Canon PowerShot SX50 HS Review

4.5
October 10, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

354 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#101 Jay P.

To JoePrete,

I purchased the SX40 at Best Buy and paid only $237.  It was an open box so they had already discounted the price.  Plus, the day I bought it, they had a coupon on open box cameras that brought the price down even further.  So, that’s my dilemma:  I have a SX40 that I purchased for $237.  If I want an SX50 (or even the Panasonic FZ200 or the Canon SX260), I can return the SX40 (the return period expires in early November—November 9, I think) and get my $237 back, but then I’m paying I’m paying $449 (Amazon price) for the SX50—a difference of more than $200.  By the way, right now Amazon is offering the SX40 for $349 and the SX50 for $449 so even on Amazon there is a $100 price difference between the two models.

So, with all that background, you can see why I am wondering whether the SX50 is worth $200 more than the SX40.  In other words, am I better off returning the SX40, getting my $237 back, and, instead, spending $449 to purchase the SX50 or $549 (which would make it a $300 difference between the SX40 that I bought) to get the Panny FZ200?

Thanks again for all of your input,

Jay P.

3:58 pm - Sunday, October 28, 2012

#102 gail

Hi….I am off to buy the sx40 or sx50…..which one is better in the long run????  I really just want beautiful pics of my children…..thanks so much!!!!!!!

8:45 pm - Sunday, October 28, 2012

#103 Paul Edwards

Gail:  Theres no reason why you shouldnt use a big bridge camera for family pix - but its a bit like using a mallet to crack an egg. There are plenty of very good point and shoot cameras made by the likes of Panasonic, Canon, Fuji, sony, nikon etc. Some of them go out to 20x magnification and are pretty quick and have HD video and so on. I have a Panasonic TZ9 - cost me £89 GB,  and its great, good burst mode and even a flash burst mode, very compact so it slips into your pocket (No bridge camera will do that!). Save yourself a few hundred quid unless of course you are planning to take pictures of Eagles up in Scotland or something. P

3:38 am - Monday, October 29, 2012

#104 JoePrete

Gail,
There are only two real differences between the SX40 HS and the SX50 HS. The first is the Focal length, the SX50 HS zooms out to 1200mm (equiv.). The second is that the SX50 HS shoots in RAW mode along with JPEG. Raw mode is for people that like to make changes to their images after they’ve taken them. It is “Post Processing. The SX50 Shoots RAW +JPEG The SX40 Shoots in JPEG Mode only. This is probably something you really don’t need, especially if you are unfamiliar with these terms. Also, 1200mm is a bit of overkill for a family camera.

I agree with Paul Edwards, You are buying at least twice as much camera than what you really need, and like he said, all these companies make very good cameras (for about half the money) and shooting in JPEG FINE Mode will give you very good pictures right from the camera. With (Pict-bridge) you really don’t even need a computer, Just the camera and printer. Many printers also just use the SDHC card alone, and you print without the camera.

If you want, just tell me how you will use it (Portraits, Action, Close ups, Group, etc.) and I can recommend a few models I’m in the USA and I don’t know the conversion rate, but we never ran into any large differences. The SX50 HS is about $500.00 US, you can get a Very good quality camera between $250. and $350. US

b/t/w the bare bones prices that you see, means bare bones or grey market cameras too. We do suggest a dealer or store with a good reputation (and all the pieces in the box). Also, reference a Basic camera=“Point & Shoot,  Medium Range=“Bridge Camera”,
Higher Performance=Super Zoom (i.e. SX50). ...  Joe Prete

9:21 am - Monday, October 29, 2012

#105 JoePrete

TO:Michelle,
The DMC FZ200 is the right choice here for sure. The LEICA F2.8 lens is the fastest in it’s class. Set it at F2.8 and “aperture priority” and you will have that bright lens throughout it’s range. The Power Zoom is smooth and silent and so is the Focus. This is
the best camera in it’s range for low light. The continuos shot and movie modes are also excellent. (b/t/w the SX50 is really for outdoor/sports etc. it’s lens is kind of slow in comparison)

Michelle, Pass on the additional warranty and accessories that they will try to sell you, just get a couple of brand name SDHC Cards (two 8GB cards are better than one 16GB. (Also two 16’s are better than one 32) Get high grade cards like class 10 (the number in the circle) The camera comes with a one year warranty   many credit cards double that just by using the card. If you have this (called Warranty Manager) or AMEX (they add 90 Day theft or accident coverage to the one year) So pass on the extended camera warranty and try to buy from a reputable seller. (if a camera fails it will be very early in it’s life, so really pass on the accessories and ext. warranty, just get a good case when you can and use the strap from day one!) I’ll be around if you have any further questions.(To get some ideas, take a look at the Panasonic store). ... Joe Prete

10:15 am - Monday, October 29, 2012

#106 JoePrete

TO Albert Wijnhold,
You really need to blow those photos up to start seeing a difference maybe if you have a large screen 1080P Like 50"class you will see the difference. On photo print paper, you need to go fairly large, 11X14 at least. If you’re ready to buy, look around, there may be samples on the web or at the Manufacturers site.

It is always difficult to see on the average size computer screen. Let me know if you need some help finding examples. I don’t blame you for looking into this before you buy. ... Joe Prete

10:27 am - Monday, October 29, 2012

#107 oomiwan

After competing in unreasonable Mega Pixel race, why are they vying for illogical zoom now?

I think 6MP and 30x will make more sesnes for a tiny sensor, there is no need in keeping up with the joneses

11:07 am - Monday, October 29, 2012

#108 Gail

Hi Joe….

Thanks for replying to my post. I am looking for great family pics either action or still. I am a Canon girl, so looking for recommendations for a Canon. I was looking at the sx40 or sx50 and you stated that was more than I needed. I am really only interested in clear, crisp photos. Please advise…....

thanks

1:02 pm - Monday, October 29, 2012

#109 Paul Edwards

Gail, the problem is that there are 100s and 100s of cameras out there and more are coming out every month, just like the smartphone market there is a veritable arms race going on - the mid range camera market is highly competitive. if someone gave me £500 or $500 and said ‘here you are go get yourself a bridge camera’ I’d have a real problem - there are a bunch of pretty good ones around now id end up with a real headache and have to take to my bed. And a year from now we will probably be here discussing the SX60 and its 1800 or 2000mm lens!!

What we are saying is that there are a whole load of VERY good cameras out there and dont forget the second hand market - I have purchased some great cameras off of amazon in the box complete with all contents like my Fuji HS10 which cost me only around $200 (£195 GBP) as good as new.Taking pictures of children and animals is quite hard actually (I have 3 grandchildren) and you need a very fast camera for both children and pets never keep still you need a quick fast shutter or or you’ll get is the side of their heads - I know! PE

2:24 pm - Monday, October 29, 2012

#110 Paul Edwards

I think someone who takes family pictures might be better off with the Panasonic Fz200 with its good burst rate and constant f2.8 - its certainly high on my list. p

2:33 pm - Monday, October 29, 2012

#111 JoePrete

TO Jay P.
I think you’ve got a good deal on the SX40 just as long as it’s working right. If it is, I think that you should stay with that for now.
I don’t really recommend buying a used camera, but if you change your mind later on, you could always sell the SX40 and have a decent amount to buy something else new, or even recently discontinued. Bringing the SX40 back, and having to add money to it just to start the process over, just doesn’t seem like a good idea.
... Joe Prete

1:13 am - Tuesday, October 30, 2012

#112 JoePrete

TO GAIL   Ref. to Post#108
Gail,
I was going to suggest that you go down the line a bit to the Canon SX260 it Has the 1/2.3 CMOS, the DIGIC 5 Processor, 1080 HD Movie 4 x 25mm-500mm (eqiv.) ZOOM Lens, in other words, it has the same component and horsepower as the SX50 but at about half the range. Probably everything that you will need, but at a lower price. The Canon list price is $299.95, but you will probably find it with a rebate/sale for $250. or so. (actually $249.00 at B&H BHPHOTO.COM) or J&R (JR.COM)

This seems to be a good starting point because the lower priced cameras in the Canon line use CCD Sensors (CMOS is Preferred).

Also, there seems to be too many cooks in the kitchen right now, so I will let them burn themselves out, and you can find me around or just ask for an email address and I will get back to you
B/t/w FABIO is the best one to speak to if you can’t find me.
I hope this helps you, it is a very nice camera for the money.

Look through my posts to find information like, double your 1 yr warranty, and why to pass on the accessories & store warranty. All you will need are a couple of good memory cards (SDHC)
Good Luck Gail,
... Joe Prete

2:06 am - Tuesday, October 30, 2012

#113 phototim

To:  Joe Prete

Joe, can you reccomend the best bridge camera for taking sports photo’s?  My kids play basketball and football, so I will be using the zoom feature and burst mode both indoor and outdoor.  Both venues are large (college) so I dont feel I will be very close to the action.  Thanks for your suggestion.

