 am - Saturday, October 13, 2012

#40 m7svk

I can’t decide too, just sold 600d, was spending too much money on lenses, and know I am after sx50 or fz200, but which one to choose???

3:51 pm - Saturday, October 13, 2012

#41 Joe Prete

TO Moeskoetie and m7svk,
I want you to know that I’m a Freelance Reviewer and Writer for Cameras and Photographic Gear. I Write at several different sites.
and I’m not paid by them or any camera company.

To pick from these two cameras for me it’s very easy. The F2.8 Panasonic DMC-FZ200 Wins hands down.

The Canon SX50HS has a longer zoom, but the extra zoom length is just a sales decision. It was to surpass Nikon’s longest zoom. How much useable zoom is there? About 600MM

What is not spoken of by Nikon or Canon is that you can buy an accessory Zoom Lens for the Panasonic to reach the same focal lengths. B/t/w, You can buy the Panasonic close-up Lens attachment if you need it also.

So to be perfectly clear. I pick the PANASONIC DMC-FZ200
... Joe Prete

5:49 pm - Saturday, October 13, 2012

#42 moeskoetie

to Joe Prete.
thank you very much for the answer you give to our “problem”
but what to say about this site: http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon-PowerShot-SX50-HS-vs-Panasonic-Lumix-DMC-FZ200  ??

6:01 pm - Saturday, October 13, 2012

#43 Joe Prete

Obviously I can’t speak for them, but my Pop Up Blocker was busy knocking down ads, and others are right on their pages.

You asked me, and I gave you my opinion. Notice, I first said that I’m an Independent and not paid by any of the parties involved.

I do like their side by side comparison photos very much, but I do not share their opinion. I write on sites in the US and the UK

I can gather up URL’s with other peoples views if I wanted to push the decision off to someone else, but that’s not what I do.

Ultimately the decision is yours, so base it on the information you’ve gathered and see what fits your needs and your budget.
... Joe Prete

8:08 pm - Saturday, October 13, 2012

#44 Paul Edwards

this is really all you need to know about the Canon sx50hs

http://www.dpreview.com/products/canon/compacts/canon_sx50hs/user-reviews

9:23 pm - Saturday, October 13, 2012

#45 Joe Prete

TO Paul Edwards,
That’s very true, but to read. These question wouldn’t get past the moderators (assuming they are members), but if they got through, they’d get chewed up at dp. That’s why I was trying to help them over here. I’m sure you know the percentage that get back to us after the purchase even though we ask them to.

Ironic, but we do, however help people that were just reading, because they had the same camera in mind. The difference? People like us use their own name. Maybe I’ll see you around the web. Cheers,
... Joe Prete

11:03 pm - Saturday, October 13, 2012

#46 TITAN23

TO JOE PRETE: JOE,I’M GOING TO BUY EITHER A PANASONIC FZ150 OR AN FZ200—ANY ADVICE OR PREFERENCE WILL BE APPRECIATED!

2:29 am - Sunday, October 14, 2012

#47 Joe Prete

You do know that this is the Canon SX50 HS Review, don’t you?

The DMC FZ150 came out last August. Why would you want to purchase a new camera that’s 14 months old before you even get it. You will start off with an old battery, it may be a Demo, refurbished or a returned camera. That’s not a good idea at all.
Also I never did any reviews on the FZ150, they were a short run

The DMC FZ200 is still the Best in it’s class, but buy or have the FULL manual printed, it’s going to be hard to learn this camera from a disc. It is an electronic marvel and once learned you will have endless possibilities, so unless you want the camera to do all the thinking for you, learn as much of the menu options that you can. Also print with lower case here, the Moderator may remove it. Hopefully you will get the reply first.  Good Luck.
. ... Joe Prete

5:20 am - Sunday, October 14, 2012

#48 Arghya Choudhury

I am a serious photographer,I owned 40D &50D; but these are too heavy & bulky to carry all time….so I bought SX50HS all purpose camera & it is really fabulous in all respect….I am really satisfied…ac

7:14 am - Sunday, October 14, 2012

#49 Joe Prete

Arghya,
Thanks, you got us back on track!! What did you think of the sample images JPEG and RAW, did you take a look? ,,, Joe

8:31 am - Sunday, October 14, 2012

#50 Fabio

I think that was Peter Parker who said “with great zoom power comes great possibilities” .
    Well , that may not be true but I believe in the quote.  Small sensors allow camera makers to create some amazing lenses and they are necessary to fill the sensor with the image we want because cropping must be kept to a minimum.
    Nature shots, beach , architectural details and even creating bokeh in portraits are easier with long zoom, but I’m concerned about the chromatic aberrations and the high ISO that seems to be necessary with this Canon, even though their sensors and processors are excellent it seems that they are pushing the limits of lenses in their small sensors cameras , I had recently a SX260 and sold it because of chromatic aberrations, other 20x zoom compacts are much better in that area.
    The FZ200 with the constant 2.8 lens is really tempting but it costs US$599,00 at B&H and if you want to use the tele converter to get to about 1000mm it will cost another $200,00.
    I had the SX40 and sold it because of the tiny EVF, the small and low resolution LCD and focus issues, as far as I could find in this and other reviews not much was done to solve these problems.
    I’ve been using a Nikon P510 for about 2 weeks now and I’m very impressed by the quality of photos handheld in low light and long zoom, very sharp and excellent stabilization ,  a great improvement from the P500, at least in the far end of the zoom range it is better than the also very good Sony HX200, but this one is faster , has better movies and some excellent shooting modes like tone mapped HDR.
      I will not buy this Canon yet, but I ‘m very interested in testing it, for many people 1200 mm is useless , but not for me.

7:01 pm - Sunday, October 14, 2012

#51 Joe Prete

Fabio,
Where have you been?  We had some good Camera conversation going. There’s been like 20 new releases since we spoke! Did you look at the sample images from the SX50 HS? RAW and JPEG. Any comments?

b/t/w the Panny was worth the $599 easy! I don’t need the tele but their flash is tempting. Keep in touch Fabio.
. ... Joe

8:32 pm - Sunday, October 14, 2012

#52 Laurie Morrison

Hi Joe Prete, Thanks for replying to my post. For the record, I still have my old Canon SX10 and I am perfectly happy with the IQ from the 10mp CCd sensor. I did buy an SX40 as an upgrade but found it had lousy IQ at the long end( lower RH side of image was just a mess) and 1 in 5 images were out of focus. I took it back to the store (moral of the story-don’t sell your old camera before you buy the new model thinking it will be better). I ended up swapping it for a Nikon D5100 +$100.
But I do think Canon made a mistake using the old EVF- I would pay a little bit more for a better quality finder.
Don’t get me wrong, I just love the idea of the bridge camera, being able to do it all in one and I think there is a big future for bridge cameras if manufacturers focus a bit more on quality, like Fuji are tying to do with their XS-1. The FZ200 also seems to be well made but it’s just not my style.
I still don’t see why reviewers cannot include a sample photo shot in Macro, or slow motion movie for that matter, if a camera has those features then why not review them?
Thinking outside the square is what these camera’s are all about.

9:41 pm - Sunday, October 14, 2012

#53 Fabio

Hi Joe
I’ve been busy and most of your posts were about the Fuji HS30, a camera I don’t know very well. 
  I’m concerned about the high ISOs of the photos, Canon sensors and processors are very good dealing with high ISO but they can’t do miracles, even on a dark day ISO 1600 is too much, there’s also more than usual chromatic aberrations, to the point of ruining photos like jpeg #30 , poles of another photo and bars are purple, it’s hard to tell their original color, and it seems that it’s worst in low ISO pictures.
  My aproach is to have different compact cameras as I would have different lenses, so I always carry a Fuji X10 because it’s better than a entry level DSLR with kit lens, a top travel camera like the Sony HX30v and a bridge for the long zoom, now I’m using the Nikon P510, very good results at 1000mm, that’s why I’m interested in this camera , with 1200mm, if stabilization is good enough to allow me to get handheld photos at reasonable speeds , then I want it.  I get easily very good photos at 900mm and 1/50 with the Nikon.
    Considering the Panasonic a 25-600 2.8 lens, it’s really a bargain, but that’s for people like us that pays a lot of money for lens, let’s not forget too the Fuji XS1, it’s about the same price with bigger sensor and EXR that we like so much.

9:58 pm - Sunday, October 14, 2012

#54 Joe Prete

Fabio,
I kinda thought you would have had some useful comments on this one. I was not impressed by these photos at all, and it wasn’t Mark’s fault either. I think the problem is the range of the lens, they just tried to do too much with it. In trying to do everything, they wind up doing a mediocre job overall, but it doesn’t excel at anything. I’m very surprised at Canon. They should have left the line-up alone. It was fine the way it was before.

I wonder how many exposures it was tested for, the lens is sooo slow! I predict a lot of deleted pictures with this one. Sorry Canon, but do you think the lens is long enough yet? Also, I think they caused their own competition by cutting into their entry “Rebel Kit” sales. People who only use the one kit lens.

So Fabio, you got the X10, I was tempted to get one, but I got the G1 X because of the APS-C size sensor and the Optical Viewfinder. It’s also a camera, like the X10 that you can slow down a bit and see what you’ve been missing.

The Optical Viewfinders are fading fast, as the “Point & Shoot” crowd are moving in. Everyone’s got two arms extended as they look at the LCD. Whatever happened to steadying the camera against you forehead and Composing the shot in privacy while you concentrate on what you’re doing. I hope to hear from you
soon, Good Luck with your X 10,
. ... Joe Prete

12:10 am - Monday, October 15, 2012

#55 Joe Prete

TO Laurie,
So will you be using the Nikon D5100 now? Did you get a Kit lens? Maybe the 18-55mm or the 18 to 70mm? Things could have been much worse you know. When I got the Fuji HS20EXR, it was almost exactly the size of a D40 with it’s Kit lens.

So tell me, are you going to get a Macro lens for the Nikon? I use the 105mm 2.8 VR1:1 Micro Nikkor (Nikon calls them micro) but there are many other choices of Nikon and much less expensive Third Party lenses. Actually, I have one of each brand if you want me to make some comparisons for you. Even the Nikon PB-6 Bellows, focusing Stage and R1 Close up Flash set.

Maybe I’m pushing Nikon, but that is what I use. So tell me what your intentions are and I’ll try to help you find what you need. I just looked at the Nikon site, the D5100 & 18-55 is listed for $850. It’s a nice little set up. Not much bigger than most Bridge cameras. It’s actually close in size to the SX50 in this review.

You sound like you know what you’re doing in Photography but It can get very expensive if you buy without comparing and knowing what you’re getting in to. It’s best to try, or have someone try the combination for you. It’s too bad there’s not many of those kind of camera stores around anymore, so we
end up buying on line or driving a great distance. Lucky for me Manhattan is close to by.