3:38 am - Tuesday, October 30, 2012

#114 JoePrete

TO BRUCE MORELL Post#97
Bruce,
Please tell me what area you are in. I am in the US, New York City
to be exact, I am finding the PANASONIC DMC FZ200 in many stores and on line. The price is currently at a premium, it’s $599.00 at B&H Photo BH.COM and at J&R JR.COM The prices rose over the past 20 days. Please tell me your location and I’ll try to help you.
(I’ve heard of the discontinued FZ150 going for a very good price)
Let me know,
... Joe Prete

10:21 am - Tuesday, October 30, 2012

#115 JoePrete

TO Phototim,
I don’t know what your price range is, but the Canon SX50 HS and the Nikon P510, both have long zoom lenses, but to be realistic, you might get about 600mm-700mm of Zoom that will give you acceptable photos. These are Super Zooms With a range longer than a bridge camera Which will not give you enough range. Please tell me your expectations and how much you can spend, and I’ll see what’s out there for you,
... Joe Prete

11:17 am - Tuesday, October 30, 2012

#116 phototim

Joe Prete,
Thanks for the reply Joe, I have looked at the P510, Sx40 and Sony Hx200 at a local camera store.  They do not carry Panasonic cameras, so I have not had a hands-on with the FZ200 that is highly spoke of.  They are pushing the Sony because of the image stabilizer and burst mode which they claim is better than the sx40 or 50.  I am leaning toward the Nikon P510.  Price wise I was hoping to stay in the $400 to $450 range.  As I said, I will be using the camera mainly for sports and action shots, but as a beginner I would like the versatility of a camera to grow with me as I learn to more about photography.  I do travel a lot and would like to start keeping memories of these trips on my camera!  Thanks for all of your posts Joe, it is invaluable reading1

3:23 pm - Tuesday, October 30, 2012

#117 Gail

Hi Joe….Thanks for all your info. I did go and get the sx40 before I read your recommendation and got it at a great price of 329.00. I love it, the pics are so brilliant & clear. I know you stated it may be more than I need, but you never may know when I will need a zoom. We are going to Disney soon and am so thrilled to have found this camera for great pics.
The pics are awesome…..

Thanks

3:41 pm - Tuesday, October 30, 2012

#118 Ewald

This is a question not a comment.  The reveiw is very enlightening and the comments are very informative - thanks.

My simple question is - my wife and I are going on safari to Kenya and Tanzania in February and prior to the SX50 coming out I had thought I would get the SX40.

I certainly am intrigued by the huge zoom of the SX50 but not sure if the picture quality will be as good as the previous lens.

Be aware I am not a photographer in the true sense of the word - I am a picture taker

I used my son’s SX20 two years ago in South Africa and loved the funtionality of the camera.

Any thoughts regardving the SX40 vs the SX50 for our trip will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

2:22 pm - Wednesday, October 31, 2012

#119 tejas patel

i want to buy this camera. can you give your idea to buy ?

5:12 pm - Wednesday, October 31, 2012

#120 JoePrete

EWALD,
Read the posts, I think we’ve covered every angle of this one already. It’s all here, 120 posts. Just read!
... Joe Prete

3:24 am - Thursday, November 1, 2012

#121 JoePrete

Tejas Patel,
Bring money!

11:15 am - Thursday, November 1, 2012

#122 JoePrete

People,
We’ve said this many times, be aware of what you are buying.
The SX50 HS Lowest legitimate price in the US is $449.00

I’m not sure what Gail bought for $329.00 but I’m sure she will find out soon. The largest dealers are paying $415.00 US Wholesale,  so if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is!
remember, BUYER BEWARE
... Joe Prete

11:35 am - Thursday, November 1, 2012

#123 Gail

For all interested, Yes I did get it for 329.00 but this is the sx40…... I bought it legit at Walmart !!!!  It is an awesome camera and I am thrilled with it, it takes amazing pictures. So really, it is not too good to be true !!!! It was new in box with lots of extras too !!!! The sx50 at Walmart was 479.99.

I zoomed at the store with both of them, and the sx50 only went a bit further, not enough to spend another 150.00. As far as the RAW, I am not interested.

Awesome, amazing Halloween pics out of the sx 40. Would highly recommend it !!!

Gail

1:23 pm - Thursday, November 1, 2012

#124 Steve Jones

I searched the Net read the reviews, considered the FZ200 and bought a SX50 HS. The low light performance is perfectly acceptable and the zoom is amazing. Image stabilization in video mode is excellent. If you consider that you use the zoom capabilities outdoors then this is the winner. Indoors then you are needing a DSLR.
I bought the Canon with some trepidation thinking have I made a mistake, should it have been the FZ-200? The answer so far is “so far so good”. The zoom takes you to parts of the horizon you can’t see with the naked eye!
Steve

1:39 am - Tuesday, November 13, 2012

#125 roadkilt

The optical zoom and video image stabilization is amazing. Image is great and many features that are actually useful (slow motion video, custom time release etc). Two main drawbacks: The manual focus is awkward and sloppy, almost impossible without a tripod and easy to mix up with other controls. The aperture control is negligible, a very narrow range that will have little impact on creative depth of field. This camera is really a point and shoot photo/video on steroids. Great steroids, but steroids.

1:58 am - Tuesday, November 13, 2012

#126 JoePrete

Roadkilt,
Welcome to Canon!

Steve Jones,
I guess since you’ve never used the FZ200, you’ll never know!

They’ve been winning awards for some time now, The FZ40, FZ47, FZ100, FZ150 and FZ200 It’s not just a one hit wonder. But don’t try it now whatever you do!!!

3:04 am - Tuesday, November 13, 2012

#127 Steve Jones

Hi Joe,
Too late! I did try the FZ200 in a camera shop but the extra zoom of the Canon was the key decider for me! The lens does indeed bring things to you that you can’t see with the naked eye and of course the image it can record is never going to match what you see on the small screen but it beats binoculars by miles with the zoom assist features! The two framing assist buttons on the side of the lens are a really good and don’t seem to feature in many reviews. Coupled with the Canon cashback offer it seemed the best deal for travel where a “point and shoot on steroids” probably has advantages! Canon Image stabilisation impressed me and I carry a monopod on my travels to help at times. So far and working at the size and resolution I need I’ve not been disappointed. In use I’ve yet to adjust to the fact that the selector wheel is combined with the “joystick” button and I don’t find this as easy to use as a separate one which I had on my Fuji.
Steve

12:48 pm - Tuesday, November 13, 2012

#128 Phototim

Hi All
After carefull consideration, I bought the Canonsx-50!  AJ Ritchie had it advertised   for $389, I went to Best Buy and they matched the price, even for the extra battery, memory card (8gb class 10 San Disk) and even the camera bag.  Used it for the first time at a college basketball game and got some great shots in the sports mode.  As Joe said, I would be able to use 600-700mm of zoom and he was right on with that.  I was sitting about 30 rows up in the stands and had no issues with light or burst mode.  The team bech’s were on the other side of the court and I could zoom in and almost see what the coach’s were writing on their clopboards!  Some of the shots were blurred, but I attribute that to learning how to use the camera.  On a battery note, I took over 200 photo’s and still had over 75% battery left. I am really glad I got this camera, thanks to all who posted comments and advice on this forum!

7:13 pm - Tuesday, November 13, 2012

#129 Michelle

Hi Joe

Just drop by to said thank you, bought the camera. You know what happen without learning to used the camera I bring my new camera to an important concert. Just want to said the camera did a great job even without flash I took lot of great picture and the video quality amaze me.

7:22 pm - Tuesday, November 13, 2012

#130 Clovis

I’ve been using the p510 for some time, with quite satisfying results. However, having had a Fuji S100fs, I do miss the manual zoom. Joe, how would you compare the IQ and focus speed of these two cameras?

2:52 am - Thursday, November 15, 2012

#131 JoePrete

Clovis,
There is a Four Year difference in these cameras. The Fuji S100FS was quite a camera for it’s time. I think it was the Spring of 2008 and it was about $695.00 US. It wouldn’t be fair to compare the two cameras. The Fuji is built around a CCD sensor and the Zoom was 25-400MM. The Nikon P510 is fully up to date with it’s CMOS sensor and the 2nd longest zoom at 1000MM (Canon’s SX50 HS passed it with it’s 1200MM Zoom) In this comparison, the Nikon P510 clearly beats the Fuji S100FS in both areas.

The recent Fujifilm HS30EXR Has a manual zoom 24-720MM and
would be a much more fair, and a closer comparison. I’ve never heard any complaints about the P510 Zoom, but most people do adapt to either a manual zoom or a power zoom, but never both.
... Joe Prete

5:08 am - Thursday, November 15, 2012

#132 Clovis

Joe,
Thanks for your feedback. Among the present-day Fujis w\ manual zoom (HS30 and XS-1) which one would you recommend, considering IQ and focus speeds are priorities? (we practically don’t see them here in Brazil, so my experience with either is a big fat nought…)
I must say the P510 is quite amazing, but its focus can be somewhat sluggish. However, Fuji’s unconventional sensor tech won me over since the F31fd (which I still use), so I am really interested in what they’re able to come up with nowadays.

12:38 am - Friday, November 16, 2012

#133 JoePrete

TO Steve Jones POST#127
Steve,
You should make sure to get SDHC cards that are rated 10 (the number in the circle) You’ll need the high rating so the camera doesn’t have to wait, while the image writes to the card. If the monopod is allowed where you’re shooting with the zoom all the way out, use it when you can. The image may look sharp on the computer, but when you start making larger prints you will see if they’re not sharp enough. They’re never too sharp!

Those “Focus assist” brackets are on all the brands now, they may have a different name for it. They can get in the way as much as they may help, so you should know how to turn them off if they’re in the way. Good Luck with your new camera,
,,, Joe Prete

5:54 am - Friday, November 16, 2012

#134 JoePrete

Clovis,
Sorry, they cut my post.It was pretty informative, but there’s nothing I can do about that. Tell me, what can you afford to spend?
I’ll put it through in pieces, just give me the most important information first. The money, how much?
... Joe Prete

9:09 am - Friday, November 16, 2012

#135 Terry

We want the ability to take both macro & long range shots, plus in between shots of people
within a twinkling of an eye. Thats why We are sold on superzoom cameras with viewfinders

We edit our pics using Picasa, mainly with cropping. So, you may consider us as cheats!
For examples, see our web site, just google BassVac.

We use Canon SX20 bought end 2009. Brilliant photo’s, compact design, akesvery good pics,
even on 2 X zoom (so changes this to X 40 optical).
We use this super zoom feature a lot re bird & animal photography.
Plus using this feature like binoculars

The macro feature, right up to lens takes fantasticically clear pics.

We mainly use the Auto & P settings on our cameras + switch to Macro mode.


Other points we like
The Sx20 takes 4 X AA’s which is great has we do go to remote places where electricity not available.

Canons disadvantages are
- weight - after carrying this for couple of hours through bush makes you want to throw it away!
- lens error problems (have managed to nurse it through last 2 years, unfortunately now cactus
  from google searches, lens errors seems to be a common problem for this Canon range

The reliability issue (lens error) influenced our next decision

We looked at other superzoom cameras, this year bought Nikon P500 as a back up
(we have taken about 10k of photos on both camera so far this year - locally (Australia),
Central America & Burma) so we can speak from experience

Cf Nikon P500 to Canon:
It’s very difficult for hand held use at full zoom (X36).
Focusing at full zoom an issue - has problems focusing
Macro not as good
When it takes good pics, as good as Canon ie but if Cannon takes 100% good pics at a time,
then NiKon is 70% of time
Canon SX20 more compact than Nikon with lens retracted
Nikon takes much better low light pics
Nikon battery life very low ie 200 v 400, but spare batteries very cheap
Nikon is much lighter to carry
Nikon no lens error problem so don’t miss shots

We need to replace our Canon so we are looking at Canon SX50 & all other makes with viewfinders

Our observations:
Need viewfinders, we are too old to just use screens - tried but ended up boss-eyed & weird pics

DSLR’s We know these take far better pics but dismiss re changing lens + size/weight issues

Latest Canon SX50 specs look great but….
is lens errors still an issue?
It does not weigh as much as SX20 mut still much eavier than Nikon
- pity about ditching AA’s as we carry spare batteries, so cost an issue.
It seems about the size of a DSLR which we think is too big to carry around


We apologise upfront as we still do not understand camera technology specication info
Our ideal camera:
Can take pic within 1 second of switching on
Can take say 4 pics per second (great for flying bird pics)
Can take subsequent pics within 1 second
Very fast auto focusing - less than 1/2 sec
Takes handheld pics in low light without flash
viewfinder
pocketable
Wide angle like the Nikon over the Canon as it takes “wider pics”
Long distance: prefer Canon X40 over Nikon X36
Long battery life
auto updates pics with current GPS setting
Ability to add voice message to further ID pic
Lightweight, less than 550g
Not really interested in being able to take movies
Reasonable price say around $500, so we can afford to update every few years

We don’t think our ideal camera is here yet but

So.. do you have suggestions what we should look at next
which will last us for the next few years?

11:39 am - Friday, November 16, 2012

#136 Clovis

Joe.
I’ve got about a thousand bucks salted away expressly for this purpuse. I’m not a professional photographer, but I am quite dedicated to photography as an art form that’s my “decompresion valve” (flickr.com/photos/dr_clovismiranda), so I have a special “photography fund”. Even managed to involve the missus in it (gave her a S95 and she loved it). I’ve given up on DSLRs (after a D5000, T2I and D7000) because of the increased quality of compacts and EVILs (I print up to 90x60 cm, and one can’t tell the difference between the compacts I use and DSLRs).

2:01 pm - Friday, November 16, 2012

#137 JoePrete

Clovis,
Here’s the thing,The HS30EXR is a great camera, but I see the HDR, the colour and composition you are seeking and I think the HS30EXR would serve you better as a back up for the X-S1. With either of them, the filters are all inside, except the Circular Polarizer. With both cameras, a high quality Circular Polarizer will bring you what you are seeking. Practice using it at 90 degree angles to the sun. See the effect on the sky, water & land.

I would just name the photos instead of explaining them to people, they will see what their mind wants them to see, so leave it to their individual imaginations. (note the info. for your files)

The HS30EXR is hard to pass up for $335.00 U.S. and I notice whatever stock of HS20EXR’s are left, both are still at $499.00 US at most stores. I think you know this. B/t/w Fabio tells me that a lot of gear is priced much higher, or isn’t available to you. If you don’t know Fabio, you really should try to get to know him.

The HS30 at $335.00 US is very hard to beat. It has a 1/2 inch sensor & the Focal length is a little longer, but I think it has more to do with the sensor than the lens. These are the obvious differences in the two cameras, but that’s where it ends.

The X-S1 is built much better, seals out dust & moisture, has a 2/3” sensor, metal dials and knobs and it “Feels Pro” right from the start. It is more rugged and is aimed at the Pro, so besides the sensor, everything built around it is different. Only look at the X-S1 if you plan to buy it, because it will be hard to settle for the HS30EXR after you’ve handled the X-S1. There is a price cut just coming into effect here, it brings it down to $599.00 US

Don’t even bother with the SX50 HS or anything else on the market right now, the pictures you are seeking can only be achieved with the X-S1. Unless you want to go back to a DSLR, this is your only option and no other camera maker is even thinking about competing right now. Fujifilm has the Pro in mind with the X-S1 as a DSLR option and they’ve got the Rangefinder Market now too, unless you have Leica kind of money. I hope this helps you, and if you want to try the forum Clovis, you just mouse over “Community” and it opens up. Good Luck,
... Joe Prete

8:47 pm - Friday, November 16, 2012

#138 Joe Prete

Clovis,
Is the HS30EXR or the XS-1 even available to you? If so, at what price? Fabio tells me that the prices are very high and the choices are very limited. I’m curious as to it’s availability. b/t/w there’s a message waiting for moderation describing my thoughts, but it’s tying up another computer for a few hours now. I didn’t forget you!
... Joe Prete

11:07 pm - Friday, November 16, 2012

#139 western mom

I am not a photographer, and am considering buying this camera for my daughter who works on a cruise ship.  Does anyone know whether this camera would be capable of photographing the Northern Lights? She needs a camera that is compact and lightweight, as she needs to pack for 3-4 months at a time.  Thanks for your help.

12:59 am - Saturday, November 17, 2012

#140 JoePrete

Western Mom,
The AURORA BOREALIS or Northern Lights.
Depending on the magnetic field, it can be seen from the sky to the ground. It can be filmed with any of these cameras and I would say a wide angle to moderate zoom lens a 24MM-120MM is a good range to start, but any of these cameras are capable. So think of film along with still photographs. She will learn how!

Has your daughter used a camera before?
This camera is loaded with options, many, features, and it’s now the longest focal length of all the SuperZoom Bridge cameras at 1200MM This is a lot of camera, It does have several nice “Auto” modes though. It’s very capable though!  Cost $450.00 US

it’s not a telescope. It will give you a slightly closer view than you’ll see with just your eyes. It’s one of the largest cameras of it’s bracket, and it’s no lightweight. So, no it is not “compact and lightweight” at all. Very noticeable in a pocketbook

It’s actually almost as large as Canon’s entry level DSLR’s, the main difference is that this has one lens that doesn’t interchange like a DSLR. Kinda like a mini DSLR, well a big mini DSLR.

I think if I was going to give a young woman a compact and lightweight Canon camera, I would think about the Powershot SX260 HS. It’s lens is 25-500MM, it has several auto modes, it shoots nice movies and it has The same DIGIC 5 Processor and a CMOS Sensor just like the best models. Actually, It’s the first one, coming up the line that has a CMOS Sensor. It fits neatly in a small case or in a woman’s bag where it wouldn’t take up much room at all. (They still carry those, don’t they?) cost $250.00 US

I really think you should either fill us in a little more, or ask her what she needs if she knows. If she’s not sure, or it’s a surprise You really couldn’t go wrong with The SX260.