The DMC FZ200 is very well made and extremely smooth. Both the FZ100 & FZ200 do everything they’re supposed to, and they do it well too. It can’t be considered a compact though, like the SX40/50 they take up the same space as a small DSLR. The XS-1 is even bulkier, but it does the job though. If you read Fabio’s post, he bought the Fujifilm X10 and I bought the Canon G1 X. Both of us were looking for a camera to carry when we’re not carrying bulky gear. Both are compacts, but the SuperZooms are a lot of fun.
Cheers,
. ... Joe Prete

2:05 am - Monday, October 15, 2012

#56 Joe Prete

Laurie,
I will mention to mark your request for macro pictures when the camera has that ability. There was a short movie clip (18 seconds) in this review but it never played right. I guess it wouldn’t matter if it was in slow motion on this one :-)  But I’ll ask him and see what he can do. We did get ISO, Shutter speed & aperture this time but the next request was for focal length. I will send him a memo and hopefully we can get it done. You guys are right, it should be there.    (sorry Laurie-girls too)
... Joe Prete

2:31 am - Monday, October 15, 2012

#57 moeskoetie

i wonder witch camera is good for making picture’s of planes.
the panasonic fz200, or the canon xs50hs, or the nikon p510 or the fuji x-s1?
i have a nikon d5100 with a tamron 18-270vr and the picture’s are not that sharp.(with the lens on 270, the plane is just in the middle of the picture)
i guse with the large zoom of the camera’s i have wrote down here, it would be a better job to do?

4:00 am - Monday, October 15, 2012

#58 Fabio

Hi Moeskoetie
I like airplanes too and one of the reasons to buy my first bridge was to get more zoom than my 70-300 VR could give.
  You are getting around 400 mm and it’s not enough, your lens is known to be soft after 220 mm, my 70 300 was soft after 200 mm, they are cheap lenses (for DSLR ) and we get what we pay for.
    This Canon could be the answer but we still need to test it, from my experience , it’s usual to get much better photos than those shown here once you get the camera and have time to play with it.
    I owned and tested the Canon SX40, Sony HX200 and nikon P510, all good cameras for what you want, the best for airplanes is the P510, very sharp at 1000 mm and even in digital zoom , i don’t consider it the best do it all camera, but for long zoom shots it’s very impressive, as long as you use manual focus and set it to infinite.
  . The Panasonic is a great camera, but if 400 mm is not enough, 600 mm may be too short, of course it all depends how far you are from the airplanes. I have some very nice shots with a Sony HX30v , a compact camera that reachs 500 mm.
    The Fuji has a very good sensor, manual zoom , what is great for airplanes, and the EXR , I like Fuji very much, but maybe max zoom is not enough, it’s important to avoid cropping, that’s where the longer zoom comes handy.
    Bridge cameras are great for airplane phots, they are much more agile and cheaper than DSLRs with a decent tele and give you longer zoom, those photos are taken in good light, perfect conditions for bridge cameras. Good luck !

5:05 am - Monday, October 15, 2012

#59 roadkilt

One of the best things about Canon is the CDHK or Canon Developers Hack Kit. It does amazing things on the SX40 like time lapse, boosting ISO, cranking shutter speeds to insane levels etc, and is a huge bonus to buyers of Canon products. and its Free!

2:42 am - Tuesday, October 16, 2012

#60 tsl

i feel quite disappointed for that cam compared w my Nikpn P510….especially its nignt times for shooting e Moon!!! Although itas longer zoom power, its difficult for focus and poor sharpness outcome. i exactly capture the image of the moon ?! Its ok at day times ! No use at night especially for shooting the moon ......!!!!!

4:09 am - Tuesday, October 16, 2012

#61 Photon

This is an interesting camera, but it does have a few issues worthy of note. 

The first is that although it does very good video, there is no input for an external mic.  So, you’ll get good video with mediocre sound.  May not be a problem for you, but it’s disappointing.  Another disappointment is that the lens barrel is not threaded for filters. This means that if you want to use any external filters, even just a skylight or clear to protect your expensive investment from scratches, you must buy an external adapter to mount them.  doing so also means you must buy a different lens cap. 

Most annoying, though, is a limitation which makes the camera not very usable for long-exposure, low light, night, etc. shots.  Briefly, if you attempt to take any picture with a exposure time of more than 1 second, the camera automatically drops the ISO to 80 in all modes, including manual.  This cannot be overridden.  Canon first imposed this limitation on the SX40 (SX10-SX30 didn’t have it) where the limitation kicked in at >1.3 sec and automatically dropped the ISO to 100.  There were complaints about this, but Canon seemed uninterested and in fact doubled down on the SX50 by making it even more restrictive.  This combined with reducing the widest aperture opening means that if low light is important to you, you might want to look elsewhere.  If it’s not, then it may not be that big a deal. 

BTW, I spoke with Canon tech support about this, and they said it was a “feature”.

2:46 am - Wednesday, October 17, 2012

#62 Amir

Hi, i am a starter as far as photography is concerned. I was out to buy canon 1100d with 18 55 lens. It was then when i came across the canon sx50 hs camera, and now i am totally confused. Which is the camera i should opt for. Any input would be appreciated.

8:06 pm - Wednesday, October 17, 2012

#63 zebarnabe

Amir,

Do you want to dedicate yourself to photography seriously? A camera in DSLR segment is not a bad idea, Canon 1100D in a nice one, but be prepared to spend some money on lens.

Do you want a camera with lots of versatility and controls to take with you everywhere? Then SX50 is not a bad choice, this is bridge segment cameras, quality is inferior to DSLRs, but price is nice for the versatility provided.

Do you want a camera very portable to have with you all the time? A travel zoom camera might be better then, Canon SX240 (or SX260 with GPS) and Lumix TZ30 are some nice ones with lots of manual controls, plenty of zoom and extremely portable, there are other good ones though.

If you don’t need all the zoom, want something with superior quality and control, yet somewhat portable? Premium/Prosumer compacts like Canon S110, Lumix LX7 or Sony RX100 might serve you well, there are other good ones though.

Somewhere between DSLRs and premium compacts you have mirrorless cameras like Nikon 1 system, NEX system and micro four thirds system.

12:46 am - Thursday, October 18, 2012

#64 Joe Prete

FABIO,
Do you have one of my email addresses? There is a camera issue that I wanted to speak to you about. Please let me know.
Thanks,
... Joe Prete

12:58 am - Thursday, October 18, 2012

#65 Fabio

Hi Joe
I don’t have hour email , how can I get it ?

3:24 am - Thursday, October 18, 2012

#66 Joe Prete

Fabio,
You can email me at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) When your email is received I will send you my own email address. Speak to you soon,
... Joe Prete

7:42 am - Thursday, October 18, 2012

#67 Jay P.

I am an amateur photography who started with a Canon 40D several years ago and, for the last couple of years, has been using a Canon 7D.  I’ve got an extensive collection of glass.  However, more and more I find myself needing (or, sometimes wanting) to travel light.  For example, this weekend my family and I are going camping with my son’s Cub Scouts Pack, and would prefer not to have to carry around a lot of lenses.  However, I also need versatility of wide angle (e.g., shooting the scouts doing their skits and landscapes) and long distance (for shooting wildlife).

I recently (but before the sX50 was released) was able to purchase an open box SX40 from Best Buy for only $237, which seemed like a steal.  I haven’t had the chance to try it yet (I’ve only snapped a few test photos) and am still within the return period for another two weeks.

Any suggestions as to whether, given the excellent price I got, I am better off keeping the SX40.  Or, should I return it and go with the SX50 (or something else)?  Do you think the SX50 is worth $200 more than the SX40? 

FWIW, even though the SX40 was an open box, it is in pristine condition.  I haven’t been able to determine how many photos were taken with it before I bought it, but doubt very many.  All the accessories (other than battery) were in the original cellophane.

Thanks in advance for your input.

9:25 pm - Friday, October 19, 2012

#68 Jay

I’d appreciate some input as to whether I should keep an SX40 that I recently purchased at Best Buy or return it and, instead, buy the SX40 or something entirely different.  The SX40 was an open box at Best Buy, but looks to be in pristine condition.  I haven’t been able to determine its shutter count, but all the accessories (other than the battery) were still wrapped in the original cellophane/plastic bags.  As the result of a coupon, I ended up paying on $237.49 before tax, which seems like a steal.

I am amateur photographer who does next no post-production work on my photos other than, perhaps, some cropping work (I just don’t have time).  I do occasionally, though, print my photos as poster-size print (20"x30”) for display at my home and office (I’d also like to try selling some).  I like to shoot landscapes and wildlife, but also have two children and photograph their various activities (e.g., football, baseball, basketball, Cub Scouts, etc.).  I also love macro work (especially plants and bugs).

My first DSLR was a Canon 40D.  After about two years with that, I upgraded to a 7D, which I totally love!  I’ve built up a sizable collection of glass. The thing is that sometimes I want to travel light but want focal length versatility.  This weekend is a perfect example.  We’re going on a camping trip with my son’s Cub Scout pack.  Thus, I need wide angle for landscape and shots of the scouts’ skits, but I also need a zoom for wildlife.  Typically, I would bring my 7D, a flash (580EXII), my Tamron 28-300, my Canon 100mm macro, and maybe my Canon 10-22.  (I also have a Canon 17-55 f/2.8, a Canon 70-200 f/2.8, a Canon 24-105, a Tamron 18-270, the nifty fifty, and some kit lenses.)  However, I would prefer to keep things simple for a two night trip, especially as we probably go hiking one day.

The Best Buy salesman tried to sell me on the Canon SX260HS.  I really liked its size and pocketability.  However, it doesn’t have the focal range of the SX40.  Now, though, I wondering whether I should return the SX40 while I still can and go with the SX50. I’m just don’t know whether the SX50 is truly worth another $200 compared to what I paid for the SX40.  I know some folks really like the Panasonics, but I am a hug Canon fan (I also have an S95 and a G12, the latter of which my wife has commandeered). 

In any event, I appreciate any input you all can offer as to what would make the best general-purpose travel camera for my situation.  Thanks in advance.

9:41 pm - Friday, October 19, 2012

#69 Dev

I was about to buy sony CX-190 camcorder for shooting video for my kids memory.
Sales person told me to go for newly launch canon HX50 HS with 50X zoom.
Please advice?

12:48 pm - Saturday, October 20, 2012

#70 zebarnabe

Compared with sx50, as a video camera, fz200 is probably a better choice

2:50 pm - Saturday, October 20, 2012

#71 Fabio

Weird advice, if your interest is movies, no still camera will give you the versatility of a camcorder, the sensors of still cameras are bigger and may overheat in long time exposures, that’s one of the reasons there’s a time limit in video clips, the handling of the files is also another prolblem.
    The sony camcorder you chose can record your movie file directly an external HD and playback them on a TV directly from the HD, no need to use computers in the process, with the camera and the hard drive you can make a film session in your home and friend’s homes. Even recording a DVD is much easier, everything is ment to make movies and handling them an easy task.
    By the way , if you decide to get a still camera that makes high quality movies, Sony and Panasonic are the best.

3:16 pm - Saturday, October 20, 2012

#72 Rajeev

Is this model Canon -PowerShot SX50 HS supports panoramic shots just like other makes?

6:21 pm - Saturday, October 20, 2012

#73 JoePrete

Strange!

7:47 pm - Sunday, October 21, 2012

#74 Eastsidematt

I have posted a screen shot from Lightroom showing SX50 on left and FZ200 on right—bookshelf jpg’s from this site. Both ISO200:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/30182891@N04/8116905444/

I would love to prefer the Panasonic, but gee the Canon’s picture quality sure looks superior. Why is Canon’s image quality rated 4 and Panasonic’s 4.5?

8:55 pm - Tuesday, October 23, 2012

#75 JoePrete

East Side,
Trying to judge from one image is not too easy. Using 7 or 8 images each in a different scene, grading them, and then taking an average might be a better way. 4 and 4.5 are kind of close,

Take your blood pressure from your right arm, then your left arm, you will have different numbers so you use the average. The same here, you’re splitting hairs. If it makes you feel better, buy the one that you like. You’re the one that needs to be satisfied, right?
... Joe Prete

4:56 am - Wednesday, October 24, 2012

#76 zebarnabe

The image quality rating on the blog is too broad, you have to account for how it behaves in several focal lengths, light conditions and settings.