If you had said slim, and classy, and she’s very tech saavy and she knows her way around a camera, many Pros pick the slim black S100 (Canon S100) I don’t know anyone who would turn the S100 away. It even looks like a Pro’s choice despite its slim and compact light body. But, it’s focal length is shorter. It’s a 4X Zoom 24-120MM with the same DIGIC5 Processor, excellent movies, quick response, CMOS sensor and slim enough to slip into a pocket. Many Pro’s carry this one. It’s cost,  $400.00 US

Don’t be discouraged, one of us will help you through it, it’s just process of elimination. Write us any time, we will help.
... Joe Prete

3:23 am - Saturday, November 17, 2012

#141 Clovis

Joe,
Prices in Brazil are extorsive and choices are very curtailed. However.
There are ways.
The prices would be almost 100% over USA prices, so a grand seems about enough for either cam (HS30EXR or the XS-1). I do have access to importers who bring them in at “only” 40% surcharge, so I’d probably pay 900 bucks on a XS1.
So my real doubts lie in the double-barreled question:focus speed and image quality. I used to love my nikon 18-200 vr2 for its focus speed, but was seriously peeved that its IQ wasn’t superior (fully zoomed out) to the S100fs (I actually did side by-side tests that included 60X90cm prints). As a a matter of fact, it was actually softer (both on the D5000 and the D7000, so the sensor wasn’t the bottleneck). Had an FZ150 too (great focus speed), but the longer range and the sharper image of the P510 (despite the RAW capabilities of the FZ150)got me to switch.
Despite the shorter range, the Fujis seem tempting (and yes, I do use the Nikons’ full zoom range. Many of my pictures would simply not be possible otherwise). Any word on white orbs on the XS1?

5:48 am - Saturday, November 17, 2012

#142 JoePrete

Clovis, Guys & women,
Please contact me at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) I’m getting very tired of taking the time to write up these reports and evaluations for you guys, just to have it cut by the so-called “moderator” that just seems to “lose” things that take me quite a bit of time and interest to prepare. I didn’t want it to come to this, but now I have no choice.

Please keep in mind, there’s a five hour difference in time. I think that your time is ahead of mine, but we will work it out. I’m in the U.S., New York to be exact and we use E.S.T. with Eastern Daylight Time in the summer. Please use this for serious inquires only for now. Western Mom, Clovis, Michelle and the others, you know who you are.
... Joe Prete
... Joe Prete

4:55 pm - Saturday, November 17, 2012

#143 Teetu Rana

very good camera

4:38 pm - Monday, November 19, 2012

#144 Joe Prete

Post #135 TERRY,
You never gave a screen name. I’ve been Searching BassVaC but it is HUGE! Please give a screen name so that we can write. Your observations are very interesting and correct as well. I think I can help you. Contact me by email at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) 
... Joe Prete

8:15 pm - Friday, November 23, 2012

#145 Clare

Dear Joe

I am glad to have found this discussion despite the fact it has confused me more than ever. I am looking for a take everywhere camera… I spent a week in love with the Fuji film x100, I love the look and the image quality… but I think the slow auto focus may put me off. Then I spent time thinking the Sony nex-5 was definitely the one for me. Or could it be the very handbag friendly Canon S110? I finally thought I had made a decision with the Canon sx50…. but some of the comments above have put me in doubt. I have a DSLR, it needs upgrading, but that’s a save up for job. I want something that will allow me to take great shots of people including energetic kids. It must work well in low light and it must be fast enough to catch kids and the image quality must be excellent. Help needed to make a decision please nice people.
I am a reasonable photographer, I grew up with a manual Nikon and studied photography at school, but the market is just so vast now it’s daunting. Do I go for the Canon sx50?

11:52 pm - Wednesday, November 28, 2012

#146 Joe Prete

Clare,
I looked at the X10 in a small Camera shop where they let you hold the camera. I went to make some comparisons as well. I picked up the X10 and it almost flew out of my hand! I could not believe how light the camera is, and that is not a good thing at all. Is it made of Paper?  There is no way that I could even consider it as a contender. I need to feel the camera in my hand. It’s also a small sensor, so holding it steady is very important. Seeing the X100 next to it didn’t help any either.

But Clare, you need to compare apples to apples. The X10 and the SX50 could not be more different cameras. I have an SX50 and it does everything that it is claimed to do, but the camera that I picked over the X10 is the Canon G1 X with it’s 1.5” CMOS sensor and Optical Eye Level Viewfinder, it is also at the front of the pack. Both Canon Cameras are excellent, the G1 X and the SX50 HS and this from someone who has all Nikon DSLR’s

I think you need to focus your search, and pick cameras from the same group. The SX50 HS is like a small SLR, not compact at all. It is now the longest Super-Zoom Camera on the market.
Good Luck Clare,
Joe Prete

1:26 am - Thursday, November 29, 2012

#147 Joe Prete

Clare,
Are you looking for a Fixed Lens, Single focal length camera? The X100 has a (Normal) 23MM Lens. Have you looked at the X-E1? At least you will have a choice, There are five lenses available, one of them the 18-55MM Zoom. I do think there are many other less expensive choices. I must say that all of the Fujifilm cameras do look like finely crafted works of art. Even the very lightweight cameras. Think about it getting scraped up!! Not Good…

The S100 or S110 do seem like more functional cameras that take up very little room. There are as many opinions as there are people, I think you should first consider how you will use the camera, then take a look at the manufacturers own web sites so you can see first hand and consider if you can just carry it in your bag. Most of them focus very fast. The super Zooms may take longer to get ready. The Canon G12 has a 28-140MM lens and will be ready as soon as you take it out.
... Joe Prete

2:10 am - Thursday, November 29, 2012

#148 Clare

Thanks Joe for replying, I will look at the G12 and G1X, this one is now off the list, just seduced by the lens which I probably wouldnt use that much. Happy for fixed lens as I have my DSLR, I just want a smaller more convenient camera that takes amazing quality shots.

4:09 pm - Thursday, November 29, 2012

#149 Joe Prete

Clare,
Just so you know, The Canon Powershot Cameras are a line that started with G1 and has reached G15, each one improving based on the customer feedback (there was no G8, or G13) But from My own tests, and the ones that I own, they are excellent cameras. The G12 has the swivel and turn LCD, and the G15 does not. Mainly for that reason, most people choose the G12. They were released at about the same time, and they did this knowing that there were differing opinions. The prices are the same. And there are rebates on both.

I own the G9 and now the G1 X, that has the same 1.5” CMOS sensor that Canon’s APS-C DSLR’s have. The G1 X is slightly bigger but it is chosen by many Pro’s due to it’s sensor and lens.
The Photographs are stunning! It does cost more than the G12 But the difference in enlarged prints show why. You can make extreme enlargements with the G1 X. If I had to chose, the next one down would be the G12. If you are in the U.S., the prices and rebates can be seen at various dealers. The LIST prices are on Canon’s own site.

btw, I am not employed by this or any site, or any Camera Manufacturer. I do shoot Nikon DSLR’s but when it comes to quality, I look at all of the brands. Before the G1 X & SX50 HS, I owned Canon’s G9 & S5 IS, so the trend is continuing. The main point being that the G line is a culmination of all the cameras before it. I’m sure that one of them will suite your needs.

I do own several Fuji Cameras as well, but none of the “fragile” ones that we spoke about. If you look at dpreview.com I’m sure you can see examples of these and many other cameras as well as many opinions from Amateurs as well as Professionals. You would benefit too, from looking at Marco Nero’s work also. If you do a search, you will find his own site. His photographs demonstrates what can be done with the Compact cameras. 

When you say “amazing quality shots” I do think of the G1 X.
If you have any other questions, just ask I’d be happy to help you as well as the many other knowledgeable people here or at dp.
Good luck Clare and “Happy Shooting” Too,
... Joe Prete

8:48 pm - Thursday, November 29, 2012

#150 clare

This advice is so great! I have been to have a look at a few cameras today, the G1X wasn’t in stock, but I looked at all the others on the list and the G12/15 is a contender, but now I have seen some sample shots of the G1X I’m really keen to try it. Thanks again

11:45 pm - Thursday, November 29, 2012

#151 Joe Prete

Hi Clare,
I’m in New York and the first store that I saw it in, it was only the Demo that they had left. But after a few calls, I found it as it just came in at J&R so I had it shipped to me. Although I do want you to see it first, not finding a camera easily is a good sign that you are on the right track. Btw, I paid $659.88 Very lucky!!  If you’re in the states, B&H and J&R get large deliveries daily.

It does fit in the Belt case that I use for the G9, but it’s a very snug fit. I think you know that some credit cards have “Warranty Manager” that doubles the warranty, & Amex also adds 90 days theft & breakage as well. I don’t add any of the store warranties. You will need a fast SDHC (CLASS 10) card. I just looked, B&H is giving a card and a case with it for $699.00 (J&R is back to &799;.00) Oh, the Focus Tracking Brackets are absolutely Fantastic! This camera is really fun to shoot with, and very hard to put down.  Write back, let us know how you do, okay?
... Joe Prete

1:05 am - Friday, November 30, 2012

#152 samsheer

Wildlife photography involves shooting in a forest where light is not going to be bright..so which among the sx50 hs and the fz200 is going to do better…please advise

8:26 am - Monday, December 3, 2012

#153 H. MONETTI

Samsheer,
Someone just answered your question on the FZ200 review. You have a computer look it up! I doubt that you’re even buying a camera! Maybe you’ll get lost in the forest. Stop wasting other peoples time! No more questions from your IP address. Find another place to play.

10:24 am - Monday, December 3, 2012

#154 tez65

Hi, update since prior post re lens error issues. Used card to clean between barrel & lens and camera now works again. Taken over 1000 pics so far, no lens errors!

10:25 am - Monday, December 3, 2012

#155 tez65

re 152 samsheer
To handle low light pics
Suggest reducing the number of pixels say to 5mb
Use shutter speed of between 1/40th to 1/125
Avoid long zoom, say keep under 10 optical
Let the camera sort out aperture & ISO settings

11:05 am - Monday, December 3, 2012

#156 H. MONETTI

TEZ65,
Did any debris or sand come out of the lens barrel?

11:35 am - Monday, December 3, 2012

#157 Giliomee Jacobs

When I take a photo while busy recording a video the shutter closes and you can see that in the video playback.

Is that a setting that I have to change or is that just how the camera is made?

12:34 pm - Monday, December 3, 2012

#158 tez65

Hi Monetti,
yes small bits of blackish dirt mainly, no sand. The bits that came out were smaller than sand. Before cleaning, could hear noise, now very quiet

1:14 pm - Monday, December 3, 2012

#159 JOE PRETE

Tez65
Hank told me, I didn’t believe it! Are you using this lens while fishing, or on the beach? I think you originally said it was like a grinding noise. If you use a camera in these conditions again, you should make or buy something to cover the whole assembly. If it got into the lens, it can get into the camera too. Consider a plastic bag, that covers everything but still allows control by your hands. I’v see guys tape it around the lens barrel, just behind the glass, with a clear protection filter screwed onto the lens. Either a SKY or UV filter.

The other method we discussed, if it was sand, was to use a SHOPVAC, one with a narrow hose (1.25”) and cup your hands around it to keep the suction in. It may pull the debris or particles out of there. This is not something a warranty would cover! Maybe you Dodged a bullet, but be cautious not to let this happen again. The truth is, it could still be in there, but in a safer place now. If it did come out, you were very lucky. Keep us posted, it’s good information to have. I wish you, the best.
Regards,
... Joe Prete

PS. Maybe pick up a cheaper camera for this kind of work?

7:40 pm - Monday, December 3, 2012

#160 samsheer

#153 H. Moneti Mr Prophet don’t try to be predict whether someone is going to buy a camera or not…I hope you have the sense to decide who is wasting time of other..BTW my query was not for a jerk like you but polished and knowledgeable connoisseurs like Mr Joe Prete and Fabio(from Brazil)

8:01 am - Tuesday, December 4, 2012

#161 samsheer

Tez 65 thanks for the response

5:01 am - Wednesday, December 5, 2012

#162 tez65

Hi Joe,
Apologise upfront as I have raised many points but they are all sort of interlinked.

1) re dirt in lens, it was not beach sand. However, we do go to dusty places - it was at Wadi Rum (desert in Jordan) where we started getting problems & before that Cairo which is pretty dusty. We carry the camera out (only use case when travelling) so we are always ready to take pics. As mentioned earlier, we are opportunistic photographers so thats why we don’t keep the camera in a case.

2) We do have a cheaper camera but not satisfied with results - when you zoom in, the pics look like paintings.

3) I also posted the prior blog for 2 reasons a) to update previous comment and b) in case someone else has the lens error issue & that may be of use to them. Also Joe, you seem to be the ace contributor on this site so if someone else raises this issue, you can pass it on.
 
4) Our lens error problem is not a manufacturing fault, most likely its down to us. Maybe, Canon have improved the dust seals on later models.
  The question is: would we still consider Canon? My answer is yes.

5) What alternatives have we bought? ie put our money where the mouth is. We bought the Nikon P500 earlier this year. What we like about the P500 is its lighter & smaller than the Canon and is good at taking low light pictures. It was also 25% cheaper than the sx40. The Canon has better Image stabilisation for long zooms. The Canon has less problems with auto focusing and consistently takes sharper pictures. The sunset filter on Canon gives more pleasing results. Our conclusion, as it relates to our requirements, is little to choose between these two. 

6) Although the sx20 is working again, we feel its time to replace it with something more up to date (its now 3 years old). The SX50 does what we want but am still looking at alternatives because ideally we would like something smaller & lighter.

7) When we want to buy? January. Reason, we are going to Sri Lanka February

8) Our current short list of superzooms are: Canon SX50, Nikon P510 Sony DSC HX200V. We have excluded Olympus- no viewfinder & Panasonics - zoom limitations, Fuji HS30 because of size & weight. The question is are there any other superzooms you feel we should look at?

9) Should we consider a Compact System Camera? But how do we achieve the high zooms of the superzooms? The following points assume taking pics in good light: for CSC cameras, are zoom magnifiers quick to fit and give reasonable pictures? With the standard CSC lens, is the picture quality so good that we can crop 100% and still get a picture of similar quality of a SX50 picture taken at say 30X optical?

5:51 am - Wednesday, December 5, 2012

#163 Brigee

Bought one about a month ago totally blown away with it, as stated not a DLSR but very close image quality is amazing on the right settings the zoom is incomparable at this price truly 10/10

12:13 pm - Wednesday, December 5, 2012

#164 JOE PRETE

Tez65,
I could never seriously consider the Sony HX200v Due to the Specification list that lacks RAW imaging. JPEG only makes it more of a family camera, rather than a Photographers choice.

The Canon SX50 HS is the Clear winner here. H.S. is for it’s High Sensitivity. The camera is outstanding, even at handheld shots at the full 1200MM. Hand written or typed papers can easily be read from 50 yards Hand Held at 1200MM!! Quite a feat.

I often wonder how Canon or any of the others will top this one. Now if you’re viewing the scene I just described, please do remember to actually take the picture. The reason is, that even though it may not look sharp in the viewfinder, 9 out of 10 shots comes out clear and sharp as can be in the actual picture.

For those who don’t need the extreme Zoom, to not consider the Panasonic DMC FZ-200 Would be a big mistake. Although the lens range is only 600MM the camera is extremely precision. I rate Panasonic right at the top with Canon, and having an F2.8 lens does have many advantages. Keep in mind that this is only when set at 2.8 in Manual or Aperture Priority mode.

I’m often amazed to see how many people that bought this camera for the fast lens, but don’t even realize that they’re actually getting F5.6 because they fail to read the owners manual. The main reason, P.O.I.S. That’s for Panasonic’s own Power Optical Image Stabilization. Pictures taken at f5.6 or F8 routinely come out very sharp and clear due to the P.O.I.S.

To stay on point, People stuck between the SX50 HS and FZ200 Lumix,  Should carefully consider these points, having a Leica lens on your camera does have it’s advantages. Side by side, only by comparing these points, can one make this tough choice. 

Also, whichever camera you choose, please read the Full Guide.
Often it is on the DVD and read from the screen, but I much prefer a printed guide. The choice is yours, but do read it!!
One point, I’m a NIKON Shooter, so my choices are unbiased.
... Joe Prete

P.S. To hear the quote “Only 600MM”  Just a few years ago, would have seemed like it was only a dream!

12:15 am - Thursday, December 6, 2012

#165 Carsten Morgenstern

Hi Joe,

I´m “stepping down” a notch, selling my 600d, and looking for a superzoom instead. Got tired of changing/carrying lenses around all the time. I used to have a SX1 earlier, and was really satisfied with it, but wanted to try DSLR. Which one will I be most thrilled with; The FZ200 or the SX50? I like to shoot macro, landscapes and, occasionally, people. Cheers from Denmark, Carsten

12:22 am - Thursday, December 6, 2012

#166 tez65

Thank you for speedy replies
Will add FZ200 to our list
Re JPG & RAW, always used JPG and we use Picasa to manage & edit our pics. Love the way Picasa uses a script of pic changes rather than forcing you to create a 2nd jpg file. I believe Picasa management handles RAW files but uncertain whether Picasa editing handles RAW formats: am I guessing that I may be forced to convert RAW to JPG to use their editing.
I will investigate RAW format to understand the benefits to us of using this format.