In a rough way one can say that SX50 HS delivers cleaner images at base ISO, giving it one stop (meaning it needs half the light) advantage over FZ200 when comes to noise levels. Furthermore noise pattern is less intrusive in SX50.

When you consider sharpness, SX50 is also sharper at certain focal lengths, however it is also true that it suffers from more chromatic aberrations (specially at wide angle) than FZ200 for equivalent aperture and shooting conditions. FZ200 probably corrects some of aberrations in JPEG processing.

Thing is: f/2.8 aperture in FZ200 allows for lower ISO thus having reduced noise and noise reduction when shooting, it is also quite resilient to CAs and flare, if that is enough to have an higher rate than SX50 HS, it is subjective, though, what really matters is how you shoot, what the camera lets you do and how much money are you willing to spend.

5:41 am - Wednesday, October 24, 2012

#77 Eastsidematt

Thanks for the reply Joe.

Well, the images I’ve downloaded from PhotographyBlog show a consistent pattern, for all ISO’s, of SX50 being sharper and having less noise, where they are directly comparable and at similar exposures. Remarkably so. I wonder if it is because the Canon processor is over-sharpening and bumping the contrast somehow. It’s doing a whale of a job anyhow.
CA might be a different matter. It is hard to find comparable images that tell us about that.

And my blood pressure is an organic, animal thing that changes minute to minute, while supposedly these images are just from machines in controlled conditions.

Bottom line: the Canon is a bit smaller and lighter, cheaper, has a long, long telephoto (not important for me), but a much slower lens, and it would appear noticeably sharper and cleaner image quality.

You can use the Comparometer tool on ImagingResource (http://www.imaging-resource.com/IMCOMP/COMPS01.HTM) to compare cameras too, and though they don’t have the Canon SX50 yet I think a close examination shows that the Panasonic isn’t that great. I was especially interested in comparing the Panasonic FZ200 with the Canon G15.

I agree the difference between 4 and 4.5 could be negligible. But people are peering at these reviews very carefully (or anyway I am) and the 0.5 should mean something.

The samples on Flikr for the Panasonic are beautiful, and I’m sure in real life it would perform great, and the f2.8 aperture is very appealing. And I am no fan of Canon. But I will probably end up buying the Canon G15 for its even better image quality and portability, since those are my priorities more than long focal length. I want a nice little travel camera to replace my heavy, bulky, but beloved Nikon D300. The lens I’ve been using on my D300 has a maximum focal length of 128mm (35mm equiv), so the Canon G15’s 140mm is even a bonus there, not to mention being f1.8-2.8.

I really appreciate these reviews.

6:33 am - Wednesday, October 24, 2012

#78 JoePrete

You make a good point, the DIGIC 5 processor may very well be the difference you are seeing. I believe it is also in the SX40 HS SO IF THAT’S IT, YOU WILL SEE IT THERE TOO. As far as the G15 goes, most agree that it was a change in name only and really took a step backwards. And you are also right about me. I do consider all the areas and take the average. But since I own the FZ200 (& FZ100) I should tell you that it is very precision. It has the feel and function of a Leica and yes an F2.8 CONSTANT APERTURE scores extra points Most lenses are sharpest a stop or two down, but having the 2.8 will help you deliver pictures when others can’t even though they’re jacking up their ISO to a level of noise that you can hear.

Am I against Canon, NO I just bought the G1 X and I love it! I was close to buying the X10, BUT THE SENSOR IS SMALL and if it weighed any less, I think the scale would read a negative weight!

I OWN MANY CAMERAS the G9, S5IS multiple film cameras (Nikon 35mm) and MAMIYA 645 PRO with it’s full selection of lenses. I also teach Photography at High School Level. My house is a STUDIO, Office and Library I never pick a camera by name, it’s always by it’s quality. AND I believe most brands are capable of high quality.

If you know someone with the camera you want, it’s best to get a good look and feel of it. OTHER THAN THAT, IT’S BY NEED. Does the gear fill the slot that you need to fill When I gauge a camera by all of it’s components, it’s like saying: My blood pressure is good, but my heart has an irregular beat. (it does) but what good is the perfect blood pressure when other parts (in the same area) has other problems.

Henry Ford used to say regarding THE MODEL A “Pick any color you want, just as long as it’s BLACK!”

BUT AS CAMERA REVIEWS GO, look at the ones you trust and take something from each of them. I happen to think fast lenses are good to have so in the sea of SUPER ZOOMS+ BRIDGE CAMERAS fast lenses are VERY important to me Photography comes from the greek, it means “TO DRAW WITH LIGHT”  SO small aperture lenses on SUPER ZOOMS, they don’t make much sense to me.

Also, all lenses perform better, about two stops down so if you’re starting at F4 You won’t even be able to auto focus beyond F8 so you’re not leaving yourself much room for error are you. So knowing that, wouldn’t you say that a fast aperture is important. and a constant aperture, set at aperture priority, you will get 2.8 all the way through// for those that don’t know this, aperture is a fraction of the length of the lens divided by the width of the opening// simply put: a 1.0 lens will open as wide as it’s length! At one time Canon produced a lens with an aperture of ,095 that meant it opened wider than it’s length.

It was of course called the NOCTURNAL LENS as it could see in the dark! Do you guys see what you do when you get me started.

b/t/w you can speak to my friend FABIO who knows quite a bit, a machinist he designs and builds accessories for cameras, photography and many other things too. I am proud to be called his friend!  When he goes out to buy supplies he might come back with 30 or 40 cameras along with the other gear on his list. If he speaks to any of you please respect his time.