1:24 am - Thursday, December 6, 2012

#167 JOE PRETE

Carsten Morgenstern,
The 600D, I think is known as the T3I in the U.S. I’m not quite sure that I would call it Stepping down. I just got the SX50 HS Manual yesterday, it is 284 pages, printed on both sides of 8X11 paper.I don’t think I’m alone in saying that these are not toys, these cameras are technology to the fullest extent of the word. Some of them like the ones with less controls are even harder to master.

Now don’t get me wrong, there are full auto modes to get you going, but learning these cameras will be time consuming. If your goal is less to carry, you are correct. But learning each mode and mastering it is an accomplishment. The SX50 HS will have some similarity, so if you’ve used the T3i a bit, a lot can be carried over to the SX50. A Canon is still a Canon.

As far as comparing the SX50 HS to the Panasonic DMC FZ200 just looking through these posts, there is a lot to learn. The obvious is in the post before yours. Decide on it by the Lens, that’s where the major differences are. Which one fits your needs. They’re both JPEG and RAW, Just decide how large you’re prints will be, because up to 8X10, you can just about get by. Go over that size and your choices are left to the pair with bigger sensors. Good Luck,
... Joe Prete

5:41 am - Thursday, December 6, 2012

#168 samsheer

Joe Prete..
Thanks for the contribution you are making in here…Need your help urgently.. Your post at #164 to TEZ mentions the canon sx 50 hs to be a winner and at post #167 your inclination appears for the quality of the lens. Please help me to decide whether I should give priority to lens (brand obviously-the pana)or the versatility of sx50hs for wildlife shoots. I even emailed at your e mail address for your advice. Thanks in anticipation.

8:44 am - Thursday, December 6, 2012

#169 samsheer

Joe Prete..I again went through your post a #164 and the observation about P.O.I.S in the pana fz200. Could you please tell whether digital zooming will be possible at 600mm with f2.8 in the manual or Aperture Mode. I ask this question to know whether the loss of optical zoom in not going for sx50 hs may be compensated with digital zoom on fz200 with f2.8 at 600mm. If we look at the study by Graham Houghton on his video in the youtube where he has experimented with 1.7x teleconverter lens on FZ 150, the digital conversion shows better potential in comparison to teleconversion. My area of interest is whether the loss in optical zoom in Panasonic fz200 as compared to canon sx50 hs can be made up with the digital zoom on the panasonic while shooting wildlife, particularly when f2.8 might be showing off its magic at 600mm.  I hope this post is not entirely off mark in relation to the discussion in this forum. Thanks in antipation ..
Regards
Samsheer

10:28 am - Thursday, December 6, 2012

#170 clark321

Hi Samsheer

The sx50 lens is a precision instrument. It is slower than the fz200 but the quality of the photo is arguably equal to or better than the fz200.
Outdoors where the sx50 superzoom is normally used it cannot be matched by digital zooming. Dont forget the canon also works well in digital zooming and so great shots can be had to 100x and beyond.
I use my sx50 at 50x and beyond everyday because 90% of my photos are outdoors. For me the camera is fantastic.
If most of your photography is indoors or specialist lowlight work then another camera could be a better choice.

1:15 pm - Friday, December 7, 2012

#171 tez65

Sams #169 is also the sort of questions that go through my mind as well ie can we increase zooms in other ways that create a competive pic to the canon quality. Why we are thinking this way is up to now, the majority of our pics taken with sx20 & p500 were outdoors in bright light but recently have been taking indoor pics, no flash, in low light involving dancing. Was extremely difficult to get reasonable pics. We really don’t want to a camera for low light pics. Are we looking for the impossible?

2:42 pm - Friday, December 7, 2012

#172 tez65

I tried to compare the sx50 jpeg to raw sample images & got rather strange results with the raw format when downloaded & viewed with Picasa. The ISO 400 pic of the bookcase shot came out as if it was taken with a fish eye lens and was a very wishy washy colour. The 117 Parkway shot was ok but again all colours washed out. The thumbnail pics on photography blog look vibrant. What is the reason for this?
The other point I noticed is the raw format is a much larger file size so I guess it will take much longer for the canon to write to sd.

2:57 pm - Friday, December 7, 2012

#173 tez65

Re raw pics. Reread the review & could not see any reference as to whether taking a pic in raw format slows down this camera cf to jpeg. By slowing down, I am thinking of the processing time to capture & write to sd card. Does anyone know?

3:08 pm - Friday, December 7, 2012

#174 H. MONETTI

@POSTS NUMBER 168-173,  What?

4:38 am - Saturday, December 8, 2012

#175 samsheer

HI Clarke 321 #170 thanks for responding..but i wish I had your response on 6th Dec itself or earlier.Not your fault… I bought fz200 yesterday on 7th Dec..I was in agony choosing the fz200 over the sx50 because of lavish reviews on the sx 50 despite the slow lens and aperture limitations. But the views about fz200 in many reviews including this forum and the pictures of birds posted by a guy Rodger1943 with fz 150 (24x) on flicker(http://www.flickr.com/groups/1777759@N24/)convinced me that I could use the fz200 for birds and other wildlife shooting. Ofcourse i intend to compensate the zoom with teleconverter lens at a later stage when i will have learned enough about the fz200. Anyways thanks for your efforts…guys like you make a forum productive and amicable..

6:33 am - Saturday, December 8, 2012

#176 boonie

Could use some advice…  CanonSX50 vs DSLR… 
A non-technical post…  I am ready to purchase a new camera and am having great difficulty deciding between the Canon PowerShot SX50 vs. moving to DSLR.  I am interested in wildlife photograpy, esp birds.  I have an older “bridge” digital camera, several years old, that takes amazing shots with the 10x zoom when I am able to get closer to the subject, ie flowers and butterflies.  It just cannot get close enough for birds that are distant.  I want to be able to zoom into a bird high in a tree or distant on a lake and capture the details of the feathers.  I also am interested in macro photography, such as insects on plants.  And of course, birds in flight.  Will I be able to achieve this with the Canon PowerShot SX50 or will I be disappointed? Also, I would like to take the camera with me when kyaking. Would a DSLR be impratical for that?  Also, I am concerned that with a DSLR I will need much training before I can get started.  I read about aperature settings, ISO, etc, etc. and feel overwhelmed.  Also, do you think the technology of the “bridge” cameras, ie high perf point/shoot, is catching up with the DSLR’s?  If a DSLR is a better choice, I would love a suggestion for a brand (Canon?) and the best lens to start with?  My #1 priority is to be able to capture the details (ie feathers) of the subject, so if DSLR and learning is in order that will be fine.  To sum it up, “I am a nature writer that takes pictures, not a photographer that writes”.  Thanks for any help!!

2:36 am - Sunday, December 9, 2012

#177 rang

Boonie,

I picked up on one thing you mentioned you want to do…BIF shots (BirdsInFlight). I have done many BIF shots with the SX40 in “HQ” scene mode. However that was with a modification that I suspect you will have to do witht he SX50 as well.
In HQ mode (10 frames per second) the LCD and the viewfinder displays are blacked out during the 8 shot burst. This is not an issue if you’re shooting something that stays in one place in the frame (e.g.: ballerina spinning) But for targets that move out of the frame…you’re guessing if you have them centered from frame to frame.
To address this I use a hot shoe mounted red dot gun site display and collimate that to the center focus point of the camera. That way it doesn’t matter what is or isn’t displayed on any screen of the camera. You just keep both eyes open and keep the red dot on the target. This works well for jets on the deck, race cars, BIF shots, surfers etc.
The other caveat that is difficult for DSLR shooters using a bridge camera in high speed burst mode is that the initial focus acquisition is painfully slow compared to a pro DSLR. My Canon 1DX bodies initial AF speed is blindingly fast by comparison.
So you have to force yourself to be patient to *wait* for the focus tone and then you can ash your shutter button down.
Once you get this technique like muscle memory…fast sequence shots of rapidly moving objects becomes relatively easy.
If you are coming from the point and shoot world the slow initial focus acquisition issue is not so frustrating.

3:06 am - Sunday, December 9, 2012

#178 Joe Prete

boonie,
The SX50 HS sounds like a good choice for you, but if you’re going kayaking use the Nikon AW100. (but learn how to spell it first).
... Joe Prete

5:28 am - Sunday, December 9, 2012

#179 Boo

Joe,

I can’t decide between the SX50 or Lumix fz200? I’ve read almost every word on the internet about the two. 

Currently only own a Lumix DMC-TZ5.  Was able to get a handfull of great photos while Traveling Italy 3years ago with it. Now I’m looking for something better.  I’m an architect. so most of my photographs are of architecture, and sculptures. I have a design background and profession so I really like photography but have zero knowledge or experience with cameras.

One reason I’m leaning toward the fz200 is that I have a 2yr old son and no video camera to tape any special occasions.

Somewhat considering a compact mirror-less for the flexibility of use and self determined bulk. However, I won’t be able to afford a telephoto lens for some time, and i’m afraid I might miss the length on my upcoming Europe vacation. Also wondering if a telephoto lens on a compact is absurd.