Getting back to East Side, Please tell me your needs and I will try to focus you in the right direction, then look at the other reviews and try to average them. Keep in mind, I use equipment that performs for me. You might want to ask BRIAN TOBEY or CHASE JARVIS if they can spare a moment to give you their opinion. One thing, Use your real name, or they might not even answer you.

I use mine because if I make a mistake, I will not Deny it. I have no reason to hide. I hope you at least learned a little bit and when you see what your needs are we can talk again. Hopefully on the one right track for you. Good Luck East Side,
... Joe Prete

11:25 am - Wednesday, October 24, 2012

#79 Jay P.

I’m sorry everyone for my double-post on 10/19/12. After I submitted my first post, it did not appear in the comments so I thought that, as a result of technical problems, it was never received.  Therefore, not realizing the first post was actually received, I submitted the second post.

If anyone has any suggestions as to whether I am better off keeping the SX40 or purchasing something different, I would still appreciate your input.  Thank you in advance.

2:52 pm - Wednesday, October 24, 2012

#80 JoePrete

AMIR,
I see you posted about 6 days ago. I’m sorry that nobody got back to you, but if you need some help, please let me know. The cameras you mentioned are very different, so let me know, I am willing to help you, just let me know what your needs are (or what your interests are)
... Joe Prete

12:46 am - Thursday, October 25, 2012

#81 JoePrete

Jay P.
You are in between a “BRIDGE CAMERA” and a “DSLR”? Please update me so I can help you.
... Joe Prete

12:49 am - Thursday, October 25, 2012

#82 JoePrete

Guys;JAY and JAY P. -SAME PERSON?

...Joe Prete

1:01 am - Thursday, October 25, 2012

#83 Jay

JoePrete,

Yes, Jay and Jay P. are the same person.  I apologize for any confusion.

I already have a Canon 7D (as well as the 40D that I no longer use) so I don’t need a DSLR.  Neither my G12 (which my wife uses) nor my S95 (which I now keep in my car for “emergencies”) has the focal range that I need/want.

I am looking for a non-DSLR camera that I can bring with me when I don’t want to carry around the bulk of my Canon 7D and all the lenses that go with it.  Because I currently use the Tamron 18-270 f/3.5-6.3 VC PZD and the Tamron 28-300 as my general purpose walk-around lenses when I don’t carry anything else, I’m looking for a point & shoot with at least that wide of a range (18-400 or greater would be even better). 

I’m somewhat partial to Canon (as you can tell from my list of existing cameras).  One advantage I though the SX40 or SX50 might have over the Panasonic is that I can use my 470 or 580EXII flashes with the SX40 or SX50 if the built-in flash is not sufficient.  I also would consider buying a smaller flash so my wife can use it with the G12.

If you need any more information, please let me know.  I’ve got another week or two before the return period on the SX40 expires so I need to make a decision fairly soon as to whether to keep it or return it and get something different.

Thanks.

1:39 am - Thursday, October 25, 2012

#84 JoePrete

People, Please be patient there is a problem in getting the posts to show here. I get them at my email. IT WILL HELP IF YOU PUT YOUR NAME IN THE BODY OF THE POST, SO I CAN TELL WHO IS WHO
ie. LIKE THIS:
THANK YOU,
... JOE PRETE
————————-
This I will be able to see. Thank you all for your patience.

2:43 am - Thursday, October 25, 2012

#85 JB Haber

I was dreading carrying my Canon 7D and multiple lenses around New Mexico in the US for a one week holiday, so I had Amazon deliver the SX50 directly to my hotel. I also ordered an extra battery and filter adapter to hold my existing CP filter. Being a Canon user, it was simple to learn and use. However it did take some getting used to the electronic viewfinder and far simpler controls. I’ve reviewed a lot of my photos and am very pleased with the results lots of very clear crisp photos (landscapes, hot air balloons, etc.)

Rather than review many more features, I’d like to point out one thing. The reviewer said “Buttons and controls are well placed (and spaced) on the SX50 HS.” I don’t agree completely. Picking this camera up like you would an SLR will result in the timer settings being changed. You see, when picking up an SLR, you would tend to wrap your fingers around the grip, then let the rest of the camera settle into your palm. If you do that with the SX50 HS, then your palm hits the right side of the toggle switch on the back. There’s simply no room to “grab” the camera after your fingers have gripped the grip. I couldn’t get used to that at all. The solution was to be careful and make sure my thumb would settle on the small thumb grip that’s provided above the toggle switch.

Additionally, the toggle array was just a bit small for me. You really have to press the desired side of the toggle very carefully to make sure you are pressing just the button you want.

The 2nd battery was important to have, as my first battery would die half-way through the day.

Other than these issues, I’m very pleased with the camera. This will be the camera I bring to parties, friends weddings, etc. instead of my SLR.

3:03 am - Thursday, October 25, 2012

#86 JoePrete

TO JAY P.
The advantage that the SX50 HS has over the SX40 HS is that the SX50 shoots RAW and has the longest focal length. (eq.1200mm)

You have a 7D so you know the value of RAW and the little use you will get from 1200mm Both have the same size sensor. Both have Optical Stabilization. I THINK YOU KNOW THE DOWNSIDE OF OPTICAL STABILIZATION IS SLOWER LENSES
SX40 HS 2.7(wide)-to 5.8(tele) SX50 HS 3.4(wide) to 6.5(tele)

The small difference-The Price SX50 $479. SX40 $429
THE SMALLER ONES - G12 $499 G15 $499
The one I bought G1 X 799 (These are Canons prices I paid for the G1 X $659. The G12 TOPS THE G15 I assume you don’t want the ultra slim S100/S110 You make a good point that you have a FLASH, but it will topple the G12/G15 You could use it on the SX50 YOU Probably wouldn’t need it on the G1 X with it’s fast lens. MY ADVICE-Shooting sports, knocking it around- SX50

Remember that they get to that long zoom by using a small sensor, but it does work and the RAW shots are workable. it is big to carry anyhow. 85% the size of an SLR. I SHOOT NIKON D700’S but they don’t have a compact that compares with any one else. I got the 1.5” CMOS IS RAW and Mid size G1 X READ THE 241 PAGE MANUAL. It is a REAL Camera.

until you learn it well, it will slow you down. But the shots will match or beat the 7D’s So write in and tell me if we’re getting any closer. B/T/W for fit, Precision & attention to detail, it’s either Canon or Panasonic and their FZ200, WELL, that’s another story (I have 2 of them)
ADD YOUR NAME IN THE PARAGRAPH, BUT I’ll know you now

If you go with G1 X I can give you some money saving tips.
... Joe Prete

3:28 am - Thursday, October 25, 2012

#87 JoePrete

EastSideMatt,
There has been much mix up, but things seem to be back on track now, I will send Mark a memo to be sure.

If those were your images at FLIKR, and this is proof enough to support your purchase, then please do not create any unneeded questions or answers.

(MARK IS A PROFESSIONAL, he does many reviews and he does his job to the best of his ability, and after careful consideration, we have decided to keep him. The fact that he owns the web site did not influence our decision)

To be clear, the sentence preceding this one and in brackets ( ) is a joke, just a little humor to start the day okay.

Back to the subject, to EastSideMatt if you are satisfied, like you say, go ahead and make your purchase. (the fact that things like FOCUS & lighting) affect me a bit, and I give you advice that I would take if the situation was in my hands, with my money,

Don’t let that effect you. You need not listen to me! You will have to answer for your own choice. I am not offended and at the end of the day, we are all friends again. I hold no grudges to anyone (even Black Box), it’s all good and I take nothing personal. We are all in this together (Life and Photography) I do the best I can with the information I am given. So if some of you are mad at me, it is one sided. I am not mad at any of you. I’m sorry if in the heat of the debate I upset you, any of you!  So good luck to you EastSideMatt, I hope it works out okay for you. Good Luck!
... Joe Prete

**HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU KATY PERRY, YOU’RE 28 TODAY!!!**

*YOUR PARENTS, THEY REALLY HAD “THE MAGIC FORMULA”

12:02 pm - Thursday, October 25, 2012

#88 Jay P.

To JoePrete:

Thank you for your response. 

Although I have the 7D, I rarely shoot in RAW.  Perhaps I should.  I guess I have not done so because I don’t have the time to do any post work.  Even though I have Aperture and an older version of Photoshop (CS3) on my MacBook, I don’t use them.  I have never learned how to use Photoshop, and have only a very basic knowledge of Aperture.  I tend to just shoot my photos and download them into iPhoto.  At most, I will do some cropping, but even that is rare.  I also think one reason why I have not used RAW is because I understand the file size is much larger.

In case I wasn’t clear, I’m looking for a camera to use for a variety of things, including taking photos of my kids’ sports (baseball, football, and basketball), landscapes, wildlife, some macro work (I LOVE taking macro shots of flowers and bugs), and events like my kids’ birthday parties.  I’m not a professional, but sometimes blow up my photos to 20” x 30” prints for hanging in my home and office. 

I bought the SX40 about a week or two before the SX50 was released.  As to pricing, keep in mind that I paid only $237 for the SX40 because it was an open box (though in excellent condition with all the accessories, including the neck strap, in original cellophane) and Best Buy was offering a special on all open box cameras.  Thus, if I were to exchange it for the SX50, I would end up paying an additional $200+.  Do you think the SX50 is worth $200 more than the SX40?

The Best Buy salesman actually had suggested the Canon SX260, which doesn’t have the focal range of either the SX40 or the SX50; however, it is significantly smaller than the SX40/50.  I just don’t know whether the quality of the SX260 is as good as the SX40/50.

Someone has has suggested the Panasonic DMC-FZ47 as an alternative.  How would you rate that compared to the SX40/50, the SX260, and the Panasonic FZ400?

Thanks again, Joe.

Regards,

Jay P.

3:02 pm - Thursday, October 25, 2012

#89 Jozsa

Can I do zoom blur with this camera? Answer will be appreciated.

6:17 pm - Thursday, October 25, 2012

#90 JB Haber

To Jozsa:

No

1:57 am - Friday, October 26, 2012

#91 Jozsa

Thanks, Haber.

6:53 am - Friday, October 26, 2012

#92 Roadkilt

Nice comparison of zoom and IS on SX50 versus SX40. Seems to be significantly better on the 50.

6:08 pm - Friday, October 26, 2012

#93 Roadkilt

Forgot to add the link!

http://youtu.be/vTBPKt-CEik

thats side by side comparison of sx50 versus 40

6:10 pm - Friday, October 26, 2012

#94 JoePrete

JAY P.
Where did you get that price, I gave you the price of each. At the Canon store, the $50.00 difference was the highest one. it took them 3 weeks to do that. look around, the longer you wait, the more the difference will be. Didn’t you read my post???