Would a better way to go be the SX50 for range and add a LX7 later for quality? or just the fz200 for overall performance?

12:45 am - Tuesday, December 11, 2012

#180 Joe Prete

Boo,
Architecture, sculptures, children, The SX50 HS sounds like what you need. Canon’s 1080P Movie mode is outstanding. The HS stands for High Sensitivity, it has Canon’s latest technology inside. Follow Focus Brackets, Face Recognition, 24MM Wide angle to 1200MM Power Zoom. This camera has most of the same components as Canon’s High end DSLR’s The only reason you’re looking at the Panasonic is the F2,8 lens right? Sounds real nice, but what Depth of Field are you going to get at F2.8 ?

You must not be from the U.S. are you? They call it LUMIX and EF-ZED in all areas except the U.S. Actually, their whole line is LUMIX, not just this camera. In the states it’s DMC FZ200. it’s called marketing. They tell you what you want to hear. Every lens has better Performance 2-3 stops Down, so what aperture are you at now? If you took a Portrait at F2.8 of course you focus on the eyes, but look at the nose and the ears, they aren’t within the 2.8’s Depth of Field Range, so they’re out of focus.

A sculpture needs to be in focus the same as a person, so you’ll be at 3.5 anyhow. The Image Stabilization is so good that at 100 yards,a printed page shot at 1200MM, Hand held comes in sharp and clear. Even if it’s not clear in the viewfinder or LCD, the final Picture will be clear when the shot is taken. You have to trust the camera. And the Follow Focus Brackets, they’ll amaze you when your Son is running around, the focus brackets will follow, and keep him in focus. In this Mode, the camera will show it’s worth!

We caught a break on this camera. It would have been $599.00 but since it was cutting into the sales of their Entry level DSLR’s they had to lower this one, or raise the others, since they were there first, this price was lowered. I caught a sale as Canon was lowering the price, combined it came to $383.00 The very next sale it was down to $360.00 The FZ200 is a beautiful camera, but if you’re looking for the most Bang for your Buck, it’s the SX50 HS. The Follow Focus brackets are a newer versIon then the still new G1 X. I tried them side by side, this software is newer, and I just got the G1 X 2 months before the SX50 HS Even with the price listed here, it’s $200.00 less than the Panasonic.
Go to their web sites, you can even get a look at the manuals, that’s the one advantage of them on line. Easy to compare.
I asked Canon for printed guide, they were both sent overnight.
Both companies tech support and customer service has improved
Good Luck,
... Joe Prete

2:54 am - Tuesday, December 11, 2012

#181 Boonie

Rang, Thank you for your response, it was very helpful.  I, too, have experienced the slow initial focus acquisition with my point/shoot that you mention and found it quite frustrating as well.  Your description of using a “hot shoe mounted red dot gun site display” was very interesting.  Based on continued research, I have since decided to move into the world of DSLR and am looking forward to the opportunities for learning that lie ahead.  The final “tie-breaker” for me was based on test results of the SX50, posted on a review site, that pointed out a pinkish/purple “fringe” outlining the images.  However, the reporter did say that some additional corrections could probably help.  (http://www.pocket-lint.com/news/47996/canon-powershot-sx50-hs-first-sample-images).  Based on my price-point, I think I have narrowed my selection to a Canon EOS Rebel T4i DSLR “bundle package” which includes:  Canon EOS Rebel T4i Body, EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM lens, Eyecup Ef, Battery Pack LP-E8, Battery Charger LC-E8E, Camera Cover R-F-3, Wide Strap EW-100DBIV, USB Interface Cable IFC-130U, EOS Digital Solution Disc & Software Instruction Manual CD, Camera Instruction Manual for about $999.  Another option is the Canon EOS Rebel T4i Digital SLR with 18-55mm IS Lens for about $750.  Relatively speaking, there is not a huge difference in the financial investment of these DSLR’s in comparison to the SX50, but they offer much greater opportunities to grow.  However, I welcome any suggestions to another model or recommendation of another lens kit, in this price point, that may be better suited for the nature photography I described in the previous post.  Thank you.

4:19 am - Tuesday, December 11, 2012

#182 Boo

Joe - Thank you for the reply and advice.

I’m definitely from the US.

Was considering the FZ200 because 50x zoom is not that important o me.  Additionally the reviews I’ve read said the fz200 has better video, lighter, longer battery, better evf, more scenes and a better lens. 

I have been curious to get some feed back on the performance of each with regard to Architectural details, because most reviews and comments are concerned with bird or action photography.

Either way it sounds like both cameras are excellent. I don’t plan on buying another camera for a long time and i just wont something that is very versatile for both family photos and artistic compositions, and don’t wont to regret my purchase.

cheers

4:52 am - Tuesday, December 11, 2012

#183 Spaz

I just bought the SX50 from Best Buy for “my” Xmas gift. I have until January 6 to return it. I wanted to buy the SX40 for almost 8 months now but I wasn’t able to get it for the typical “deal"price of around $230. In Canada it’s still being sold now for like $329 even though it’s discontinued.

I am quite surprised how cheap the lens barrel feels.

I am also a bit disappointed in reading about the purple fringing and fixed ISO and maximum 15 second shutter speed.

I understand the only workaround one could try is to go in manual focus mode, set it to infinity and set the aperture at 4.5 or even 3.4. There are some reports you may need a very fast SD card to shoot video or the video may be grainy. I never heard of this before.

I also understand that a Canon firmware “hack” site called CHDK may address some of the software limitations in the future for the SX50. Is this a strong possibility?

5:48 am - Tuesday, December 11, 2012

#184 Joe Prete

Boo,
I don’t think you would be unhappy with either one. I’ve said it before, if the best Rating was 5 stars, both cameras would be rated 5 stars. Maybe you should visit dpreview.com where there are forums devoted to each. If you post a question, you will get many opinions. Right now, The Canon price is one main advantage, and the Panasonic price won’t come down until the Spring when the new models come out. Try to get each one in your hands at a camera shop that has both.
... Joe

6:10 am - Tuesday, December 11, 2012

#185 Joe Prete

Spaz,
You are coming into this with a completely wrong attitude. As negative as you are right now, just return it and start over. When I hear people talking about hacking into a unit, stop before you lose you’re money. A ham Radio is built with hacking in mind, never a camera. Think about it Facial Recognition software. Following Focus Brackets, This camera is about as up to date as you can get, while proving itself for several months without a problem. Many of us are amazed with this technology.

I was going to say, come over to dpreview, but the way you’re talking, just hang it up Dude. And please don’t do anything to alter the software, You will get your money back, they’ll put it back on the shelf and some hobbyist kid who’s been waiting years for a camera like this will end up getting it for Christmas. Don’t ruin it for him too. Please do the right thing. You know Photographers don’t think that way.  Good Luck Brother.
... Joe Prete

2:48 pm - Tuesday, December 11, 2012

#186 Carsten Morgenstern

Just received the SX50 today!!

3:22 pm - Tuesday, December 11, 2012

#187 tez65

Been following these posts on sx50 which have been most informative. I liked Joe’s 180 post because its the 1st time I have understood the importance of the F numbers!

Gradually moving forward on decision. Decided to remove the Panasonic from my list because of the $150 price premium. Current Ozzie prices from major camera retailer P510 $499, SX50 $599, HX200V $549, FZ200 $749.

Re issue of adding teleconverters etc to superzooms, came across a site called digitaltoyshop that seems to sell all sorts of add-on goodies.

3:47 pm - Tuesday, December 11, 2012

#188 Joe Prete

tez165,
Good Luck with your new Camera! Sorry the prices are so high for you guys, I guess we’re pretty lucky here in the States. On the bright side though, at least we don’t have to pay the processing fees just to see how they’ve come out. Just checking the LCD we know if it’s a keeper, and if not,  Just Delete it.

Those shots Mark has been taking really don’t tell us much, he’s been using the same subjects over and over so much, we don’t even look at them any more. I hope you have the Full Users Guide, I had to call Canon for the SX50 HS and the G1 X Guides.  But they did send them quick. That is quite a bit to do on a home printer not to mention the ink, 284 pages. Who ever dreamed of Facial recognition and Follow Focus Frames, on a small camera.

Tez, your earlier comment about JPEG vs. RAW, you are correct, Raw does take up quite a bit of space, the JPEGS are processed in the camera, where as the RAW shots are done afterwards by people that like to use PhotoShop and Elements to Process it themselves. But you have the choice, if the JPEGS are good enough, you don’t have to get so involved with it. I would keep back up copies though, Canon gives us room for storage with the Camera. And if you like Picasa, Give this one a try it’s also free, it’s called “THE GIMP” I think you’ll like it!

While you’re on line, look at the Canon “Resources & Learning”                      “Image Gateway”  is for image Storage. There’s a section called “Reference Material” and “Learning Station” it’s all there for Canon Owners, it’s like a Camera encyclopedia. It’s all on their site, make use of it. When you register they’ll have your contact information in case there’s an update, that’s very important.
Good Luck Tez, and Happy Shooting!
Cheers,
... Joe Prete

10:53 pm - Tuesday, December 11, 2012

#189 Joe Prete

“Good Luck Carsten” any Questions?
... Joe

10:57 pm - Tuesday, December 11, 2012

#190 Joe Prete

They didn’t like it, all I said was,          . And they cut it out!

12:26 am - Wednesday, December 12, 2012

#191 Joe Prete

Touchy little,              .  Aren’t they!

12:31 am - Wednesday, December 12, 2012

#192 Spaz

@Joe Prete,
How is my attitude negative? The info I provided was actually from DPReview where I first heard of the hack.  It is do-able. Everyone has their own opinion on getting an aftermarket firmware to obtain additional features. Why is this a bad thing?  Have you forgotten that essentially a camera these days is a computer? A computer uses software. Software is meant to be improved, but it has it’s caveats. And how is my (and others) wanting a longer exposure, say 60 seconds and more control over the ISO being negative? If we want to get on the being negative train, judging from your posts, you seem to be rather negative toward the SX50, see-sawing quite a bit for and against it. If anything, some of your comments leave noobs and visitors to this comments area confused.

5:22 am - Wednesday, December 12, 2012

#193 Joe Prete

Spaz,
I own a SX50 HS and a G1 X, among many other compact and Bridge cameras, Even though I shoot Nikon Full frame for work,
I carry a camera with me all the time. I also teach Photography classes. I help quite a few people here and at other sites as well. The reason you posted?  Well, apparently you were looking for a response. We didn’t look for you! You came here about your problems with the camera, you talked about hacking into the software, and also mentioned returning it in the same post, all
in less than 10 sentences. So YOU were looking for a response!

I waited, nobody wrote back to you. You bought at a Superstore and even mentioned the return date. There are people who do these things, and then return it, Best Buy doesn’t see any damage so they give a refund, and put it back on the shelf. So tell me, what happens to the next guy (or kid who gets it for Christmas) that’s only a few weeks away. I really hope that you wouldn’t do that, but you know as well as I, people do this without a thought of what happens next. Best Buy isn’t going to care, they’ll send it back to Canon. It’s the next purchaser that feels the aggravation.

So if you’ve been to dp, you read the reviews, the comments, even the prices that me and others told our fellow readers. If it has so many things that you deem as wrong, why did you buy it?
If you’re going to hack it, don’t talk about returning it. Simple!
Have you even read the guide? I just got my guide from Canon 284 pages! I got this Camera after the G1 X, so I’m just learning it for myself. I bought this one to see what everyone was boasting about. When I saw, I was amazed. Also it was cheap, I posted the price as did several others. So if you didn’t read the guide, did you call tech support? I doubt that if you post your issues on dp that they’re going to tell you to hack it. For all we know, there could be firmware updates. How much of your work is affected by the 15 second shutter issue? have you seen these purple fringes on your shots? As for the barrel, mine feels fine, even the G1 X a metal body, the barrel housing is plastic. All you’re going to put on there is a hood or a filter with the adapter ring. You’re not going to hang a flash unit on there, it needs an adapter for that.

And where do you see my negative remarks about this camera. Look around, check the competing cameras, Taking the price into consideration, I think this camera is one of the best in it’s range. If you want answers, let me get through the guide, then I can give you some answers. Or you can ask one of the many people at dp that have had it longer. I can tell you that the Focus tracking Brackets are a better version than in the G1 X. and the facial recognition is quite good for a consumer grade camera.

So just find where I talked negative about this camera. People write in here, asking for help, this is where I meet them, how do I send them here confused? Tell me! I’ve been helping people on this site for a long time, they ask for me by name. You know an actual hame, not a made up screen name to hide behind. What is spaz anyhow? Are you Spastic? See sawing, where do you do your research? If you don’t want help, go use one of your made up names on another web site spaz.
... Joe Prete

7:17 am - Wednesday, December 12, 2012

#194 Piesang

I’m new here and don’t want to get involved in a “fight”. But as I see it the hack runs from the SDCard. So if the SDCard is removed the hack is also removed so the next person who gets the camera will not even be aware that the hack was ever used.

Am I wrong?

PS. I’m happy with my SX50’s features.

7:42 am - Wednesday, December 12, 2012

#195 Joe Prete

Piesang,
Firmware updates are downloaded to your computer, that has an SDHC Card Reader attached. The update is transferred from the Computer, to the SDHC Card, which is then put into the camera.

Following the instructions, it is then loaded from the card to the Camera. This is the way that Firmware is updated, I would Imagine that a Hack would work the same way. If someone were to do that, they would be making changes that they might not be able to correct.

Going back to the manufacturer then becomes a very expensive, time consuming and published ordeal because they tend to “Make an example of people that do this warranty diminishing procedure”

Most times the camera can be replaced for less money that it takes to fix it.  Follow this example:  If you were to have an accident with your car (1993 and newer) and you said that you had your Seat Belt ON, the information can easily be downloaded from the car,** and the truth would then be known. (This was required by the NHTSB).*

I give you this example because so far at least Panasonic has installed software that can Identify if their own battery was used in the camera. Using a third party battery can end the warranty on the camera, depending on the damage.  I assume that the other camera manufacturers will follow Panasonic as this can release their obligation to repair the camera.

I tell you this, because if you’re going to fool around with software, or Firmware, you should know exactly what you’re doing. So when you see the note about using their own battery, you should really know how this information can effect you.

... Joe Prete

*NHTSB Is the National Highway Traffic Safety Board
**The computer connector is at the base of the vehicles steering column.

8:55 am - Wednesday, December 12, 2012

#196 Albin

Lots of posts with little knowledge of the CHDK hack for Canon cameras - I’ve used for years on my still operating S5is and SX10 is.  It installs on the SDHC card, does not affect camera firmware or the warranty at all - that is well established for years now.  While there are model to model variances in available features, it normally provides a 64 second shutter as well as faster shutter than Canon’s limits, also may close the aperture a stop.  May bring the jpeg quality up from Fine to Superfine, and has good working scripts for intervalometer and motion detection. It usually provides RAW with internal conversion to DNG files for cameras that do not support it. 

To me the CHDK hack enhancements are simply free additional features of Canon p&s cameras that competing brands either match feature for feature or cannot.  When a new a popular camera model like this one comes out, it’s worth looking into what CHDK will do for it.

7:23 pm - Wednesday, December 12, 2012

#197 Pauline

Hi Joe
I came across the blog as I am looking to buy a camera for my son who is off to do study architecture next September.
I saw your response to Boo re sculptures but what about buildings, close to for features and wide angle for more of the building? What happens to the depth of field then, would the Canon SX50 still be better than the Panosonic Lumix FX200 as my local camera shop keeps going on about the constant 2.8. My son will of course use the camera for other subjects but it would be good to have the best one for his degree. Looking up about photographing buildings, I saw that shift lenses are better but of course are very expensive is there anyway round this with a bridge camera? Any advice would be much appreciated from a mum who is keen to learn more. Also are there any book that you recommend for him to learn more?
Thanks
Pauline

2:06 pm - Thursday, December 13, 2012

#198 Joe Prete

To Pauline,
I’d be happy to help you, Please see post #142 above, and I will respond promptly. btw, I’m on EST in New York.
Regards,
... Joe Prete

9:27 pm - Thursday, December 13, 2012

#199 Spaz

@Joe Prete jojo, you’re childish attitude is overshadowing any benefits or constructive comments you may provide to people looking at this model in this comments area. You’re bahaving rather immature and resort to silly remarks about a poster’s handle or name when you really don’t have any retort or argument to stand on. I am surprised you didn’t turn into a Grammar or Spelling Nazis yet. That’s ok though. There are others who like to see the entire picture, the good and the bad, the pros and cons of the camera so they can make an informed decision. It’s just too bad that with your childish attitude can’t see that.  Don’t be surprised if you end up with a lump of coal in your stocking this year. Merry Xmas Joe.

7:48 am - Sunday, December 16, 2012

#200 zebarnabe

Spaz,
I stopped commenting on most of this website due to people’s rudeness and lack of understanding (or really blunt laziness), I’ll retain to mention anybody though.

People often look into the review comments to check for issues, tips/tricks or similar cameras that might have some interest, let’s keep it that way please.

As for me, I’ll stop helping people around here unless they clearly ask for a reply from me from the previously posted comments.

Happy holidays, good shooting!

9:13 am - Sunday, December 16, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, compact, review, 1080p, 12 megapixel, hdmi, jpeg, super-zoom, RAW, 10fps, tilting, super zoom, Canon, 2.8 inch LCD, PowerShot, 50x zoom, 50x, 24-1200mm, Canon PowerShot SX50 HS Review, sx50, sx50HS, SX50 HS, 2.8 inch, Canon PowerShot SX50 HS

Tracker Pixel for Entry