The only one that I FOUND JPEGS to be good enough was the G1 X LOOK AT Marco Nero’s JPEGS he’s a Master of the Powershot and he doesn’t post process. His G1 X shot’s You really can’t tell. I guarantee everyone can tell your shooting JPEGS (Nothing personal, it happens to almost every one. Look for him on google or at dpreview. I assumed you were for real with a 7D and you don’t need to spend money. Use Picasa & the GIMP they are free, but you can’t tell. Other than tht look at marco’s shots
... Joe Prete

7:26 pm - Friday, October 26, 2012

#95 jaycoguy

Pretty confusing… looking for a good camera to take pictures of my college kids in football and basketball.  Zoom and burst mode are important because I cant always get close to the floor.  Have been looking at the sx50, p510, and hx200.  Any suggestions or comments helpfull.  Thanks

8:17 pm - Friday, October 26, 2012

#96 Steve Jones

Hi Joe,
I’m a Fuji HS10 user and wish to upgrade to a new bridge camera that will give a significant change in image quality and features. I have retired and travel a lot so find a need for both video and images to record our trips. I have young grandchildren and have found that the HS10 has failed on a few occasions to capture some memorable moments. I’m drawn to the SX50 HS over the FZ200 and Fuji X-s1 I guess because a 50x and even 200x zoom whilst traveling will get the shot “in the can” before returning to a digital processing session back home. Given that while traveling the chances of waiting for the right level is not on and that often night/low light shots are inevitable. I find the manual zoom on the HS10 tends to make me use the EVF and I note your observations of the trend nowadays to see people leaning ever backwards with camera at arms length composing shots! With this in mind which camera would you choose for me, at the moment the Canon (this is an SX50 HS review as you not earlier!) and the zoom appeals - after all you don’t have to use the extreme zoom all the time. I am also attracted by the arguments for the advantages gained from DIGIC5 and CHDK. I note however an emphatic vote by you for FZ200 as the best buy. As a mere mortal I’m attracted by the Panasonic having an external microphone feature (having suffered wind noise in the past), the Panasonic’s higher number of scene modes (sunset, through the glass etc.) The Canon manual suggests that it intelligently finds scenes however my Fuji HS10’s “scene recognition mode” was a bit hit and miss and in fact I think returned poorer images than normal auto mode. For the occasional high speed movie mode Panasonic seems to better the 640x480 HD resolution of the Canon by sacrificing a few frames per second. After hours of internet searches for actual user images and videos. I’ve seen a staggeringly clear 200x moon zoom from a Canon some equally good low light videos from both cameras and a wealth of high quality videos from the Panasonic. I’m left of the opinion that Panasonic has the edge on video and the Canon (with less samples on the Internet) having the edge on image quality. I’m unsure which to choose and not sure that having a hands on both cameras in a retail outlet will resolve the choice!
Thanks for all your observations and if the offers you’ve made to others holds good and this is enough info for you to help my choice then I’d be grateful for any further observations.
Steve Jones

11:18 pm - Friday, October 26, 2012

#97 bruce morell

joe p -
I’ve been torn amongst many of the bridge cameras -trying to figure out which one is right for me. You’ve helped me to decide on the fz200. I’ve been making-do with an old Sony F707 (5Mp and 5X optical) which does great pix but has become tempermental in it’s old age. A big problem for me is that the fz200 is not stocked in any local stores - so no hands-on. That’s why your comments do such a service. Thanks again!
bruce

3:21 am - Saturday, October 27, 2012

#98 michelle

Hi Joe,

Just would like some advises from you, I’m planning to buy either Panasonic FZ200 or SX50HS.  If I want to take picture in indoor low light location like concert and also shooting video which one you would recommend. I had read lot of review but still cannot make my decision. Hope to hear from you.

11:14 am - Sunday, October 28, 2012

#99 Paul Edwards

Mr Steve Jones. Sir, earlier on this year I happened to have the fuji HS10 and the canon sx40hs…. I wont bore you with a long story, I couldn’t justifie having both cameras as I’m not rich boy. I knew I would have to get rid of one of them , thinking that id get the then ‘new’ Sx40 and sell the fuji…. well, it didn’t work out that way!  After doing some head to head picture taking with both cameras I sadly came to the conclusion that the Fuji HS10 was BETTER image wise. better color, better natural tone, better detail, better clarity (great clarity) and so the canon had to go I’m afraid.

Midrange camera (and mobile phone cameras)all seem to do excellent on nice sunny days, this includes the SX40 too, even my BlackBerry phone - 5mp - takes great pix on a nice day with blue skies and lots of lovely sunlight.
Yesterday I picked up a magazine ‘Digital camera’ think it was called, which did a head to head photo test with both the new canon sx50 AND the panasonic FZ200 - the Pani came out on top basically, so in the end its all about the 1200mm and how often will you use it???? PE

1:52 pm - Sunday, October 28, 2012

#100 Warren Lyons

Judging from the number of comments on this model, it is obvious how appealing bridge cameras are to PB readers.  A lot of comparisons have been made between the SX50 and the Pany FZ200.  In reality, they are totally different animals.  Comparing them to each other is like comparing an American muscle car to a similarly priced BMW.  The muscle car will have much more power and straight line performance, while the BMW will have better handling, more high end features, and be finished better.  The Canon is the equivalent of the lumpy muscled Dodge Challenger while the Pany is comparable to the BMW.  As to which is better, that all depends on your use.  If you are doing indoor shots, night photography, or action sports, the FZ200 is the better choice.  If your subjects are taken outdoors in bright light, and from a long distance, the Canon is no no-brainer.  IMHO, the same 18-21 year old boy who who take the Dodge Charger over the entry level Beamer would prefer the Canon; the better to see the MILFs in bikinis on the beach.  Based on the comments of PB readers on both models, I think many others, regardless of their photographic interests would do the same.  By the way, Joe Prete, your comments to myself and other PB readers are courteous and helpful.  If you want to reach me, I can also be found on Ugly Hedgehog under the name, Shutterbug Sailer.

2:24 pm - Sunday, October 28, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, compact, review, 1080p, 12 megapixel, hdmi, jpeg, super-zoom, RAW, 10fps, tilting, super zoom, 2.8 inch LCD, Canon, PowerShot, 50x zoom, 50x, 24-1200mm, Canon PowerShot SX50 HS Review, sx50, sx50HS, SX50 HS, 2.8 inch, Canon PowerShot SX50 HS

Tracker Pixel for Entry